• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 289

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    1
    Incredibly awful writing. Inconsistent characters and annoying out-of-the-blue emo son who suddenly, inexplicably blames his dad. Poor production value on the sets. Wooden acting. No subtlety to the story. Really, really, really bad. It's like George Lucas wrote it.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    A 65 average critic score for this debacle of a show? Are you serious? I just wasted 2 hours of my life that I can't get back. I was hoping for way more of a sci-fi/adventure type story but this ended up being a soap opera in the prehistoric days. Awful, really really awful. Do not waste your time with this show as it will be canceled during the first season.
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Terra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questions answered, many more left for us to discover during our weekly visit. The production quality (i.e. FX) are pretty decent for a TV show, I didn't walk away with that cheesy feeling you often get just after watching a program that tries to pull off too much. All in all, I think the pilot did a good job of filling us in on what we need to know while giving us a reason to return, and I will be returning. Maybe I'm a sucker for anything Sci-fi, but I like the premise, the actors and the stage that has been set for future content. Now they just need to keep it up. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    0
    I can't really give the premiere a "fair" review because I was unable to get past the first 45 minutes and thats even DVR'd WITHOUT commercials but it doesn't really matter because this sow sucks. It makes me question why producers and creators feel they have to make big budget tv projects SO void of good dialogue, intelligent writing, character complexity, and the list goes on. This show is DUMB in the truest sense of the word. It treats the viewers as if they're expected to simply ignorantly accept whatever science fictiony bs these writers could come up with. Shockingly unrealistic and a painful attempt to relate to wwhat they must think the "common fox viewer" is. I meeeaaaan the characters dress and talk like "typical" americans of today. There is absolutely nothing that distinguishes these people from a typical light modern drama even thought its set 150 years in the future and then 65 million years in the past. Not cutting edge. NOT edgy, risky, artistic, well acted, well written or attractive at ALL. What the most upsetting thing is that there was all the money in the world to make something great when others have done far more for far less ie LOST, Battlestar Gallactica, X-Files, I'm sure there are more. I would write in greater detail or even bother to give an example of this shows ironic one dimensionality but I encourage you to actually watch the first 120 minutes of what I pray will be a very short lived disaster just so you can see what really great people are capable of when they're not paying attention or are so rich, successful and established they forget how to make great entertainment. #FAIL Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    3
    The writing on this show is horrendous. I cannot stand the interaction between the characters. Nothing seems natural between them, it all seems forced. The casting is also a little off. If shows are trying to be like lost they need to realize that all characters do not need to be chiseled, beautiful models. Won't be checking this out again.
  6. Sep 28, 2011
    3
    The first episode was simply boring. There was nothing new about it. The actors were bland, storyline pointless and very little mystery to it. I wasn't even blown away with the special effects. The most intense parts of the show didn't engage me. I couldn't care less about who lived or died. I'm not sure how much longer I could watch a show like this.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    I saw a trailer for this show about a month and a half back and I thought it was the coolest thing ever. Then when I actually saw it it was about as much as a disappointment as the new Hawaii 5-0 was. The dialogue is stiff and often so cliche you end up shaking your head half the time. The plot can sometimes seem stupid. The characters are practically lifeless shades (even Stephen Lang which I was highly disappointed with). The 2 hour premiere did have some surprisingly good CGI action. Nothing like Avatar, King Kong, Jurassic Park but very good none the less. The concept of Terra Nova show is also starting to unfold which I think is nice. The only reason why this isn't rated any lower is because I have potential for this series, they have so much that they can do with it to make it shine. In the meantime though you didn't miss too much. Expand
  8. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Premise is good and it has a lot of potential! I will be tuning in to see where it all goes. The pilot of any show is always a work in progress but few have the potential, this is one of the few!
  9. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Pretty good start, but I don't want this to be another LOST type show. If they are gonna get somewhere with Taylor's son, they need to get there sooner rather than later. It was fun to watch and will hopefully keep me entertained for quite some time.
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    A disappointment. Terra Nova managed to use all the clichés within one and half hour. This show does not know what is wants to be, and that's exactly what it is. It's everything from a family drama to a teen love story mixed up with some random action elements. The cast isn't that convincing because of some annoying characters, and I'm not just talking about the bad acting. This pilot is being eaten alive, question is... will help come in time? Expand
  11. Sep 30, 2011
    2
    It was simply boring; every minute and every move could be foreseen and nothing surprising happened. The opening double episode was full of cliches. Unfortunately, now I foresee a dumb Jurassic Park-themed series instead of a promising sci-fi story. Too bad!
  12. Oct 8, 2011
    2
    How could they spend so much money and create something so boring. Great opening and cool transition to T.N., and then wake me up when something happens besides a dreary family sitcom. Watched the 3rd episode, just in case, and the same mix of some action and mind-numbing camp life. It's a shame whoever created the show tried to appeal to such a wide variety of tastes that it just comes off bland. What a waste. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2011
    1
    This show is terrible. There are so many things wrong with it - no explanation for many aspects of the plot, parts that don't make a lick of sense, a son that all of a sudden has daddy issues, and a daughter playing the stereotype of the smart kid, only her acting is so bad that the best she manages to achieve is the not-so-smart kind trying to act. This has to be the poorest attempt at story telling that I have seen for a long while. My advice? Don't waste your time. Expand
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. This show really is a work of art- if you haven't seen it yet, do so! I could see this going 8-10 seasons if the scripts just stay as good as the pilot was, and shows generally improve in time (although I can't see how it could get any better than this). Expand
  15. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    I really had to challenge myself to finish watching the season. This show is: 10% Jurassic Park, 45% The Waltons, 45% scripts, poor ideas and cheesy dialogue from the lesser Star Trek shows (Deep Space Nine/Voyager/Enterprise). Exactly 10% of the show works. It's not the 1990's anymore, much less the 1960's. Battlestar Galactica set a high bar for modern scifi: Intelligent and gritty, great action, with realistic human drama at the center. You simply can't go back to the old formulas now. If Fox orders another season of this show without trimming all the fat, I guarantee I will not watch it. Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Excellent! A show the does not insult my intelligence. I am tired of shows that feel like they have been phoned in... designed for the multitask-er, with gratuitous salacious drama to keep their ADD attention spans. Terra Nova delivers intelligent plot and dialogue, excitement, believable characters, as well as excellent special effects. For me, this show has hit the right balance on all my checklists. Terra Nova ROCKS! Expand
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    You'd think that the reason Spielberg has waited so long to produce a TV series about dinosaurs is that he was waiting for technology to catch up so that creatures that live up the standards set by Spielberg's own Jurassic Park became affordable for a TV-budget.

    Sadly, this is not true. Not a single dinosaur looked believable. I'm not even sure the series reached up to Walking with
    Dinosaurs when it comes to paleovisual believability. The dinosaurs simply don't move or behave in a convincing fashion, looking more like something taken out of the Attack of the Clones arena that the terrifying animals we saw in 1993.

    Storywise? While there was a potential for "Lord of the Flies" with raptors, this is "Lost in the Cretaceous". It's a telling fact only the "bad" humans (shockingly characterized by a rugged appearance) actually get eaten, whole 5 teenagers who get cornered out in the forest by a pack of what is probably 500-kg predators survive with only flesh wounds and a minor leg fracture. I had a hard time deciding which of the main male characters is a more entitled douche. The father who decides to have a third child in a world dying from overpopulation, then assaults police officers and gets locked up leaving his family to fend for themselves? The clueless teenager who meets a cute girl on the first day, somehow instantly makes a lot of friends, and then decides to scamper off into the primeval jungle, predator-infested jungle to drink moonshine?

    Bottom line? It's by all means watchable, but if you where expecting "Galactica" with dinosaurs, sorry.
    Expand
  18. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    A high production value, clearly, but right off the bat there were no particularly gripping characters. Stephen Lang is the best of the bunch as he plays a humanized version of his "Avatar" character. Allison Miller, a proven actress in "Kings", does what she can with a shallow character here. The "estranged father keeping the family together" plot is nothing you haven't seen before. The show hinted at some future conflicts and mysteries, but did not leave anything that made me say "wow, I have to know the answer to that," as Lost specialized in. There is potential here, but we need actual mysteries and story and conflict instead of little girls admiring trees and people running from dinosaurs. Expand
  19. Sep 28, 2011
    1
    A very painful first episode. The characters sucked, the acting was terrible, the plot was lame, and the special effects were just okay. Seriously, it was just bad. The way I see it is that the only way one could enjoy this show is if they have no brain. Which a lot of people don't.
  20. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    I thought that FOX could do it better. Having into the game such a director as Jon Cassar, they could do it better, but the script is horrible! We can advance everything that is going to happen. If the shows continues like this, is going to fall quick.
  21. Oct 15, 2011
    2
    One of the most important things for lending credibility to fictional characters is them them ask the questions and think the thoughts that normal human beings in their place would ask and think. The characters in Terra Nova fail doing so over and over again, leading to a cast made up mostly of zombies, staggering their way through badly written storywork. While the basic concepts of time travel, pollution and exodus are all potentially interesting, the execution is very bad. The Terra Nova colony is doomed to fail, because it's colonists have neither any frontier spirit, not much in the way of brains to make up for it.

    Yet, sometimes when stories and acting are bad, at least the design, props and special effects make up for it a little bit. This is not the case here, unfortunately. The visual impression suggests that someone went through the concept art trashcans of Jurassic Park, Avatar, Earth 2 and Lost, then picked all the worst pieces he could find and copy them badly.

    It is not a complete waste of time, but it is second to almost anything.
    Collapse
  22. Oct 25, 2011
    3
    Pilot was weak, next episode was weaker and 5th episode into the season I'm starting to feel, that even special effects won't keep me from doing something else next time. For a serie this expensive, a remarkable failure.
  23. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Loved this show. Like nothing else I have seen on television. I'm sure the people who feel the need to have every show be about murder and mayhem will have a problem with this show but, for someone who fines the biggest problem with television being it's lack of cinematic flare, this was quite entertaining. It is also something for everyone who enjoys a since of discovery. Not the greatest show in the world, but quite a beautiful world with great special effects for television. Expand
  24. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    After watching the pilot I was somewhat disappointed. I heard they spent 10+ million on this pilot and I was expecting something great. Yet it felt like a mid-season episode which means I am going to have to watch a few more episodes to see where this is going. I do like the plot (or where I hope the plot is going) so far. I can comment much on the characters yet but they certainly were nowhere close to the characters on Lost (which is my standard for perfect characters in a TV show). Overall the pilot didn't give me an impression that this is going to be an amazing TV series nor that it will last but I always have hope that they can turn the show around. As a last comment to all the people who always complain about bad dialogue. I have to say people ask for too much these days from TV shows, like they are all made to be about dialogue. Yes I like perfect shows with great dialogue. But common, we want every movie and show to be an ideal world where everyone talks in perfect dialogue. Personally, I'm tired of the ideal world entertainment, I want something more realistic (dialogue wise at least) so I don't emphasize the dialogue too much unless they are TV shows (Mad Men, The Big Bang Theory) or Movies (The Lord of the Rings, The Kings' Speech) specifically based on their dialogue. Expand
  25. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Premise is pretty good, a thinking mans sci-fi show. Glad to see, Life on Mars guy, back. Very intriguing story line. Visual effects are stunning. Can't wait for next episode.
  26. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    I think this show has good potential. many plot points for future episodes were set up and it looks promising for now. I'll definitely be watching the next few episodes just to see if they take it in a kind of "Lost" direction in which case I might drop the show
  27. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All I can say is WOW! This is by far the best show to come out in years. It has everything! Great acting, amazing effects, and a great script. While it's true they are trying to push an agenda (it's written by environmental extremists - what do you expect?) they use the idea to good effect, so I'm not giving it any points down for that. Expand
  28. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Terra Nova's biggest appeal to me was the setting. It is something different than the crime-dramas and other shows set in a today-like setting. Being a fan of Jurassic Park as a kid I love the fact they're dinosaurs in this. The special effects were not mind boggling but they are not bad either; they are convincing enough to get the job done. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary shows like house csi, house, cm, etc. then defiantly take a look at Terra Nova. Expand
  29. Sep 27, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The good parts: Earth 2149 -- the special effects are excellent. Earth 85 Million BC - the CGI dinosaurs are also great, as is Stephen Lang, although his role and the whole base camp in the jungle setting reminds me of Avatar a little too much. The Bad: The writing needs a major upgrade, as do the central characters, aka Swiss Family Shannon. Their relationships are too pat and unconvincing. The Worst: here we go again with the imperative to appeal to the teenage demographic, turning Terra Nova at times into Terra Nova 90210. This was the same problem with another Spielberg creation, "Falling Skies," which seemed to revolve for a time around the irresponsible and incredibly stupid behavior of various teenagers. Hopefully, the Terra Nova writers will smarten up and feed a few of the stupider teenagers to the ever present dino predators, thus restoring a measure of sanity to the script, and proving that Darwin was right. Jury Still Out: the deeper meaning of the show. I'm not sure about the central mysteries of Terra Nova. They could turn out to be intriguing, or just more "Lost" potboiler trash. I would also like to see more of Earth 2149. If Terran society is advanced enough for time travel to an alternate timeline, it would seem that space travel and environmental cleanup should be a snap. I need to know why this is not so. In sum, Terra Nova has real potential, and I'll be watching the second episode, but it had better improve fast, if it wants to hold on to its audience. Expand
  30. Feb 2, 2012
    0
    I can't believe I ever gave this a 7. Awful show. It was bad in every way possible...I think the worst part of it all was this one scene in the season 1 finale where the villain pointlessly shot a vegetarian dinosaur. I can just imagine the moron who wrote that scene. "Duhhhh.,...vegetarian dinosaurs are...like...nice. they look so friendly eating their leaves. I hear people react to...like...bad stuff...let's have the villain shoot the vegetarian dinosaur. Yeah." Expand
  31. Oct 17, 2011
    3
    Update to the first watch review. I have given up on this dreck. It was so promising, so many cool ideas. All of it wasted by terrible acting and terrible writing. The characters are all one dimensional, the actors don't look like they have the talent to pull of even one dimension of acting. Stephen Lang is wasted since they dumbed down his Quarittch character. The show itself seems like it went into shooting only a week after they pitched the concept with no though put into the actual story. Seriously the organizational chart on this show could've been made by a 5 year old. The effects are crap as is the art deco. Their is nothing good here except the concept. Don't waste your time on this. You want a show from Speilberg go watch Falling Skies. Expand
  32. Oct 14, 2011
    2
    It was actually so bad I was laughing half the time! Wow what a waste of time. The first four hours of this show prove it to be shallow in plot and quality. The characters are again American cliche in what appears to be a soap opera remake of Avatar. There is no reasoning behind any of it. I am sure it in no way does the book plot justice. I wonder what drugs Spielberg was on when he was producing this crap. It's funny to note, those that liked "lost" rate this show. In conclusion it is proof American television has lost touch with intelligent viewers. BBC documentaries or Blade Runner any day! Expand
  33. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    This is another disappointing show this season. I love dinosaurs and I love a hokey story but this is
    sterile. The characters are unlikeable - a cop that thumbs his nose at authority by having a third child? and then fails to protect the child? he is going to be the hero? doctor mom loves the hothead? what?

