Terra Nova : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 301

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I've found this show to be amazing, much better than the crap that most people watch. It's not very often that a show really grabs my imagination and I for one am glad I took the time to watch this and very very hopeful of a second season being announced soon
  2. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    It dragged a bit at the beginning, became a bit to soapy for a bit and seems to have settled now. I am starting to enjoy the show. Few more dinosaurs would be fun.. Taylor comes across as a bit fake! for a first season with little know actors (for me) i think its pretty good.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    After seeing the first 2 or 3 episodes the euphoria finally settled in and the realisation caved in that I am watching a weekly episode of Dinosaurs making guest appearances on a family drama.
    I love what Jason O Mara and his family does but the role of Skye is underdeveloped and so is the role of the other 'kids' in the series.
    The rivalry between Jason and his wife's ex boyfriend -cum-
    After seeing the first 2 or 3 episodes the euphoria finally settled in and the realisation caved in that I am watching a weekly episode of Dinosaurs making guest appearances on a family drama.
    I love what Jason O Mara and his family does but the role of Skye is underdeveloped and so is the role of the other 'kids' in the series.
    The rivalry between Jason and his wife's ex boyfriend -cum- classmate could have been far better and well worked on which was technically ignored.
    What I dont get is the fact if there are so many pilgrimages why is there not a sensation of Terra Nova being a larger place than what it looks like ?
    The "Sci-Fi" plot is too weak to keep me captivated enough for long because I just dont get the fact of a son who gets all nutty over his father cuz his dad wrecked his toys when he found out that what the son was up to was not 'right' ?? So he goes and plays 'abcd' on the rocks ???
    In all the show is a very exciting adventure and 40 out of 100 people would agree with that, HOWEVER the show 'lacks adventure' which 70 out of 100 people would agree to. I for one believe that there is a far more epic new season of this show is awaiting for all of us next year and THATS THE BOTTOMLINE !!!
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The show has alot of potential. I cant get enough of it. It was slow to get interesting a little bit because it was slow to build the plot in the first couple episodes, but I think it really took off and hooked me. I do not understand the low user score or meta rating. This show has more potential than some other bad shows like Once Upon A Time or the rash of Vampire shows.
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Our family loves this show. Writing isn't always great, but it has a good theme we all enjoy. If someone can't appreciate what terra nova brings to the table, it's only because they don't realize how hard it is to find a show that's interesting for parents, friendly enough for kids, and doesn't shove god up your a$$ with that combination. It's a television series. It's not a movie.Our family loves this show. Writing isn't always great, but it has a good theme we all enjoy. If someone can't appreciate what terra nova brings to the table, it's only because they don't realize how hard it is to find a show that's interesting for parents, friendly enough for kids, and doesn't shove god up your a$$ with that combination. It's a television series. It's not a movie. Different budgets. Not disappointed with special effects. We hope there are more seasons to come. We will be very disappointed if it gets canceled. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    You know I remember this show it started out on what then was call USA network. In the first season it was a little out there, the plot was not so polish, and the characters were not quite there. So USA cancel the show and this should had been the end. Then came along this new tv channel. It was so knew that people thinking on it was you got to be kidding and yeah right. They saw somethingYou know I remember this show it started out on what then was call USA network. In the first season it was a little out there, the plot was not so polish, and the characters were not quite there. So USA cancel the show and this should had been the end. Then came along this new tv channel. It was so knew that people thinking on it was you got to be kidding and yeah right. They saw something in this show that USA had cancel an so brought the rights. The show was call Babylon Five and channel was TNT the rest is history. I said go ahead Fox Tv executives make that mistake cancel the show an watch some else walk off with the prize. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This show had me attached from day one. The action-packed Sci-Fi series always has my attention and adrenaline running. I heard about it on the radio before it premiered and decided to give it a chance. I became attached in the first 5 minutes. The show never let me down. It's sad to see so many people aren't giving it a chance. Yea, it's different but it's a "cool" different. With seasonThis show had me attached from day one. The action-packed Sci-Fi series always has my attention and adrenaline running. I heard about it on the radio before it premiered and decided to give it a chance. I became attached in the first 5 minutes. The show never let me down. It's sad to see so many people aren't giving it a chance. Yea, it's different but it's a "cool" different. With season 1 of Terra Nova completed, I really hope FOX decides to renew [Terra Nova] it. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    I think it's one of the best shows out there! i love it! It's very entertaining, you never know what is going to happen next. I think the qualitity of the show is actually pretty good..I love the dinosaurs and how it is written. At times i think the script is a little chessy, but not that bad. I hope there will be a season 2!
