• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 11, 2011
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Dec 9, 2011
    91
    It's a genuinely chilling four-hour adaptation of the tireless horror-meister's 1998 bestseller.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Dec 9, 2011
    83
    Bag of Bones is occasionally hokey, and Brosnan overworks his mad cackling, but the production is never less than creepily engaging. [19 Dec 2011, p.72]
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 9, 2011
    70
    Compared with (sigh) "American Horror Story," the tale itself makes a certain amount of sense and like any good thrill ride, spaces out the scary parts just enough to make them truly scary.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 8, 2011
    63
    Brosnan remains totally believable whether he's borderline batty or bravely resilient. [19 Dec 2011, p.44]
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    5
    I am a big SK fan, but this was still a waste of four hours of my life. This was one of his weaker plots to begin with and it has sufferedI am a big SK fan, but this was still a waste of four hours of my life. This was one of his weaker plots to begin with and it has suffered more in this adaptation. I was hopeful because of a strong cast, but alas, it was pretty terrible I can't recommend you watch it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Needs faster pacing for subplot (historical violence at lake). Shorter would have been better for drama. . Acting is excellent. "Shock" scenesNeeds faster pacing for subplot (historical violence at lake). Shorter would have been better for drama. . Acting is excellent. "Shock" scenes are good. Just too slow, too drawn out. Full Review »