• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Virginia Heffernan
    May 14, 2013
    80
    The premiere of The Bachelorette was good!...Appealingly, Trista is also filled with desire herself. Nothing about her is aloof; she's upfront about her lifelong loneliness, her wish for a husband, her fantasies of motherhood. [9 Jan 2003]
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    I disliked the two editions of The Bachelor intensely -- those tacky 'rose ceremonies' and the intellectual nullity, the sheer conversational sliminess of both the bachelors! However, I am enthralled by The Bachelorette, and why should I try to excuse my change of heart and mind with fancy critical justifications? It's because I think Trista is pretty hot and very cool in the way she controls her own little corner of the TV universe.
  3. Reviewed by: Caryn James
    May 14, 2013
    70
    Socially, that reversal is a profoundly stupid idea. There's too much sexual stereotyping around, too much of a lingering sense that what makes a man a playboy makes a woman a slut. And The Bachelorette is hardly trying to explode those cliches. With its hokey title (a word no one ever uses) and its smarmy attitude (viewers are going to be looking for signs of sluttiness), this gimmicky series plays right into those stereotypes while pretending not to...The show also promises to be as irresistibly entertaining as "The Bachelor."
  4. Reviewed by: William P. Bohlen
    May 14, 2013
    60
    Women will like the show because it's empowering and because television, for once, presents guys to ogle. Men will like it because Trista's pretty attractive herself. [9 Jan 2003, p.8]
  5. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    May 14, 2013
    40
    The final minutes of the show, when the rejects got to display their disappointment, were the hour's best, but that was only the beginning. [9 Jan 2003, p.91]

There are no user reviews yet.