    The dinosaurs are just like in Jurassic Park- they do not have reality apart
    from the humans. Boring, boring, boring. Expand
  34. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    Terra Nova has an interesting premise, and the pilot episode laid the groundwork for what could be a compelling story. That being said, the show isn't without it's problems. The pilot was rather heavy on teen angst - an element that I'm hoping they don't plan on relying on in future episodes. In addition to the hipster teens, the other characters were also mostly clichés - cop dad, doctor mom, war-hardened leader, and rebel chick whose motivations are not yet clear. Of course, the characters that were the most disappointing were the dinosaurs themselves. I don't think they looked quite as bad as some of the other reviews I've read have let on, but I was still not impressed. It's clear that the producers have some big decisions to make regarding the show's visuals and their available budget. Ultimately, Terra Nova will have to rely on having plenty of action beats and keeping the mystery alive if they want viewers to keep coming back. In addition, some more better writing and character development couldn't hurt.

    All in all, Terra Nova was slightly better than I expected it to be. And, while I'm not totally won over, the pilot was just good enough to convince me to tune in for a few more weeks.
    Expand
  35. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I think I can some this show up by saying that if Earth2, Jurassic Park, and Lost had a baby it would be Terra Nova. I think this show could have a great future. The dinosaurs looked a bit too cartoonish at times but this was the pilot episode and one can only hope the CGI will get better. This was far better than anything you would get from the Syfy network in production value. I am extremely curious what direction the show will take. I think there will be no middle ground with Terra Nova by episode ten people will either love it or hate as was the case with Lost. Expand
  36. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    craptastic. this is no battlestar galactica. this is no lost. or whatever reference or hope they had. silly acting and plot. amateurish special effects (if you can even call them that). not suprised, but disappointed.
  37. Oct 2, 2011
    0
    I felt compelled to register and contribute a quick review for this show because I don't understand how a show this appallingly bad could garner positive reviews. I have only seen the first hour of the pilot in a preview at comic-con, and decided then and there that I did not need to see a single second more of this disaster. Between the mediocre special effects, boring and predictable story, wooden acting, and amazingly terrible dialogue, it's mind-boggling that the show made it off the cutting room floor, let alone to an actual premiere. The fact that it garnered applause at comic-con was totally surprising to me, but now I see that the general sci-fi TV watching public has their standards set so low that even this dreck is considered acceptable. You would think after having the pleasure of Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Lost, Fringe and other such impressively written shows, they would have a better appreciation, but apparently not. Score is for the show and for those fans who actually enjoyed this. Expand
  38. Dec 20, 2011
    2
    This is by far one of the worst sci-fi shows I've seen in a while. Bad stories, hollow characters and rip-offs of much better sci-fi shows and movies are only the beginning of this shows problems. There is little to no character development, romance subplots that are on par with Twilight, villains with motivations so cliche (or unexplained) that it unbearable, moments that would've had emotional weight if it wasn't for the characters lack of development of personality.
    The story arc is insultingly moronic, and there are moments that are so stupid that it makes me just toss a grenade in Brannon Braga's living room.
    There is nothing to see here. If you want a dose of dino action then watch the Jurassic Park movies, if you want human vs. human conflict then watch Jericho, and if you want a time travel adventure then watch Doctor Who.
    DO NOT WATCH THIS!!!
    Expand
  39. Jan 27, 2012
    2
    Terrible terrible terrible. But I give it points for what it could have been, sans the script written by what seems like the folks from ABC Family. And it could have been so much more.
  40. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    After watching the first episode I was left with an disappointed feeling. The CGI was poor and looked outdated. After hearing good things about this show, I was expecting something spectacular but this was not the case.
  41. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the season opener. Very good CGI and story thug far. Some of the charters were weaker than the others. Looking forward to the next episodes that will explain both the reason for Oranges and the markings on the waterfall. Still little confused as to where they are in the timeline. Are they in a reverse paradox or in the past before the life of mankind? Expand
  42. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    The concept is great and the timestream star gate worm hole is cool but its cast is strange. If you lived in a jungle would you not be smarter about how to dispose of even the smallest carnavore. These guys dont even have guns that even seem to hurt the lizards. The undertwenty crowd in the series need to man up get some iraqi vets to teach them how to survive in hostil enviroment. The cop sould be a bit more jaded after spending two yrs in prison for have an extra kid. The commander is a bit to passive about people shooting at him Expand
  43. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    One can see the same crap on the sci-fi channel with better cheesy effects and the same stupid plot points! Is Spielberg afraid to show a man-eating dino killed by humans? Peter Jackson and James Cameron are better fantasy directors and producers! I'll try to stick with it, although it could get as boring and soap opera laden as Falling Skies!
  44. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    This is what Steven Spielberg is about ! Terra Nova is undoubtedly AMAZING ! It like a dream come true but with Dinosaurs ! With an amazing cast this show could go for the best ! The FX are awesome & the shows premises are truly stunning ! The Pilot (Genesis) was good ! Dramas , Lots of Adventure , Cool Action (with awesome si-fi guns) , Si-Fi stuffs , plus Dinosaurs (of course) with Mystery Terra Nove got it all just the story needs to be strong and good ! Expand
  45. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Possibilities are endless with this new show. I can't wait to watch more of it. It is a great family-type show where the teenager liked it as much as the adult viewers.
  46. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    I found the show very entertaining and a good watch. Lots of plot lines and paths to follow and good character depth. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  47. Sep 29, 2011
    6
    The age range range for this show skews a little too low for me. At least I hope it does. I would hate to think that they dumbed it down for a wider audience, because that would be ridiculous. There is no wider audience for sci fi. Dumb people won't watch it even if it has guns and explosions. The Dawson's Creek people also aren't going to watch it no matter how cute the teenagers are. That's why I hope they're just trying to reach smart eight year olds, But of course, In the process of doing that they have to lose this smart 35 year old. Too bad, it could have been fun for us grownups. I don't even think the action figures will be that cool. Expand
  48. Sep 30, 2011
    6
    Sci-fi soap opera. Overall it is entertaining.. maybe a little more if you're 10y.o. Good visuals is not all, unfortunately. Some decent story could come in handy too... Terra Nova lacks a good story. Surely its not dumb.. but still naive. It's funny how you wait for somebody to just die. Opportunities are good but no, pilot is politically correct, rated for teen and overall happy-endish. You cant really expect anything surprising or thrilling here. I'll surely watch it, I guess it wont hurt. Eventually, its only 6 episodes. Expand
  49. Oct 2, 2011
    3
    Somehow a show about dystopian future-world politics, time travel and dinosaurs manages to insult my intelligence. Every once in a while there is an educational moment, but it comes from Steve Erkel character that every proceeds to roll their eyes at. I honestly find Storage Wars more intelligent than this show. They have to know this is going to be cancelled, they could at least have made it watchable for the few episodes it will be on the air. Expand
  50. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Really awful. First thing: no more than two kids when the whole planet is on the point of collapse? Why would anyone in a hellhole even consider having more than one child? China? When did it institute the one child policy? Now: I have one kid, would not consider a second given the expense and the dire future, and I cannot be the loneliest man on that one. Then they go back in time. First shot. House painted blue. Where the hell are the mines, the power plants, the refineries, all the stuff that presumably got us into the mess that allowed us to paint our houses blue? No-one seems interested. Surely that will be explained later, but it's just too cheesy right now to stimulate my interest. Straight away it's romance, Dad being a jerk, kids acting up, young kid feeding an enormous dino with no fear, horrible dialog ("looks like some kind of geometry or something", dude looking at geometry on rock wall), and IT'S JUST NOT POSSIBLE that people in the future will speak so irresponsibly and lazily WHEN THEY ARE ALL ABOUT TO DIE!
    Horrible. I'm an Aussie, so I expect the content and the dialog to be dumbed down a bit, but this is unendurable. BSG and Lost were great shows. Why is this such a lot of dookie?
    Expand
  51. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    Poor special effects, you watch jurassic park then come to this and you will see the difference. Poor plot. Very predictable. Amnesia episode this early in the season?! are the writers struggling for ideas? whats next, a singing episode? annoying characters, cant stand the emo kid. Why did he hate his dad again? because he stuck up for his little sister? that makes no sense! basically go watch walking dead instead. That has characters you actually care for. Expand
  52. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    I had my hopes up for this one but it really lacks any substance. This show isn't sure if it wants to be a family show or an adult drama but flails awkwardly in the middle. Poor writing and highly episodic content with very little to hook the viewer align perfectly with crude direction to result in trite disaster. As is often the case in new shows, it can take a while for the characters to gel. I doubt we'll ever see any cohesion from the characters in this show. Destined to a single season I'm afraid. Expand
  53. Dec 15, 2011
    1
    I have grown up a sci-fi fan. So when I heard about this show, I was ecstatic. Dinosaurs, a hint of Earth 2, a whole new world to explore, what more could you ask for? After watching the first episode thru the current one apparently a lot more! (Yeah, yeah, I keep trying it, wishing for change, I'm hopeless)

    The lines are VERY bland, nothing intelligent, nothing interesting. It
    sometimes feels like some high school kids wrote and directed it. The mini "day to day" storylines are the same thing. And the BIG multi-arc "storyline" is so weak it could be nonexistant. Bad corporations from the future want to suck out the natural resources of this new planet. Ooooooh. So much drama.....

    The actors they chose fro this are very generic looking. I know they tried to actually add diversity to the main cast (the actors playing the mother, and both daughters have Indian ancestory), which is great. But for a multi million budget, they could'nt have found better actors?? They say their lines so glumly, as if they will suck the life out of television. Actors don't NEED to be good looking more than they need to have charisma, an onscreen persona. So far the Commander is the one with most charisma (and I hated his guts in Avatar).
    I wonder if this show can be saved? Explode Terra Nova, or maybe let dinosaurs eat everybody up. Then the next batch of explorers that come can be better cast. It is sad that they were trying to make a family friendly sci-fi and it fell flat. I love feel good shows, shows that show the bond/strength of family. But this thing just sucked.

