User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 415

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. gregoryf
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    What a piece of crap! Bad CG, bad dialogue, bad acting, and bad directing. A poor attempt to rip off 300, Gladiator, and Rome. I cant believe Starz order a second season of this garbage already. What a joke!
  2. BobD.
    Jan 27, 2010
    0
    This show looks like it was written and directed by a 13 year old boy. It is horrible and unwatchable.
  3. EliasC.
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    As a fan and student of all things ancient Roman, it grieves me to say I absolutely hated this production. Borrowing heavily from the movie '300', a mythical version of Rome, inspiration from the movie 'Caligula', and the most awful digital effects ever, I can only wonder about where the brains were for the creators of this publicity overhyped monstrosity of a As a fan and student of all things ancient Roman, it grieves me to say I absolutely hated this production. Borrowing heavily from the movie '300', a mythical version of Rome, inspiration from the movie 'Caligula', and the most awful digital effects ever, I can only wonder about where the brains were for the creators of this publicity overhyped monstrosity of a productions. The 1st episode named 'Spartacus: Blood and Sand' would be more appropriately named 'Spartacus: Blood and Tits'. Naked men, naked woman, and in winter no less.The second episode should be more appropriately named 'Spartacus: Blood and Dicks'. And you can take my meaning from that title or enjoy the homo-eroticism of this second episode. No, definitely not for family viewing. Pay cable is supposed to to stand out from the ordinary drek of network television. This show proves that pay cable can be as bad as the worst of network television. Unless you are truly into sex and porn violence, can take bad acting, terrible scripts, and distorted history, avoid this mess. And you must watch this, be sure to keep a bucket handy to vomit into. I nominate this show for the 'worst ten television shows of all time' list. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    This series is totally unrealistic and full of historical mistakes, yes I know it is a fiction, but it should remain at least plausible, virtually the entire series is shot in computer graphics, spurts of blood every 5 minutes, the acting is really poor, you feel nothing real in this series, apart from the pretty girls who are often bare;-)) I do not really see anything else of interest...
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    1
    After watching the first episode of Spartacus, I thought to myself "how much money does this network really have to waste?" Besides the terribly overdone CGI and the ridiculous amounts of unrealistic blood spray, the acting is superficial at best. The only bonus to watching this show is the amount of nudity that it offers, which after a while becomes boring. The language, vulgarity andAfter watching the first episode of Spartacus, I thought to myself "how much money does this network really have to waste?" Besides the terribly overdone CGI and the ridiculous amounts of unrealistic blood spray, the acting is superficial at best. The only bonus to watching this show is the amount of nudity that it offers, which after a while becomes boring. The language, vulgarity and lack of intelligent writing is one of my many complaints about this show. It is also inaccurate historically and wholly lacking any deep philosophical meaning. This show is an abortion of talent, money and costuming. They tried to fill the gap that HBOs Rome left behind and sorely missed. Rome had a talented cast, real skylines and terrain, realistic battles and beautiful writing. Spartacus meets none of these points in my opinion and should not be housed on the same shelf. I am two episodes away from finishing the worst series I have ever had the displeasure of watching on television to date. Avoid the blood spray at all cost. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    Looks like a Xena: warrior princess episode with gay soft porn in it. This show is all about making money out of the 300 trend without spending too much on scenarists, actors, director. Look elsewhere for historical accuracy.
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story WAAAYYY too much sex and too much sex this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is.
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story
    WAAAYYY too much sex
    and too much sex

    this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is. just because you scratched someone on the arm doesnt mean blood will explode everywhere.
    Expand
  8. EricaL.
    Jan 27, 2010
    3
    If only the nudity was toned down I could possibly sit through the show, too bad.
  9. Nov 17, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It should have been titled "Spartacus: Kill, Scheme, Have Sex

