• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Crazy Ones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In his first TV sitcom starring role since Mork & Mindy ended in 1982, Robin Williams plays Simon Roberts, the unpredictable head of a Chicago advertising agency, where he works with his more focused daughter Sydney (Sarah Michelle Gellar). James Wolk (Mad Men) and Hamish Linklater also star for creator David E. Kelley (Ally McBeal, Boston Legal). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2013
    100
    [The Crazy Ones and The Michael J. Fox Show] have great, always likable stars heading up solid ensemble casts in well-written and mostly plausible shows. Who could ask for anything more?
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    Williams's humming energy is charming (and more softly winsome than it used to be.) The challenge is to surround him with actors with enough skill to play off or with him. Gellar, as his daughter, doesn't quite pull it off. Hamish Linklater, as an art director, does. [4 Nov 2013]
  3. Reviewed by: Sydney Bucksbaum
    Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Williams signature brand of comedy and big personality dominate the show, but with an ensemble of Sarah Michelle Gellar, James Wolk and Hamish Linklater, it's less one-note than expected.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    60
    The talented cast and upbeat pilot work in the series’ favor, but if the half-hour is to be more than a platform for Williams’ improv, the story will have to go deeper. And make us care.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 25, 2013
    60
    Kelley is no stranger to writing comedy, even if it’s traditionally been in service of hourlong shows, and between his gifts as a wordsmith and Williams’ frenetic energy (best displayed in a closing-credits outtake sequence), The Crazy Ones has potential beyond what the pilot demonstrates.
  6. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    The episode has the propulsive pace of a CBS hour-long, but that can leave the fun parts of a single-camera sitcom (like the jokes) behind in its dust. Above all, The Crazy Ones is safe.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The whole thing is so poorly conceived and executed.... It’s a misfire for an undeniable TV talent.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The pilot was really fast paced, the 20 minutes felt like 5 but I already love all the characters. Definitely Ally Mc Beal 2.0. A bunch of Crazy people with a lot of heart. Can't hardly wait to know them a little bit more and to explore their universe. All the actors have great chemistry together especially Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar. James Wolk was a nice revelation and on top of that Kelly Clarkson was hilarious. Yep, this is great TV. The show has so much potential, I hope the writers will meet my expectations. The next episodes should focus a little bit more on the father daughter relationship. This is where, IMO, The Crazy Ones could stand out of the crowd and became a nice "dramedy". Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this show it's witty, funny and all around entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys clever comedy. Robin Williams is of course fantastic. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    The Crazy Ones is tons of fun. 20 minute episodes feel quick but every moment is entertaining. I can see some opportunities for improvement, but Robin Williams is as good as it gets for fast-paced wit and lead characters. With any luck, The Crazy Ones will be able to create something truly special over time. As is, the show is solid, even if it's a bit too immediate or a tad shallow at times. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Possibility of becoming a very good show if they can reduce the drag of obvious product placement, and keep the amount of improv reasonable.

    The actors work together well, giving believability to the story lines.

    I would say the writing is good, but I don't know just how much writing there is for this show. It appears to be [mostly] made up as they go along. So far that has worked pretty well, but they have to avoid it being an improv show.

    Improv is funnier and more enjoyable when it appears unexpected.
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    I have really high hopes for this show. The first episode was really funny and witty.
    My only problem was Sarah Michelle Gellar, I didn't
    find her funny by any means. I this show goes down it will probably be because of her. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    I LOVE Robin Williams, that is, “Wacky/Loony Tunes/Improvisational Comic Extraordinaire” Robin Williams. The SHOW “The Crazy Ones” does NOT provide the appropriate stage for Robin to SHINE—the way that our King of Clowns can shine. Watched the first show: 2 minute of Vintage Robin; 18 minutes of something else. There was simply too much “drama” (as opposed to “comedy”). Because of Robin, I expected something similar to “I Love Lucy” “The Carol Burnett Show” “3rd Rock from the Sun”, “Seinfeld” or, to name a current show, “The Big Bang theory.” In sum: I expected Filet Mignon—I got served baloney. Oh, the SECOND show? I watched 3 minutes, then switched channels. I just didn’t have the guts to face another big disappointment. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. I feel the whole work concept is very boring and poorly written and even after watching the first episode I was not completely sure what their job was. Not funny Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews