• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 9
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 175

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    The best season so far. The humor has been refined and polished to be better than ever, and new characters Amy and Bernadette fit into the show seamlessly all while benefitting it greatly. After season 3 I was worried that I had just about grown tired of The Big Bag Theory's humor, but this season made the show feel fresh again.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    1
    I can't believe this is a hit. Sub-par. I sometimes tune in and can't even muster a chuckle. The characters are one dimensional and there going to sci-fi movies and such are too predictable.
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    "The Big Bang Theory: Season 4" is arguably one of the series best, with adding a new love interest for Sheldon, which Bialik perfectly adds a new sense of intellectual humor to the group. With its unremarkable silly and drop dead scenes with Parson's and Bialik's characters, with a catty battle with Cuoco's and Galecki's girlfriend's, along with a standout hilarious side character cast, this fourth season is a huge hit. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    The Big Bang Theory is the kind of show that you really, really want to find funny, but you can't. That is not because of the writing or the acting, but because of the laugh track. The laugh track is torture to any sane person. If it's comedy, we don't need to be told when to laugh. It's almost like the producers think we are too stupid to get the jokes. But guess what, we get them. The laugh track takes this show that would be brilliant into the mediocrity of everything else on CBS. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Amy's high resemblance of Sheldon and Bernadette's romance with Howard gave the show a completely new and positive vibe. Especially love the interactions between Shamy!
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    4
    A little disappointing. Usually, The Big Bang Theory is a hilarious sitcom, but this time, the series premiere just fell flat. Sheldon is always funny, but Sheldon was just a sterotype nerd with no humor.
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    I think you have to be some sort of shmoe to review a show called "The Big Bang Theory" based around the lives of 4 nerds working in the nerdiest town in the world, then complain that you don't care to hear a bunch of nerdy sci-fi jokes. What exactly were you expecting? People complain about predictability... once again, watch Dexter if you're looking for suspense. To claim this show is just a bunch of nerd jokes just goes to show that certain people didn't have the intellectual capacity to understand what was shown in front of them. The basis of the show is not nerd jokes, as pointed out it's more so a mockery of the insane things we do as the mainstream public. I should also add; almost all negative reviews of this show are from people sporting poor grammar, spelling and sentence structure. Coincidence? Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Out of the 4 seasons I have seen so far this is the best season. The Big Bang Theory:Season 4 8.5/10
  9. ETV
    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Yet Another Great Season.... Despite An Annoying Indian Sister.... I love this season mostly on the Sheldon and Amy front. There relationship is such a gem and makes the show much more enjoyable
  10. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    'Big Bang' becomes more complicated yet more realistic, albeit it's a bunch of nerds who act like children. Unusual is how the Penny-Leonard situation becomes more complex and cheesy just to attract a female audience, which I don't particularly admire. But that's how you get ratings. Let bigons be bigons.
  11. May 31, 2011
    7
    When I watched the season finale last season I was very worried for the show. The third season was my favourite and I was worried that adding Amy into the cast would jump the shark and ruin the show just as it was really hitting its stride. The writers managed to integrate her pretty seamlessly into the flow of the show and a lot of the storylines with her and Sheldon were done pretty well. Parsons still continues to make Sheldon my second favourite character on TV right now, (behind Abed from Community) and keeps the show as good as it has been in past years. My only worry is that the writing for the rest of the show is starting to fall off slightly. The whole situation with Leonard and Priya felt forced and seemed like it was only added into the show to bring Leonard and Penny's lingering feelings to the surface. This could've just as easily been done with Penny's on and off boyfriend Zack who was a much funnier character and could've brought a lot of the characters' childhood bully problems (something that was alluded to in only one episode) into the spotlight. I mentioned that I was worried that the writers jumped the shark by adding Amy but I feel like the whole Leonard/Priya/Penny love triangle may have done it instead. This season was good, and comparable to the others but it doesn't give me high expectations for season five, which if history is any indication (cough How I Met Your Mother) is where Big Bang might fall from grace. Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    geally great as ever sheldon and his friends is more cool and funny than ever i really like it. Leonard Penny Raj ,Howard,sheldon,amy,bernaddet,miss cooper
  13. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Funny, witty and interesting as usual. Parsons continues to shine under the role of Sheldon and the jokes are continuously very funny. Let's hope they keep this up.
  14. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    I love this show! Its a really great comedy in a world of crap. All the actors in this show are great and the story lines are good too. overall pretty awesome show, I recommend it to everyone!
  15. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    Season 1 = Great Season 2 = Good Season 3 = Tiring Season 4 = FIND A NEW JOKE! The Big Bang Theory has finally come to the point to where all of their classic gimmicks (I.E. Raj can't talk to women unless he's drunk), has just become tiring. Jokes have been recycled for the past 4 years, and while they were lovable at first, too much of one thing is irritating. I've had enough of the "Bazingas". Sheldon has gotten to that Robot/Steve Urkel like thing. In Season 1, this show had everything right. The characters, while nerdy, were still people too. But at the moment, I can't recognize basic behavior. For example, in the beginning of the series, Sheldon and Leonard were friends. They acted kindly towards each other. They were friends, and while Sheldon drove Leonard crazy, they didn't dislike each other. I mean, come on, if they actually drove each other THAT crazy, Leonard would've moved out a long time ago. It's gotten to the point to where it isn't realistic anymore. Further more, USE KUNAL NYARR (or however you spell it), Raj is by FAR the funniest character on the show. Let him talk. I am sick of him not being able to say anything, and frankly, Having Howard speak for him, is just annoying at this point. The show has SO much potential. I love the show, but I expect more from it. I hate to see it fall to all these gimmicks like it has been. No more Howard and Raj having this "relationship", no more "Bazingas", no more "Raj can't speak to women", I'm tired of it. Season 4 of Big Bang Theory gets a matching 4/10 Expand
  16. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    except for a few episodes (more like a few scenes), this season sucked.
    i've got to say season 3 was a great season, but this one is unbearable.

