Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How many sponges do you know who get their own hit cartoon series? The list may be limited, but SpongeBob stands out from the rest. Relentlessly optimistic SpongeBob SquarePants lives in the undersea township of Bikini Bottom, along with an assortment of zany supporting characters. Among them is his best friend, the lovable - but dim - sea star named Patrick; the irritable perfectionist neighbor named Squidward; and an athletic squirrel named Sandy who lives in an undersea treedome. SpongeBob is employed as a fry cook at the local burger place, The Krusty Krab, which is operated by a penny-pinching crustacean named Mr. Krabs. SpongeBob was launched as three shorts on May 1, 1999. It became a series in the summer of 1999, and quickly became one of the highest-rated cartoons on television, eventually even surpassing Rugrats as Nickelodeon's most popular cartoon. The show has had a wide and loyal fan base. In fact, many celebrities are taken away by SpongeBob's antics! Character Guide: SpongeBob SquarePants - If you could describe SpongeBob with three words they would be naive, optimistic, and square. He never seems to know what is really going on. SpongeBob can never be bored because everything he does he uses his imagination. He works at the Krusty Krab, the home of the Krabby Patty, and is a fry-cook legend. His favorite thing to do (besides flip patties) is playing with his best friend, Patrick. His other friends are his neighbors Squidward and Sandy. He also lives in a pineapple! Patrick Star - Patrick, a chubby pink starfish, is SpongeBob's best friend. They even joined the Best Friends Forever Club. Patrick always comes up with some crazy idea that SpongeBob performs. The failures may show that Patrick isn't the brightest creature in Bikini Bottom. In fact, he's far from it. Squidward Tentacles - Squidward lives next door to SpongeBob and Patrick. All he wants is peace and quiet, but living with those two makes it hard. Squidward is always upset about everything (except when he plays his clarinet), which explains why he goes around being Mr. Grumpy. He lives in a house faced like himself, an octopus. He works as a cashier at the Krusty Krab, and, unlike SpongeBob, he hates his job. He would like to become famous and rich. Sandy Cheeks - Sandy, a brown squirrel who normally wears a spacesuit, lives in an air bubble and is one mad, crazy girl from Texas! She's really good in karate and is the strongest character in Bikini Bottom, so NEVER insult Texas while around her, or she'll fix you real nice. She loves science, too! Mr. Eugene H. Krabs - Mr. Krabs is SpongeBob and Squidward's money hungry boss at the Krusty Krab. He really does love his customers and employees a lot (probably for their money), but he'll do anything to get a few dollars, or even a dime! His hobbies include counting money and saying "Argh!" He also has a crush on Mrs. Puff. Gary The Snail - Gary is a snail, but meows like a cat, and he is SpongeBob's bright and faithful pet companion. He's always guiding SpongeBob and directing SB in the right path. Sheldon J. Plankton - Plankton is the main villain of the show. He's in competition with Mr. Krabs with his own restaurant, the Chum Bucket, but his restaurant never gets many people. He's always coming up with plans to steal the Krabby Patty Formula. But, his college educated plans never work. Larry the Lobster - A buff, sporty lobster. He's always at Goo Lagoon, Bikini Bottom's underwater "beach", and even serves as a Lifeguard there. Mrs. Poppy Puff - Mrs. Puff is SpongeBob's Boating School teacher. She is constantly getting hurt by SpongeBob's bad driving. She has given SpongeBob his boating test 1,258,123 times and SpongeBob has failed every one. She doesn't like to talk about Mr. Puff (he got turned into a lamp). Pearl Krabs - Mr. Krabs' whiny teenage daughter who just happens to be a whale. Mr. Krabs loves Pearl more than anything (except maybe money). Squilliam Fancyson - Squidward's rich, high school rival with one eyebrow. He's quite a snob as well, and loves to brag about his money. Mermaid Man & Barnacle Boy - Mermaid Man & Barnacle Boy are SpongeBob and Patrick's favorite TV superheroes. After having a long-running show, they retired, but soon SpongeBob and Patrick got them back in the game. Mermaid Man is old and cant remember a lot and Barnacle Boy normally has to help him get around. They have appeared in six episodes so far, each named after them. And you can be sure that they'll be back for more. The Dirty Bubble - An enemy of Mermaid Man & Barnacle Boy. He is a giant dirty bubble and his weakness is sharp things. He has appeared in "Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy II" & "Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy V". ManRay - An enemy of Mermaid Man & Barnacle Boy. He was frozen in tartar sauce in MM + BB's lair and SpongeBob and Patrick freed him. Has appeared in "Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy III" & "Mermaid Man & Barnacle Boy V". The Flying Dutchman - The ghost that haunts Bikini Bottom. He's really good at tying knots, except on shoelaces. He loves scaring people. Theme Song: Captain: Are ya ready kids? Kids: Aye, aye, captain! Captain: I can't hear you! Kids: AYE, AYE, CAPTAIN! Captain: Ohhh..... who lives in a pineapple under the sea? Kids: SpongeBob SquarePants! Captain: Absorbent and yellow and porous is he! Kids: SpongeBob SquarePants! Captain: If nautical nonsense be something you wish. Kids: SpongeBob SquarePants! Captain: Then drop on the deck, and flop like a fish! Kids: SpongeBob SquarePants! Captain: Ready? Everyone: SpongeBob SquarePants! SpongeBob SquarePants! SpongeBob SquarePants! Captain: SpongeBob... SquarePants! Ar ar ar ar ar ar ar!! Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Kids
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This Season is one of the best season EVER!!!!!!!!!! i prefer the first three seasons and the season 8 but,Still an epic Season ;)
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    MY 2ND FAVORITE SEASON IS ON AIR!I LOVE IT and....Spongebob,You're the best cartoon ever!
