The Boondocks : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 268 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 268

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 28, 2016
    6
    Bondocks set out to criticize black American culture, and it instead degraded into **** jokes, effectively becoming a hypocritical caricature of itself.
    Season 1 is pretty good; it's funny, interesting and has a strange melancholy coupled with legit critiques that go ignored to this date, the latter was the biggest selling point to me.
    The thing is the biggest selling point for most
    Bondocks set out to criticize black American culture, and it instead degraded into **** jokes, effectively becoming a hypocritical caricature of itself.
    Season 1 is pretty good; it's funny, interesting and has a strange melancholy coupled with legit critiques that go ignored to this date, the latter was the biggest selling point to me.
    The thing is the biggest selling point for most people were jokes li- Pardon me, """jokes""" like **** you gay" (which is said multiple times in every episode from season 2 and beyond, so funny after the 20th time right?) which the writers clearly took notice, and in season 2 they immediately degraded their original vision in favor of $CASH$ $MONEY$.
    If you look up sell-out on the dictionary, you see a picture of Huey doing coke with the show's writers; well, not really but you SHOULD, it would be more accurate.

    I don't know what's with all these idiot users thinking this show deserves a flawless 10/10 rating, but worse are these moron "critics" that barely go in depth if AT ALL, and seem to have missed the point of the show, so did the users but they're not pretending to be professional critics.

    Season 1 is definitely good, I recommend to anybody with a brain that doesn't have a problem with "black" humor or can at least see past that (In season 1 it's mostly satirical, season 2 and beyond they start doing **** jokes for the sake of saying **** as much times as possible to appeal to their retarded audience) I'm thorn between a 6/10 or 7/10, but for the sake of reducing this RIDICULOUS 8.8 rating, I'll have to stick to 6.
    I rate all seasons beyond 1 as ****
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The title of this show is an interesting one because the show’s setting isn’t exactly in ‘the boondocks’ of American society. The Boondocks is about two children named Huey and Riley Freeman who move from the ghettos of Chicago to the fictional, peaceful (and very white) neighborhood of Woodcrest, where they embark on hilarious misadventures with their grandfather Robert Freeman as they adjust to their new environment.

    Huey Freeman is The Boondocks’ main character and narrator (as well as the person I chose as my profile picture), an Afro-wilding martial arts master, a gun-toting terrorist with a Che Guevara poster on his wall, a supremely intelligent prodigy of few words (and one of my all-time favorite characters). Riley Freeman is Huey’s younger brother and someone I was never fond of, a cornrowed hip-hop enthusiast famed for his expletive-filled rants and someone I find mostly one-dimensional, extremely egocentric, and unbelievably selfish. Robert Freeman is similar to Riley but is equipped with depth to his character (and a bizarre habit of dating psychotic women). The Boondocks offers a variety of richly detailed supporting characters like the politician Tom DuBois who looks exactly like young Barack Obama (and has a peculiar phobia), the infamous Uncle Ruckus, a racist who passionately despises his own kind (and someone whose voice I can imitate very well), Jazmine DuBois, who is Tom’s innocent daughter, and Ed Wuncler III, a red-headed delinquent who looks a lot like Eminem. The Boondocks offers one of the best cast of characters I’ve ever seen.

    There are more than a few notable Boondocks episodes like “The Story of Catcher Freeman”, an attempt to analyze Huey and Riley’s slavery-era ancestor who is profiled in three ways (Robert’s version of Catcher is a beloved and brave hero who freed black people from slavery, Uncle Ruckus’ version is a primal and vicious slavecatcher preventing black people from escaping the plantations, and Huey’s version is an intelligent playwright who accidently kills his white father). There’s the episode “Smoking with Cigarettes”, where Riley befriends Lamilton Taeshawn, a juvenile felon who punched his grandma and hijacked a car for a joyride (the detective chasing Lamilton sounds and looks similar to Obi-Wan Kenobi). There’s also the episode “The Color Ruckus”, an extremely emotional journey into Ruckus’ past, and the episode “The Fundraiser”, where Riley’s attempt to make money from selling chocolates becomes out-of-control (highlighted by an unforgettable speech by Riley). “The Fundraiser” and “The Color Ruckus” are two of my three favorite Boondocks episodes.

