The Boondocks : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 265

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    The only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, andThe only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, and horribly failing. White people just plain and simply should not watch this show unless they are on something heavy. The only reason this has such a good overall rating is because of how many black people watch it hourly. Im not trying to offend anyone, but please take this show off the air. The only reason ive watched all 3 seasons of this show was because my friend forced e to watch it, so he would watch the funniest show of all time. If you value your sanity; when you see this show destroy your tv, throw it in ditch and burn it with holy water. Expand
  2. jessicay
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    It was not funny. I laugh at loud when I read the comic strip but the show just wasn't funny. It doesn't even seem like the same person is writing it. I was embarrassed by the use of the "N" word and I thought that it was completely inappropiate. I am African American and I don't understand how other African Amercans can continue to use that word. No other ethnic group It was not funny. I laugh at loud when I read the comic strip but the show just wasn't funny. It doesn't even seem like the same person is writing it. I was embarrassed by the use of the "N" word and I thought that it was completely inappropiate. I am African American and I don't understand how other African Amercans can continue to use that word. No other ethnic group calls themselves by racial slurs but us. Please don't anyone write and tell me that words don't have power because we all know they do. The show was ignorant and I'm shocked. Expand
  3. shontela
    Apr 18, 2007
    0
    this show is extremely inappropriate and me being of the african american hertiage take offense to the show.
  4. RamonaW
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    I think that it should be taken off the air. I think that it is very offensive and racist. I think that it is a shame that we can not come up with more positive self images and that we continue to allow very negative images permeate our culture. I love our people and we can certainly do more to project this sentiment.
  5. TerryC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Worst show that I've ever seen on TV by far!!!...not only does it use the "N" word to much its embarrassing, and I'm african american and I took offense to it being used. People fought for the word to be scrapped and now its used like no other, and its just simply not funny!
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    1
    The Boondocks is witlessly blunt and relentlessly unfunny, it relies on confused stereotypes and pitifully employed cliches for moronic laughs. If you get irrationally excited when you hear the N-word, you'll love this sh*tfest.
  7. TheBM
    Nov 9, 2005
    2
    This just wasn't funny. I don't mind tackling race, but take a tip from the Chapelle Show, because what he did was actually funny. I'm not sure what show these other reviewers are watching.
  8. GabrielL.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Severely crappy! Ranks with "The War at Home" as one of the most unfunny and unwatchable shows on TV. Like that other pile of worthlessness, it tries to be edgy, but has no good jokes, original observations, or likeable characters. If you want hilarious, line-crossing social satire, watch South Park, Chappelle, and old recordings of Bill Hicks stand-up.
  9. MikeG.
    Nov 10, 2005
    2
    I hope it gets better. The strip is pretty funny, so I'm willing to give this show another shot, but the first episode was really bizarre and not that funny.
  10. Snob
    Nov 25, 2005
    3
    Lame, almost embarrassingly so. Cartoon Network supposedly dumped a lot of cash into this turd. It's not very funny and it certainly isn't daring unless hearing the N word gives you a rise. Give me the comics anyday.
  11. buttsparkle
    Nov 27, 2005
    0
    NOT funny. not shocking. simply a waste of time. i can't believe that the Cartoon Network spent so much on this... AWFUL.
  12. raphaelp
    Nov 9, 2005
    0
    If we didn't get enough use of the word "nigger" in Rap, here is the rest. As a child of the civil rights era I let people spit in my face so I would never hear that word again. People were sprayed with hoses, beaten,sent to jail for the same purpose. So now that kids are benefiting from so many older Black's suffering they think the word has no meaning. They are soooooooooo wrong.
  13. JarrodL
    May 21, 2006
    3
    This is one of the most dissapointing shows to ever be aired. It manages to take Aaron McGruder's creative genius for delivering snappy, funny, and socially insightful dialogue from his comic and make it a chore to watch. The characters and situations are simply too broad. It seems to miss the mark by being obvious and in general show a lack of the smart, insightful nature of the This is one of the most dissapointing shows to ever be aired. It manages to take Aaron McGruder's creative genius for delivering snappy, funny, and socially insightful dialogue from his comic and make it a chore to watch. The characters and situations are simply too broad. It seems to miss the mark by being obvious and in general show a lack of the smart, insightful nature of the strip. What surprises me most is how quickly people have accepted it, claiming that people who have low opinions "don't get it". I assure you, there is very little to get, the show is as obvious as "Friends". Expand
