User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 397

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Superb in every way, especially the amazing finale. The series started slowly, like a conjuring trick full of misdirection, and sped up to a ridiculous velocity by the end. I cannot wait for the second season. Absolutely gripping stuff indeed.
  2. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    The most rewarding series since the Wire. Slow start.. compelling middle.. brutal end. Without a shadow of a doubt the best new series to hit tv in the last decade.
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    the series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nuditythe series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nudity and bad language. i know i sound like a 90 year old there but its all a little overdone to the respect it losses its meaning SOMETIMES, a lot of the time its good though. its a crying shame one of the lady's (no spoiler) has to die so soon because she was HOT. any way the main reason i give this a 9 is because i have never felt so much about characters in a series, this has to be good because im engaged in the story. a story which gets very good later in the series. the episode "party favors" shocked me so much to the core i was just left speechless. no other tv series has had that effect on me so for that i think this is a WIN and i cant wait for the next one. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the best series i have ever watched... Wish Andy the best of fortune battling his Hodgkin's Lymphoma. I hear he's to be replaced in the next Spartacus season. That's unfortunate for 2 reasons. first being that he portrays Spartacus wonderfully. Second being that I hate when shows leading roles. I hope the next guy does as good a job. I am looking forward to .. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Great show!!! had a lot of action, passion and suspense. Cant wait for the next season.....................................................................................................................
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Watching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans thatWatching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans that they would do anything to see come into reality. Characters are driven by lust for power or vengeance, and would resort to lies, murder, backstabbing, blackmailing, and just all around treachery to achieve power, fortune, and glory. The show takes place in a time when slavery was around, and the lives of these slaves were looked at as nothing more than tools to be used to further their masters goals. It's a brutal show and one that its characters can be quickly loved or hated or both. The shows twists and turns will catch you off guard at times, and the whole thing comes down to one brutal and satisfying conclusion. "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" is unlike any show I have seen before. It's filled with heartbreaking moments, tense moments where I was one the edge of my seat, an moments where I just couldn't help roaring with the in show crowd when a gladiator fell in the arena. It's tense, brutal, satisfying, and one of the best shows I've ever watched. Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    I haven't watch any other TV series about the ancient gladiator thingy. So so far this is the best gladiatoral TV series i've ever watched. especially this season, each episode is interesting and each episode is not letting me down, keep me addicted to watch on the next episode. I understand why some people are whining about the nudity and gory stuff, but in my opinion its just to show andI haven't watch any other TV series about the ancient gladiator thingy. So so far this is the best gladiatoral TV series i've ever watched. especially this season, each episode is interesting and each episode is not letting me down, keep me addicted to watch on the next episode. I understand why some people are whining about the nudity and gory stuff, but in my opinion its just to show and give us the point how the ancient rome back then. Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    What can I say, absolutely hated the premier thought it was cheesy, left it for a few months and have been completely engaged since. Well written, for the most part very well acted, wonderfully filmed and a story that is challenging and is some of the most ballsy as hell TV in a long time, with a complexity in story that at first is thrown away for the pleasure of the violence and sexWhat can I say, absolutely hated the premier thought it was cheesy, left it for a few months and have been completely engaged since. Well written, for the most part very well acted, wonderfully filmed and a story that is challenging and is some of the most ballsy as hell TV in a long time, with a complexity in story that at first is thrown away for the pleasure of the violence and sex but soon becomes the real draw. While the violence and sex is at times shocking, it is no more pornographic than shows such as Bones, CSI with its repellent casual treatment of murder and its abused victims, which they like to show in horrific pornographic detail.. As Spartacus progress it seduces the viewer more and more till it is unmissable, a guilty pleasure that is worth every moment and deserves far more attention. Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Not sure where it can go from here, but I am looking forward to it. For those complaining of the sex and violence- get a clue. This is a realistic depiction, not the Americanized Puritan take. If you can't handle the truth, go watch Disney.
  10. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, an enthralling adventure with some shocking moments. I cannot understand why critics (and users) could have rated one of TV's best shows anything under 8 stars.
  11. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Highly entertaining, well acted, controversial, bloody TV Viagra. The stories and the characters who portray them get more and more enticing, as the show goes on and on it thrills and makes you get down on your knees and beg for more.