    After the third season concluded, The Boondocks fell into a dry spell, only airing re-runs as America furiously pushed for Season 4. Four years after Season 3, The Boondocks returned. Season 4 was the show’s first attempt at a running plot and it unfortunately aired for a pitiful 10 episodes. In those 10 episodes, The Boondocks mostly tried to recycle ideas from episodes of previous seasons (lowlighted by a return of the notorious Colonel Stinkmeaner as a mechanically modified clone to once again fight Grandpa Freeman), but there were a few shining moments in Season 4. The episode “Early Bird Special” was an interesting one but it didn’t hold a candle to the classic “I Dream of Siri” (my third favorite Boondocks episode), where Robert’s malfunctioned phone came dangerously close to destroying his life. The 10th (and final) episode of Season 4, “The New Black”, was about Riley being targeted for calling a kid ‘gay’ and ‘retarded’, and the episode ended with Riley getting pummeled by a gigantic group of mentally disabled children as the show played Lethal Interjection Crew’s “Stomp ‘Em In the Nuts”, a homage to the earlier seasons. It was a classic ending to a sub-par episode in a disappointing season.

    Sadly, when Season 4 concluded, Aaron McGruder (the creator of The Boondocks) quit his involvement in the beloved animated series for Black Jesus, a hilarious comedy that is nowhere close to The Boondocks, which was the last African-American classic, a show with supremely solid characters, first-class comedy, and occasional martial arts scenes, a show that casually ventured into polarizing social topics (race, snitching, homosexuality, etc.) and incited controversy along the way (The Boondocks labeled BET as “Black Evil Television”, a sinister enterprise corrupting America, and the show suggested the famous playwright Tyler Perry is gay). With its memorable main theme, and historical and pop culture references, The Boondocks is a show that doesn’t deserve to be ignored.
    Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2015
    5
    Tried to like it but some characters and plots are so annoying that i just can't. Definitely not for everyone. Some may like it though. Give it a shoot and judge urself.
  4. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    A hilarious satire show with a beautiful anime-esque animation style. It's brings plenty of laughs and just has smart writing all around. It's views and language may be controversial, or downright offensive to some, but it manages to be hilarious enough where you don't have to agree with what's going on in order to laugh at it.
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    What a beautiful show and work of art. If you are an activist, interested in art, want to learn very valuable lessons, or just want a good laugh in general. This is the show to watch. I love this show deeply and it gives great lessons.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    The only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, andThe only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, and horribly failing. White people just plain and simply should not watch this show unless they are on something heavy. The only reason this has such a good overall rating is because of how many black people watch it hourly. Im not trying to offend anyone, but please take this show off the air. The only reason ive watched all 3 seasons of this show was because my friend forced e to watch it, so he would watch the funniest show of all time. If you value your sanity; when you see this show destroy your tv, throw it in ditch and burn it with holy water. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    1
    The Boondocks is witlessly blunt and relentlessly unfunny, it relies on confused stereotypes and pitifully employed cliches for moronic laughs. If you get irrationally excited when you hear the N-word, you'll love this sh*tfest.
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Hilarious show, very amusing with its wit and racial stereotypes which they manage to turn into pure laughter, great jokes, and just comedy at some of its finest.
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    THE BOONDOCKS is the gem of absurdly hysterical (but, nevertheless, controversially racist) humor. Based on Aaron McGruder's comic strip that was first published six years before this show was first aired, it has humor that can't get more funny. (The only bad thing about it is you feel so cruel for being sucked into laughing...)
  10. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    The Boondocks does an amazing Job when it reflects on Black American Culture. People either have no clue that this Show is satirical or have no understanding of the word whatsoever. People complain about the heavy use of the word **** but fail to realize that some black people repeatedly use the word **** It tackles many issues and many stereotypes in society today. The Boondocks did notThe Boondocks does an amazing Job when it reflects on Black American Culture. People either have no clue that this Show is satirical or have no understanding of the word whatsoever. People complain about the heavy use of the word **** but fail to realize that some black people repeatedly use the word **** It tackles many issues and many stereotypes in society today. The Boondocks did not create stereotypes; stereotypes have been through Black Culture for many years. Aaron McGruder is merely putting those stereotypes onto his Comic strip, now onto to his TV Show. Expand
  11. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Great series I thoroughly enjoyed each successive season more than the previous.
    The hidden meaning are especially great.
    My only hope is that the continue making episodes for as long as possible.
    Hell, I'll buy the dvd if it would help ;D
  12. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    I love this show and hope they air another season. It is not for the faint of heart. It depicts the way some african-americans converse amongst each other. Of course, the "N" word has met much scrutiny in the last few years. However, in some african-american households, it's still a common world that's not offensive when speaking to each other. Especially in the 'the hood'. TheI love this show and hope they air another season. It is not for the faint of heart. It depicts the way some african-americans converse amongst each other. Of course, the "N" word has met much scrutiny in the last few years. However, in some african-american households, it's still a common world that's not offensive when speaking to each other. Especially in the 'the hood'. The show is very funny especially because it's down-to-earth. There are some Uncle Ruckus's, Riley's and/or Huey's in many families.
