• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 4, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 10, 2010
    60
    Watching someone explain the obvious may not create electrifying television, but once in a while, it's okay for TV to be more valuable than fun. Like when it comes to how you find a job.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 10, 2010
    60
    The Fairy Jobmother, adapted from a British show of the same name, follows the model of Supernanny--that child-rearing-rehab spectacular--with a diligent slavishness.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 10, 2010
    60
    Like too many reality shows, The Fairy Jobmother offers easy, incomplete answers and sometimes doesn't ask the right questions.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    Some of the stories are touching, but the formula is set and stagy. The viewer has no doubt that the episode will end with a job offer and floods of thankful tears.
  5. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    The series might be more fun if "jobmother" Hayley Taylor didn't have to stop each time she utters a harsh truth and comfort an angry or weeping spouse.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    Her tips could be found in the nearest public library. And stretched to an hour, Jobmother seems downright inflationary.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    2
    I think the premise of this show is fun, but I couldn't make it through the one episode I tried to watch. The featured family was freeloadingI think the premise of this show is fun, but I couldn't make it through the one episode I tried to watch. The featured family was freeloading on his parents for something like TWO YEARS and they were not likable at all. The father was a complete wimp and the mother seemed more annoyed by the experience than grateful. I found myself not caring at all if they got jobs (except for the fact that they might eventually move out of the poor parents home). I rated this show a 2 only because Haley Taylor is kind of cute, but the show producers need to do a better job at picking the families. I recorded a few episodes, but ended up deleting the rest without watching. I doubt if this one will see a Season 2. Full Review »