    the worst part is there wasn't much of howard and raj (actually even sheldon), but a lot of crap surrounding leonard, penny and priya. i believe the real essense of the show was actually howard, raj, and sheldon.

    in short, this season sucks.
  17. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    I loved the first three seasons so much. It is so funny, each character has their own great lines which crack me up every time. The characters are people that I can really relate to in my life. So far from watching the first episode of this season, I love it. Plan on watching the rest and get ready DVR.
  18. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Brilliant introduction to the new season, with the addition of another geek almost identical to Sheldon. Spaceyissoze claims that the plot was biased towards characters that the producers liked. This is absolutely ridiculous, the events of the new episode continue to portray the characters throughout the entire show.
  19. Dec 4, 2010
    2
    i like it when they were together so do you think they will lenerd and penny get back together again? I would like them to get back together and another thing have you seen any 8 simple rules kaley is in that
  20. Mar 10, 2011
    5
    In an otherwise strong cast, the character of Leonard is proving to be the most expendable. S4 has seen him go from lovably lovelorn to skin-crawlingly creepy. Time to put him on the back-burner before he kills the show.
  21. Jul 8, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this show.....it was so awesome but this awful thing (penny and raj issue) has made worse it....penny must be with Leonard in the next season...or it will be crappy. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    This season wasn't as good as the previous ones. There was way too much sexuality, and I don't like it. If I want sexuality I'll pick a romantic movie with slight pornography. The Big Bang Theory is supposed to be a comedy show! I don't mind if there's a bit of romance, but this was just too much. And usually Sheldon is funny, but in this season he was blunt and had no humor at all.

    Great
    season on behalf of the amusing parts, which were honestly very small and rare. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    88
    As wonderful as Parsons and Sheldon certainly are, and as terrific as a Sheldon-centric episode like last week's can be, too much Sheldon would quickly become too much. We're not there yet, but it is one of those lines the writers should be careful not to cross.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Ward
    91
    Bialik manages to steal scenes from Parsons as if she's been with the crew since, well, the big bang.
  3. Reviewed by: Leigh H. Edwards
    80
    The comic commentary may be poking gentle fun at nerds, but the real target of the show's sharp satire is the arbitrary, self-serving stupidity of mainstream culture.