Spartacus: Blood and Sand : Season 1

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 449 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 449

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 31, 2017
    5
    I'll be honest. This show is pretty poorly written. But if you can look past that it has some of the best fight scenes and is constantly entertaining and fun.
  2. Feb 20, 2017
    8
    Although the show starts terribly (at first it looks like nothing more than a cheesy daytime show), each episode is better than the last, so that by the end, it's a brilliant show.
  3. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    I watched this season x3 now, it´s a awesome series with a lot of violence, sex and a good told story, were gladiators punish each other to be the one and only good of the arena. The actors are sympathetic, a lot of them badass and ..uhh the womens are hot (...). The foundation of the series is Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus Batiatus, the dialogs with him and other "high class" romans isI watched this season x3 now, it´s a awesome series with a lot of violence, sex and a good told story, were gladiators punish each other to be the one and only good of the arena. The actors are sympathetic, a lot of them badass and ..uhh the womens are hot (...). The foundation of the series is Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus Batiatus, the dialogs with him and other "high class" romans is entertaining pure, kinda dirty, and shows perfectly how snooty they are opposite to subjects. A great frist season, that unfortunately lost his hero Spartacus (Andy Whitfield R.I.P) who died on cancer 2011. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2015
    1
    Scary bad acting, painfully wooden and desperately archaic dialogue and home-made special effects (the show would most likely be better without them) all generously sprinkled, humped and plastered with nudity and borderline soft-core pornography. If you are a teenage boy this is best show ever, but only then. Waste of time!
  5. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Dês de quando assisti ao filme de 1960 do Stanley Kubrick passei a admirar a história do escravo Spartacus. Essa série só aumentou ainda mais minha admiração. Como toda boa série épica, muito sangue e lutas ao estilo do filme '300', nudez e cenas de sexo, violência e etc... Com uma história bem interessante, mesmo sabendo dês do início que o personagem principal iria morrer, a série teDês de quando assisti ao filme de 1960 do Stanley Kubrick passei a admirar a história do escravo Spartacus. Essa série só aumentou ainda mais minha admiração. Como toda boa série épica, muito sangue e lutas ao estilo do filme '300', nudez e cenas de sexo, violência e etc... Com uma história bem interessante, mesmo sabendo dês do início que o personagem principal iria morrer, a série te prende e te faz torcer por ele o tempo todo. Não me recordo de ter visto, antes dessa, uma série épica tão boa. Recomendo muito para quem gosta da temática!! Infelizmente possui apenas 3 temporadas. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    This show was absolutely incredible. The story, the acting, the development, the characters, the action, the drama, etc. Almost every single element was amazing. Andy Whitfield's Spartacus is a sight to behold. He brings the character to life and carries the season the way Spartacus carries the House of Batiatus. It truly is a shame he got sick and passed without seeing this seriesThis show was absolutely incredible. The story, the acting, the development, the characters, the action, the drama, etc. Almost every single element was amazing. Andy Whitfield's Spartacus is a sight to behold. He brings the character to life and carries the season the way Spartacus carries the House of Batiatus. It truly is a shame he got sick and passed without seeing this series through. He was a true titan. The only real flaw I had with the show, however, is that its art style was a little overdone. You can tell it's trying to tap into that 300 vibe but it misses the mark, primarily because it has such a low budget, or at least it appears that way, in comparison. One can't help but think that if this show were done on HBO rather than Starz, this effect would've come off more as they intended and less cheesey. Nonetheless, one small nitpick in an otherwise incredible season. Can't wait to see the rest! Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Really enjoyed the first season of this series! The second it ended I was on Amazon ordering the second season! If you love Gladiator and you love 300 then don't even hesitate to give Spartacus a go! Its like both of those but with the sex and violence cranked up to 20!
  8. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    A series fantantisca with deep stories and always excited and surprised, with characters and hated amamaras instantly, never unnecessary violence and sex, single life was like in those times, a number that will live with you forever
  9. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    this was one of the best TV shows I had seen in a long time, the action and viloance in this is some of the best around, it has romance and drama to the best of its kind. I would recomend this to anyone
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    this show was incredible! i thought it was great and had plenty of action in it as well as good acting lead by Andy Whitefield(R.I.P :/) and john hannon. alot of people complain that there is alot of sexual content in it but i honestly don't care 1. being 18 lol and 2., because it depicts the actual life of Rome back in that time which was filled with it. the plot was great and it had verythis show was incredible! i thought it was great and had plenty of action in it as well as good acting lead by Andy Whitefield(R.I.P :/) and john hannon. alot of people complain that there is alot of sexual content in it but i honestly don't care 1. being 18 lol and 2., because it depicts the actual life of Rome back in that time which was filled with it. the plot was great and it had very emotional moments and jaw dropping action definitely my favorite series on TV right now. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I checked and definitely like it.