  9. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    Terra Nova is a fun, family show that it pays to be seen. I think his greatest virtue is exactly the clichés.I do not want another "LOST". The series is simple, fun, with no great pretensions, and should not be tempted to have large overly complex scripts. Great series.
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Terra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questions answered, many more left for us to discover during our weekly visit. The production quality (i.e. FX) are pretty decent for a TV show, I didn't walk away with that cheesy feeling you often get just after watching a program that tries to pull off too much.Terra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questions answered, many more left for us to discover during our weekly visit. The production quality (i.e. FX) are pretty decent for a TV show, I didn't walk away with that cheesy feeling you often get just after watching a program that tries to pull off too much. All in all, I think the pilot did a good job of filling us in on what we need to know while giving us a reason to return, and I will be returning. Maybe I'm a sucker for anything Sci-fi, but I like the premise, the actors and the stage that has been set for future content. Now they just need to keep it up. Expand
  11. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Pretty good start, but I don't want this to be another LOST type show. If they are gonna get somewhere with Taylor's son, they need to get there sooner rather than later. It was fun to watch and will hopefully keep me entertained for quite some time.
  12. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Premise is good and it has a lot of potential! I will be tuning in to see where it all goes. The pilot of any show is always a work in progress but few have the potential, this is one of the few!
  13. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    I think this show has good potential. many plot points for future episodes were set up and it looks promising for now. I'll definitely be watching the next few episodes just to see if they take it in a kind of "Lost" direction in which case I might drop the show
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Terra Nova's biggest appeal to me was the setting. It is something different than the crime-dramas and other shows set in a today-like setting. Being a fan of Jurassic Park as a kid I love the fact they're dinosaurs in this. The special effects were not mind boggling but they are not bad either; they are convincing enough to get the job done. If you are looking for something out of theTerra Nova's biggest appeal to me was the setting. It is something different than the crime-dramas and other shows set in a today-like setting. Being a fan of Jurassic Park as a kid I love the fact they're dinosaurs in this. The special effects were not mind boggling but they are not bad either; they are convincing enough to get the job done. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary shows like house csi, house, cm, etc. then defiantly take a look at Terra Nova. Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I think I can some this show up by saying that if Earth2, Jurassic Park, and Lost had a baby it would be Terra Nova. I think this show could have a great future. The dinosaurs looked a bit too cartoonish at times but this was the pilot episode and one can only hope the CGI will get better. This was far better than anything you would get from the Syfy network in production value. I amI think I can some this show up by saying that if Earth2, Jurassic Park, and Lost had a baby it would be Terra Nova. I think this show could have a great future. The dinosaurs looked a bit too cartoonish at times but this was the pilot episode and one can only hope the CGI will get better. This was far better than anything you would get from the Syfy network in production value. I am extremely curious what direction the show will take. I think there will be no middle ground with Terra Nova by episode ten people will either love it or hate as was the case with Lost. Expand
  17. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Really awful. First thing: no more than two kids when the whole planet is on the point of collapse? Why would anyone in a hellhole even consider having more than one child? China? When did it institute the one child policy? Now: I have one kid, would not consider a second given the expense and the dire future, and I cannot be the loneliest man on that one. Then they go back in time. FirstReally awful. First thing: no more than two kids when the whole planet is on the point of collapse? Why would anyone in a hellhole even consider having more than one child? China? When did it institute the one child policy? Now: I have one kid, would not consider a second given the expense and the dire future, and I cannot be the loneliest man on that one. Then they go back in time. First shot. House painted blue. Where the hell are the mines, the power plants, the refineries, all the stuff that presumably got us into the mess that allowed us to paint our houses blue? No-one seems interested. Surely that will be explained later, but it's just too cheesy right now to stimulate my interest. Straight away it's romance, Dad being a jerk, kids acting up, young kid feeding an enormous dino with no fear, horrible dialog ("looks like some kind of geometry or something", dude looking at geometry on rock wall), and IT'S JUST NOT POSSIBLE that people in the future will speak so irresponsibly and lazily WHEN THEY ARE ALL ABOUT TO DIE!