    P.S It makes me miss Earth2, my heart was ripped out when super losers cancelled it. :(
    Expand
  54. Dec 19, 2011
    1
    The stunning visuals are not enough to distract my attention off of the horrendous writing and terrible acting with the exception of Stephen Lang(not great but decent enough to keep me from pulling my hair out while screaming at the screen). This show lacks the mystery that others of it's category have; shows such as "Lost" which had the bitter-sweetness of "leaving you hanging" at the end of the show. The fact that every unrealistic problem the writers create is resolved at the end of every episode is what is driving the audience away; an audience which is relatively small considering the shows budget. As of today the show has survived for one whole season, perhaps Fox will see their mistakes and fix them. The fix is simple new writers and casting auditions! Expand
  55. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    The effects are great, the storyline can be great. Please do not turn this into a sad crummy production. Points of failure: Cars with no doors in dinosaur land. Children getting lost in the dinosaur infested jungle... adults learn of this and instead of sending the military out to get them instantly, the hero goes to his hut and has a heart to heart chat with his wife about whether or not she should go... then they take her along. Producers... go watch the 1st 5 episodes of BSG... watch it again... ok, now try to bring some of that edge into your multi million dollar production before it slides into the land of lost shows... because it has great potential... but after 2 episodes it is already slipping. And by the way... lots of your viewers will be scientists (we like SciFi)... so next time you have biologists capturing new organisms, figuring out their "pheremone" homing systems, and then synthesizing "enhanced" versions of said pheremones in 3 hours start to finish... just don't. Go to UCLA and get some grad students to advise you... I guarantee they'll do it for free donuts. Not only will your show be more believable, it wall also be better. Last rant - those flying bats in episode 2 were neither scary nor intimidating. All they served to do is make the son look incompetent in his total inability to kick any kind of dino ass. Expand
  56. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I completely loved this show. Maybe other people had expectations that were too high or whatever, but i personally thought it was AMAZING. The effects were are quite beautiful (it's a TV show people!) and the story was intriguing. I look forward to every new episode eagerly!!
  57. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    I really like this show, cant believe its not getting better reviews, Its something new an a great IDEA! Really enjoying it look forward to see the plot develop an become a really strong new series.
  58. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    The pilot was alright...ish...then the following episodes were so boring. I honestly don't care about the creatures of Pandora or wherever the hell they. I understand they're mean and vicious, they're dinosaurs. Geez mankind's last hope for survival wasted on father/son issues and a generic nerdy girl who's awkward about dating. I thought it'd be like Battlestar Galactica meets Jurassic Park. Lolol, no. Expand
  59. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    It dragged a bit at the beginning, became a bit to soapy for a bit and seems to have settled now. I am starting to enjoy the show. Few more dinosaurs would be fun.. Taylor comes across as a bit fake! for a first season with little know actors (for me) i think its pretty good.
  60. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    After seeing the first 2 or 3 episodes the euphoria finally settled in and the realisation caved in that I am watching a weekly episode of Dinosaurs making guest appearances on a family drama.
    I love what Jason O Mara and his family does but the role of Skye is underdeveloped and so is the role of the other 'kids' in the series.
    The rivalry between Jason and his wife's ex boyfriend -cum-
    classmate could have been far better and well worked on which was technically ignored.
    What I dont get is the fact if there are so many pilgrimages why is there not a sensation of Terra Nova being a larger place than what it looks like ?
    The "Sci-Fi" plot is too weak to keep me captivated enough for long because I just dont get the fact of a son who gets all nutty over his father cuz his dad wrecked his toys when he found out that what the son was up to was not 'right' ?? So he goes and plays 'abcd' on the rocks ???
    In all the show is a very exciting adventure and 40 out of 100 people would agree with that, HOWEVER the show 'lacks adventure' which 70 out of 100 people would agree to. I for one believe that there is a far more epic new season of this show is awaiting for all of us next year and THATS THE BOTTOMLINE !!!
    Expand
  61. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The show has alot of potential. I cant get enough of it. It was slow to get interesting a little bit because it was slow to build the plot in the first couple episodes, but I think it really took off and hooked me. I do not understand the low user score or meta rating. This show has more potential than some other bad shows like Once Upon A Time or the rash of Vampire shows.
  62. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Our family loves this show. Writing isn't always great, but it has a good theme we all enjoy. If someone can't appreciate what terra nova brings to the table, it's only because they don't realize how hard it is to find a show that's interesting for parents, friendly enough for kids, and doesn't shove god up your a$$ with that combination. It's a television series. It's not a movie. Different budgets. Not disappointed with special effects. We hope there are more seasons to come. We will be very disappointed if it gets canceled. Expand
  63. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    You know I remember this show it started out on what then was call USA network. In the first season it was a little out there, the plot was not so polish, and the characters were not quite there. So USA cancel the show and this should had been the end. Then came along this new tv channel. It was so knew that people thinking on it was you got to be kidding and yeah right. They saw something in this show that USA had cancel an so brought the rights. The show was call Babylon Five and channel was TNT the rest is history. I said go ahead Fox Tv executives make that mistake cancel the show an watch some else walk off with the prize. Expand
  64. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This show had me attached from day one. The action-packed Sci-Fi series always has my attention and adrenaline running. I heard about it on the radio before it premiered and decided to give it a chance. I became attached in the first 5 minutes. The show never let me down. It's sad to see so many people aren't giving it a chance. Yea, it's different but it's a "cool" different. With season 1 of Terra Nova completed, I really hope FOX decides to renew [Terra Nova] it. Expand
  65. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I've found this show to be amazing, much better than the crap that most people watch. It's not very often that a show really grabs my imagination and I for one am glad I took the time to watch this and very very hopeful of a second season being announced soon
  66. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    I think it's one of the best shows out there! i love it! It's very entertaining, you never know what is going to happen next. I think the qualitity of the show is actually pretty good..I love the dinosaurs and how it is written. At times i think the script is a little chessy, but not that bad. I hope there will be a season 2!
  67. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    Terra Nova is a fun, family show that it pays to be seen. I think his greatest virtue is exactly the clichés.I do not want another "LOST". The series is simple, fun, with no great pretensions, and should not be tempted to have large overly complex scripts. Great series.
  68. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    I love this show! I like the drama and the character relationships...I wouldn't have every watched it if my boyfriend wasn't so stubborn and kept bugging me to watch it, lol. In some ways similar to Lost BUT they actually explain things! You fall in love with the characters and their story. So what if it may not be "sci-fi" enough or the actors not perfect? It's a good story so that's that!
  69. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    Terra Nova is one of those shows where you love it and at other times, you hate it... and you'll hate it so much. The plot and premise was one of the most fascinating things about the show, and it did not deliver until it was way too late. There was a lot of wasted episodes... basically, out of the 13 episodes, only 4 of them even really amounted to anything worth while. Ironically, those episodes happened to be the first two and final two episodes.

    It's also fairly difficult to make an emotional connection to any of the characters when you generally kinda hate them all save for a select few you can count with one hand. I'd recommend this show only if you're curious, otherwise, stick with the first two episodes and final two episodes, it'll be like watching a movie. Otherwise, you'll have a lot of filler in between the good stuff, and you'll hate yourself for watching it.
    Expand
  70. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    So Spielberg! Very boring and politically correct, with a "Happy family" characters that was the sum of all stereotype in generalistic TVShow. Not to mention the lot of plot-hole and all the question that pops in your mind watching it (one for all: dad breaks from a maximum security prison and enter in another maximum security facility with no tool, no breather. And magically become the most bad-ass cop in the colony. Bah! Visual effect are simply embarassing. Another Falling Skies!! Expand
  71. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    The show got off to a good start with the pilot episode, but the second episode about killer pterosaurs, was over the top cheesy. Will give it another week or two, but if it remains too campy (can you say "land of the lost"???), I'll move on.
  72. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    Big Budget effects....not big budget writing. Its popcorn entertainment for now. I'll keep watching for a bit to see how it goes, but it has to get better soon.
  73. Oct 11, 2011
    5
    As a person who loved dinos since he was 2 years old, I was REALLY looking forward to this series... This series had so much going for it but overall I can't rate this anything more then a 5 and thats with me being bias in favor of the show. The show is just barley watchable, the acting is very inconsistent and the show is just all over the place. I read numerous reviews saying the the CGI effects were equivalent to Jurassic Park... to me that's a big insult, its not even close... and that was made how long ago? I know you don't have a movie budget but common... when the little girl gave the branch to the dinosaur to eat (what little girl would really give a branch to a dinosaur the first time seeing it anyway...) it went from being a real branch to a CGI one and the transition was horrible. I've seen the first three episodes now and feel I can comment safely. The show didn't even make a big entrance. The very first show was about everyone fighting with each other and included some lame ass dinosaurs. Really you need to save the human race and you're fighting with each other....The second show dealt with some bird like dinos that were mostly animated as a big mob... The third one dealt with some outpost doing gene research and it caused ppl to have amnesia... common guys.... wheres the real dinos, when i say that I mean the ones everyone is dying to see... there hasn't been one dinosaur fight and hardly any interaction with humans... the show may as well be them in Africa cuz there surronding have had very little to do with the plot. 90% of the actors are bad. The writing is subpar... I just expected more for all the hype. If the show didn't include the PROMISE of humans interacting with dinosaurs (I say this because we haven't really seen this yet) I probably would rate this show a 2/10, 3/10 at most. Im a big sci-fy fan and this show under that classification is a joke. I want to love this show, theres just nothing to grasp at, I will keep watching because a series with dinosaurs is a worth prolonged exposure but if it continues down this path I doubt there will be a Season 2 to even watch. Overall this is how I would rate the show under these classifications: Concept: 8/10 Visuals: 4/10 Acting: 2/10
    Dynamic Plot: 0/10
    Suspense: 1/10 Promise of dinosaurs: 1/10
    Expand
  74. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    I think this is a great fall show. It has an intriguing storyline and great characters. My only problem with it is that it would make better as a movie. A bigger budget would allow for better writers and more special effects but I feel that if you stick with it, it will have a rewarding outcome. Out of all the new shows, this is among my favorites. If you haven't been able to check this show out and you have free time, check it out. Expand
  75. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    If Starship Troopers and Jurassic Park got together this is the lovechild it would produce. Oh yeah, did I mention the two were blood relatives?

    The premise itself is somewhat interesting but the movie fails to execute on every level; writing, dialog special effects, acting, character development.
  76. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    Very enjoyable show. Believable? No. Nerdy? Yes. Entertaining? Totally. Beautiful landscapes and impressive special effects for a weekly series. Great potential to become a cult phenomenon. If dork-tastic shows like Dr. Who and Fringe can find followings then there's no reason this show doesn't deserve a fair chance to flourish. As long as the writing stays fresh and the action stays engaging, Terra Nova could potentially be the best series starring dinosaurs since, well, Dinosaurs... "Not the mama!" Expand
  77. Oct 13, 2011
    6
    A watchable show, but I wont call this 'must see TV'. The focus seems to be on effects (which aren't THAT amazing) rather than good characters and storylines. I'll stick with this as it does have potential but we have to hope it doesn't just turn into "A different adventure each week" without having any decent serious story development.
  78. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Great series! I'm not one that's really into the whole "dinosaurs" thing, but It's done well IMO. I find the plot and story to be very intriguing and keeps me on the edge of my seat waiting for more!
  79. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    Ah ! Ah ! 2012 is set in motion with coming Bermuda's triangle theories. Well, the show now moves forward at an interesting pace and is at last entertaining. Lets hope for the best in 2012
  80. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is a great TV show. Acting is sketching at first but its a bran new television series. You get caught up in the show quickly and is fast passed. If you like Science Fiction or fantasy or Dino's then this is a good show. Anyone who doesn't give this show a good rating need to give it more then 20 minutes.
  81. Oct 27, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pointless and unnecessary, that's what this show is. When I first read about this show I got very excited. Dystopian future, time travel and dinosaurs, what could possibly go wrong? I did not expect stellar acting, a remarkable plot line or clever dialogue. Just watching a group of people in a survival setting battling against the elements and the diversity of vicious, man-eating, prehistoric creatures would have been enough to satisfy all my expectations. Now, after watching 3 episodes, I feel duped. It's not about dinosaurs, hardships of survival, some weird psychological phenomenon caused by time travel or possible implications thereof. This show is no more than a generic family drama with occasional apperances of dinosaurs. The whole premise of time travel and dinosaurs is nothing more than a farce, an excuse to provide the viewer with **** explanations for **** solutions to **** problems with dinosaurs thrown in to create a fake sense of danger and urgency. The show is as predictable as the alphabet and the characters are so cliché and one-dimensional that I can't possibly care for any of them. Let me introduce them, without names though, cause I already forgot. There is the father, the embodiment of conservative alpha male/provider/protector/authoritative father figure, in short a neanderthal. He will always do as his conservative guide to being a manly father says, that does not include using his brain. In episode 1 for example he decides to punch a police officer after his illegal (overpopulation law) child is found. He goes to prison, his wife gets to raise their 3 children on her own. There is apparently no consequence of having 1 child too many, so the only thing his anger accomplished is getting him imprisoned and giving his family a couple years of hardship. Still, his continued knuckle responses are presented in such a way that it appears as if the producers of this show are trying to promote outdated gender-role stereotypes. His wife is the typical beautiful wife that is always loyal to her husband whatever happens, she loves her children. She is also a typical doctor/ scientist, and by typical I mean typical for TV shows. It seems TV producers have at best a childlike understanding of science, so when they create a scientist/doctor character it's basically someone really smart who wields the magic of science to solve various problems. In one episode for example she appears to be an expert in virology and bio engineering despite being a trauma surgeon (wiki says it) back in her time-line. Then there are their 3 kids. The teen daughter is a cliché awkward, nerdy genius kid. The producers idea of smart is that she will blurt out some supposedly smart stuff, and the producers idea of akward and nerdy is that she is extremely attractive and everyone smirks when she says said smart stuff. Then there is the rebellious teen son who says mean stuff to his parents but loves them in his heart. He gets into trouble and his parents get him out of it, afterwards they hug. At last there is the youngest child, a little girl whose only job it is to be cute and provide moments of touchy feelings. Every episode feels exactly the same. Half the episode is about how much they love eachother and how important their family is. Then some problem appears, a reason for them to leave their safe camp. There will be a little shooting, shouting and driving, a couple dinosaurs will be encountered and the problem will be solved within the same episode. Then it's back to happy family times. In-between the action and family stuff there are also some romance sub plots that are as original as the idea of time travel. As a guy I hate the moronic filler material that is romance, but Terra Nova sets a new record for the most stupid and half assed romance sub plots, I mean it. Episode 1, teen son arrives at terra nova and goes exploring the new home, first person he talks to is his new romance. Same episode, teen daughter takes a walk in the new home, first person she speaks to is her new romance. **** disgusting. As already mentioned each episode is in itself conclusive, the only plotline that extends beyond the duration of one episode is the disappearance of the son of the camp commander and his crazy writings on stones and rocks. There is also a group of people who were living in the camp but are enemies now, some kind of mad max-esque enemies. These attempts at mystery are so poorly executed that they fail to create even the slightest amount of interest. To sum up, there is absolutely no reason to watch this show, boring characters, predictable cookie-cutter episodes, zero suspense. Expand
  82. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    While this isn't going to break new ground for anyone, it's a credible effort. The writing and acting are serviceable, but again, nothing special. The situations, though, are well structured and interesting. The camera work is especially strong. There's not much challenge here, but I find myself looking forward to each episode (I've watched the first four). On a side note, I don't know if it's just me, but many of the characters seem like direct lifts from another Spielburg-produced project: Falling Skies. I don't know if the two shows are sharing writers, or if they're just engaging in the same basic stereotypes, but it's slightly annoying. Expand
  83. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    Opps- my review for this went on as a 10. Definitely not what I wanted so this evens things out. Default ratings really shouldn't be ten. And where is the edit option???
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Terra Nova is a decent show, but it is ruined by horrible acting, unfunny jokes and some bad CGI moments. I was disappointed, the show had potential.
  85. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Terra Nova is fun to watch. While the human stories will seem familiar sometimes, the element of dinosaurs has been gone from TV for too long, and it is reintroduced with stunning CGI. Terra Nova is to TV what Avatar was to cinema (ironically, both star Stephen Lang in a strikingly similar role...): A visually beautiful series with a familiar story that will provide solid, light entertainment. And dinosaurs. Expand
