The Finder : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2012
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    That backdrop [water and bikinis] hardly casts enough of a glow to offset the nondescript characters and premise in a series that isn't bad, necessarily, but simply ordinary in most every way--as if it were plucked, via time capsule, from 1984.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 12, 2012
    60
    There's potential here. If the characters can bond into an interesting dysfunctional family, The Finder could be worth finding.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 12, 2012
    40
    The Finder is as agreeable as a contract on onion paper that says you, the viewer, will not question implausible moments or snicker when is limp and the acting staged.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    The show has promise, but the one thing it doesn't yet have that has made "Bones" such a survivor is chemistry.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    There are a fair number of character quirks packed into that first hour, more, perhaps, than I remember from early episodes of "Bones," which built up its own quirky world a bit at a time.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    Despite the strength of its parts, the whole feels very nascent and shaky.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 11, 2012
    40
    Everything seems hacky and incomplete.
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 11, 2012
    60
    If the various kinks work themselves out, The Finder will at the least be a medium-strength entry in the increasingly crowded field of comedy-dramas featuring eccentric characters.
  9. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    Sounds promising, but the premiere falls flat.
  10. Reviewed by: Ross Langager
    Jan 12, 2012
    60
    Once it gets past the cumbersome background exposition, The Finder begins to find its specific groove.
  11. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Jan 12, 2012
    50
    The second half of the pilot improves over the first. So there's progress.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Somebody explain to me why TV networks invest so heavily in new shows then sabotage them. I enjoyed the backdoor pilot of "The Finder" lastSomebody explain to me why TV networks invest so heavily in new shows then sabotage them. I enjoyed the backdoor pilot of "The Finder" last year, then completely missed the first three episodes, as I didn't see any promos. Caught the fourth episode purely by chance, liked it, and made a mental note of when it was broadcast so I could watch it again. Silly me; Fox had already decided to put the show on its deadly "menstrual cycle" (one episode every four weeks), which pretty much guarantees its demise. Too bad. I find the show an excellent replacement for "Bones," which, let's face facts, ran out of steam last year. Like "Bones," "The Finder" features an improbable savant with a hot fed for a sidekick and an assortment of wacky specialist colleagues. As in "Bones," these folks solve mysteries, crack wise (in multiple senses), and grapple with exotic personal lives. Both shows have an odd relationship with the "real world," glancing sideways at big issues, such as battle-related brain damage, but never focusing on them for long. Then it's back to an anti-naturalistic world in which fathers play guitar for ZZ Top and Asperger's sufferers are amazing in bed. Not a very flattering description, I know, but both shows work. They're fun. They're like key-lime pie: sweetness and pucker and, no, it's not very good for you and you don't want it all the time, but when you're in the mood, it's perfect. And, with "Bones" losing its tang (everyone is coupled up and spawning madly), we need the puckery sweetness of "The Finder." Please, Fox, broadcast the remaining episodes on a regular schedule, and renew the show for another season. If you must tinker with it, you could lose Mercedes Masöhn, who is so eerily like Sarah Shahi in "Life" that I get nostalgic for that show every time she's on-screen. How about more Eric Roberts instead? The character of Uncle Shadrack has great potential--and not just as the old meanie keeping Timo from his true love and Willa from a law-abiding life. But please don't touch Walter or Leo, and please keep Stults and Duncan in the roles. Oh, dear. [Slaps own face.] Listen to me talking as though Fox--or anybody--cares what I think. I'll be quiet now. Full Review »
  2. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    Not a bad pilot, gave it an 8 because I believe they will turn it around and turn it into a quirky, funny series (remeber nobosy love psych at first!)
  3. May 28, 2012
    10
    This would be a great show to put on the air during the Summer months when there is nothing good to watch. I love this show and amThis would be a great show to put on the air during the Summer months when there is nothing good to watch. I love this show and am disappointed that it was cancelled before it was given a chance. I found this show ON DEMAND and when I watched it from the beginning, I loved it. The characters are lovable and the premise is original. My daughter-in-law also loves this show. This show deserves a TEN Full Review »