    Horrible. I'm an Aussie, so I expect the content and the dialog to be dumbed down a bit, but this is unendurable. BSG and Lost were great shows. Why is this such a lot of dookie?
    Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Premise is pretty good, a thinking mans sci-fi show. Glad to see, Life on Mars guy, back. Very intriguing story line. Visual effects are stunning. Can't wait for next episode.
  19. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. This show really is a work of art- if you haven'tAll I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. This show really is a work of art- if you haven't seen it yet, do so! I could see this going 8-10 seasons if the scripts just stay as good as the pilot was, and shows generally improve in time (although I can't see how it could get any better than this). Expand
  20. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Excellent! A show the does not insult my intelligence. I am tired of shows that feel like they have been phoned in... designed for the multitask-er, with gratuitous salacious drama to keep their ADD attention spans. Terra Nova delivers intelligent plot and dialogue, excitement, believable characters, as well as excellent special effects. For me, this show has hit the right balance onExcellent! A show the does not insult my intelligence. I am tired of shows that feel like they have been phoned in... designed for the multitask-er, with gratuitous salacious drama to keep their ADD attention spans. Terra Nova delivers intelligent plot and dialogue, excitement, believable characters, as well as excellent special effects. For me, this show has hit the right balance on all my checklists. Terra Nova ROCKS! Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Loved this show. Like nothing else I have seen on television. I'm sure the people who feel the need to have every show be about murder and mayhem will have a problem with this show but, for someone who fines the biggest problem with television being it's lack of cinematic flare, this was quite entertaining. It is also something for everyone who enjoys a since of discovery. Not the greatestLoved this show. Like nothing else I have seen on television. I'm sure the people who feel the need to have every show be about murder and mayhem will have a problem with this show but, for someone who fines the biggest problem with television being it's lack of cinematic flare, this was quite entertaining. It is also something for everyone who enjoys a since of discovery. Not the greatest show in the world, but quite a beautiful world with great special effects for television. Expand
  22. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I really enjoyed the season opener. Very good CGI and story thug far. Some of the charters were weaker than the others. Looking forward to the next episodes that will explain both the reason for Oranges and the markings on the waterfall. Still little confused as to where they are in the timeline. Are they in a reverse paradox or in the past before the life of mankind? Collapse
  23. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Possibilities are endless with this new show. I can't wait to watch more of it. It is a great family-type show where the teenager liked it as much as the adult viewers.
  24. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    I really like this show, cant believe its not getting better reviews, Its something new an a great IDEA! Really enjoying it look forward to see the plot develop an become a really strong new series.
  25. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I completely loved this show. Maybe other people had expectations that were too high or whatever, but i personally thought it was AMAZING. The effects were are quite beautiful (it's a TV show people!) and the story was intriguing. I look forward to every new episode eagerly!!
  26. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    I love this show! I like the drama and the character relationships...I wouldn't have every watched it if my boyfriend wasn't so stubborn and kept bugging me to watch it, lol. In some ways similar to Lost BUT they actually explain things! You fall in love with the characters and their story. So what if it may not be "sci-fi" enough or the actors not perfect? It's a good story so that's that!
  27. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    I found the show very entertaining and a good watch. Lots of plot lines and paths to follow and good character depth. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    This is what Steven Spielberg is about ! Terra Nova is undoubtedly AMAZING ! It like a dream come true but with Dinosaurs ! With an amazing cast this show could go for the best ! The FX are awesome & the shows premises are truly stunning ! The Pilot (Genesis) was good ! Dramas , Lots of Adventure , Cool Action (with awesome si-fi guns) , Si-Fi stuffs , plus Dinosaurs (of course) withThis is what Steven Spielberg is about ! Terra Nova is undoubtedly AMAZING ! It like a dream come true but with Dinosaurs ! With an amazing cast this show could go for the best ! The FX are awesome & the shows premises are truly stunning ! The Pilot (Genesis) was good ! Dramas , Lots of Adventure , Cool Action (with awesome si-fi guns) , Si-Fi stuffs , plus Dinosaurs (of course) with Mystery Terra Nove got it all just the story needs to be strong and good ! Expand
  29. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    I think this is a great fall show. It has an intriguing storyline and great characters. My only problem with it is that it would make better as a movie. A bigger budget would allow for better writers and more special effects but I feel that if you stick with it, it will have a rewarding outcome. Out of all the new shows, this is among my favorites. If you haven't been able to check thisI think this is a great fall show. It has an intriguing storyline and great characters. My only problem with it is that it would make better as a movie. A bigger budget would allow for better writers and more special effects but I feel that if you stick with it, it will have a rewarding outcome. Out of all the new shows, this is among my favorites. If you haven't been able to check this show out and you have free time, check it out. Expand
  30. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is a great TV show. Acting is sketching at first but its a bran new television series. You get caught up in the show quickly and is fast passed. If you like Science Fiction or fantasy or Dino's then this is a good show. Anyone who doesn't give this show a good rating need to give it more then 20 minutes.
  31. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    It's really fun having dinosaurs back on TV, and whilst I would like the show to be more of a continuing story as opposed to a "monster of the week" style show, and considering the idea of a portal back in time has been used before, it's still not unwelcome on my TV screen. The opening 10 or so minutes of the show ran through too quickly and was too confusing, but with so much to getIt's really fun having dinosaurs back on TV, and whilst I would like the show to be more of a continuing story as opposed to a "monster of the week" style show, and considering the idea of a portal back in time has been used before, it's still not unwelcome on my TV screen. The opening 10 or so minutes of the show ran through too quickly and was too confusing, but with so much to get through in the space of 90 minutes, once the story slowed down it was easier to follow. The show has created 2 worlds and both are fascinating, one with it's extreme laws and ruined earth and the other with a bright-eyed new world with it's crazy wildlife. Essentially, at first, it's a cop show with dinosaurs so I'm really hoping that past episode 6 or so, the show starts to become it's own genre. Fox learned nothing from the mess they created with Dollhouse. Audiences may not have been there in droves but the first 5 episodes are nothing short of standard among a fantastically fascinating world. It seems Terra Nova is on the track of the early Dollhouse episodes. It's not bad but it is not yet the brilliant show we're looking for. Expand
  32. Jan 10, 2013
    7
    This TV show is a think a bit OK....though it needs a polish in the editing and the Computer Graphics. The good is that the story is easy to follow but hard to understand. Just a change in CG and the voicing will make Season 2 better.
  33. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    There's more to Terra Nova than meets the eye. A subtlely charming and enjoyable cast mixed with a cool new world that almost any age can appreciate and take part in is a rarity these days. Although it has been put on hold after one season, there's reason to bring this back. The only argument is whether they should try and keep the polish with so much post-production work or move to aThere's more to Terra Nova than meets the eye. A subtlely charming and enjoyable cast mixed with a cool new world that almost any age can appreciate and take part in is a rarity these days. Although it has been put on hold after one season, there's reason to bring this back. The only argument is whether they should try and keep the polish with so much post-production work or move to a more grit film style to breath more urgency into each episode. If this show gets another opportunity, it could easily grow into a mainstay series for several seasons. Expand
  34. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I can't write a formal review for Terra Nova without being a bit casual at least once: I freakin' LOVE this show. From the first episode, its production value is obvious, and obviously Spielberg-esque. The attention to detail in the settings is amazing (anyone catch all the billboards in the background of the pilot?), and filming in the remotest parts of Australia really creates this senseI can't write a formal review for Terra Nova without being a bit casual at least once: I freakin' LOVE this show. From the first episode, its production value is obvious, and obviously Spielberg-esque. The attention to detail in the settings is amazing (anyone catch all the billboards in the background of the pilot?), and filming in the remotest parts of Australia really creates this sense of a prehistoric world, and while the CG isn't movie-quality, it definitely gets the job done convincing viewers that these dinosaurs are real, they're mean, and they'll kill you if you get too close. The tech CG is even better, and the effects team manages to combine futuristic tech with the prehistoric setting in a way that somehow just meshes. The acting is fantastic. For one thing, I had no idea that Jason O'Mara and Naomi Scott weren't Americans by their accent, and for another, the family unit actually acts and naturally becomes a family. A lot of shows end up having the family members seem like strangers, but either this cast really loves each other or they're the best actors on Earth. I'd guess it's a little of both. One of the main concerns I had during the pilot was "how are they going to have a new story every week if there's just dinosaurs around?" But they've been doing an amazing job at that, from the creation of the Sixers, dinosaur mating grounds, prehistoric pathogens, and (because we know it'll pop up at some point) Taylor's son with his mathematical scribblings. It seems like the writers never run out of ideas and are definitely not limited by the concept in any way. I love-love-love it, and I'm not too proud to kiss the television if it'll convince you of the extent of my adoration for Terra Nova. Expand
  35. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable show. Believable? No. Nerdy? Yes. Entertaining? Totally. Beautiful landscapes and impressive special effects for a weekly series. Great potential to become a cult phenomenon. If dork-tastic shows like Dr. Who and Fringe can find followings then there's no reason this show doesn't deserve a fair chance to flourish. As long as the writing stays fresh and the action staysVery enjoyable show. Believable? No. Nerdy? Yes. Entertaining? Totally. Beautiful landscapes and impressive special effects for a weekly series. Great potential to become a cult phenomenon. If dork-tastic shows like Dr. Who and Fringe can find followings then there's no reason this show doesn't deserve a fair chance to flourish. As long as the writing stays fresh and the action stays engaging, Terra Nova could potentially be the best series starring dinosaurs since, well, Dinosaurs... "Not the mama!" Expand
  36. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    Ah ! Ah ! 2012 is set in motion with coming Bermuda's triangle theories. Well, the show now moves forward at an interesting pace and is at last entertaining. Lets hope for the best in 2012
  37. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Great series! I'm not one that's really into the whole "dinosaurs" thing, but It's done well IMO. I find the plot and story to be very intriguing and keeps me on the edge of my seat waiting for more!
  38. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Terra Nova is fun to watch. While the human stories will seem familiar sometimes, the element of dinosaurs has been gone from TV for too long, and it is reintroduced with stunning CGI. Terra Nova is to TV what Avatar was to cinema (ironically, both star Stephen Lang in a strikingly similar role...): A visually beautiful series with a familiar story that will provide solid, lightTerra Nova is fun to watch. While the human stories will seem familiar sometimes, the element of dinosaurs has been gone from TV for too long, and it is reintroduced with stunning CGI. Terra Nova is to TV what Avatar was to cinema (ironically, both star Stephen Lang in a strikingly similar role...): A visually beautiful series with a familiar story that will provide solid, light entertainment. And dinosaurs. Expand
  39. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    While this isn't going to break new ground for anyone, it's a credible effort. The writing and acting are serviceable, but again, nothing special. The situations, though, are well structured and interesting. The camera work is especially strong. There's not much challenge here, but I find myself looking forward to each episode (I've watched the first four). On a side note, I don't know ifWhile this isn't going to break new ground for anyone, it's a credible effort. The writing and acting are serviceable, but again, nothing special. The situations, though, are well structured and interesting. The camera work is especially strong. There's not much challenge here, but I find myself looking forward to each episode (I've watched the first four). On a side note, I don't know if it's just me, but many of the characters seem like direct lifts from another Spielburg-produced project: Falling Skies. I don't know if the two shows are sharing writers, or if they're just engaging in the same basic stereotypes, but it's slightly annoying. Expand
  40. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I've recently finished the last episode, and I thought I look after the release of the second season. I was flabbergasted when I saw the negative critics all over the net. But I don't understand why?! I'm not a big series fan to be honest. The last one I saw, was one and a half year ago; but for me, the only problem were the effects, because they were a bit unrealistic. Especially for theI've recently finished the last episode, and I thought I look after the release of the second season. I was flabbergasted when I saw the negative critics all over the net. But I don't understand why?! I'm not a big series fan to be honest. The last one I saw, was one and a half year ago; but for me, the only problem were the effects, because they were a bit unrealistic. Especially for the dinosaurs. On the other hand, the plot was excellent, the actors were likeable and the world was awesome. I really hope, they will continue this series, because the end of the last episode got me really excited. Expand
  41. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    This show is pretty good i liked it and it's deffinately worth trying out if your into scifi
  42. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    Terra Nova had potential to be a lot better than it was because of its good mythology/overall story arc, but instead of focusing on the mythology like it should have, until the end it stayed in the background and the bulk of the series was standard sci-fi filler episodes, with bog standard stories you've seen before in any Syfy show - someone gets murdered, someone gets a virus, they getTerra Nova had potential to be a lot better than it was because of its good mythology/overall story arc, but instead of focusing on the mythology like it should have, until the end it stayed in the background and the bulk of the series was standard sci-fi filler episodes, with bog standard stories you've seen before in any Syfy show - someone gets murdered, someone gets a virus, they get attacked by an unknown new creature. Its still decent though and started an interesting story for season 2 if it gets one on Netflix. Expand
  43. May 10, 2012
    10
    Terra Nova had great writing great consistent character and a crazy amazing plot line! It was one of the few tv shows that really showed how a tv show can be produced well and seem like a movie through the whole series.
  44. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    I was highly anticipating Tera Nova. Unfortunately, it fails to live up to the hype achieved by other action themed live action TV shows like "The Walking Dead". It was a good show while it lasted, but mainly, I just wanted to see more dinosaurs. I wanted something like "Jurassic Park" or "Walking with Dinosaurs" where there were dinosaurs wherever. It was still an okay show, it it needed work.
  45. May 16, 2013
    7
    I missed this show when it first ran because I took a trip to the US but now that I've seen it I know I didn't miss too much. It started out OK but never really went anywhere, and even though it ended well it was left open for the second season that never came. I also didn't like the fact that the dinosaurs were pretty much irrelevant. Overall a decent show but nothing worth going out ofI missed this show when it first ran because I took a trip to the US but now that I've seen it I know I didn't miss too much. It started out OK but never really went anywhere, and even though it ended well it was left open for the second season that never came. I also didn't like the fact that the dinosaurs were pretty much irrelevant. Overall a decent show but nothing worth going out of the way to watch. Expand
  46. Oct 26, 2015
    7
    I hate cheesy Americanised TV series like Xena, NCIS and the likes of those. This series has a lot of All American cheddar but the dinosaurs, great story and half decent acting actually made this really good. I enjoyed it so much that I watched the entire season in just three days!

    So why only a 7? : The series was cancelled so no more to come. Massive shame as I would have definitely
    I hate cheesy Americanised TV series like Xena, NCIS and the likes of those. This series has a lot of All American cheddar but the dinosaurs, great story and half decent acting actually made this really good. I enjoyed it so much that I watched the entire season in just three days!

    So why only a 7? : The series was cancelled so no more to come. Massive shame as I would have definitely watched season 2!
    Expand
  47. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    It's a very good tv-show i think it"s one of the best i have watched since tower prep! You should check this show out it's on netflix so if you have a profile then watch it!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    Nothing in this pilot is as compelling as the idea for the show, which begs philosophical and ethical questions that Spielberg and company (for now, at least) aren't interested in addressing.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 27, 2011
    63
    Even with Steven Spielberg listed among the executive producers, this distant world doesn't inspire much awe. [3 Oct 2011, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 26, 2011
    50
    The slowdown of the show's pace is one thing, but the real issue here is that the family element often feels inauthentic and just isn't up to the quality of the CGI-fueled action sequences.