  86. Nov 1, 2011
    1
    Simply terrible. Nothing is thought through. Effects aren't too great, characters are shallow and uninteresting. It's no LOST, it's not thought provoking, interesting, or entertaining. Watched it with a group of friends, we left and did other things.
  87. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I can't write a formal review for Terra Nova without being a bit casual at least once: I freakin' LOVE this show. From the first episode, its production value is obvious, and obviously Spielberg-esque. The attention to detail in the settings is amazing (anyone catch all the billboards in the background of the pilot?), and filming in the remotest parts of Australia really creates this sense of a prehistoric world, and while the CG isn't movie-quality, it definitely gets the job done convincing viewers that these dinosaurs are real, they're mean, and they'll kill you if you get too close. The tech CG is even better, and the effects team manages to combine futuristic tech with the prehistoric setting in a way that somehow just meshes. The acting is fantastic. For one thing, I had no idea that Jason O'Mara and Naomi Scott weren't Americans by their accent, and for another, the family unit actually acts and naturally becomes a family. A lot of shows end up having the family members seem like strangers, but either this cast really loves each other or they're the best actors on Earth. I'd guess it's a little of both. One of the main concerns I had during the pilot was "how are they going to have a new story every week if there's just dinosaurs around?" But they've been doing an amazing job at that, from the creation of the Sixers, dinosaur mating grounds, prehistoric pathogens, and (because we know it'll pop up at some point) Taylor's son with his mathematical scribblings. It seems like the writers never run out of ideas and are definitely not limited by the concept in any way. I love-love-love it, and I'm not too proud to kiss the television if it'll convince you of the extent of my adoration for Terra Nova. Expand
  88. Nov 2, 2011
    1
    The teenagers live among dinosaurs and go into the forest to drink moonshine? really? they spend all the money on the series to come up with this? the script is ridiculous. don't waste your time. if you want quality programming watch hbo or showtime.
  89. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    It's really fun having dinosaurs back on TV, and whilst I would like the show to be more of a continuing story as opposed to a "monster of the week" style show, and considering the idea of a portal back in time has been used before, it's still not unwelcome on my TV screen. The opening 10 or so minutes of the show ran through too quickly and was too confusing, but with so much to get through in the space of 90 minutes, once the story slowed down it was easier to follow. The show has created 2 worlds and both are fascinating, one with it's extreme laws and ruined earth and the other with a bright-eyed new world with it's crazy wildlife. Essentially, at first, it's a cop show with dinosaurs so I'm really hoping that past episode 6 or so, the show starts to become it's own genre. Fox learned nothing from the mess they created with Dollhouse. Audiences may not have been there in droves but the first 5 episodes are nothing short of standard among a fantastically fascinating world. It seems Terra Nova is on the track of the early Dollhouse episodes. It's not bad but it is not yet the brilliant show we're looking for. Expand
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    I'm watching this drama from Iran. Series is weak, the content and dull. I'm surprised that this series has been spending millions of dollars.Many series have been canceled. I do not know why this series is not canceled
  91. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    I can't understand why this show is still on the air. Terrible plot and script, horrible acting and poor CGI all come together to create a magnificent piece of dreck. How could Spielberg produce something like this? Unbelievable...
  92. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Booooring. I am unable to stay interested in this show. The characters are bland, predictable and cliche. The story was pulled out of someone's butt, and aside from the dinosaurs I'm not even sure what this show is supposed to be about. There's nothing compelling about it. Maybe if aliens came down, strapped lasers on the dinosaurs, and the dinosaurs went rampaging through the human settlement it would be watchable. Network TV is pretty much out of ideas. Expand
  93. Nov 22, 2011
    2
    Okay, so Stephen Spielberg can't do TV. That's okay. His CV is already pretty impressive. We'll just give him a pass on this mediocre tripe that's basically Falling Skies, only with dinosaurs instead of aliens. Where Falling Skies had "skitters", Terra Nova has "slashers". It falls prey to the same cheap serial TV tricks that Falling Skies did (too much CGI, generic music meandering in the background with little relevance to the action, lame plot devices) and focuses on much the same issues (survival of the human race, father/son stuff, boy/girl stuff). It had potential, but it's a flop. There are too many holes. The dinosaurs themselves are not featured enough, and when they are, they're just angry monsters, not complex zoological marvels. Nobody seems to mind that their new community is an autocracy. Nobody knows any body else, and although there can't be accommodation for more than 100 people, and there's never more than 20 people milling around the open-air "market", they all seem to be strangers to one another. Despite the dangers, teenagers live alone and regularly climb through the fence to jump off waterfalls and drink spurious jungle-brewed moonshine. Shelley Conn, the doctor, is a good character and a good actress, and I'm glad they're letting her use her own accent, but I don't understand how she (apparently a medical doctor) knows so much about virtually every aspect of modern and prehistoric science. Also, there seems to be a lack of nurses. She recently recruited a moonshine-abusing teenager to pull a 6 foot parasite out of a patient. Why? That teenager is the very annoying "Skye", who knows an awful lot about illicit activities, and runs around doing her own thing and flirting shamelessly with Josh who, frankly, could do better. Landon Liboiron is good as Josh, and Naomi Scott is equally good as his sister (although she and her wholesome boyfriend already behave like a married middle-aged couple). In fact, the whole Shannon family is well cast. I just wish they weren't subject to the same cliched issues as every family in every tv show ever (daughters dating, father and son conflict, baby sister in danger, mom and/or dad torn between work and family, mother's old boyfriend pulling strings to bring his old flame back from the future). Jason O'Mara is fantastic, and the best thing about this mostly lame production. I wish he had better stuff to work with, because he's very warm and watchable on screen. I just don't totally get what this show is about. The mood shifts constantly, and it's often just plain silly. As in the episode where Dr Shannon loses her memory, attempts at humour fall flat, it all descends into farce and just feels really uncool. I don't really get why or how they're trying to rescue humankind by going through a portal to a prehistoric world, and what they're actually trying to accomplish in this tiny village. What do they all do there, who makes the stuff they sell in the market, do they reproduce, why are there enough resources for a bar complete with shady barkeeper with a bad reputation? Who let him in and why? Where does he expect to hide? And what's the deal with these Sixers who frankly don't seem very scary or interesting?