    This show is not for children (thus the rating TV-MA). .
    Expand
  13. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    i love this show and i think the writing is brilliant. i love the way it keeps up with pop culture and sort of shows how kids these day are so easily influenced by it. and also how it shows opinions from different view points with the different character's personalities.
  14. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    I love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real, its a rare cartoon for all ages. It mainly depictsI love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real, its a rare cartoon for all ages. It mainly depicts The BlK Community & shows the ignorant side of it without going to far or being too offensive which is done threw humor. At times it even adds in positive Messages, most likely used as a way to balance out the Controversial Ignorance, often expressed threw the Kid & Uncle Ruckas. Perhaps its best asset is that it's very daring & not afraid to branch out into new territory; Its Brilliant, its fearless... Too bad season 3 is the last one, 85% of the episodes in this series are good, not all of them are. Expand
  15. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is a great series that really exposes the hypocrisy in the african american commuinity in such a funny way but in the same light it tries to educute african americans as well.
  16. SolR.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    Great show alltho some may not under stand the humor (very racial and political) is season #3 coming out??
  17. MadHouse
    Feb 22, 2010
    10
    I love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real. It kinda depicts The BlK Community & shows the I love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real. It kinda depicts The BlK Community & shows the ignorant side of it without going to far or being offensive which is done threw humor. At times it adds in positive words also, often expressed threw the Kid. Perhaps its best asset is it is very daring & not afraid to branch out into new territory; Its Brilliant & fearless. Expand
  18. Name
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Really good. People boast that it has a lot of intelegent, satirical humor, but don't let that intimidate you. I'm not the smartest guy on earth, but almost every episode produced belly laughs.
  19. DouglasS.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    As a 45 year old Black man ,husband ,and father of two young boys, I find it easy to relate to all the people in those stories. My fave is the one where Riley gets called "Nigga" by his Teacher.Man! I aint laughed so hard at a cartoon since .Swear to God my face was a mess from the tears and snot, my stomach was cramping.Laughter overdose. Now I'm hooked on the Boondocks.I need the As a 45 year old Black man ,husband ,and father of two young boys, I find it easy to relate to all the people in those stories. My fave is the one where Riley gets called "Nigga" by his Teacher.Man! I aint laughed so hard at a cartoon since .Swear to God my face was a mess from the tears and snot, my stomach was cramping.Laughter overdose. Now I'm hooked on the Boondocks.I need the DVD box set(uncensored). Expand
  20. WonderBread
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Love the show and i can wait til season 3.
  21. AlbeonJ.
    May 11, 2009
    10
    Brilliantly funny!
  22. DavidS
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Brilliant piece of art. No one critiques American culture with more punch or hilarity than Aaron McGruder. And if you're not socially aware enough to really get that sort of thing, you'll laugh anyway. Everybody wins.
  23. AdamH
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    A consistently witty and funny series. A must see for anyone who values intelligent humor.
  24. shannettee
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    I love this show i think it shows how people act but it makes it things more funny then they are. i live in the uk and think that they need a show like this to show then just what funny is. xxx bring theboondocks to england!
  25. Alex
    Aug 21, 2008
    6
    There's little to say about The Boondocks that hasn't been said before; it is incredibly controversial and at times, incredibly humorous. The biggest problem with this show is that while it does have its shining moments of brilliance, it always ends up falling short of what it should be simply because there isn't enough screen time for humor in between all the political and There's little to say about The Boondocks that hasn't been said before; it is incredibly controversial and at times, incredibly humorous. The biggest problem with this show is that while it does have its shining moments of brilliance, it always ends up falling short of what it should be simply because there isn't enough screen time for humor in between all the political and social rhetoric of it's creator. We get it Aaron, you don't particularly care for mainstream black culture- you don't need to make every episode based around a prominent figure in black culture or a parody of one. The redundancy and overall absence of humor doesn't help this show at all, and it's really a shame because it has so much potential. I'll end this on a good note though; Aaron McGruder is clearly an incredibly insightful man who has a very strong message to send to people black, white and every shade in between. And while he does make some seriously good points through the exploits of Huey and co., he seriously needs to make the show more appealing by making it much more humorous than it currently is. Most of the writing ends up being very sophomoric, though maybe that is the fault of the writers and production crew. What could make this show nothing short of brilliant is simply better writing, akin to the late works of Bill Watterson. Season 3 is just around the corner, so hopefully we'll see some improvement. Expand
  26. BabaGump
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    You know how there's those TV shows you watch regularly, and then there are the ones you've heard about, maybe caught a few glimpses of, but never really got into? and then you watch an episode in its entirety and, just like you've heard... you find it amazing? Don't let me overhype this show. A TV show is just that, a TV show. But this is far from a cartoon. I You know how there's those TV shows you watch regularly, and then there are the ones you've heard about, maybe caught a few glimpses of, but never really got into? and then you watch an episode in its entirety and, just like you've heard... you find it amazing? Don't let me overhype this show. A TV show is just that, a TV show. But this is far from a cartoon. I don't know much about Japanese cartoons, but I think the drawing style is called anime... well, this is American anime. The typical American crowd portrayed in the anime style is a shining combination. Voice acting is unprecedented. Persons behind the mic include Regina King, Charlie Muprhy, Samuel L Jackson, John Witherspoon, guest appearance of Lil' Wayne, and many other incredible performers. The music makes the show flow like nothing else. The dialogue is the most hysterical thing I have ever heard... The bottom line is that this may look like a cartoon at first , but it's much more than just that. This "cartoon" is on par with some of the classics of the big screen. But seriously, don't have unrealistically high expectations. It's just a show. Expand
  27. BabaGump
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    You know how there's those TV shows you watch regularly, and then there are the ones you've heard about, maybe caught a few glimpses of, but never really got into? and then you watch an episode in its entirety and, just like you've heard... you find it amazing? Don't let me overhype this show. A TV show is just that, a TV show. But this is far from a cartoon. I You know how there's those TV shows you watch regularly, and then there are the ones you've heard about, maybe caught a few glimpses of, but never really got into? and then you watch an episode in its entirety and, just like you've heard... you find it amazing? Don't let me overhype this show. A TV show is just that, a TV show. But this is far from a cartoon. I don't know much about Japanese cartoons, but I think the drawing style is called anime... well, this is American anime. The typical American crowd portrayed in the anime style is a shining combination. Voice acting is unprecedented. Persons behind the mic include Regina King, Charlie Muprhy, Samuel L Jackson, John Witherspoon, guest appearance of Lil' Wayne, and many other incredible performers. The music makes the show flow like nothing else. The dialogue is the most hysterical thing I have ever heard... The bottom line is that this may look like a cartoon at first , but it's much more than just that. This "cartoon" is on par with some of the classics of the big screen. But seriously, don't have unrealistically high expectations. It's just a show. Expand
  28. TLDragon
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    The Boondocks in real in the best of ways. The show remains oblivious to political correctness and instead focus's on the truth as McGruder see's it. Its funny, shocking, educational at times and always entertaining.
  29. Jasmine
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Excellent satire that people either get, or they don't. The people who don't get it are usually the ones being made fun of.
  30. SymiraH.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shows. Aaron Mcgruder is not afraid to take on subjects dealing with the black community.
  31. AshaG.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing!!
  32. Ashley
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I think this is the best show in years. Its a real depiction of so many things that happens in black America. Everyone can relate to uncle rukus. We all know someone that hate their own race. This is what t.v. should be about. Give us all some thing entertaining and intellectual.
  33. ShaneH.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    I love this show because its honestly funny...Mr. McGruder did nothing but expos what we go threw as African Americans. Don't get me wrong we got some work to do...but he took what we go threw and turned it into comedy. Whats the difference between a cartoon and a regular film.....
  34. StephenM.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    My favorite cartoon show and my third favorite in all. It provides a general funny plotline while inserting many hidden themes that are also quite comical, able to be found funny by all except al sharpton, who can burn in hell.
  35. ShawnT.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This show is an amazingly witty and intelligent show... and hilarious.
  36. CiaraS.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    This is the best show Ive seen in a while. you can learn a lot from this show. i love the fact that Huey is smart, and especially knows about his peoples. I'm a little mad that Uncle Ruckus is there talking all that mess, but i know hes there for a reason. Just don't know what yet, but i learn so much about Huey and hes ma favorite character in this show, then Riley. everybody This is the best show Ive seen in a while. you can learn a lot from this show. i love the fact that Huey is smart, and especially knows about his peoples. I'm a little mad that Uncle Ruckus is there talking all that mess, but i know hes there for a reason. Just don't know what yet, but i learn so much about Huey and hes ma favorite character in this show, then Riley. everybody likes him cause he gangsta and everything but i love this show because im learning from the messages there putting in the show and Huey. I love shows that put hidden messages in there. Aaron McGruder is doing a very good job. Please please please, keep doing the show, more episodes and everything. I love this show and so do everyone else. Adults need 2 wake up and find the message in the show and not just saying they don't like it because of the cursing. they should actually watch it and figure out what it means or what there trying to say in...any episode. Expand
  37. D.A.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Very entertaining show with very attaching and prolific characters. Most of the fun simply comes from listening to the conversations, fast-paced and to the point, almost rap-like. The amazing soundtrack helps a lot too, as well as the intense fight scenes that add a bit of action to an already very complete comedy show. You just gotta understand that all uses of the word "nigger" are not Very entertaining show with very attaching and prolific characters. Most of the fun simply comes from listening to the conversations, fast-paced and to the point, almost rap-like. The amazing soundtrack helps a lot too, as well as the intense fight scenes that add a bit of action to an already very complete comedy show. You just gotta understand that all uses of the word "nigger" are not meant to offend and that social commentary is not the only point of the show. Expand
  38. RawleS.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Best Shoe Ever...Put out the stereotypes and shows the real black families living in this country...A great Show and i support it and cant wait for every new episode...Gud job Aaron.
  39. LeslieT
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    Terry C you need to rewatch it again, get past being offended and see the show for what it really is.
  40. PaulS
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best show on television and unarguably the least politically correct, which adds immeasurably to its appeal in this world of ultra soft emasculated men and fantasy dwelling black bousie nerds. It contains many deep soul stirring messages for this ailing society and its damn FUNNY!! Arron Mcgrudder is a certified GENIUS!!!!!!
  41. AllenB.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Finally media that promotes the Revolution.
  42. TerryC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Worst show that I've ever seen on TV by far!!!...not only does it use the "N" word to much its embarrassing, and I'm african american and I took offense to it being used. People fought for the word to be scrapped and now its used like no other, and its just simply not funny!
  43. KarlG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I think this television show is exceptional. It inspired me to post to metacritic for the first time when I learned its ratings were only good and not great.
  44. TomL.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Outstanding show! Makes me laugh every time, and I'm not even black!
  45. PhillipB.
    Dec 20, 2007
    9
    One of the best shows on anywhere! Plenty of deep messages that need to be told. Everyone will not be able to handle it, but then that's the way life is. Right On to the creator of the show!
  46. KrustyToenail
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    This show rocks. It's comedy, lighten up people. Don't like it change the channel. The characters all have different personalities, and the style is great. Fight scenes can get pretty sweet too. It's one of the best animated series out now.
  47. CandaceC.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Brilliantly funny and, at times, jaw-dropping-ly bold.
  48. JDB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I feel that this show is a dose of much needed realism to a much neglected part of the socioeconmic structure, as well as an eye opener for outsiders. Very well done.
  49. HavocTroll
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The best show on the Adult Swim line-up (That is currently owned by Turner)
  50. ScottM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Razor sharp satire.
  51. Josephy.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    One show that fights against ignorant PC nonsense. Everything can be a little funny if you can grow up and get a sense of humor. The things that make us all different are the things that make us all the same. Laugh world, just laugh.
  52. ahmadr.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This show is so hilarious.
  53. bj
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    uncle ruckus preaches the truth
  54. KurtR
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. I think anyone who finds this offensive based on the language used is completely missing the forest for the trees. Look past the fact that offensive words and stereotypes are used to find the greater message. I for one laugh my butt off at almost every episode. And why? Cause though the truth may be ugly, it is most certainly funny and kudos to Aaron for showing us how Brilliant. I think anyone who finds this offensive based on the language used is completely missing the forest for the trees. Look past the fact that offensive words and stereotypes are used to find the greater message. I for one laugh my butt off at almost every episode. And why? Cause though the truth may be ugly, it is most certainly funny and kudos to Aaron for showing us how ridiculous we are. Expand
  55. JosephP
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. While some claim that use of the n-word (I won't type the word out cause I don't want to listen to people complain)automatically makes this show racist, the truth is that it shows how racism and stereotypes make fools of us all - black, white, Hispanic, Asian, whatever. And it's freaking hilarious, too. If you're offended by television, turn it off.
  56. DeeDee
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    The Boondocks is smart, funny, relevant and entertaining. Racism will not end because anyone stops using the N- word. Focusing on that cause you to miss all the totally relevant social and mulit-cultural commentary the show has to offer. MacGruder is the bomb!
  57. SamerS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Don't call this show racist, it insults black just as much as white people. It Highlights some of the fu**d up shit in our society. It's honest and it's funny. The episode with Martin Luther King brought a tear to my eye.
  58. johnnyc.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    wow...here we go again. i dont see how ppl are so offended by this. the whole show is not based on racism. if u actually listen to some of the stuff they say,its not all about racism. this show is funny,and sort of educational at the same time.
