• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Sullivan & Son Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Steve Byrne is a New York lawyer who returns to his hometown of Pittsburgh to take over his parent's bar.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 18, 2012
    91
    Bracing and tasty.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Within a few episodes and with slightly lowered expectations, it gets a good buzz going.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Plenty of material here, spoken by people we like. It's what a good cable sitcom can be.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son is a contrived sitcom with nothing original or new to offer.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Dragon lady, cougar and feisty redhead; dutiful son, jealous daughter and henpecked husband are all present and accounted for, with pat and predictable jokes leeching whatever hope might be had from a racially diverse cast and a promising enough setup.
  6. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Byrne is trapped in a mediocre effort he created with Rob Long of "Cheers" that's best forgotten.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 18, 2012
    16
    Sullivan & Son is utterly artless in its efforts to be an equal opportunity offender.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, some really negative mean people on this site. I went to a taping of this, so I know that it's not a laugh track. I will say sometimes it sounds like a laugh track. But the episode I saw (hasn't aired yet) was hysterical and people were laughing. True, the first episode wasn't brilliant, but if you notice there are a lot of characters on this, so there was a lot of set-up. I feel that every episode is getting better than the last. And the actors are really good. Steve, the mom, the dad, the sister, his friends, his old flame, and the bar flies are all funny.

    What I like about is that it is a return to the old comedies. Many of the shows on today are cruel and mean, kind of like these reviewers comments, wonder why they don't like it. The people at the bar love each other, sure they might make fun of each other, but they do care about one another. The family dynamic is great. The diversity is great. And I for one, will keep watching, and so have millions of others. It might not be your cup of tea, but it isn't as bad as anyone claims. I've seen a lot of sitcoms that didn't make me laugh once. I'm laughing a lot at this one.
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    The critics weren't crazy about Cheers or Seinfeld either. I wasn't crazy about Seinfeld or Cheers for the first couple of episodes and now they're my favorites. There is a major need to explore and develop the characters. The interactions a quick and unmemorable. They need to think about the interactions they have as an opportunity to build more depth and perspective. At first they could try focusing on a storyline about 1 or two people instead of 20. There a some really great actors/comedians on this show, they'll do well. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    This show is a relief for those of us that think political correctness is a bunch of BS. It attacks stereotypes and laughs at them like people in real life do. If you pretend people don't JOKE around like this, then you live under a rock. The people that feel like this stuff is serious are boring ass snobs. Don't give me that crap about this is being racist either. If you are offended by it DON'T watch. They are jokes! Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    1
    Be warned. This show contains a terrible laugh track. Okay, all laugh tracks are terrible and I can't watch any show with one. But without it there would be no laughs at all during this show. Who approves this crap? Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    How is this show still on? It's a piece of crap! I'd rather watch reruns of the Big Bang Theory that I've seen countless times then watch a show that embarrasses any one who's on it. If you need to advertise the special guest instead of the show then your show sucks. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2012
    0
    Saw this show on TBS..i couldn't watch 10 minutes of it. It was that boring. When the network has to keep saying it's "very funny," you know it can't be that funny. Last episode of the season... Thank you god! Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I've watched a few episodes of this show, and was so shocked at how bad it was, I signed up for Metacritic.

    This show is so forced and
    awkward I have trouble finding any redeeming qualities about it.

    I was so distracted by the blatant profanity ("BullSh*t" regarding figure skating) and double middle fingers, that I rewound both scenes repeatedly to be sure I'd heard / seen what I thought. I am by no means a prude / easily offended, or even that old. (I'm 32 years old, love Family Guy, and pretty middle of the road on most issues, no kids, work in a high tech industry)

    Despite this, I have to say, I'm amazed that TBS would air a show that is so desperate to appear relevant, that they have to resort to forced profanity and completely unnecessary middle fingers. When did it become legal to show that on basic cable? Perhaps it's not illegal, but the point is, when TBS has so many great shows (Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, etc) that don't stoop to such a trivial methods, does it make sense to air something that does?

    They need to get this crap off of the air, and not be in such a rush to add profanity (verbal or otherwise) to a show that is well within the time slice that kids can easily see it. We've got enough issues these days, without teaching our kids that its OK to be that crass.

    Horrible show, there is MUCH better on TV.
    Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews