• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 290

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Premise is good and it has a lot of potential! I will be tuning in to see where it all goes. The pilot of any show is always a work in progress but few have the potential, this is one of the few!
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. This show really is a work of art- if you haven't seen it yet, do so! I could see this going 8-10 seasons if the scripts just stay as good as the pilot was, and shows generally improve in time (although I can't see how it could get any better than this). Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Excellent! A show the does not insult my intelligence. I am tired of shows that feel like they have been phoned in... designed for the multitask-er, with gratuitous salacious drama to keep their ADD attention spans. Terra Nova delivers intelligent plot and dialogue, excitement, believable characters, as well as excellent special effects. For me, this show has hit the right balance on all my checklists. Terra Nova ROCKS! Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Loved this show. Like nothing else I have seen on television. I'm sure the people who feel the need to have every show be about murder and mayhem will have a problem with this show but, for someone who fines the biggest problem with television being it's lack of cinematic flare, this was quite entertaining. It is also something for everyone who enjoys a since of discovery. Not the greatest show in the world, but quite a beautiful world with great special effects for television. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Premise is pretty good, a thinking mans sci-fi show. Glad to see, Life on Mars guy, back. Very intriguing story line. Visual effects are stunning. Can't wait for next episode.
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. Collapse
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Terra Nova's biggest appeal to me was the setting. It is something different than the crime-dramas and other shows set in a today-like setting. Being a fan of Jurassic Park as a kid I love the fact they're dinosaurs in this. The special effects were not mind boggling but they are not bad either; they are convincing enough to get the job done. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary shows like house csi, house, cm, etc. then defiantly take a look at Terra Nova. Expand
  8. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the season opener. Very good CGI and story thug far. Some of the charters were weaker than the others. Looking forward to the next episodes that will explain both the reason for Oranges and the markings on the waterfall. Still little confused as to where they are in the timeline. Are they in a reverse paradox or in the past before the life of mankind? Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Possibilities are endless with this new show. I can't wait to watch more of it. It is a great family-type show where the teenager liked it as much as the adult viewers.
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    I found the show very entertaining and a good watch. Lots of plot lines and paths to follow and good character depth. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Really awful. First thing: no more than two kids when the whole planet is on the point of collapse? Why would anyone in a hellhole even consider having more than one child? China? When did it institute the one child policy? Now: I have one kid, would not consider a second given the expense and the dire future, and I cannot be the loneliest man on that one. Then they go back in time. First shot. House painted blue. Where the hell are the mines, the power plants, the refineries, all the stuff that presumably got us into the mess that allowed us to paint our houses blue? No-one seems interested. Surely that will be explained later, but it's just too cheesy right now to stimulate my interest. Straight away it's romance, Dad being a jerk, kids acting up, young kid feeding an enormous dino with no fear, horrible dialog ("looks like some kind of geometry or something", dude looking at geometry on rock wall), and IT'S JUST NOT POSSIBLE that people in the future will speak so irresponsibly and lazily WHEN THEY ARE ALL ABOUT TO DIE!
    Horrible. I'm an Aussie, so I expect the content and the dialog to be dumbed down a bit, but this is unendurable. BSG and Lost were great shows. Why is this such a lot of dookie?
    Expand
  12. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I completely loved this show. Maybe other people had expectations that were too high or whatever, but i personally thought it was AMAZING. The effects were are quite beautiful (it's a TV show people!) and the story was intriguing. I look forward to every new episode eagerly!!
  13. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    I really like this show, cant believe its not getting better reviews, Its something new an a great IDEA! Really enjoying it look forward to see the plot develop an become a really strong new series.
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The show has alot of potential. I cant get enough of it. It was slow to get interesting a little bit because it was slow to build the plot in the first couple episodes, but I think it really took off and hooked me. I do not understand the low user score or meta rating. This show has more potential than some other bad shows like Once Upon A Time or the rash of Vampire shows.