    Because that's what happens over and over again. Oh, and I forgot "Potty Mouth". Did the ancient Romans have no oaths other than "F**K!!!" and "Jupiter's C**K!"? For a highly advanced civilization, it would appear they had little imagination. Dialogue? Delivered in many cases with as much passion as the UPS driver requesting a signature. John Hannah is an exception; but he's a very fine actor. The man who plays Spartacus sleepwalks through most scenes, looking as if he's forgotten where he left his clothes. Even when his wife, his whole reason-for-being (we're told over and over again) lay dying in his arms, he showed all the emotion of a professional poker player with a good hand. He's the central character, and except for a few "AAARRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH"'s, mainly when he's about to run someone through or decapitate them - he's boring. Just....boring. Some of the other actors have accents that thin the illusion to the point of causing it to disappear entirely; for example the guy who announces the "fights" in the pits. Imagine a New York Cabbie spouting psuedo-Shakespearian dialogue and you'll get the idea. In spite of all these shortcomings, it's good, dirty fun, and definitely good for a laugh.
    Expand
  10. BobF.
    Jan 30, 2010
    2
    Reminded me of the ridiculously funny Monty Python episode with the genteel sitting around a piano with copius amounts of blood. Have to agree with the comment about it seeming to have been written by a 13 year old.
  11. ChristineK
    Jan 24, 2010
    1
    Spartacus: Utter BS, and I don't mean blood OR sand.
  12. C.D.
    Jan 25, 2010
    0
    I was expecting something more...That had to be the biggest turd of a show. Horrible writing, acting, special effects. I couldn't stop laughing, not because it was funny, but because it was supposed to be serious. Watch at your own risk.
  13. TonyS.
    Jan 29, 2010
    1
    This show is crap. Bad writing,bad acting and at the stop of the worst acting in tv history goes to Viva Bianca. Instead of finding a female who could actually act the producers went for anyone who will bear it all on camera,at least on the xena the blonde could actually act. I am gone Starz would have to pay me to watch this garbage,although i would watch the ep where Spartacus lops off This show is crap. Bad writing,bad acting and at the stop of the worst acting in tv history goes to Viva Bianca. Instead of finding a female who could actually act the producers went for anyone who will bear it all on camera,at least on the xena the blonde could actually act. I am gone Starz would have to pay me to watch this garbage,although i would watch the ep where Spartacus lops off blondie can't act for shit head off. Expand
  14. LoriE
    Jan 24, 2010
    3
    WOW! As an adult viewer that can handle CG and even respect the wonderful technology, in short bursts, this was way over the top. What an overall disappointment. I really was looking forward to this, as a movie goer that really loved the original movie, it was a great shock to see how they, so far, have ruined it!! I won't be watching the rest. How sad.
  15. ForrestB
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Saying this show is "300" on TV is an insult to the artistic creativity that was the "300" graphic novel and movie. "Spartacus" is a cheap, melodramatic pile of you-know-what. As someone who was entertained by movies such as "Gladiator" and "300," I expected to see some similarities between them and "Sparty: BS." I didn't expect to see nearly word-for-word replicas of lines and Saying this show is "300" on TV is an insult to the artistic creativity that was the "300" graphic novel and movie. "Spartacus" is a cheap, melodramatic pile of you-know-what. As someone who was entertained by movies such as "Gladiator" and "300," I expected to see some similarities between them and "Sparty: BS." I didn't expect to see nearly word-for-word replicas of lines and entire scenes from those productions. Hasn't "Sparty: BS" crossed the line into flat out plagiarism here? And if you are going to steal directly from other works, at least do it in a flattering manner! Pathetic. Expand
  16. JohnS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    Shameless rip off of Gladiator and 300. I have noticed that originality has been dying since the mid 90's, especially in music. But now even movies are becoming more and more redundant. We are all running out of ideas. Its sad. Movie stars and singing artists are made out of marketing schemes and outrageous behavior instead of by talent and ability. I feel sorry for my children and Shameless rip off of Gladiator and 300. I have noticed that originality has been dying since the mid 90's, especially in music. But now even movies are becoming more and more redundant. We are all running out of ideas. Its sad. Movie stars and singing artists are made out of marketing schemes and outrageous behavior instead of by talent and ability. I feel sorry for my children and their children. They will never feel the thrill of enjoying new art. Just reruns. Expand
  17. Jan 28, 2012
    2
    Not the same show, Sorry but Andy Whitfield made the role of spartcus, to replace him with a much smaller man just did not do it for me. One thing the director for sure messed up on was showing that quick shot of the old Spartacus standing nude with a piece of meat hanging down like a big ole' Alabama soup bone. Now when they show the new Spartacus, he bess have a **** you can hammer aNot the same show, Sorry but Andy Whitfield made the role of spartcus, to replace him with a much smaller man just did not do it for me. One thing the director for sure messed up on was showing that quick shot of the old Spartacus standing nude with a piece of meat hanging down like a big ole' Alabama soup bone. Now when they show the new Spartacus, he bess have a **** you can hammer a railroad tie with or all the women are going to throw rocks at him, he just does not command the scene the way Andy did, I'll tr 1 or 2 more episodes to see if he catches on but, I don't see it happening. The new guy looks like a out of shape roofer, they should have used cgi to super impose Andy,s body frame size on the new guy at least, One other thing,
    The blonde, that hates Spartacus, the Alisssia or whatever her name is. The spartacus banged like a rag doll, until she found out it was Spartacus and not kirskis. I"LL bet good money she ends up with Spartacus again somehow, you know after Spartacus took that makaita jackhammer to her the way did, she thinks about that big ole, tool all the time and wants another shot at it, besides, she's carrying his baby.
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    After artistic duds like the TV version of "Crash," Starz may have found its destination series in Spartacus. This might prove to be the not-at-all-guilty pleasure of the season.
  2. Though the violence is designed to be gorgeous, like a graphic novel, it doesn’t have the pacing of a comic book. The creators of Spartacus: Blood and Sand seem a little too enamored of their ability to sketch a vast Thracian tableau, a fight scene, or a coliseum full of cheering CGI Italians.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    58
    After Spartacus blows most of its special-effects budget on the pilot, it settles into a not-bad sword-and-sandal genre series, a la "Xena" or "Hercules."