Stephen King's Desperation : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. EricH
    May 24, 2006
    10
    I think I pissed myself twice.
  2. Cillian
    Aug 18, 2009
    7
    I applaud the movie for remaining so faithful to the novel, which is surprisingly rare for King adaptations (Shinning, I'm looking at you). A good bit was left out (the middle of the book was cut down to maybe 10 minutes, but I imagine that this was to deal with time constraints. A lot was changed for the movie, namely Johnny's background, and his story about Vietnam was totally I applaud the movie for remaining so faithful to the novel, which is surprisingly rare for King adaptations (Shinning, I'm looking at you). A good bit was left out (the middle of the book was cut down to maybe 10 minutes, but I imagine that this was to deal with time constraints. A lot was changed for the movie, namely Johnny's background, and his story about Vietnam was totally made up for the movie, but that was just to make it work on screen. Acting was so so, with Ron pearlman stealing it (musc to everyones shock *sarcasm*) As far as adaptations can go, it was good, just too short. Expand
  3. TexR
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    entertaining, most of it was like the book and that is all that matters to me when it comes to filming a movie based on stephen kings' books. Desperation was an awesome novel. At least this wasn't like a dreamcatcher film that threw the main point and plot of the story way off balance (duddits turned into a freakin alien in the movie), and i expected this film to be way worse entertaining, most of it was like the book and that is all that matters to me when it comes to filming a movie based on stephen kings' books. Desperation was an awesome novel. At least this wasn't like a dreamcatcher film that threw the main point and plot of the story way off balance (duddits turned into a freakin alien in the movie), and i expected this film to be way worse than it was; it surprised me even though it missed Johnny being dead, david carver having that dream and he loses faith, and all that. but over all it was pretty well done according to the book, they probably did the best they could with whatever budget they got for teh movie. 10/10 for the movie cause the book is too good; let its awesomeness reign for both of them. Expand
  4. andrewS
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    10/10 cause it was better than i expected especially after watching all the other stephen king based movies (carrie, dreamcatcher, secret window, IT, etc.). Give the movies a break, they can't all be as good as say green mile or shawshank. it was good enough for me.
  5. anonymous2
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    great
  6. JohnW
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    AWESOME, love it though i thought it was too short
  7. chanceZ
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    good enough.
  8. AndyN
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    great movie! acting was not bad either.
  9. CristopherM
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    don't blame king for the movie, and it wasn't confusing. everyone acted like the kid was a freak cause in real life, christians are rejected and prosecuted in many ways, i say so myself cause i'm a christian i can sympathize you have to understand, the acting wasn't bad tether.
  10. EricS
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    scary, i too pissed my pants
  11. DeseraeM
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    the movie was prolly low budget but it was pretty good so give them credit
  12. MOVIECRITIC
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    loved it
  13. SharonnB
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    the movie was good but i thought the book was better tho, still, can't expec it to be perfect !
  14. AngelV
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    it was great and good entertainment enjoyed it!
  15. XanderC
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Well.... Cristopher M you christian kooke I would rather worship a statue of 2 dogs having sex with a seahorse than your fly-by night unrealistic lame duck god. The bible makes about as much sense as Tom Cruise, the ambiguously gay couch hoping Scientolagist freakshow. The bible lies more than your parents did everytime they told you they loved you.... You convaluted gullable delusional Well.... Cristopher M you christian kooke I would rather worship a statue of 2 dogs having sex with a seahorse than your fly-by night unrealistic lame duck god. The bible makes about as much sense as Tom Cruise, the ambiguously gay couch hoping Scientolagist freakshow. The bible lies more than your parents did everytime they told you they loved you.... You convaluted gullable delusional Jesus humper. I guess I'd see you in hell if there was one stickybuns. Expand
  16. EnricoB
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I've Read the Novel..And Couldn't wait for the Movie ..Steven King is a GOD of Horror and Suspense...This is a Battle of Good and Evil..King is a Genious..I Love It..Keep it Comin'..Rico B Queens N.Y...
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    75
    Serviceably scarifying. [26 May 2006, p.100]
  2. The real surprise is that, for all the times King has taken us down this creepy path, he can still evoke chills and thrills over and over again.
  3. 30
    Sadly truncated.