Teachers : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 28, 2006
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 63
  2. Negative: 18 out of 63

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KayeO
    Mar 30, 2006
    2
    I give this show a 2 for the 2 funny lines in it. My fellow teachers and I were looking forward to the first show...the setting has so much potential. Sadly, we will probably not tune in again. The main character was tacky and immature. And...beer in a classroom? Playing golf in someone's classroom? Not even funny. Too bad...there are so many things that are funny that actually I give this show a 2 for the 2 funny lines in it. My fellow teachers and I were looking forward to the first show...the setting has so much potential. Sadly, we will probably not tune in again. The main character was tacky and immature. And...beer in a classroom? Playing golf in someone's classroom? Not even funny. Too bad...there are so many things that are funny that actually happen...why use something so lame and stupid? Expand
  2. AliP.
    Apr 7, 2006
    0
    I wish there was an option of rating -10 for this show. I was disgusted - but not suprised - when the words, "That is so gay!" came out of the mouth of the lead actor. This was trumped only by the episode's misogynistic bedroom scene which probably derived straight out of the ignorant and talent-less writer's wet dream. I want this show off the air...it is offensive and I wish there was an option of rating -10 for this show. I was disgusted - but not suprised - when the words, "That is so gay!" came out of the mouth of the lead actor. This was trumped only by the episode's misogynistic bedroom scene which probably derived straight out of the ignorant and talent-less writer's wet dream. I want this show off the air...it is offensive and degrading to everyone, not only the GLBT community. Expand
  3. EGonzalez
    Apr 7, 2006
    0
    everyone has already commented on the ghastly wiritng, so I'll move on to more superficial criticisms: (1) why is the lead character so short? I would never believe that sub would hook up with someone so small. (2) why does the British woman dress like an Urban Outfitters model? Isn't she, like, 30?? (3) if they weren't going to give the token minority character anything everyone has already commented on the ghastly wiritng, so I'll move on to more superficial criticisms: (1) why is the lead character so short? I would never believe that sub would hook up with someone so small. (2) why does the British woman dress like an Urban Outfitters model? Isn't she, like, 30?? (3) if they weren't going to give the token minority character anything substantial to say, why did they bother including him on the show? This show is pointless - I give it 3 more airings. Expand
  4. PaddyO
    Mar 29, 2006
    2
    Teaching is the family business, so it was with some interest I lingered after Scrubs to watch this. I only got through the first half. I wanted to like this, I really wanted to like this. But it seemed straight out of the hack manual of sitcom writing. There was very little related to the context of teaching, and instead filled with lame jokes, awful interactions, and inane writing. It Teaching is the family business, so it was with some interest I lingered after Scrubs to watch this. I only got through the first half. I wanted to like this, I really wanted to like this. But it seemed straight out of the hack manual of sitcom writing. There was very little related to the context of teaching, and instead filled with lame jokes, awful interactions, and inane writing. It was all the old tired 'jokes' put into a new context, but without anything creative, or new, or original. Frankly this show wasn't just bad. It was sad and it was actually a painful show to watch in how unfunny it was. This show doesn't deserve to be within five time slots of Scrubs. Expand
  5. JOEJOE
    Apr 15, 2006
    0
    Dreadful acting, dreadful writing. You know it's bad when they tack on a laugh track so they can tell you where the funny lines are supposed to be. Kali Roche deserves better than this and did the casting director not watch British Coupling - Susan-actress was really wooden (as with all the others) so why bother paying for her flight over here?
  6. MystyJ
    Apr 21, 2006
    0
    I can't believe what NBC has done to this show...you people are right in criticising it! Watch the British verison for more dark humour! Why are Americans so scared to push boundaries? I think NBC would have done better to have aired the original! OK so some of the stuff is particularly based on the British schooling system, but I'm sure Americans would understand it!
  7. SteffiK
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    I watched it for a few weeks, and found the black-haired woman to be interesting and the least cartoonish actor. Unfortunately, during the episode with the computer golf tournament, they made her act as if she cared about the results, which destroyed any illusions I had that there was at least one decent character. Teachers aren't funny, folks; they work hard for little pay, and have I watched it for a few weeks, and found the black-haired woman to be interesting and the least cartoonish actor. Unfortunately, during the episode with the computer golf tournament, they made her act as if she cared about the results, which destroyed any illusions I had that there was at least one decent character. Teachers aren't funny, folks; they work hard for little pay, and have to deal with spoiled kids with cell phones and weapons, not to mention the handicapped and language barriers. The truly, if not ironically, funny thing is that if the producers and directors went for more drama and less comedy, this might have become a good show. Collapse
  8. mgsc
    Mar 28, 2006
    0
    Like virtually all shows on television about characters to whom the writers can't possible relate but think they can, this show just flat blows. Having GONE to school does not qualify one to write convincingly about teaching it any more than having undergone surgery allows one to be a writer on ER.
  9. AndrewH.
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    This show is easily the least funny thing on TV, with the possible exception of PBS' "Frontline." Not only is it silly and predictable, it is obvioulsy the product of people who have never been inside a school building. (Perhaps this explains the borderline illiteracy of the writing.) Fake. Flat. Feces.
  10. KG
    Mar 29, 2006
    1
    Terrible show. Trying to be Scrubs sans the talent...
  11. Evan
    Apr 5, 2006
    3
    I felt this show has very poor actors in it. the show also felt like they were trying to use other sitcoms, mainly everybody loves raymond, to seem funny. the script is horrible, every line for every actor has a sarcastic note to it...and not funny sarcasm. the show is simply boring, humorless, and repetative. its too bad that a funnyman like Phil Hendrie has this horrible show to add to I felt this show has very poor actors in it. the show also felt like they were trying to use other sitcoms, mainly everybody loves raymond, to seem funny. the script is horrible, every line for every actor has a sarcastic note to it...and not funny sarcasm. the show is simply boring, humorless, and repetative. its too bad that a funnyman like Phil Hendrie has this horrible show to add to his humorous, and attractive persona. Expand
  12. Alex
    Apr 6, 2006
    2
    I'm blown away at how UNFUNNY this show is. No chemistry, barely any charisma, a whiny attempt to gather sympathy, and worst of all, horrendous writing. Puh-lease.
  13. shanep
    Apr 6, 2006
    3
    It is Sitcoms like this that nearly killed the Sitcom genre. The worst part is it preempted "The Office" one of the most *CLEVER* and funny Sitcoms in a while.
  14. PamB
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    Sure some of this was funny, but I was very dissappointed at some of the things that were done on the show. I was looking forward to seeing a funny show about my profession. I can take a joke, but... Drinking on school property? Ridiculous and illegal. The teachers calling each other gay in a derogatory manner? I have had numerous conversations with my students about why using terms such Sure some of this was funny, but I was very dissappointed at some of the things that were done on the show. I was looking forward to seeing a funny show about my profession. I can take a joke, but... Drinking on school property? Ridiculous and illegal. The teachers calling each other gay in a derogatory manner? I have had numerous conversations with my students about why using terms such as gay in that manner are wrong and unacceptable, and now tv has made it ok. I am disgusted with the way this show has portrayed teachers. Expand
  15. CancelledYet?
    Apr 24, 2006
    1
    Not even Sarah Shahi can save this one. I can't believe it's lasted this long. Not funny... not interesting... just sad. If any of the rest of this cast has any well-obscured acting talent I hope they jump ship now. Run, Sarah, run.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    The U.S. version of "Teachers" has lost much of its grit and feels thuddingly conventional.
  2. Bad? It's a leech on your soul. Never have 22 minutes so felt like 44 minutes.
  3. It has potential.