  12. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    For me this has to be one of the manliest films I've seen, Violence, blood, naked women, revenge and betrayal. it was a magnificent show. i'd recommend this to everyone
  13. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great TV show. The narrative is deep, the characters are compelling and the testosterone and sexuality flow freely. The stylized CGI blood works for me, and it's one of the most watchable shows out there. The finale of the first season massively delivers. It's best that you watch from the beginning to the end.
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Spartacus offers a unique glimpse of ancient Rome where gladiators are a cross between slaves and celebrities. Women want them, men want to be them, and they can amass enough wealth through winnings in the arena to secure their freedom. The downside? Yeh, they're still slaves and are always subject to the whims of their masters. If you're a fan of sex, gore, and copious amounts ofSpartacus offers a unique glimpse of ancient Rome where gladiators are a cross between slaves and celebrities. Women want them, men want to be them, and they can amass enough wealth through winnings in the arena to secure their freedom. The downside? Yeh, they're still slaves and are always subject to the whims of their masters. If you're a fan of sex, gore, and copious amounts of blood then you should be well satisfied by the series. The only aspect that wore thin with me as the series progressed was the venacular. Seemed a bit over the top by the end. Expand
  15. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    season 1 of spartacus blew me away. This is easilly one of the best tv shows i have ever scene. As you probably know its most blatent characteristics would be that there are incredibly stylish and gory fight scenes and tons of nudity and soft core sex scenes. Nothing like this has been seen on tv before. The characters are all awesome and there is tons of drama and the relentlessness ofseason 1 of spartacus blew me away. This is easilly one of the best tv shows i have ever scene. As you probably know its most blatent characteristics would be that there are incredibly stylish and gory fight scenes and tons of nudity and soft core sex scenes. Nothing like this has been seen on tv before. The characters are all awesome and there is tons of drama and the relentlessness of the writers leaves u not knowing who could possibly live for anyones life seems to be on the line. There are lots of plot twists, backstabbing, and blackmail for the drama junkies and lots of gritty gladiator battles for the adreline junky. The sex scenes will be off putting for some people but if you can get passed it this is a gripping show. My girlfriend and i loved season 1 and cant wait to continue the series. There were so many shocking moments i wont soon forget and i wont spoil them here but i will strongly suggest watching this show, loved it. Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I checked and definitely like it.
    I recommend to those who came to the "300" and "Gladiator" film.
    The excessively bloody scenes of obscene speech (and sex) because of over 18 years!
    One of the best shows I've ever seen.
  17. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    this was one of the best TV shows I had seen in a long time, the action and viloance in this is some of the best around, it has romance and drama to the best of its kind. I would recomend this to anyone
  18. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    this show was incredible! i thought it was great and had plenty of action in it as well as good acting lead by Andy Whitefield(R.I.P :/) and john hannon. alot of people complain that there is alot of sexual content in it but i honestly don't care 1. being 18 lol and 2., because it depicts the actual life of Rome back in that time which was filled with it. the plot was great and it had verythis show was incredible! i thought it was great and had plenty of action in it as well as good acting lead by Andy Whitefield(R.I.P :/) and john hannon. alot of people complain that there is alot of sexual content in it but i honestly don't care 1. being 18 lol and 2., because it depicts the actual life of Rome back in that time which was filled with it. the plot was great and it had very emotional moments and jaw dropping action definitely my favorite series on TV right now. Expand
  19. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    A series fantantisca with deep stories and always excited and surprised, with characters and hated amamaras instantly, never unnecessary violence and sex, single life was like in those times, a number that will live with you forever
  20. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spartacus is a well-executed show with an engaging central storyline. People tend to get hung up on the nudity (come on, we've all seen it before) and the violence (well it *is* about a gladiator - a pretty violent life), but there's also a lot going on besides that, from the central character's quest to gain freedom and rescue his wife, to Batiatus' political ambitions, to Crixus' affection for Naevia. Expand
  21. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    The critics get it wrong... Zena - in rare form, orgies, blood, sex, drama, violence and treachery. What more could you ask for? And why would you want to?
  22. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    Muy buena serie!!!!!, altamente recomendable. Mucha acción y drama, hiperrealismo. Muy buen vestuario. Buenas actuaciones. Pienso que la serie se acerca mucho a las costumbres de los romanos (o no?).