    I recommend to those who came to the "300" and "Gladiator" film.
    The excessively bloody scenes of obscene speech (and sex) because of over 18 years!
    One of the best shows I've ever seen.
  12. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Watching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans thatWatching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans that they would do anything to see come into reality. Characters are driven by lust for power or vengeance, and would resort to lies, murder, backstabbing, blackmailing, and just all around treachery to achieve power, fortune, and glory. The show takes place in a time when slavery was around, and the lives of these slaves were looked at as nothing more than tools to be used to further their masters goals. It's a brutal show and one that its characters can be quickly loved or hated or both. The shows twists and turns will catch you off guard at times, and the whole thing comes down to one brutal and satisfying conclusion. "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" is unlike any show I have seen before. It's filled with heartbreaking moments, tense moments where I was one the edge of my seat, an moments where I just couldn't help roaring with the in show crowd when a gladiator fell in the arena. It's tense, brutal, satisfying, and one of the best shows I've ever watched. Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    people call it blood and sex, for some point it is true.. but its only small point you'll get, cause there is more in it! i like the story.. it is historical mostly correct, and also amazing act by the actor and actress it self.. blood and sex? i doubt it..
  14. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Season of the show. It is very unfortunate that the main character passed away and couldn't keep doing the show..................it's not the same without him I must say.
    Interesting show, well made.
    Expand
  15. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    season 1 of spartacus blew me away. This is easilly one of the best tv shows i have ever scene. As you probably know its most blatent characteristics would be that there are incredibly stylish and gory fight scenes and tons of nudity and soft core sex scenes. Nothing like this has been seen on tv before. The characters are all awesome and there is tons of drama and the relentlessness ofseason 1 of spartacus blew me away. This is easilly one of the best tv shows i have ever scene. As you probably know its most blatent characteristics would be that there are incredibly stylish and gory fight scenes and tons of nudity and soft core sex scenes. Nothing like this has been seen on tv before. The characters are all awesome and there is tons of drama and the relentlessness of the writers leaves u not knowing who could possibly live for anyones life seems to be on the line. There are lots of plot twists, backstabbing, and blackmail for the drama junkies and lots of gritty gladiator battles for the adreline junky. The sex scenes will be off putting for some people but if you can get passed it this is a gripping show. My girlfriend and i loved season 1 and cant wait to continue the series. There were so many shocking moments i wont soon forget and i wont spoil them here but i will strongly suggest watching this show, loved it. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    After a very rocky start with a few weak episodes, Spartacus becomes a pretty damn good show. The story is interesting and has plenty of drama to accompany the gloriously violent and satisfying action, the characters are not as paper thin as would seem at first, and the representation of Rome and its culture is actually not that far from the truth. Definitely worth watching if you skip orAfter a very rocky start with a few weak episodes, Spartacus becomes a pretty damn good show. The story is interesting and has plenty of drama to accompany the gloriously violent and satisfying action, the characters are not as paper thin as would seem at first, and the representation of Rome and its culture is actually not that far from the truth. Definitely worth watching if you skip or sit through the beginning episodes. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    at first you are shocked by its bad language, extreme violence, gore and high sexual content, but once you get to know its characters and the complex political intrigue you just cant stop watching. Best drama series on tv for years.
  18. May 29, 2012
    9
    At first I thought that the gore and **** were just there to cover up bad writing and acting but the series grew on me very quickly. It certainly plugs into the most base instincts with the sex and violence, and perhaps this lulled me into a false sense of security, but the plot repeatedly had me completely surprised and wanting to see what would happen in the next episode. Andy WhitfieldAt first I thought that the gore and **** were just there to cover up bad writing and acting but the series grew on me very quickly. It certainly plugs into the most base instincts with the sex and violence, and perhaps this lulled me into a false sense of security, but the plot repeatedly had me completely surprised and wanting to see what would happen in the next episode. Andy Whitfield was a good fit for the title role of the somber Thracian who contrasts nicely with scheming pair of Batiatus and Lucretia, the former of which grows into a strangely likeable antihero while the latter produced some of the most intriguing plot twists and being portrayed by Lucy Lawless, which is always nice. Expand
  19. CKS
    Mar 25, 2012
    7
    While I enjoy the series, I truly enjoyed Any Whitfield much better than the new star. Also, I miss John Hannah. Andy simply has more presence in the role and it saddens me each time I see the new star in the role that once had someone who truly nailed the part. Seems to be a bit slower in plot this year for she reason and I didn't enjoy the new characters that were added in the first episode.
