• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 265

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI orGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    The Americans may prove to be one of the best series of 2013 in the upcoming episodes. The premise is excellent, no one has touched it on the television level and it is an absolute treat to watch this, hats off to FX for making this project. Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell, the two lead cast members are wonderful, their characters seem believable especially with the merger of their personalThe Americans may prove to be one of the best series of 2013 in the upcoming episodes. The premise is excellent, no one has touched it on the television level and it is an absolute treat to watch this, hats off to FX for making this project. Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell, the two lead cast members are wonderful, their characters seem believable especially with the merger of their personal lives with their professional lives. It's a shame that FX has been making wonderful series like the Shield, Nip/Tuck, Sons of Anarchy, Justified, American Horror Story and now, the Americans, but doesn't get the recognition it deserves. Maybe it's time when that happened. I waited so long to watch it and I must say that the pilot didn't ruin the anticipation but that doesn't mean it had the best start.. The beginning is superb, but the rest of the episode doesn't seem too exciting with the exception of the ending which gives rise to a whole new intense future of the series. You can't judge the entire show on the basis of only one episode, so we are gonna have to wait for how things turn out to be. The Americans, if dealt with properly, might become one of the best series in no time and possibly get nominated for major awards. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I think this one's a lot of fun. It reminded me (very broadly) of "I Led Three Lives," the mid-50s TV drama about Herbert Philbrick, an ad executive who got inside the Communist party as a spy for the FBI. My only complaint has to do with the contrivance of the next door neighbor who just happens to be a counterspy, not to mention that neighbor's brazen move to scope out the spy couple byI think this one's a lot of fun. It reminded me (very broadly) of "I Led Three Lives," the mid-50s TV drama about Herbert Philbrick, an ad executive who got inside the Communist party as a spy for the FBI. My only complaint has to do with the contrivance of the next door neighbor who just happens to be a counterspy, not to mention that neighbor's brazen move to scope out the spy couple by breaking into their garage just a bit too soon in the series. S'OK though. I'm not going to nit pick the script any further. Much better to just lie back and enjoy the capers. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    Brilliantly written, acted, and directed. Russel and Rhys are perfect in their roles, and the dynamic between their characters is excellent. "The Americans" is a top tier, prestigious show, that only comes around once in a blue moon. It will fit in perfectly with shows like Homeland, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Justified, and Mad Men.
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    I disagree with some of the reviews below. This show is not like Homeland at all, Homeland and The Americans have different plots (Homeland is about the CIA, The Americans is about KGB officers). I think that if you give the show a little time, you will find that it is an interesting show and is very enjoyable. The performance of the actors is amazing as well. This show is definitely a must watch.
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    Excellent pilot. Russel and Rhys are excellent, as is Emmerich. The first ten minutes are extraordinary, and while the rest of the episode fails to match those opening segments, it's still a great start. Easily the best new show this year, and I'll be looking forward to each episode eagerly.
  8. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Six episodes in, and I think that The Americans is one of the best new shows this season. Kerry Russell and Matthew Rhys do a terrific job playing Russian spies posing as an American husband-wife couple during the 80s. The show has just the right amount of action, espionage and family drama. and the fact that they have two kids (born in the USA), also adds to the complexity of the plot.Six episodes in, and I think that The Americans is one of the best new shows this season. Kerry Russell and Matthew Rhys do a terrific job playing Russian spies posing as an American husband-wife couple during the 80s. The show has just the right amount of action, espionage and family drama. and the fact that they have two kids (born in the USA), also adds to the complexity of the plot. Also, for two actors who generally star in dramas, I have to say that Russell and Rhys pull off some pretty bad-ass fight scenes! Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    THis show has come on slowly but has me almost entranced. I grew up in the 80's and the paranoia is definetly identifiable. Which the show portrays well. There is also something about watching the hatred for America thru these characters, although some more than others. The storyline has become more intense, and although the show is only 4 or so episodes deep, I have no idea where it isTHis show has come on slowly but has me almost entranced. I grew up in the 80's and the paranoia is definetly identifiable. Which the show portrays well. There is also something about watching the hatred for America thru these characters, although some more than others. The storyline has become more intense, and although the show is only 4 or so episodes deep, I have no idea where it is going to lead.Which leads me to continue watching it. Expand
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    What a great show it has a lot of historically correct action and drama, I feel it has a great cast and fx did a wonderful job on it. I am looking forward to what is to come on what of the greatest spy shows of our time.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This show present a unique concept. The casting and acting are very good perhaps I am biased towards actors who are mostly unknown (beside Keri Russell, but she more than makes up for it by playing a totally different character from her other roles) and not cutesy. On top of all that 80's nostalgia what's not to love?