  23. CBZ
    Mar 8, 2011
    9
    This is a thrilling show, with epic fights and intrigue. Many aspects of it are exaggerated but thats what it makes it unique and addicting. It reminds me of the movie 300. I encourage you to watch 2 or three episodes since it might take a little to get used to the characters and the plot, after that you wont regret it.
  24. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    This show does take off slow but after a few episodes my husband and I were hooked. It does have a little to much nudity but if you can overlook that and give it a chance you kind of get sucked in to it. We have been waiting for season 2. There are very few shows than my husband and I will both like, when this show came on it felt like date night for us to watch and enjoy a programThis show does take off slow but after a few episodes my husband and I were hooked. It does have a little to much nudity but if you can overlook that and give it a chance you kind of get sucked in to it. We have been waiting for season 2. There are very few shows than my husband and I will both like, when this show came on it felt like date night for us to watch and enjoy a program together. We can't wait until season two begins. Expand
  25. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Not at amazing as Game of Thornes but pretty DARN close!!!!!! Wow, how many words does it take to get to 150 characters???? I love this show, especially nude scenes.
  26. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Outstanding Action Series! I love the "300" Graphic-Novel Style of this production!!! The only complaint that I could give is that there should have been MORE Episodes! I HIGHLY recommend this series to everyone!
  27. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    This show was absolutely incredible. The story, the acting, the development, the characters, the action, the drama, etc. Almost every single element was amazing. Andy Whitfield's Spartacus is a sight to behold. He brings the character to life and carries the season the way Spartacus carries the House of Batiatus. It truly is a shame he got sick and passed without seeing this seriesThis show was absolutely incredible. The story, the acting, the development, the characters, the action, the drama, etc. Almost every single element was amazing. Andy Whitfield's Spartacus is a sight to behold. He brings the character to life and carries the season the way Spartacus carries the House of Batiatus. It truly is a shame he got sick and passed without seeing this series through. He was a true titan. The only real flaw I had with the show, however, is that its art style was a little overdone. You can tell it's trying to tap into that 300 vibe but it misses the mark, primarily because it has such a low budget, or at least it appears that way, in comparison. One can't help but think that if this show were done on HBO rather than Starz, this effect would've come off more as they intended and less cheesey. Nonetheless, one small nitpick in an otherwise incredible season. Can't wait to see the rest! Expand
  28. May 29, 2012
    9
    At first I thought that the gore and **** were just there to cover up bad writing and acting but the series grew on me very quickly. It certainly plugs into the most base instincts with the sex and violence, and perhaps this lulled me into a false sense of security, but the plot repeatedly had me completely surprised and wanting to see what would happen in the next episode. Andy WhitfieldAt first I thought that the gore and **** were just there to cover up bad writing and acting but the series grew on me very quickly. It certainly plugs into the most base instincts with the sex and violence, and perhaps this lulled me into a false sense of security, but the plot repeatedly had me completely surprised and wanting to see what would happen in the next episode. Andy Whitfield was a good fit for the title role of the somber Thracian who contrasts nicely with scheming pair of Batiatus and Lucretia, the former of which grows into a strangely likeable antihero while the latter produced some of the most intriguing plot twists and being portrayed by Lucy Lawless, which is always nice. Expand
  29. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    at first you are shocked by its bad language, extreme violence, gore and high sexual content, but once you get to know its characters and the complex political intrigue you just cant stop watching. Best drama series on tv for years.
  30. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Really enjoyed the first season of this series! The second it ended I was on Amazon ordering the second season! If you love Gladiator and you love 300 then don't even hesitate to give Spartacus a go! Its like both of those but with the sex and violence cranked up to 20!
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    After artistic duds like the TV version of "Crash," Starz may have found its destination series in Spartacus. This might prove to be the not-at-all-guilty pleasure of the season.
  2. Though the violence is designed to be gorgeous, like a graphic novel, it doesn’t have the pacing of a comic book. The creators of Spartacus: Blood and Sand seem a little too enamored of their ability to sketch a vast Thracian tableau, a fight scene, or a coliseum full of cheering CGI Italians.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    58
    After Spartacus blows most of its special-effects budget on the pilot, it settles into a not-bad sword-and-sandal genre series, a la "Xena" or "Hercules."