The 100 : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 19, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 19, 2014
    60
    It makes for lively drama, with sharply defined conflicts and characters who aren’t always all good or all evil. Naturally, there are also interludes for romance and mean girls and obnoxious hot-body guys.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 19, 2014
    58
    Cusick has done this role before so often, he might even be mixing and matching scripts. Washington looks so bored, he might nod off. The 100? If we’re marking days on a calendar, that’s being optimistic.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    As The 100 goes along, you can feel it becoming more and more the show that Rothenberg and his writers want it to be, but it sure starts off at a great distance from from that destination. And even as it gets closer, there are still too many moments of mind-numbing illogic.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    If you don’t think too much about details and leaps in logic, The 100 moves forward swiftly. But the characters seem stuck in place, with one foot placed firmly in central casting. They’re bland, no ish about it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 18, 2014
    50
    A predictable mix of violence, sex and sentimentalism.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 17, 2014
    50
    The character complexities, special effects and attention to detail position The 100 well on the CW food chain.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 19, 2014
    40
    The fate of the kids on the ground is closely bound with the fate of the people in orbit, and vice versa. But it is hard to care about the people in orbit, as seriously as you're asked to take their predicaments and sacrifices. And it is not much easier to care about the people on Earth.
  8. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Mar 19, 2014
    40
    The 100 has a lot of interesting things to play with in terms of its narrative and world-building, but it chooses to gloss over them.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 139
  2. Negative: 47 out of 139
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    1
    Yet another sci-fi teen drama that kicks any slightest semblance of science, logic, rationality and common sense into the gutter for ...Yet another sci-fi teen drama that kicks any slightest semblance of science, logic, rationality and common sense into the gutter for ... hitting up that all important hormone crazed scientifically illiterate teen demographic I guess. Dreck. Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2014
    10
    This show is another amazing and intriguing apocalyptic show that has caught my attention. I was sceptical at first as I am not a huge fan ofThis show is another amazing and intriguing apocalyptic show that has caught my attention. I was sceptical at first as I am not a huge fan of the CW's channel however I realised that this is an exception to that thought. I have so far really enjoyed watching it and am hooked. If you like The Walking Dead, Revolution, or Lost, then you will love this show! Some people on here give silly reviews for shows... don't buy into their lies! If you like apocalytic, intense, thrilling, quality dramas, this is your show. It has a nuclear and isolated feel to it and it has yet to disappoint me. If you like the show too, please spread the word as much as possible, the show can't survive without support and good ratings so encourage those around you! Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    1
    Simply not watchable. For a sci-fi show with a lot of potential, CW seems to be aiming for the lowest common denominator. It seems whoeverSimply not watchable. For a sci-fi show with a lot of potential, CW seems to be aiming for the lowest common denominator. It seems whoever makes the trailers for the shows is painfully aware of how terrible most of the show is, and actively avoids putting any of the clumsy teenage drama angst in the trailers. The show however, is littered with the what I can only describe as a grumpy man's view of what teenagers are.

    Teenagers are the ones that mainly fought in the vietnam war. They are very capable when great things are demanded from them, but what we see in this show is petty squabbling and ridiculous silly one liners.

    The attempt at sex appeal is the most pathetic, once again reducing what should be a gritty survivor trek into Teenage Bachelor. The writing is terrible, the choice in cliche "song of the month" is terrible, and there seems to be little originality in any aspect of the show. The premise may have been interesting, but the execution makes the viewer wonder why he would sit through 35 minutes of agonizingly cringe worthy dialogue for 2 minutes of scenery and special effects.

    This looks to be less original and less successful than even 'No Ordinary Family'. Which is saying something that the most cliche superpower movie lacking any originality in thought process or execution has more substance than your show.

    I gave it a 1/10 because of the intriguing 1 minute opener, what an utter disappointment.
    Full Review »