  12. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Only two episodes in, I'm sure this is a show I'll look forward to every week. The three main characters are absolutely brilliant and the flashback segments blend in perfectly with the show's overall narrative. It's tragic that the ratings fell so drastically in the second week and I really hope they recover in the subsequent weeks. It would be truly terrible to lose such a promisingOnly two episodes in, I'm sure this is a show I'll look forward to every week. The three main characters are absolutely brilliant and the flashback segments blend in perfectly with the show's overall narrative. It's tragic that the ratings fell so drastically in the second week and I really hope they recover in the subsequent weeks. It would be truly terrible to lose such a promising series so early on. Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Overall a good show so far. It is an episode one so we will have to see where it goes from here. Not quite as strong as the Shield, Sons of Anarchy or Justified. But still pretty good.
  14. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Shockingly good. If you're expecting another 1-dimensional jingoistic action-adventure where all the characters do stupid things all the time, look elsewhere. The acting is brilliantly downplayed, the plot is engaging and clever and the juxtaposition of the US and Russian characters, hopes, dreams and beliefs is very perceptive. You end up caring about *all* the people involved, and yetShockingly good. If you're expecting another 1-dimensional jingoistic action-adventure where all the characters do stupid things all the time, look elsewhere. The acting is brilliantly downplayed, the plot is engaging and clever and the juxtaposition of the US and Russian characters, hopes, dreams and beliefs is very perceptive. You end up caring about *all* the people involved, and yet it's exciting enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. We're only at episode 4, but so far this show is the The Wire of the spy world. Expand
  15. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    I really don't see too many similarities between the Americans and Homeland beyond the obvious fact that both shows are dealing with espionage and the toll it takes on it's practitioners. The Americans is far more interested in the family dynamic and the strain that a life of double dealings, violence and lies puts on the agents' loved ones than Homeland in my opinion, whereas HomelandI really don't see too many similarities between the Americans and Homeland beyond the obvious fact that both shows are dealing with espionage and the toll it takes on it's practitioners. The Americans is far more interested in the family dynamic and the strain that a life of double dealings, violence and lies puts on the agents' loved ones than Homeland in my opinion, whereas Homeland has more of a knack for the procedure and artistry of doggedly pursuing it's targets. Both are excellent shows and are marvelously written, acted, and directed, but I think they are disparate enough in tone and are interested in different if not similar themes. I find the Cold War fascinating so maybe I'm just an easy mark for this material, but it has quickly ascended to my personal top five current television dramas alongside Breaking Bad, Mad Men, GoT, and Justified. If you like edge of your seat suspense and great acting then this show fits the bill. Noah Emmerich especially turns in a tour de force performance. I can't recommend this show enough. I have to question the attention span and overall IQ of the tiny handful of complainers on here who claim the show is boring or slow, but to each their own I guess. How about the genius who thinks the 80s are too recent to be historical and too old to be interesting? That is one top-notch perspective. Ah, but I digress, just watch this show if you like insightful, intelligent drama with a highly original point of view and a fascinating premise. Expand
  16. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    I love the concept of this series. I was a child in the '50s when I first heard of how Soviet spies were implanted and it has always intrigued me. The TV series has aired eleven episodes and I have to say it has only gotten better as it goes along. It is entertaining and leaves you wanting to come back for more. The characters are well played and enjoyable. My only worry is theI love the concept of this series. I was a child in the '50s when I first heard of how Soviet spies were implanted and it has always intrigued me. The TV series has aired eleven episodes and I have to say it has only gotten better as it goes along. It is entertaining and leaves you wanting to come back for more. The characters are well played and enjoyable. My only worry is the chronology of the time setting doesn't leave a lot of time to explore. Then again, MASH ran almost 4X longer then the Korean War itself. This series is definitely worth watching every week. Expand
  17. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    First of all, I am a huge fan of series like Homeland, The Killing, The Walking Dead and so on. The Americans is not like Homeland at all, and I have watched The Americans until episode 12. Though the main point plot is a bit similar, which is about preventing an attack on motherland, yet they are different. The Americans is about KGB spies, complicated marriage, and it offers many plotFirst of all, I am a huge fan of series like Homeland, The Killing, The Walking Dead and so on. The Americans is not like Homeland at all, and I have watched The Americans until episode 12. Though the main point plot is a bit similar, which is about preventing an attack on motherland, yet they are different. The Americans is about KGB spies, complicated marriage, and it offers many plot twists and turns. However, the bad thing about The Americans is, that it sometimes rushes to conclude a problem which is big in a single episode. Nevertheless, it is a great series that keeps you at the edge of your seat most of the times. The main performances by Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys, and Noah Emmerich are intense. Expand
