Super Fun Night : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2013
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Oct 2, 2013
    50
    More risk-taking with the jokes and stepping up to the comedy from the rest of the cast and the show might eventually become something--and that's only if they can come up with enough stories for what is essentially a thin, workplace/home life crossover sitcom.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 2, 2013
    50
    Unfortunately, though Wilson remains gorgeously fearless in her willingness to go all in, neither the network nor Wilson (she is an executive producer) know quite what to do with that.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    There is something here for sure but the show has yet to find its footing.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    This is one that is built so thoroughly around a personality that it seems like someone forgot to fill the actual show in around the edges of that personality.
  5. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    42
    The humor is generally broad, although Wilson doesn't always play it that way, and when she showcases a bit of wry, knowing wit we remember from "Pitch Perfect," I see glimmers of hope.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 1, 2013
    42
    Super Fun Night isn’t entirely super-bad, but so far that’s about the good thing to be said about it.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 2, 2013
    40
    Don’t be a version of a sitcom character that we’ve seen before. And be a character. Don’t just be Rebel Wilson in a star vehicle.
  8. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 2, 2013
    40
    The grotesque extremes to which Wilson stoops to get laughs in this frenetic vehicle have a whiff of desperation.... Her workplace feels like a retread of elements of Sara Rue's Less Than Perfect.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 2, 2013
    40
    It's a slight enough premise but one that could work if Kimmie had even a quarter of the confidence of her creator.
  10. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    Ms. Wilson is an original who has proved that she can be very funny, and a premiere episode is rarely the best indicator of how a show will develop. But the first glimpse of Super Fun Night is disappointing.
  11. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    This show doesn’t have to be super. It does have to be fun.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    While Wilson’s boisterous personality can’t help but occasionally charm, the material is relatively slight, and having now seen two stabs at establishing the central trio, one fears the idea bank isn’t nearly as deep as it should be.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I really thought this show was hilarious. I laughed and laughed. It should be way higher score. Hope it stays around. Come on executivesI really thought this show was hilarious. I laughed and laughed. It should be way higher score. Hope it stays around. Come on executives pelase keep it around! Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    0
    very stupid needs to be canexed stupid very bad cant wait till it goes off the air and bring on sleeping dog wich would be very entertainingvery stupid needs to be canexed stupid very bad cant wait till it goes off the air and bring on sleeping dog wich would be very entertaining stop the agony Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    I don't know who the girl in the fat suit is but the jokes on me because I don't get it at all. I did not laugh a single time from beginningI don't know who the girl in the fat suit is but the jokes on me because I don't get it at all. I did not laugh a single time from beginning to end. If this is the future of network sitcoms, then just stop making them. This and the Michael J Fox show are abysmal. The Asian girl was funny in apt. 23, in this she looks like shes struggling through a bad Saturday Night Live sketch. Cringe worthy performances across the board. Full Review »