  59. JetB.
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    This show is horrible. Beyond offensive and disgusting. This show is not true to the strip that started it. The N-word is used by Huey of all people! And John Witherspoon's buffoon portrayal of Grandad, who is/was a Black Panther is degrading and humiliating to all the men and women in the struggle. I am enraged that Aaron McGruder sold himself and his creativity this way. This show This show is horrible. Beyond offensive and disgusting. This show is not true to the strip that started it. The N-word is used by Huey of all people! And John Witherspoon's buffoon portrayal of Grandad, who is/was a Black Panther is degrading and humiliating to all the men and women in the struggle. I am enraged that Aaron McGruder sold himself and his creativity this way. This show is nothing but another debasing and undignified depiction of people with African roots. And there is nothing funny about that. Expand
  60. RamonaW
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    I think that it should be taken off the air. I think that it is very offensive and racist. I think that it is a shame that we can not come up with more positive self images and that we continue to allow very negative images permeate our culture. I love our people and we can certainly do more to project this sentiment.
  61. DigDug
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Anyone who doesn't like the boondocks is a communist
  62. JackW
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Extremely Smart and Funny
  63. Boman
    May 31, 2007
    10
    It offends me that you take offense to it. Until we can laugh at ourselves and others in the same breath, racism will never disappear.
  64. shontela
    Apr 18, 2007
    0
    this show is extremely inappropriate and me being of the african american hertiage take offense to the show.
  65. artishab
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    I think its funny as hell...I luv it...
  66. Korin
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    I'm just glad the closed minded mofuckers are dwindling away in our society. Anyone who thinks this cartoon is horrible obviously has no sense of humor, art, nor style. They wouldn't know a Van Gogh from thier kid brothers stick figure. Its sad that Americans are so Judgemental, but hell I think that's the message the show was tryin to send. I'm glad someone sees the I'm just glad the closed minded mofuckers are dwindling away in our society. Anyone who thinks this cartoon is horrible obviously has no sense of humor, art, nor style. They wouldn't know a Van Gogh from thier kid brothers stick figure. Its sad that Americans are so Judgemental, but hell I think that's the message the show was tryin to send. I'm glad someone sees the underlining racisim that has developed in this country both black and white. The feelings are mutal on both sides. Step up and open your eyes, things aren't always what they seem. Expand
  67. kaneda
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    A very funny show, allthough some may find it offensive.
  68. markI
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    funny that a satire cartoon can have more relevance than the news which is supposed to be based on current events.
  69. snot
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    i musrt say your cartoon brings a lot of knowledge. I also want to add great points that i never will look at the same.
  70. ROBYNC
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is the best show I have ever seen and it open your eyes to alot. This show deserves not only a perfect 10 but a 100!
  71. robyn
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    this show is real and I actually learn something though each and every episode including different opinions. This show deserves a 11 not a 10!
  72. liamb
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    This show is the best GO HUEY!!!!
  73. BettyH
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Wonderful put together. This show has me rolling on the floor each and every episode.
  74. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    9
    Excellent show, perhaps the only one to have ever translated a comic strip properly (maybe making it better in the process by delivering several strips worth of comics at once). As daring at South Park was originally with the same mass appeal (at least in my family) as the Simpsons. And honestly, comparing it to either of those shows does it a disservice, as it outshines them both in some ways.
  75. JamilA
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Funny show with very serious messages about the world we live.
  76. melh
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    this show is as real as it can get LOL makes ya laugh like no other
  77. jorasch
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    that show is da bomb tha shit iz tight so if u feel its lower dan a 10 u should suck riley dick
  78. Ismail
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    You can't hate. Shake those who do because they only want the show to drop. It's common sense these days that racism still exist. Form your own future. It's the only way go.
  79. GasmineW
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    never take this show off of tv I LOOOOOOOOOOVE IT!!!!! its the best cartoon on adult swim.
  80. robs
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    boondocks is the best thing that ever happend to television. its freedom of speech,sterio typeps, constant curssing and use of the n-word not only adds that edge to the show but also ads some humer. alot of racial coments and such is in this show,it shows white people hating black people and even black people hating black people.i dont like racisum, but i think it also keeps the show boondocks is the best thing that ever happend to television. its freedom of speech,sterio typeps, constant curssing and use of the n-word not only adds that edge to the show but also ads some humer. alot of racial coments and such is in this show,it shows white people hating black people and even black people hating black people.i dont like racisum, but i think it also keeps the show alive and shocking to some viewers. i love how 8 year old riley tryes to be so gangster, hes the most gangster 8 year old i know. i also love huey's wide vocabulary and revoulutionary attitude towards life. huey not only feels free to say what he wants but fights against what he feels is rong. i think the show is brilliant. keep the episodes coming! Expand
  81. WillS.
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    YO, Ralisha, maybe you can review the show, and not broadcast to everyone that YOU ARE A RACIST! TO further your statements, Jesus wasnt black, he was middle eastern, which is like the color of the characters on the Aladdin movie, i know this mostly because, of where he was from, but whatever. Also, your views on the n word make no sense, its a word i feel very disgraced by everyone who YO, Ralisha, maybe you can review the show, and not broadcast to everyone that YOU ARE A RACIST! TO further your statements, Jesus wasnt black, he was middle eastern, which is like the color of the characters on the Aladdin movie, i know this mostly because, of where he was from, but whatever. Also, your views on the n word make no sense, its a word i feel very disgraced by everyone who says it or whoever calls me that. I Wisht That word was gone. deleted. But black people like to keep it around for protection, like they wanna keep racism which is mostly gone form their generation as weapons against everyone else. You live in your little world, and i will live in the real one.Whatever. Anyway, I love this show, because it is written incredibly well. It is funny and enjoyable, and makes you think about black culture today. All in all, The Boondocks is an excellent show. Expand
  82. REGINALDC
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    boondocks is the best nigga/ fuck family guy and the rest boondocks is the best ya need to put the show on at 10pm so you can make more money and so i can see more shows nigga
  83. RisikaB
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best shows on TV! It's funny, but has quotes in it that really make you think. The Show is a little racist to white people but that adds to the humor in some ways.
  84. MLee
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    This might be one of the funniest shows I've ever watched, period. And, it makes you think, in so many levels. It entertains, AND it challenges you...
  85. DG
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Love this Show man. Stop lisening to the media it' s time to let people get a real taste of what the Hood is like. You Think You Know Huh!!! This How we Had to survive In the Hood. Most of Yall would'nt Last a day! Much Luv Fam
  86. JarrodL
    May 21, 2006
    3
    This is one of the most dissapointing shows to ever be aired. It manages to take Aaron McGruder's creative genius for delivering snappy, funny, and socially insightful dialogue from his comic and make it a chore to watch. The characters and situations are simply too broad. It seems to miss the mark by being obvious and in general show a lack of the smart, insightful nature of the This is one of the most dissapointing shows to ever be aired. It manages to take Aaron McGruder's creative genius for delivering snappy, funny, and socially insightful dialogue from his comic and make it a chore to watch. The characters and situations are simply too broad. It seems to miss the mark by being obvious and in general show a lack of the smart, insightful nature of the strip. What surprises me most is how quickly people have accepted it, claiming that people who have low opinions "don't get it". I assure you, there is very little to get, the show is as obvious as "Friends". Expand
  87. RalishaO
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Man let me tell you about this so called racist show. Its great stuff. Because you dont understand the real meanings behind each epsiode dont get mad. I hope the show goes on for a while as long as everybody loves raymond. Cuz hell i don't love raymond but he still on Tv. The fact of the matter is white people are comfrotable knowing how black people (generally) feel about them. The Man let me tell you about this so called racist show. Its great stuff. Because you dont understand the real meanings behind each epsiode dont get mad. I hope the show goes on for a while as long as everybody loves raymond. Cuz hell i don't love raymond but he still on Tv. The fact of the matter is white people are comfrotable knowing how black people (generally) feel about them. The Boondock is racist why cuz ronald reagan the devil or maybe cuz the government is lying about 9 11 no i know because Jesus Is Black. News flash he may not have been black but he was a man of color. He was hebrew he aint have blonde hair and blue eyes. The world is racist when a 7year has to sleep wit a weapon under her pillow because she scared of the white people. Bump that they keepin it real wit errbody. this is coldest show on tv right now, Yea they do say the N word alot (in respect for the white people i'll say the N word) but if a group of people take a word wit negative connations and use it postively. i will also admitt that it does cause tension if a white person walks up to me and say the N word. its guarnteed to go down. Point is if u dont like it dont watch it but dont ruin it for those of us who do Expand
  88. nicko
    May 9, 2006
    10
    this is the tightest show on adult swim and i should smack who doesn't like the show
  89. DeshadC
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    I absolutley love this show, and for all the people who don't I can't really understand why. White people are so outraged at this show, namely because they say it's qoute "a bad, unimaginative show" Even major critics say the first Episode with R Kelly was where the fun stopped.But I think it's mainly because it shows the white race in a bad steorytype, which is I absolutley love this show, and for all the people who don't I can't really understand why. White people are so outraged at this show, namely because they say it's qoute "a bad, unimaginative show" Even major critics say the first Episode with R Kelly was where the fun stopped.But I think it's mainly because it shows the white race in a bad steorytype, which is something there not used to. It's all good when R Kelly gets made fun of, but wheh a pot shot gets taken at Ronald Regan its no longer funny. Ironic isn't it? I find it funny that shows like this are blasted, but shows like "Friends" who took years to even add someone of color are praised. And yeah, I think sometimes The Boondocks can maybe go a little over the line sometimes, but it does it for good reason. Just because it crosses a line or two dosent mean it's not a good show. And for those who compare this show to South Park I say this, if it where just another South Park we wouldn't be talikng about it now. It wasn't intended to be a South Park carbo copy because they are two completley different shows. Do they both preach? Hell yeah they do, but thats where the comparisons stop. I f you want to laugh at stupid shit with no meaning Watch Family Guy (which I love) but if you want the truth in all its ugliness then check this. Expand
  90. mp
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    to quote the movie Bamboozled " thats the dope is show on TV" I have NO clue why white people are pissed off... im white extrmely white snow caps on mountains white and i think its FUNNNNNNNNNNNY. People are just afriad to things that are true...werd
  91. JeffP
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    The reviews from Variety and The New Yorker aren't surprising, as they're pretentious and don't get statements like this show makes. This show is as important as any on television because it's honest. "It was as hot as Dick Cheny's gun barrell", as well as the character of Ruckus, could only be depicted in cartoon, and there within lies their success. Breaking The reviews from Variety and The New Yorker aren't surprising, as they're pretentious and don't get statements like this show makes. This show is as important as any on television because it's honest. "It was as hot as Dick Cheny's gun barrell", as well as the character of Ruckus, could only be depicted in cartoon, and there within lies their success. Breaking barriers, of course they are! They're making untalked about things in this soicety, and that's very responsible. Expand
  92. QuanP
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Thsi show is the hottest black one out this year and can only get better with time.
  93. ludinem
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    great cartoon and commentary about societal issues
  94. BobBobby
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This show is awsome i love this show the boondocks the comic strip is good to :)
  95. BlackContractor
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    LOL!!! It's funny to see people complain that the show paints "White" people as all evil. I mean, at least watch the show. Anyone who has seen an episode knows McGruder's humor is much more about the "Black" community than "Whites". It exposes that many "Blacks" use the n-word. It exposes that many "Blacks" worship "Whiteness". It exposes the negative behaviors we have. And it LOL!!! It's funny to see people complain that the show paints "White" people as all evil. I mean, at least watch the show. Anyone who has seen an episode knows McGruder's humor is much more about the "Black" community than "Whites". It exposes that many "Blacks" use the n-word. It exposes that many "Blacks" worship "Whiteness". It exposes the negative behaviors we have. And it actually talks about solutions, ala the King episode. There isn't anything out there that compares to this. Right on Aaron!!!! Expand
  96. Eric
    Mar 22, 2006
    5
    I'd give this show a 0 if it weren't for the social satire. I was hoping that this show would be as funny as his comic strip it's based on, but the voices just ruin everything.
  97. Craig
    Mar 19, 2006
    0
    I hate this show because its racist against white people clearly,. Frank my butt - its frankness is bullcrapt. Yeah there is racism and black people have been screwed over. I have black friends who are not republican "uncle toms" and they hate this shit too for what it is - shit. I'm no Ronald Reagon fan but that crap about white heaven - the creator deserves to be slapped down for I hate this show because its racist against white people clearly,. Frank my butt - its frankness is bullcrapt. Yeah there is racism and black people have been screwed over. I have black friends who are not republican "uncle toms" and they hate this shit too for what it is - shit. I'm no Ronald Reagon fan but that crap about white heaven - the creator deserves to be slapped down for inciting trouble - I will stop watching adult swim because of this show. Expand
  98. LizmonD
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This shit is real
  99. MartinS
    Mar 11, 2006
    8
    After reading the strip for quite some time I was a bit shocked at the shows frankness. I'm a bit worried that the political observations will be overshadowed by the "N" word however black people everywhere will immediately recognize these characters. It seems Aaron is saying all the things he could never get away with in the Sunday funnies.
  100. patricaudontneedtoknow
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    I think this show is the shit, I think some people say it sucks because they dont like how they talk or just turn too the channel and call it crap and dont even bother to look at, well heres something that most of these complaining ass people need to do turn the goddam cartoon and go and watch the cooking channel or something let the people who enjoy watching watch it without having to I think this show is the shit, I think some people say it sucks because they dont like how they talk or just turn too the channel and call it crap and dont even bother to look at, well heres something that most of these complaining ass people need to do turn the goddam cartoon and go and watch the cooking channel or something let the people who enjoy watching watch it without having to here some complaining ass people. ps. and sorry most of this wont make sense to u Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Animation has rarely felt so explosively, hilariously defiant.
  2. An out-of-the-gate triumph.
  3. "The Boondocks," with all its knowingly controversial observations and language, is a sort of animated equivalent of "All in the Family." It'll make you think, and maybe even wince - but at the same time, it makes you smile.