  20. Jan 28, 2012
    2
    Not the same show, Sorry but Andy Whitfield made the role of spartcus, to replace him with a much smaller man just did not do it for me. One thing the director for sure messed up on was showing that quick shot of the old Spartacus standing nude with a piece of meat hanging down like a big ole' Alabama soup bone. Now when they show the new Spartacus, he bess have a **** you can hammer aNot the same show, Sorry but Andy Whitfield made the role of spartcus, to replace him with a much smaller man just did not do it for me. One thing the director for sure messed up on was showing that quick shot of the old Spartacus standing nude with a piece of meat hanging down like a big ole' Alabama soup bone. Now when they show the new Spartacus, he bess have a **** you can hammer a railroad tie with or all the women are going to throw rocks at him, he just does not command the scene the way Andy did, I'll tr 1 or 2 more episodes to see if he catches on but, I don't see it happening. The new guy looks like a out of shape roofer, they should have used cgi to super impose Andy,s body frame size on the new guy at least, One other thing,
    The blonde, that hates Spartacus, the Alisssia or whatever her name is. The spartacus banged like a rag doll, until she found out it was Spartacus and not kirskis. I"LL bet good money she ends up with Spartacus again somehow, you know after Spartacus took that makaita jackhammer to her the way did, she thinks about that big ole, tool all the time and wants another shot at it, besides, she's carrying his baby.
    Expand
  21. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story WAAAYYY too much sex and too much sex this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is.
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story
    WAAAYYY too much sex
    and too much sex

    this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is. just because you scratched someone on the arm doesnt mean blood will explode everywhere.
    Expand
  22. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great TV show. The narrative is deep, the characters are compelling and the testosterone and sexuality flow freely. The stylized CGI blood works for me, and it's one of the most watchable shows out there. The finale of the first season massively delivers. It's best that you watch from the beginning to the end.
  23. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Spartacus offers a unique glimpse of ancient Rome where gladiators are a cross between slaves and celebrities. Women want them, men want to be them, and they can amass enough wealth through winnings in the arena to secure their freedom. The downside? Yeh, they're still slaves and are always subject to the whims of their masters. If you're a fan of sex, gore, and copious amounts ofSpartacus offers a unique glimpse of ancient Rome where gladiators are a cross between slaves and celebrities. Women want them, men want to be them, and they can amass enough wealth through winnings in the arena to secure their freedom. The downside? Yeh, they're still slaves and are always subject to the whims of their masters. If you're a fan of sex, gore, and copious amounts of blood then you should be well satisfied by the series. The only aspect that wore thin with me as the series progressed was the venacular. Seemed a bit over the top by the end. Expand
  24. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Jupiter's **** Extraordinary performances and Extremely Bloody EROTIC depiction of a legendary hero messiah. The 1st well acted soft-core PORN hijacked Shakespeare style drama. John Hannah has evolved
  25. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    For me this has to be one of the manliest films I've seen, Violence, blood, naked women, revenge and betrayal. it was a magnificent show. i'd recommend this to everyone
  26. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    Looks like a Xena: warrior princess episode with gay soft porn in it. This show is all about making money out of the 300 trend without spending too much on scenarists, actors, director. Look elsewhere for historical accuracy.
  27. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    the series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nuditythe series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nudity and bad language. i know i sound like a 90 year old there but its all a little overdone to the respect it losses its meaning SOMETIMES, a lot of the time its good though. its a crying shame one of the lady's (no spoiler) has to die so soon because she was HOT. any way the main reason i give this a 9 is because i have never felt so much about characters in a series, this has to be good because im engaged in the story. a story which gets very good later in the series. the episode "party favors" shocked me so much to the core i was just left speechless. no other tv series has had that effect on me so for that i think this is a WIN and i cant wait for the next one. Expand
  28. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Highly entertaining, well acted, controversial, bloody TV Viagra. The stories and the characters who portray them get more and more enticing, as the show goes on and on it thrills and makes you get down on your knees and beg for more.
  29. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Outstanding Action Series! I love the "300" Graphic-Novel Style of this production!!! The only complaint that I could give is that there should have been MORE Episodes! I HIGHLY recommend this series to everyone!
  30. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, an enthralling adventure with some shocking moments. I cannot understand why critics (and users) could have rated one of TV's best shows anything under 8 stars.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. After artistic duds like the TV version of "Crash," Starz may have found its destination series in Spartacus. This might prove to be the not-at-all-guilty pleasure of the season.
  2. Though the violence is designed to be gorgeous, like a graphic novel, it doesn’t have the pacing of a comic book. The creators of Spartacus: Blood and Sand seem a little too enamored of their ability to sketch a vast Thracian tableau, a fight scene, or a coliseum full of cheering CGI Italians.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    58
    After Spartacus blows most of its special-effects budget on the pilot, it settles into a not-bad sword-and-sandal genre series, a la "Xena" or "Hercules."