The Dresden Files : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2007
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 8 out of 59

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ArtW
    Jan 25, 2007
    6
    Being a big fan of the books, I can't help but be judgmental of the TV series. With such a huge fan base, it's truly surprising that the TV writers chose to veer so far away from the original characterizations and minutiae that made the books such a hit. Also, isn't the idea of a pilot to bring in as much interest at the beginning of a show so you can get the viewers to Being a big fan of the books, I can't help but be judgmental of the TV series. With such a huge fan base, it's truly surprising that the TV writers chose to veer so far away from the original characterizations and minutiae that made the books such a hit. Also, isn't the idea of a pilot to bring in as much interest at the beginning of a show so you can get the viewers to return? The pilot was kind of a snore and did very little to entice a viewer to stay with the show. There was very little evidence that Harry was a wizard of some power. At least give us a little FX to whet our appetites...'Fuego'! Still, I'm willing to watch a few more episodes to see if they manage to pick up the ball and make it work. Expand
  2. MikeN.
    Mar 19, 2007
    6
    LIkable hero, vaguely interesting universe, but too much of a by-the-numbers, connect the plot points, wrap it all up in 43 minutes action show to be worth taking any trouble to watch.
  3. CarsonF
    Sep 12, 2008
    6
    I haven't seen the tv show, but judging from the books they didn't cast it very well. Morgan is suposed to be this big scary guy who looks like someone you wouldn't want to mess with, well the pics show this average sized man who isn't very intimidating. And Murphy should be short and some wat athletic. Dresden looks like the Dresden in the book. And bob is a spirit in I haven't seen the tv show, but judging from the books they didn't cast it very well. Morgan is suposed to be this big scary guy who looks like someone you wouldn't want to mess with, well the pics show this average sized man who isn't very intimidating. And Murphy should be short and some wat athletic. Dresden looks like the Dresden in the book. And bob is a spirit in a scull, not a person. Expand
  4. TyW
    Jan 24, 2007
    6
    Some interesting stuff and a little different, but the thing that popped in my head about half way through was: "This feels like a Canadian TV show"...which I found out it is since it's filmed in Toronto. I know nothing about the books so I'm just going off the show. The characters were interesting, and the storyline had some twists. Something is missing though, maybe its the Some interesting stuff and a little different, but the thing that popped in my head about half way through was: "This feels like a Canadian TV show"...which I found out it is since it's filmed in Toronto. I know nothing about the books so I'm just going off the show. The characters were interesting, and the storyline had some twists. Something is missing though, maybe its the setting or maybe its the way its filmed. The show needs to take more chances and push the edge more...not cafe-zany like Eureka, but more hard core or otherworldly. The show was too familiar to me; the music was the same cheap 90s sci-fi synth I've heard before and the way it was filmed was uninspired, though some sets weren't bad and the special effects were pretty good. There is some spark to the show, they just need to find a way to bring more of it out and dump the familiar look. Expand
  5. KyleM
    Apr 17, 2007
    5
    Too much Scooby-Doo, not enough flame throwing.
  6. KenG
    Feb 13, 2007
    5
    I loved all the books and hoped the show would really reflect them, but it's just a routine investigator into the supernatural. The charm of the books is that Dresden really is a wizard so he is always using spells (and telling us what they are and how they work) and doing wizard-type things. In the show he does a little of this but never shows the power he is able to summon up in I loved all the books and hoped the show would really reflect them, but it's just a routine investigator into the supernatural. The charm of the books is that Dresden really is a wizard so he is always using spells (and telling us what they are and how they work) and doing wizard-type things. In the show he does a little of this but never shows the power he is able to summon up in the books. He somehow manages to survive. Very disappointed. Expand
  7. JeffN
    Apr 14, 2007
    5
    Pretty bland thus far, but not completely predictable, either. The fact that Harry isn't a cop, lawyer, or surgeon means this show has the potential to tell a new story or two. I hope so, because it's well cast and directed.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 60
    If you don’t like hints of Harry Potter mixed in with fairly straightforward procedural elements, this may not be the show for you.
  2. These unsettling scenes are tough on the eyes, but happily, star Paul Blackthorne is well worth watching, full time.
  3. 50
    Even with Blackthorne's occasionally engaging portrayal of Harry Dresden, this whodunit lacks the wit and imagination that might transform it into something special.