  18. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Didn't expect much, but this show really snuck up on me and turned out to be one of the best, most engaging dramas on TV. Superbly acted by the leads and supporting cast. A great period piece that will certainly illicit some bitter-sweet nostalgia in anyone of lived through the 80s. Although the first season had its slow moments, the series grows its beard in serious ways in the secondDidn't expect much, but this show really snuck up on me and turned out to be one of the best, most engaging dramas on TV. Superbly acted by the leads and supporting cast. A great period piece that will certainly illicit some bitter-sweet nostalgia in anyone of lived through the 80s. Although the first season had its slow moments, the series grows its beard in serious ways in the second season -- stick with it and it'll pay off leaps and bounds. Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Another one bites the dust, great premise but lacks all heart. It went for an hour but I literally felt like I was watching it for days, so tedious and dragged out boring. The casting is horrible, Russell is completely miscast in the role and does not ever come across as being able to defend herself, let alone beat up someone bigger than her. Her acting is flat and lifeless. It's trying toAnother one bites the dust, great premise but lacks all heart. It went for an hour but I literally felt like I was watching it for days, so tedious and dragged out boring. The casting is horrible, Russell is completely miscast in the role and does not ever come across as being able to defend herself, let alone beat up someone bigger than her. Her acting is flat and lifeless. It's trying to ride the hype of the recent terrorist shows out at the moment and in this case no amount of Phil Collins music will help it succeed. Expand
  20. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    At first I wasn't sure how I felt about "The Americans", but the last two shows have made me realize how much I like it. The episode of March 6 was the best one so far. The first few episodes had major holes and was not very believable. The last two episodes were well crafted with a tightly woven script. The dialogue was better developed and now feels more like the way people reallyAt first I wasn't sure how I felt about "The Americans", but the last two shows have made me realize how much I like it. The episode of March 6 was the best one so far. The first few episodes had major holes and was not very believable. The last two episodes were well crafted with a tightly woven script. The dialogue was better developed and now feels more like the way people really talk. The twists in the last two episodes were surprising and exciting. Whether there was a change in writers or they realized the errors of their ways I now look forward to watching "The Americans" Expand
  21. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    T-:¦:-E-:¦:-R-:¦:-I-:¦:-F-:¦:-F-:¦:-I-:¦:-C!!! The Bonnie and Clyde of spies. The Americans have a brilliant way of grooming the audience to see how our enemies sees and thinks against the U.S. The show allows you to observe how agent Russian spy terrorist are transformed into U.S. citizens, so they can destroy this country from within. There is great choreography action like BourneT-:¦:-E-:¦:-R-:¦:-I-:¦:-F-:¦:-F-:¦:-I-:¦:-C!!! The Bonnie and Clyde of spies. The Americans have a brilliant way of grooming the audience to see how our enemies sees and thinks against the U.S. The show allows you to observe how agent Russian spy terrorist are transformed into U.S. citizens, so they can destroy this country from within. There is great choreography action like Bourne Identity, plenty of drama, light humor, as well as intelligence. It flows well with lots of flashbacks and comes together through the editing. The show is like a snake, if you don't see what's coming, it will bite you. Some Americans also had a sympathetic heart and twisted love affair for Bonnie and Clyde which murdered innocent people and committed felonies, because they seemed like romantic criminals in the category of Romeo and Juliette. We as an audience have become seduced and drawn in by shows like Dexter True Blood and The Bible series which provides us with a mask to become something other than human for a moment. It allows us to disguise our dysfunctional corrupt fantasies that feeds our hunger for blood and vengeance that we may have against our enemies or those we want to take our anger out on. Since we can't commit the crime, we allow the illusion of Hollywood to produce this craving for us and say its just TV. So we wash our hands from guilt and shame. We claim innocent because we are just witnesses to a sick fantasy. But in truth we know that we are curious like the cat. We as an audience desire evil and good, because we are underneath still children with a sweet tooth for eye candy, wanting Scandal and to be The Americans, even if it asks you to look through the Russian enemies eyes for a moment as a spy against your country and see how they think, feel, just like human beings who are terrorist but still hate The Americans and wish to see harm. Whether the show is sympathizing to glorify enemies of this countries or terrorist attempting to see harm come to innocent children and citizens of this country, through War or attacks, remember its just TV and innocent entertainment. Hollywood allows you to root for the terrorist as the hero for a season, because even terrorist have feelings, family and enemies just like The Americans. Expand
  22. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Smart show with great performances! Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys, Noah Emmerich and Margo Martindale are amazingly well in the show, and Annet Mahendru also deserves attention playing Nina. The story is compelling and takes you back to the vibe of the 1980s. The first season was extremely well written, with one of the best season finales of the year! Congratulations to the FX and the entireSmart show with great performances! Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys, Noah Emmerich and Margo Martindale are amazingly well in the show, and Annet Mahendru also deserves attention playing Nina. The story is compelling and takes you back to the vibe of the 1980s. The first season was extremely well written, with one of the best season finales of the year! Congratulations to the FX and the entire team for bringing us an amazing spy show surrounded by drama! Expand
  23. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    The Americans stands on its own as a great drama, but it is simply fun to revisit a time in history where the world seemed so etched in stone. How we have changed...maybe.
