User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 62
  2. Negative: 36 out of 62

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. 007
    Mar 5, 2013
    5
    The entire Bible itself, is a book that cannot be covered in the realm of a medium. There will be omissions and changes made to have a more Hollywood type of a plot. This series is produced by The History Channel, and will (by no doubt) try to "Americanize" it by adding more drama and forced conflict to the already well written story. It appears that they have spent more time on theirThe entire Bible itself, is a book that cannot be covered in the realm of a medium. There will be omissions and changes made to have a more Hollywood type of a plot. This series is produced by The History Channel, and will (by no doubt) try to "Americanize" it by adding more drama and forced conflict to the already well written story. It appears that they have spent more time on their other new series "Vikings", than have spent on the old and new testaments. It's a pity to say, I would rather watch a show on Vikings, than I would on the Bible. Shame. Expand
  2. May 1, 2013
    0
    There are so many thing wrong with the show i CBA to explain
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Historically inaccurate, incredibly biased, poorly written. Much like the book upon which it's based, and the target audience, it cherry-picks what it wants you to know and shovels all the bad parts under the rug to pretend they never existed. Certainly does not belong on the History channel.

    Also, Jesus dies at the end.
    Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    3
    The beginning was promising. I actually loved Noah telling the story of creation while riding out the flood. Very effective. But after that it just got really silly. Too corny. Ill admit, I'm an atheist so I'm watching this series because I believe it's one of the greatest story's ever told. Unfortunately it's being presented in a way that can be pretty off putting to those who are lookingThe beginning was promising. I actually loved Noah telling the story of creation while riding out the flood. Very effective. But after that it just got really silly. Too corny. Ill admit, I'm an atheist so I'm watching this series because I believe it's one of the greatest story's ever told. Unfortunately it's being presented in a way that can be pretty off putting to those who are looking for entertainment and not a religious experience. I understand I'm not the target audience but even the annoying Christian ads seems to be a bit forced. Bottom line, if you're a believer you can probably look past the corniness since its meaningful, but for us nonbelievers, the show is as silly as we think your belief is. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    Oh I have an idea! let's take some Bible characters and Bible stories and make up our own versions of them! Let's change it up a bit. I think we can improve on some of the characters and stories. People won't know the difference anyway. We can make a really popular TV show, have some nice music in the background, and some really good special effects, and people will love it. I reviewOh I have an idea! let's take some Bible characters and Bible stories and make up our own versions of them! Let's change it up a bit. I think we can improve on some of the characters and stories. People won't know the difference anyway. We can make a really popular TV show, have some nice music in the background, and some really good special effects, and people will love it. I review Episode 4 in my blog. (www.chipvickio.blogspot.com) Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    3
    "The Bible", like "The Vikings" and "Mankind" before it, is clearly being sold as an entertainment product rather than an educational one. I converted away from Christianity years ago but am quite well versed in most of the stories and parables of the Bible and History Channel's presentation of them are appallingly inaccurate. I can only hope they don't make a series about Buddhism.
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    Ye, gods! Now this is one silly, silly, show. But, nice to see they took out all the nasty pieces found in the bible stoning children for disobedience, genocide,, the rape of non-jews by jews as god-given spoils of war and so on and made Jesus seem a cool Western European guy despite being born in the Middle East 2000 years ago. Bit sad that I couldn't see the dinos on the ark, though;Ye, gods! Now this is one silly, silly, show. But, nice to see they took out all the nasty pieces found in the bible stoning children for disobedience, genocide,, the rape of non-jews by jews as god-given spoils of war and so on and made Jesus seem a cool Western European guy despite being born in the Middle East 2000 years ago. Bit sad that I couldn't see the dinos on the ark, though; the people at the creation museum won't be happy! Still, this is the "History Channel", no, wait, it's... not really, is it? Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    There are bad shows based on Good books and horrible shows based on not so good books, but this is a steaming pile of a show based on a story that makes no sense.
    This show is a collection of fragments of stories that do not connect together at all. The ability to write a good story has come a long way in the last couple of thousand years.
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    2
    When Noah is telling the Book of Genesis to his family I knew this would not be good....and it isn't. Everyone has a different accent....even Scottish. Cringe worthy.
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The best history channel documentary since "Mankind". It is the perfect blend of history and biblical significance. It is a great documentary that everyone should watch. It's awesome.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    First tv show I've been hooked on since 24! Given the subject I'm surprised the reviews are this good. Each story is sticking with me in an unexplainable way. These are classics that will still be watched long after higher rated shows are forgotten. It speaks the truth plainly. We wouldn't know of this story if Christ had not rose from the dead. Israel would not be here if the world hadFirst tv show I've been hooked on since 24! Given the subject I'm surprised the reviews are this good. Each story is sticking with me in an unexplainable way. These are classics that will still be watched long after higher rated shows are forgotten. It speaks the truth plainly. We wouldn't know of this story if Christ had not rose from the dead. Israel would not be here if the world had its way today or throughout history. The film has never been more relevant. Expand
  12. Mar 25, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to be into it, but the whole story line was just way too unbelievable. It took me out of it.
  13. Mar 25, 2013
    0
