• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paige becomes suspicious of her parents in the second season of the espionage drama.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    Sometimes watching greatness expand and realizing that a foundation is in place for the future (excellent writing, superb acting, a clear conceptual vision) is just the kind of assurance you need to cement your allegiance.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 25, 2014
    100
    Season 2 finds ways to introduce even greater tension, even as [Philip and Elizabeth are] a more fundamentally sound unit, while also adding a whodunnit element that spices things up nicely.... Absolutely dynamite.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 25, 2014
    91
    Still excellent, still hard to love.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 21, 2014
    90
    The new season--suspenseful as ever, more brutal in its violence, perhaps, and more expansive in its reach into history--easily upholds the standard of the first.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 24, 2014
    90
    Watching, it is almost impossible not to root for these two Communists as they do any and everything they can to undermine America. In this regard, The Americans works its American audience as effectively as its heroes work their marks: It makes double agents of us all.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 26, 2014
    88
    what these two characters, so fabulously played by Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys, are about to realize as this excellent series returns is that their jobs put their children at risk.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 26, 2014
    60
    Credibility starts to fray when our heroes, or anti-heroes, keep needing miraculous last-second evasions and escapes.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    What a great program!

    The acting, dialog and plotting are fantastic. How else can you explain the fact that one can feel real empathy for
    What a great program!

    The acting, dialog and plotting are fantastic. How else can you explain the fact that one can feel real empathy for the leads as dedicated and loving parents who also happen to be stone cold killers who are sworn enemies of our country?

    It is one of the most intelligently written programs on TV, one that never ceases to surprise and entertain.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Several episodes in, The Americans continues as strong as ever. If you were afraid the writers were going to resort to lazy plot devices,Several episodes in, The Americans continues as strong as ever. If you were afraid the writers were going to resort to lazy plot devices, especially the usual one (the previously clever characters start inexplicably doing stupid things) in an attempt to make it more accessible or exciting, then you can relax. The plotlines are still complex yet subtle, as is the brilliant acting from both leads. The writing is perceptive - it feels like you're watching real people, and compassionate - you actually care about them. The only thing not to like about this is that it will remind you how terrible almost everything else on TV is. Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Only 1 episode of this new season aired but 'The Americans' is a much more confident show than it ever was. It's well acted, well written andOnly 1 episode of this new season aired but 'The Americans' is a much more confident show than it ever was. It's well acted, well written and the story the show is telling is extremely compelling. Must watch tv. Absolutely loved it. Collapse
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    I rarely direct a review of a show at a reviewer on this site, but come on nononsense, you are full of nonsense. You're watching a show aboutI rarely direct a review of a show at a reviewer on this site, but come on nononsense, you are full of nonsense. You're watching a show about Russian secret agents, who routinely murder people, and the FBI, who also routinely murder people... and you're complaining about sex? Oddly everyone in America can watch people getting shot in the back of the head, or getting their necks broken, but show a couple in bed and that's too much for you? Your comments show the hypocrisy of the entire TV viewing public; Americans will watch the most violent television in the world, so long as no one drops the f-word or engages in simulated non-visible oral sex. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    I really like the show but it makes me wonder how they can still do the things they do. They can clearly see that the US is not the awfulI really like the show but it makes me wonder how they can still do the things they do. They can clearly see that the US is not the awful place that their government had brainwashed them to believe. They also have very American children. It reminded me of the 911 hijackers that were here for a while and were still able to behave like monsters.

    One of the best parts of the show is that you find yourself rooting for them but become conflicted by what they are doing.
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2014
    8
    The 2nd season so far (from what i understand almost didn't happen) has begun to develop alot more plot twists and turns than the first seasonThe 2nd season so far (from what i understand almost didn't happen) has begun to develop alot more plot twists and turns than the first season seemed to have. Main characters are being developed further-sometimes polarizing for the viewer. The show is based in the 80's, and as per the first season, it is amuzing to watch the show take place with this 80's backdrop. Further, use of russian to give some authenticity to the show (despite the lack of authenthicity of their accent). Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    2
    I love the plotline. I love the cast. However i loathe the extreme sexual content. Do we really need to see them engaged in 69?? Do weI love the plotline. I love the cast. However i loathe the extreme sexual content. Do we really need to see them engaged in 69?? Do we need to see blowjobs??? Sadly i will never watch this show again. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).