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Episode Reviews: Tentacle-Vision: This episode is great. Squidward get's a TV Show but everyone keeps on ruining it! Hilarious I Heart Dancing: Funny episode! Growth Sprout: This epsiode is my 3rd favorite, after Stuck in the Wringer (#2) and Help Wanted (#1)! Stuck in the Wringer: This was the best Season 7 episode. I loved it. Someone's in the Kitchen with Sandy: Plankton tries to steal the Krabby Patty recipe by dressing up as Sandy! Love it The Inside Job: This episode wasn't that great. It really wasn't great. Greasy Buffoons: I like this episode. Competition with grease. SpongeBob tries to stop and it finally works at the end. It was a really great episode. I loved this episode. Model Sponge: SpongeBob thinks he gets fired from the Krusty Krab, so he gets a job on TV. Great episode! Keep Bikini Bottom Beautiful: The first episode of 2010. I like this episode. It was a great episode that i really thought they worked on. Hope they make more with good messages like this. A Pal For Gary: SpongeBob gets a pet for Gary so he isn't lonely, but doesn't know the "pet" is a eel monster till the end. Crazy episode. Yours, Mine & Mine: I love this episode. SpongeBob gets a toy and shares it with Patrick and then they fight over the toy. Kracked Krabs: SpongeBob & Mr. Krabs go to the Cheapest Crab Convention. But SpongeBob "exaggerates" the wrong way and messes Mr. Krabs up. The Curse of Bikini Bottom: SpongeBob & Patrick make Flying Dutchman mad by shaving off his beard. But he makes SpongeBob and Patrick ghosts until his beard grows back. Awesome! Squidward in Clarinetland: Squidward looks for his missing clarinet, finding a world for clarinets only. Great episode! SpongeBob's Last Stand: I liked this episode. It was one of the great message ones. Hope they make more like this! Back To The Past: I like this episode. SpongeBob and Patrick go back into the past and see what happened back then. Love it! The Bad Guy Club for Villains: This episode was boring. All they did was watch a episode of Barnacle Boy & Mermaid Man. A Day Without Tears: Squidward makes a bet that SpongeBob can not cry for a whole day, and SpongeBob wins. Great episode! Summer Job: After Ms. Puff wrecks the Krusty Krab she has to work there. Good episode, not my fav. One Coarse Meal: Mr. Krabs finds out that Plankton is afraid of whales and Krabs tries to scare him. Gary In Love: Gary falls in love with a snail named Mary. I don't really like this episode. The Play's The Thing: Squidward makes a play at the Krusty Krab but people keep messing it up. Love the plot! Rodeo Daze: SpongeBob tries to get Sandy not to go to the rodeo (probably because of clowns, which freak him out). Great episode. The Monster Who Came To Bikini Bottom: Patrick finds out he has a lot in common with a monster that came to Bikini Bottom. Liked this episode! Welcome to the Bikini Bottom Triangle: Mr. Krabs and some other things go missing. Then they figured out Krabs got stuck in the Bikini Bottom Triangle. Then Squidward and SpongeBob get sucked. Great episode! The Great Patty Caper: Mr. Krabs gives SpongeBob the key to the only vault. But SpongeBob loses it. He almost messes up everything. Love this! The Main Drain: SpongeBob & Patrick look for a drain that once destroyed Bikini Bottom. Not my favorite. That Sinking Feeling: SpongeBob and Patrick get banned from running in Squidwards garden so they dig underground and play. Love this episode! Karate Star: Patrick saves SpongeBob's life so he gives him Karate lessons. Then he chops the whole city. Buried In Time: SpongeBob, Patrick & Squidward get stuck in Mr. Krabs time capsule. This episode was so funny! Enchanted Tiki Dreams: SpongeBob & Patrick (like always) upset Squidward. So they make him a tiki world. He is very happy, until Patrick accidently makes it set on fire. Great! The Abrasive Side: I really liked this episode, it was great. Earworm: SpongeBob get's a song called Musical Doodle stuck in his head. So funny! Hide & Then What Happens: SpongeBob searches the whole world to search for Patrick to find that he is in his house! LOVE IT! Shellback Shenanigans: This episode was kinda good. I liked it 62%. The Masterpiece: Squidward makes a sculpture of Mr. Krabs. BORING EPISODE! Whelk Attack: Another stupid episode! You Don't Know Sponge: SpongeBob and Patrick take a quiz with weird things happening. Luv this episode! Tunnel of Glove: I saw this episode i think in 2010 online before it aired. And i loved it. Krusty Dogs: This episode was very funny. The Wreck of Mauna Loa: I didn't get this episode but it was good. Love That Squid: Squidward gets prepared for a date with a girl, with SpongeBob helping him. Great episode. Big Sister Sam: This was a great episode. Patrick's sister Sam comes to Bikini Bottom. I loved this episode. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    This is a good show for the kids to wach and it keeps them busy and out of my busssenes. i think this show beats out all of disneys shows in a heart beatsponebob is the best cartoon on the tv this days i think that disney has alot of kechin up to do Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    A brief review of each episode:
    Tentacle-Vision: Absolutely hilarious, (Pieguyrulz easter egg) but points are deducted for Squidward abuse. I
    Dancing: Well choreographed dancing. Growth Spout: Very cute Looney Tunes style epsiode that is beautifully animated. Stuck in the Wringer: Unlike season 5, they overdid Patrick's stupidity. .the wrong way. (Opposite Day easter egg) Someone's in the Kitchen With Sandy: Everyone is so mean spirited and its gross! :P The Inside Job: Really everything is lacking except the jokes. Greasy Buffoons: Gross and unhealthy. Model Sponge: An episode that's going fine until the last third. Keep Bikini Bottom Beautiful: That cop sucks. A Pal for Gary: Gary Torture Porn. Yours, Mine, and Mine: While jerk Patrick is funny, he's still a jerk nonetheless. Kracked Krabs: Its alright. I liked them showing off how cheap they are. The Curse of Bikini Bottom: This is a great episode for season 7! You have to love how they call him "Old Man Squidward" :D Squidward in Clarinetland: Decent, but creepy. Spongebob's Last Stand: Great moral, everything else is stupid and unfunny. Back to the Past: Decent episode that toggles your mind. The Bad Guy Club for Villains: Zzzzz. A Day Without Tears: Decent episode, can be funny. Summer Job: Mrs. Puff Torture Porn. One Coarse Meal: Worst episode of all time. Period. Gary in Love: BORING! The Play's the Thing: Beautifully animated and funny, but its still an STP. Rodeo Daze: Decent episode; the song is catchy and its beautifully animated, but I don't like how no one cares about Sandy. Gramma's Secret Recipe: Gross and barely funny. The Cent of Money: Mr. Krabs is becoming very unlikeable. The Monster Who Came to Bikini Bottom: Patrick and Raaarrrr!'s relationship is nothing short of cute. Welcome to the Bikini Bottom Triangle: Zzzzz. .Huh! What? The Curse of the Hex: Mediocre, but definitely something new. The Main Drain: Doesn't make any sense and unfunny. Trenchbillies: Gross, ugly animated hilbillies. Sponge-Cano: Totally pointless. .what does Squidward have to be grateful for Spongebob?!!!! The Great Patty Caper: Really good and funny, would even be better if it wasn't so predictable. That Sinking Feeling: Lackluster sequel to Chum Caverns. Karate Star: Its okay, I love the concept. Buried in Time: This epsiode is pretty funny. Enchanted Tiki Dreams: This is one of the most beautifully animated episodes of Spongebob. The Abrasive Side: Not very funny and just cruel. Earworm: Very very annoying. Hide and Then What Happens: Spongebob searches half the world for Patrick? Comic genius! Shellback Shenanigans: Pretty boring. The Masterpiece: Gross and stupid ending. Whelk Attack: Kind of epic. You Don't Know Sponge: Its pretty meh in every aspect. Tunnel of Glove: Pretty creepy, Patrick steals the show. Krusty Dogs: Just plain boring, yet I like the very original concept. The Wreck of the Mauna Loa: Now here's a great episode! Its just so fun and exciting ecspecially when the ride malfuncts. New Fish in Town: Its pretty decent, although I wish Howard would be in more episodes because he's funny! Love That Squid: Ghastly spin-off of beloved classic epsiode Krusty Love. Big Sister Sam: Patrick is such a jerk; he's practically oblivious to the problem! Perfect Chemistry: Everything except the repeated gas joke is boring.
    Decision:
    3 B+ grade episodes
    9 B grade epsiodes
    4 B- grade epsiodes
    1 C+ grade episode
    6 C grade episodes
    22 C- grade episodes
    5 F grade episodes
    Conclusion: Season 7 could have been a beautiful firework, but instead an unholy dud.
    Because frankly some of these concepts don't sound half bad, they're just poorly executed
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    How can you like this season? Boring plots and just gross humor. The episodes go on and on about the plot and just make it a complete let down. I recommend not watching this season and watching the older ones. You get a great chuckle out of them. This doesn't even deserve a grin or even a laugh. Collapse
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    How is this even remotely funny? Paul Tibbett did a TERRIBLE job at making episodes with heart. There was nothing this season gave to the fans, it was just a mockery. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows Image
    Published: June 29, 2010
    In theaters this week, "The Last Airbender" is attempting to make a successful jump from TV cartoon to the big screen, something few animated shows have accomplished in the past. We look at five previous success stories, and a handful of the biggest failures.