Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 257

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The title of this show is an interesting one because the show’s setting isn’t exactly in ‘the boondocks’ of American society. The Boondocks is about two children named Huey and Riley Freeman who move from the ghettos of Chicago to the fictional, peaceful (and very white) neighborhood of Woodcrest, where they embark on hilarious misadventures with their grandfather Robert Freeman as they adjust to their new environment.

    Huey Freeman is The Boondocks’ main character and narrator (as well as the person I chose as my profile picture), an Afro-wilding martial arts master, a gun-toting terrorist with a Che Guevara poster on his wall, a supremely intelligent prodigy of few words (and one of my all-time favorite characters). Riley Freeman is Huey’s younger brother and someone I was never fond of, a cornrowed hip-hop enthusiast famed for his expletive-filled rants and someone I find mostly one-dimensional, extremely egocentric, and unbelievably selfish. Robert Freeman is similar to Riley but is equipped with depth to his character (and a bizarre habit of dating psychotic women). The Boondocks offers a variety of richly detailed supporting characters like the politician Tom DuBois who looks exactly like young Barack Obama (and has a peculiar phobia), the infamous Uncle Ruckus, a racist who passionately despises his own kind (and someone whose voice I can imitate very well), Jazmine DuBois, who is Tom’s innocent daughter, and Ed Wuncler III, a red-headed delinquent who looks a lot like Eminem. The Boondocks offers one of the best cast of characters I’ve ever seen.

    There are more than a few notable Boondocks episodes like “The Story of Catcher Freeman”, an attempt to analyze Huey and Riley’s slavery-era ancestor who is profiled in three ways (Robert’s version of Catcher is a beloved and brave hero who freed black people from slavery, Uncle Ruckus’ version is a primal and vicious slavecatcher preventing black people from escaping the plantations, and Huey’s version is an intelligent playwright who accidently kills his white father). There’s the episode “Smoking with Cigarettes”, where Riley befriends Lamilton Taeshawn, a juvenile felon who punched his grandma and hijacked a car for a joyride (the detective chasing Lamilton sounds and looks similar to Obi-Wan Kenobi). There’s also the episode “The Color Ruckus”, an extremely emotional journey into Ruckus’ past, and the episode “The Fundraiser”, where Riley’s attempt to make money from selling chocolates becomes out-of-control (highlighted by an unforgettable speech by Riley). “The Fundraiser” and “The Color Ruckus” are two of my three favorite Boondocks episodes.

    After the third season concluded, The Boondocks fell into a dry spell, only airing re-runs as America furiously pushed for Season 4. Four years after Season 3, The Boondocks returned. Season 4 was the show’s first attempt at a running plot and it unfortunately aired for a pitiful 10 episodes. In those 10 episodes, The Boondocks mostly tried to recycle ideas from episodes of previous seasons (lowlighted by a return of the notorious Colonel Stinkmeaner as a mechanically modified clone to once again fight Grandpa Freeman), but there were a few shining moments in Season 4. The episode “Early Bird Special” was an interesting one but it didn’t hold a candle to the classic “I Dream of Siri” (my third favorite Boondocks episode), where Robert’s malfunctioned phone came dangerously close to destroying his life. The 10th (and final) episode of Season 4, “The New Black”, was about Riley being targeted for calling a kid ‘gay’ and ‘retarded’, and the episode ended with Riley getting pummeled by a gigantic group of mentally disabled children as the show played Lethal Interjection Crew’s “Stomp ‘Em In the Nuts”, a homage to the earlier seasons. It was a classic ending to a sub-par episode in a disappointing season.

    Sadly, when Season 4 concluded, Aaron McGruder (the creator of The Boondocks) quit his involvement in the beloved animated series for Black Jesus, a hilarious comedy that is nowhere close to The Boondocks, which was the last African-American classic, a show with supremely solid characters, first-class comedy, and occasional martial arts scenes, a show that casually ventured into polarizing social topics (race, snitching, homosexuality, etc.) and incited controversy along the way (The Boondocks labeled BET as “Black Evil Television”, a sinister enterprise corrupting America, and the show suggested the famous playwright Tyler Perry is gay). With its memorable main theme, and historical and pop culture references, The Boondocks is a show that doesn’t deserve to be ignored.
    Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2015
    5
    Tried to like it but some characters and plots are so annoying that i just can't. Definitely not for everyone. Some may like it though. Give it a shoot and judge urself.
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    A hilarious satire show with a beautiful anime-esque animation style. It's brings plenty of laughs and just has smart writing all around. It's views and language may be controversial, or downright offensive to some, but it manages to be hilarious enough where you don't have to agree with what's going on in order to laugh at it.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    What a beautiful show and work of art. If you are an activist, interested in art, want to learn very valuable lessons, or just want a good laugh in general. This is the show to watch. I love this show deeply and it gives great lessons.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    The only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, andThe only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, and horribly failing. White people just plain and simply should not watch this show unless they are on something heavy. The only reason this has such a good overall rating is because of how many black people watch it hourly. Im not trying to offend anyone, but please take this show off the air. The only reason ive watched all 3 seasons of this show was because my friend forced e to watch it, so he would watch the funniest show of all time. If you value your sanity; when you see this show destroy your tv, throw it in ditch and burn it with holy water. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    1
    The Boondocks is witlessly blunt and relentlessly unfunny, it relies on confused stereotypes and pitifully employed cliches for moronic laughs. If you get irrationally excited when you hear the N-word, you'll love this sh*tfest.
  7. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Hilarious show, very amusing with its wit and racial stereotypes which they manage to turn into pure laughter, great jokes, and just comedy at some of its finest.
  8. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    THE BOONDOCKS is the gem of absurdly hysterical (but, nevertheless, controversially racist) humor. Based on Aaron McGruder's comic strip that was first published six years before this show was first aired, it has humor that can't get more funny. (The only bad thing about it is you feel so cruel for being sucked into laughing...)
  9. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    The Boondocks does an amazing Job when it reflects on Black American Culture. People either have no clue that this Show is satirical or have no understanding of the word whatsoever. People complain about the heavy use of the word **** but fail to realize that some black people repeatedly use the word **** It tackles many issues and many stereotypes in society today. The Boondocks did notThe Boondocks does an amazing Job when it reflects on Black American Culture. People either have no clue that this Show is satirical or have no understanding of the word whatsoever. People complain about the heavy use of the word **** but fail to realize that some black people repeatedly use the word **** It tackles many issues and many stereotypes in society today. The Boondocks did not create stereotypes; stereotypes have been through Black Culture for many years. Aaron McGruder is merely putting those stereotypes onto his Comic strip, now onto to his TV Show. Expand
  10. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Great series I thoroughly enjoyed each successive season more than the previous.
    The hidden meaning are especially great.
    My only hope is that the continue making episodes for as long as possible.
    Hell, I'll buy the dvd if it would help ;D
  11. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    I love this show and hope they air another season. It is not for the faint of heart. It depicts the way some african-americans converse amongst each other. Of course, the "N" word has met much scrutiny in the last few years. However, in some african-american households, it's still a common world that's not offensive when speaking to each other. Especially in the 'the hood'. TheI love this show and hope they air another season. It is not for the faint of heart. It depicts the way some african-americans converse amongst each other. Of course, the "N" word has met much scrutiny in the last few years. However, in some african-american households, it's still a common world that's not offensive when speaking to each other. Especially in the 'the hood'. The show is very funny especially because it's down-to-earth. There are some Uncle Ruckus's, Riley's and/or Huey's in many families.
    This show is not for children (thus the rating TV-MA). .
    Expand
  12. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    i love this show and i think the writing is brilliant. i love the way it keeps up with pop culture and sort of shows how kids these day are so easily influenced by it. and also how it shows opinions from different view points with the different character's personalities.
  13. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    I love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real, its a rare cartoon for all ages. It mainly depictsI love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real, its a rare cartoon for all ages. It mainly depicts The BlK Community & shows the ignorant side of it without going to far or being too offensive which is done threw humor. At times it even adds in positive Messages, most likely used as a way to balance out the Controversial Ignorance, often expressed threw the Kid & Uncle Ruckas. Perhaps its best asset is that it's very daring & not afraid to branch out into new territory; Its Brilliant, its fearless... Too bad season 3 is the last one, 85% of the episodes in this series are good, not all of them are. Expand
  14. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is a great series that really exposes the hypocrisy in the african american commuinity in such a funny way but in the same light it tries to educute african americans as well.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Animation has rarely felt so explosively, hilariously defiant.
  2. An out-of-the-gate triumph.
  3. "The Boondocks," with all its knowingly controversial observations and language, is a sort of animated equivalent of "All in the Family." It'll make you think, and maybe even wince - but at the same time, it makes you smile.