  24. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    I'm starting to think FX does no wrong. Their programming has been incredible lately. I decided to watch The Americans for two reasons, 1. American Horror Story season 2 came to an end and I needed to fill that void. 2. I love history, and the idea of Russian spies intrigued me. It's a quick show. A bit hard to grab at first but if you stick with it, It's one hell of a ride! The fightingI'm starting to think FX does no wrong. Their programming has been incredible lately. I decided to watch The Americans for two reasons, 1. American Horror Story season 2 came to an end and I needed to fill that void. 2. I love history, and the idea of Russian spies intrigued me. It's a quick show. A bit hard to grab at first but if you stick with it, It's one hell of a ride! The fighting scenes are terrific and the dialog is incredibly smart. Expand
  25. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Love this show!! It's fantastic! Excellent acting, Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys are amazingly good. The script is extremely original and well written.
  26. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    People who think this is like the Homeland are mistaken. I just praised this show for having a great twist and great action. The best action show in years.
  27. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down, one of the best TV shows of all time. This is a show where clever people outsmart each other, unlike Breaking Bad, where you can mostly bet the characters to do the wrong thing.
  28. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    One of the best shows ever produced by american television. It has the right pace and stays within the realms of plausibility, characters look like any other flawed human being, with their own dramas and inner conflicts. The show doesn't try to portrait anyone as the "bad" guy, its just a bunch of people tied into a messed world trying to do their best to protect what they believe isOne of the best shows ever produced by american television. It has the right pace and stays within the realms of plausibility, characters look like any other flawed human being, with their own dramas and inner conflicts. The show doesn't try to portrait anyone as the "bad" guy, its just a bunch of people tied into a messed world trying to do their best to protect what they believe is right.

    People seem to criticize this show for being slow paced, yes it is slow paced, but that is the goal, do we need another completely unbelievable and ridiculous show with the usual cliche bad commies and the strong patriotic american hero?

    It's refreshing to see american television evolving and producing good shows that actually have a plot and believable characters.
    Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Let's get one thing straight right off the bat: this show is NOT for everyone, it is NOT going to be something like LOST or DEXTER where there's widespread acclaim. One of the chief reasons for this is that the main selling point of the show, for me anyway, is the atmosphere. They really nail the 80's from the hairstyles, to the cars, to the paranoia, to Reagan and the almost entirelyLet's get one thing straight right off the bat: this show is NOT for everyone, it is NOT going to be something like LOST or DEXTER where there's widespread acclaim. One of the chief reasons for this is that the main selling point of the show, for me anyway, is the atmosphere. They really nail the 80's from the hairstyles, to the cars, to the paranoia, to Reagan and the almost entirely different culture that was around back then. Having been born in the late 80's I never really had much of a connection to the time period but always wondered what it was like. It also helps that I like Reagan a lot. The show itself is unique in its premise but the execution is a bit predictable and it is not highly suspenseful. The acting is spotty with mixed performances out of the cast and a few dubious plot mechanics. Overall I enjoy it, but I don't feel like this is something that's meant for mass consumption. Expand
  30. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good show. One of the very best new TV dramas this year. Well written and well acted (though I am not entirely sold on Kerri Russell) Really spot on portrayal of the the cold war; really find myself rooting for the Russian spies, which I imagine is quite common and is actually a testament to how well this show is written. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    The Americans has potential. The way it uses recent history as a reflector of modern deceits while bouncing the concept of patriotism around mixes nicely with the hang-by-your-fingertips story turns.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 31, 2013
    75
    It's tense, engrossing, mildly ludicrous--and worth checking out before the Cold War melts. [11 Feb 2013]