• Network: ITV1 , ITV
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 1984
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26
The Bill Image

No score yet - based on 0 Critics

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Summary: Welcome to The Bill guide at TV.com. The Bill recounts the goings-on within and around Sun Hill, a Metropolitan Police Station located in the fictional Borough of Canley, in east London. Running for over 25 years, The Bill was Britain's longest running police drama series, finally outstripping Dixon of Dock Green on 10 August 2005. It adapted to meet the challenges of the highly competitive world of independent television, evolving from a standard post-watershed police procedural drama, through a period as a twice- and, later, thrice-weekly early evening ratings grabber with stand-alone plots, then as a twice-weekly one-hour drama with ongoing soap-style exploration of the troubled personal lives of its police officers. The Bill reverted to a once a week, post-watershed drama on 23 July 2009, but ITV decided not to renew the show when the contract came up for renewal the following year. The Bill is not your average cop show, but rather an extraordinary police drama that brings each episode to the audience through the eyes of the characters. An excellent cast, supported by some of the country's leading writers and directors and some innovative camera work gives an incredible sense of realism. Other police dramas have been created in an attempt to mirror its conventions and match its success, but none has lasted. The Bill truly deserves its accolade as Britain's most successful police drama.


Network: ITV1 , ITV
Genre(s): Drama
Seasons: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26
Cast Credit
Shaun Scott D.I. Deakin
Graham Cole P.C. Stamp
Simon Rouse D.C.I. Meadows
Kerry Peers W.D.C. Croft
Stephen Beckett P.C. Jarvis
Jeff Stewart P.C. Hollis
Russell Boulter D.S. Boulton
Philip Whitchurch Ch. Insp. Cato
Clive Wedderburn P.C. McCann
Lisa Geoghan W.P.C. Page
Tom Cotcher D.C. Woods
Andrea Mason W.P.C. Keane
Louise Harrison W.P.C. Harris
Tom Butcher P.C. Loxton
Colin Tarrant Insp. Monroe
Ben Roberts (II) Acting Ch. [ Sic ] Supt. Conway
Tony O'Callaghan Sgt. Boyden
Seeta Indrani W.P.C. Datta
Lynne Miller W.P.C. Marshall
Huw Higginson P.C. Garfield
Andrew Mackintosh D.S. Greig
Kevin Lloyd D.C. Lines
Andrew Paul P.C. Quinnan
Mark Spalding Ch. Insp. Stritch
Robert Perkins Sgt. Steele
Mark Wingett D.C. Carver
Martin Marquez D.S. Pearce
Billy Murray D.S. Beech
Trudie Goodwin W.P.C. Ackland
Eric Richard Sgt. Cryer
Jaye Griffiths D.I. Johnson
Alan Westaway P.C. Slater
Peter Ellis (I) Ch. Supt. Brownlow
Iain Fletcher D.C. Skase