  15. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Our family loves this show. Writing isn't always great, but it has a good theme we all enjoy. If someone can't appreciate what terra nova brings to the table, it's only because they don't realize how hard it is to find a show that's interesting for parents, friendly enough for kids, and doesn't shove god up your a$$ with that combination. It's a television series. It's not a movie. Different budgets. Not disappointed with special effects. We hope there are more seasons to come. We will be very disappointed if it gets canceled. Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    You know I remember this show it started out on what then was call USA network. In the first season it was a little out there, the plot was not so polish, and the characters were not quite there. So USA cancel the show and this should had been the end. Then came along this new tv channel. It was so knew that people thinking on it was you got to be kidding and yeah right. They saw something in this show that USA had cancel an so brought the rights. The show was call Babylon Five and channel was TNT the rest is history. I said go ahead Fox Tv executives make that mistake cancel the show an watch some else walk off with the prize. Expand
  17. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This show had me attached from day one. The action-packed Sci-Fi series always has my attention and adrenaline running. I heard about it on the radio before it premiered and decided to give it a chance. I became attached in the first 5 minutes. The show never let me down. It's sad to see so many people aren't giving it a chance. Yea, it's different but it's a "cool" different. With season 1 of Terra Nova completed, I really hope FOX decides to renew [Terra Nova] it. Expand
  18. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I've found this show to be amazing, much better than the crap that most people watch. It's not very often that a show really grabs my imagination and I for one am glad I took the time to watch this and very very hopeful of a second season being announced soon
  19. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    I think it's one of the best shows out there! i love it! It's very entertaining, you never know what is going to happen next. I think the qualitity of the show is actually pretty good..I love the dinosaurs and how it is written. At times i think the script is a little chessy, but not that bad. I hope there will be a season 2!
  20. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    I love this show! I like the drama and the character relationships...I wouldn't have every watched it if my boyfriend wasn't so stubborn and kept bugging me to watch it, lol. In some ways similar to Lost BUT they actually explain things! You fall in love with the characters and their story. So what if it may not be "sci-fi" enough or the actors not perfect? It's a good story so that's that!
  21. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Great series! I'm not one that's really into the whole "dinosaurs" thing, but It's done well IMO. I find the plot and story to be very intriguing and keeps me on the edge of my seat waiting for more!
  22. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is a great TV show. Acting is sketching at first but its a bran new television series. You get caught up in the show quickly and is fast passed. If you like Science Fiction or fantasy or Dino's then this is a good show. Anyone who doesn't give this show a good rating need to give it more then 20 minutes.
  23. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I can't write a formal review for Terra Nova without being a bit casual at least once: I freakin' LOVE this show. From the first episode, its production value is obvious, and obviously Spielberg-esque. The attention to detail in the settings is amazing (anyone catch all the billboards in the background of the pilot?), and filming in the remotest parts of Australia really creates this sense of a prehistoric world, and while the CG isn't movie-quality, it definitely gets the job done convincing viewers that these dinosaurs are real, they're mean, and they'll kill you if you get too close. The tech CG is even better, and the effects team manages to combine futuristic tech with the prehistoric setting in a way that somehow just meshes. The acting is fantastic. For one thing, I had no idea that Jason O'Mara and Naomi Scott weren't Americans by their accent, and for another, the family unit actually acts and naturally becomes a family. A lot of shows end up having the family members seem like strangers, but either this cast really loves each other or they're the best actors on Earth. I'd guess it's a little of both. One of the main concerns I had during the pilot was "how are they going to have a new story every week if there's just dinosaurs around?" But they've been doing an amazing job at that, from the creation of the Sixers, dinosaur mating grounds, prehistoric pathogens, and (because we know it'll pop up at some point) Taylor's son with his mathematical scribblings. It seems like the writers never run out of ideas and are definitely not limited by the concept in any way. I love-love-love it, and I'm not too proud to kiss the television if it'll convince you of the extent of my adoration for Terra Nova. Expand
  24. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I've recently finished the last episode, and I thought I look after the release of the second season. I was flabbergasted when I saw the negative critics all over the net. But I don't understand why?! I'm not a big series fan to be honest. The last one I saw, was one and a half year ago; but for me, the only problem were the effects, because they were a bit unrealistic. Especially for the dinosaurs. On the other hand, the plot was excellent, the actors were likeable and the world was awesome. I really hope, they will continue this series, because the end of the last episode got me really excited. Expand
  25. May 10, 2012
    10
    Terra Nova had great writing great consistent character and a crazy amazing plot line! It was one of the few tv shows that really showed how a tv show can be produced well and seem like a movie through the whole series.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    Nothing in this pilot is as compelling as the idea for the show, which begs philosophical and ethical questions that Spielberg and company (for now, at least) aren't interested in addressing.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 27, 2011
    63
    Even with Steven Spielberg listed among the executive producers, this distant world doesn't inspire much awe. [3 Oct 2011, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 26, 2011
    50
    The slowdown of the show's pace is one thing, but the real issue here is that the family element often feels inauthentic and just isn't up to the quality of the CGI-fueled action sequences.