    If you're going to do a story about Jesus Christ, get it right! Last night episode was TERRIBLE...there was so many incorrect scenes and storylines....if a person wasn't familiar with the account about Jesus, last night wouldn't have helped in any way, poorly written, acted and protrayed the so-called consultants that they used should have known better to agree to such inconsistencies andIf you're going to do a story about Jesus Christ, get it right! Last night episode was TERRIBLE...there was so many incorrect scenes and storylines....if a person wasn't familiar with the account about Jesus, last night wouldn't have helped in any way, poorly written, acted and protrayed the so-called consultants that they used should have known better to agree to such inconsistencies and it goes to show you that a lot of people who produced this movie know NOTHING about Jesus and the Gospel accounts Big Disappointment! Collapse
  14. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    Well, from what I've seen, this tv series is below average. It has quite bad acting, and the characters who are crying just sound really ridiculous. Also, this series isn't really accurate compared to the real bible. I suggest to the actors they they improve on their acting and their accuracy on the bible. At least the ninja angels looked awesome.
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Very well written screenplay, leaving the bulk of the scriptures. One of the best reproductions of the most important book for humanity. The editing is brilliant making the show very dynamic. Everything contributes to want to know more about all these fantastic stories. I recommend.
  16. Apr 4, 2013
    5
    I will preface this by saying I am Catholic and very religious...... The negative reviews are all from Christian haters so ignore them. But that is not to say that because I disagree with their life choices that I automatically think this series is fantastic... I think my main problem is that it is simply too short and takes waaay too many shortcuts and adds too much in the name of makingI will preface this by saying I am Catholic and very religious...... The negative reviews are all from Christian haters so ignore them. But that is not to say that because I disagree with their life choices that I automatically think this series is fantastic... I think my main problem is that it is simply too short and takes waaay too many shortcuts and adds too much in the name of making it "more entertaining". It's just that we all know the stories pretty well from the old to the new testament (even you non-religious people) and so when something is removed it is blatantly obvious. The additions to add the cinematic element do not add to the story but instead take away from the experience since we all know many of the scenes were not described in the book. In my opinion the best way to do a show about the Bible is to be as specific/accurate as possible without adding/removing things. Heck it took Mel Gibson 3+ hours for the passion alone and this series does that all before a commercial break... Honestly, it would take a hundred or more 1 hour episodes to do it right. I hope someone sees the success of this low quality show and decides to make a truly great one. Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This show is very impressive. Its production values are high, its cast dedicated and talented, and its musical score composed by none other than Hans Zimmer is a true masterpiece. Strong conematography and powerful performances make this a worthy attempt to capture the spirit of the greatest story ever told. Haters will hate, especially after that little controversy regarding Satan beingThis show is very impressive. Its production values are high, its cast dedicated and talented, and its musical score composed by none other than Hans Zimmer is a true masterpiece. Strong conematography and powerful performances make this a worthy attempt to capture the spirit of the greatest story ever told. Haters will hate, especially after that little controversy regarding Satan being portrayed so *ahem* accurately, but the show's historic ratings speak for themselves. Peace. Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    I am late to the party and watched it cleaning out my DVR. I find it very interesting other reviews use tense that shows they did not watch the show and then condemn it. If you want a page by page account of the Bible you will be disappointed. If you are going to get hung up on accents of characters or are the actors as ethnic as they should be you will be disappointed, but overall itI am late to the party and watched it cleaning out my DVR. I find it very interesting other reviews use tense that shows they did not watch the show and then condemn it. If you want a page by page account of the Bible you will be disappointed. If you are going to get hung up on accents of characters or are the actors as ethnic as they should be you will be disappointed, but overall it is a well done show. The major plot points hold true. I think some people are hypersensitive. When a review says there are too many things wrong to mention you have an ax to grind. Overall it is well done and enjoyable show. Expand
  19. Mar 30, 2014
    1
    What's that? It's hard to image a way of telling the Holy Bible as far as this. A fabulous tale for minus habens without any sort of spiritual tension or searching of a religious message. Special effects, that everyone may conceptualize, tries to keep high tension within the misery plot. Nothing to share with the grandiosity of Cecil DeMille or the amazing plot of Nicholas Ray
  20. Nov 30, 2014
    1
    "The Bible" is just like the movie they adapted but longer -- which means it's even duller, louder and filled with exceptionally terrible special effects.
  21. May 14, 2014
    10
    This is the most professionally done film on the Bible I've ever seen, it has a very unknown cast and they are terrific the acting it top quality I was surprised, I don't understand why The Bible has so many negative reviews but there is no truth to them.

    This show was excellent overall and I highly recommend it.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. 30
    There's no character work here, no interesting reinterpretations of a classic text, no inspired acting. Just cardboard characters surrounded by CGI frippery.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    The Bible according to Burnett and Downey is a handsome and generally expensive-looking production, but it is also flat and often tedious, even when it tends to the hysterical, and as hard as the Hans Zimmer soundtrack strains to keep you on the edge of your sofa.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    20
    With the pace of a music video, the characterizations of a comic book and the political-correctness quotient of a Berkeley vegetarian commune this production makes Cecil B. DeMille look like a sober theologian.