    Sorry, the show sucks.
    Expand
  94. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    The show has great special effects and a premise that had so much potential. But with the exception of the first episode it has been nothing family struggles and soap opera moments. None of the characters are particularly cool or interesting. The only one I like is the Steven Lang character and his character is essentially the dude from Avatar that he played. You would think they would show more dinosaurs and scifi stuff but over the season the show has lost it's identity. Too many filler episodes and not enough episodes that move along the central plot. Picture the slump Lost got itself into except this time it started from the start. Expand
  95. Dec 1, 2011
    1
    Trash! Maybe the worst thing that I've just watched! bad casting, bad scenes, bad dialogues, bad dinosaurs...This is not sci-fi, this is drama and bad drama
  96. Jan 8, 2012
    2
    From the acting; to the writing; to the direction and special effects; Terra Nova is a cesspool of dreck that does not succeed in any aspect. It's a thinly disguised family drama centering around a family of five as they try and cope with life in 'the new world'. Luring you in with its promise of sci-fi and dinosaurs, Terra Nova quickly makes it obvious that they have neither the budget nor inclination to provide anything of the sort. Expand
  97. Jan 13, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise seems good, as well as the special effects. That is all that seems good with Terra Nova. Bad and cheesy acting, Unmemorable characters and god, the very, very bad writing!

    How were the angsty teenage kids able to sneak outside the gates when, apparently, a security camera has been focused on their exit point all along? Not to mention that they were even able to sneak out with a vehicle which the adults only accounted for when the plot demands it!
    Expand
  98. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I've recently finished the last episode, and I thought I look after the release of the second season. I was flabbergasted when I saw the negative critics all over the net. But I don't understand why?! I'm not a big series fan to be honest. The last one I saw, was one and a half year ago; but for me, the only problem were the effects, because they were a bit unrealistic. Especially for the dinosaurs. On the other hand, the plot was excellent, the actors were likeable and the world was awesome. I really hope, they will continue this series, because the end of the last episode got me really excited. Expand
  99. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    This show is pretty good i liked it and it's deffinately worth trying out if your into scifi
  100. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    Terra Nova had potential to be a lot better than it was because of its good mythology/overall story arc, but instead of focusing on the mythology like it should have, until the end it stayed in the background and the bulk of the series was standard sci-fi filler episodes, with bog standard stories you've seen before in any Syfy show - someone gets murdered, someone gets a virus, they get attacked by an unknown new creature. Its still decent though and started an interesting story for season 2 if it gets one on Netflix. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    Nothing in this pilot is as compelling as the idea for the show, which begs philosophical and ethical questions that Spielberg and company (for now, at least) aren't interested in addressing.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 27, 2011
    63
    Even with Steven Spielberg listed among the executive producers, this distant world doesn't inspire much awe. [3 Oct 2011, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 26, 2011
    50
    The slowdown of the show's pace is one thing, but the real issue here is that the family element often feels inauthentic and just isn't up to the quality of the CGI-fueled action sequences.