  14. JetB.
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    This show is horrible. Beyond offensive and disgusting. This show is not true to the strip that started it. The N-word is used by Huey of all people! And John Witherspoon's buffoon portrayal of Grandad, who is/was a Black Panther is degrading and humiliating to all the men and women in the struggle. I am enraged that Aaron McGruder sold himself and his creativity this way. This show This show is horrible. Beyond offensive and disgusting. This show is not true to the strip that started it. The N-word is used by Huey of all people! And John Witherspoon's buffoon portrayal of Grandad, who is/was a Black Panther is degrading and humiliating to all the men and women in the struggle. I am enraged that Aaron McGruder sold himself and his creativity this way. This show is nothing but another debasing and undignified depiction of people with African roots. And there is nothing funny about that. Expand
  15. JLJanel
    Nov 10, 2005
    2
    This show is as ignorant as you get. Its main goal is to shock and try to brainwash the youth in believing all whites are evil racists. That itself is not helping the black cause its just further dividing the population. This show isn't funny at all . Dave Chapelle is funny even though he deals with the same subject matter it seems to be more poignant than this silly attempt to deal This show is as ignorant as you get. Its main goal is to shock and try to brainwash the youth in believing all whites are evil racists. That itself is not helping the black cause its just further dividing the population. This show isn't funny at all . Dave Chapelle is funny even though he deals with the same subject matter it seems to be more poignant than this silly attempt to deal with issues using animation. Watch Aqua Teen Hunger Force , Harvey Birdman , Stroker & Hoop or Squidbillies to get you're ***** and giggles. The Boondocks will not make it to another season and thank god for that. Expand
  16. Craig
    Mar 19, 2006
    0
    I hate this show because its racist against white people clearly,. Frank my butt - its frankness is bullcrapt. Yeah there is racism and black people have been screwed over. I have black friends who are not republican "uncle toms" and they hate this shit too for what it is - shit. I'm no Ronald Reagon fan but that crap about white heaven - the creator deserves to be slapped down for I hate this show because its racist against white people clearly,. Frank my butt - its frankness is bullcrapt. Yeah there is racism and black people have been screwed over. I have black friends who are not republican "uncle toms" and they hate this shit too for what it is - shit. I'm no Ronald Reagon fan but that crap about white heaven - the creator deserves to be slapped down for inciting trouble - I will stop watching adult swim because of this show. Expand
  17. Tre
    Nov 14, 2005
    2
    This was disappointing, and like so many others that have commented on here, the humor was forced, the N word gratuitous and the situations just dont play out the same way on the screen compared to a comic strip. I think that this is another product of mistaking shock with comedy on a larger scale. It works effectively in the strip because of the quickness/sharpness of delivery, but ends This was disappointing, and like so many others that have commented on here, the humor was forced, the N word gratuitous and the situations just dont play out the same way on the screen compared to a comic strip. I think that this is another product of mistaking shock with comedy on a larger scale. It works effectively in the strip because of the quickness/sharpness of delivery, but ends up becoming tired old jokes that I heard/saw/said about 3-5 years ago. This was disappointing for mcGrueder who with his strip, elevated the ability for a strip to be more than "just a strip". The cartoon undermines his creatvitiy and voice. Expand
  18. SimonT
    Nov 29, 2005
    2
    I had high hopes for the show, and I was a big fan of McGruder's printed work. However I have to call him out as a hypocrite and panderer. The consistent nauseating and gratuitous use of the N word is disgusting. I thought the Klan wrote the show as the N-bombing is nothing less than a total degradation of people of African anscestry. Thanks Aaron for contributing nothing except I had high hopes for the show, and I was a big fan of McGruder's printed work. However I have to call him out as a hypocrite and panderer. The consistent nauseating and gratuitous use of the N word is disgusting. I thought the Klan wrote the show as the N-bombing is nothing less than a total degradation of people of African anscestry. Thanks Aaron for contributing nothing except self-hatred and ugly stereotypes. Nowhere else in the world will you find a race pushed into the gutter in this manner. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Animation has rarely felt so explosively, hilariously defiant.
  2. An out-of-the-gate triumph.
  3. "The Boondocks," with all its knowingly controversial observations and language, is a sort of animated equivalent of "All in the Family." It'll make you think, and maybe even wince - but at the same time, it makes you smile.