• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 78
  2. Negative: 22 out of 78

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    The first Series was really slow. The second has me captivated and i am suffering from Sleep deprivation due to catching up last night.

    There are points when things happen and i genuinely feel tense.

    This is great, if you want a good story (albeit with some holes) then give the second season a try.
  2. Oct 9, 2014
    0
    Every single character is so obtuse and ridiculous. And they are all MORONS. The show was half decent in the first season, and it is just utterly ridiculous now. The writing is so terrible I can't even stand it. I so desperately want someone to slap Claire every time she opens her stupid mouth. Horrible. Just horrible.
  3. May 8, 2014
    8
    The Following actually improved this season, by embracing its craziness and lunacy. Instead of the tedious and sometimes dull follower of the week episodes and rote drama and character development, we get a primarily plot driven guilty pleasure that flies by on sheer insanity. There's plenty of room for improvement, especially in the handling of secondary characters (Mandy...Emma....Lily....), but at least this season was fun, pretending to be nothing other than what it is. Even Joe, with his humdrum making-it-up-as-he-goes-along attitude at the end of the season, seemed to understand this. I don't need to make sense as long as I'm causing trouble. I tried the poetic deep thing last year and that didn't quite work out for me. Expand
  4. May 6, 2014
    4
    I actually enjoyed the First Season of The Following even though it definitely had it's ruff edges and some of the elements were really underwhelming but it was a good show none the same. Season 2 though just wasn't good. I have only watched the first half of Season 2 before I lost interest. This is because it was going nowhere and the same main point of the first season was happening again, Joe building his new following from the remains of his old one and I just couldn't get into it. The first season is certainly worth your time. I just wish it could have run for one season as that was what I thought it would be when I finished the last episode but then they announced Season 2 and I knew it wasn't going to be any good and it feels like such a waste of time. Now there might be a third season. I wish they could have made it a limited run then it would be perfect but going past one season has ruined the show for me and it does sadden me to say this as it had a lot of potential. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    Does the second season live up to the quality of the first season? Unfortunately not. However, the series is still interesting to watch and is still bent on complete shock factor.
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going with a 4, season 2 is not as bad as these red reviews say, but it's a stunning drop off and disappointment from season 1, which I'd give a 9. I buy that Joe Carroll, and then his wife, turn out to be alive, fine. And Lily & the twins are decent new villains. But as several here point out, the writing has deteriorated and the season 2 plotting is absurd. One of the things I can never stand in any movie or show is, how many times is either the good guy or bad guy going to choose for absolutely no good reason not to kill the other guy when he can. Meanwhile, how many times is the good guy going to surrender himself the second the bad guy threatens to kill a hostage. And a third problem, how many times is the good guy going to not call for back up, and thus allow the bad guy to get away because he didn't have support. Three strikes for the writers here, you blew it on all counts. This writing/plot reminds me of early 24, when Jack's wife/daughter were kidnapped and re-kidnapped 4 or 5 times in supposedly one 24-hour day. That's absurd, and really just lazy writing. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    0
    Come on, FOX, keep your ritual murders out of a Catholic Church, you gutless cowards. The Monday after Easter, no less. Nice storyline, punks. Grow up. What's next? Hit the maternity word in a Muslim neighborhood and mow down some babies? Fly to Tibet and string up some monks? What is too far for you?
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The following had been one of my favorite shows during its season one run. I totally understand the whole antihero thing. Worked for breaking bad, the Sopranos. But the second to last episode of the second season entitled silence was beyond the pale. The story brought Joe Carol and his followers into a church in Manhattan. A Catholic Church. In it Carol and his followers held a priest and his parishioners hostage, and forced individuals to kill each other. Furthermore Carol forced a pastor to deny the existence of God and to proclaim the killer God. The Fox network should be wholly ashamed of themselves erring this episode at anytime much less the day after Easter. It's yet another piece of evidence that Hollywood will do whatever it takes to embarrass And belittle the Christian church as a whole. Do you think they would've had the balls to do the same scene in a mosque? No because that would have been met with consequences. Catholics don't meet this kind of disgusting behavior with violence so Hollywood keeps dishing it out. I'm going to advise everybody who asks that the following is wholly unworthy of their time. I'm curious to know what someone like Bill O'Reilly on FOXNews will have to say about this type of storyline on the Fox network. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    It's certainly not better than season 1, but it's still good. Every few episodes, something happens that changes the plot and it can be confusing if you miss an episode, but there's still a good storyline. All the killing and disturbing situations are still present in this season. Overall it's very good and worth watching.
  10. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    Hard to believe that the writers could outdo the trainwreck that was Season 1, but they're doing a stand up job. The plot is more ridiculous, predictable and implausible and the writing continues to regress week after week. This show should come with a Surgeon General Warning about the guaranteed brain cell loss that this show delivers. Absolute garbage.
  11. Mar 25, 2014
    7
    the second season was a little slow in the first few episodes but it is picking up, and its still really thrilling. I think at this point in season one was way better, but is still a really good show. I will give a 7
  12. Mar 22, 2014
    6
    The Following (for me) became a bit boring. Each week the show is the SAME....killing....killling....
    and more killing... How about adding something else to it..like maybe home scenes...etc...anything
    would do except for just all the killing. UNREAL!
  13. Mar 11, 2014
    2
    I absolutely loved the first season. However, in regards to the second season; What the hell is wrong with these writers?
    1.Terribly inconsistent plot: Every new episode completely changes the story line. I can only hope that it ties itself up by the finale, Although I am not holding my lack of hope to high.
    2.Atrocious extra cast members: It appears with every new episode, the actors
    playing the supporting characters, which of whom have mainly only been featured in shorts, get worse and even worse. Simply to provide insight into my point I will list a few examples,
    -J.D. Williams as 'Carlos'
    -Camille De Pazzis as 'Giselle'
    -Owen Campbell as 'Cole'
    -Sprague Grayden as 'Carrie Cook'
    3. Absurdly unnatural dialogue. If you have watched the first 5 episodes, The need to justify this point is irrelevant and unnecessary.
    4. Dead give aways, Again if you have watched there is no need to explain.
    5.Terribly predictable plot twists
    6. Inconsistent Volume Calibration.
    7. Can the person in charge of the music scoring not find another band or music that doesn't sound like Hinder or Theory of a Dead Man to wrap up each episode? Every time that **** starts I prepare for a horrible 'Cliffhanger' ending.
    8. The writers addressed between seasons that the portrayal of the FBI's intelligence needed to be more realistic, Yet so far I have not noticed any leaps in that direction.
    Expand
  14. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    They fix one issue and five others pop up. Terribly developed characters, Predictable plot as well. Their biggest issue was killing off far too many characters in season 1 when they should have kept a few around so that way they wouldn't have had to spend all season developing another batch of characters. It started off very rough but it's certainly gotten better as the show progressed.

    Either way, There is a lot of potential lost in this show due to poor choices from the producers and poor writing as well.
    Expand
  15. Feb 13, 2014
    2
    This is a mind-numbingly stupid mess. Any literate person should take it as an insult to his or her intelligence. It seems to be aimed at drooling, brain-dead yokels who've never read a single book on poetry or law enforcement or psychology or cults. And judging by its ratings, that's a disconcertingly high proportion of the American public.
  16. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    I tend to agree with most overall metacritic conclusions, both critic and user reviews; however, this one I completely disagree with. This season has been excellent, as was last season. I grant that it isn't an exceptionally intelligent show such as breaking bad or true detective but it's amazing entertainment. The drama is excellent, the characters are interesting, and the show is engaging. I am extremely impressed with Sam Underwood's acting. I like intelligent shows. I like shows with subtext and meaning. But more than anything I like shows that are entertaining, and that is exactly what this. Expand
  17. Feb 3, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers. I'm a HUGE Kevin Bacon fan and watched last season religiously. Unfortunately, they killed most of the characters I found compelling and intriguing. I've watched the first two episodes this season and just can't get into it this time around. I'm not as interested in the new characters. I'm also a woman and hated they killed off both Claire and the female detective - they could have at least left me with one strong, relatable female character. So disappointed after such high hopes. Collapse
  18. Jan 30, 2014
    0
    Just found out the Carroll is still alive.
    I guess the writers for this show can't go beyond the scope of a magic 8 ball. Shame.
    I'm done. No more. Bye.
  19. Jan 30, 2014
    6
    it's been a very lackluster season so far.... i know we're only two episodes in but just 2 episodes are enough to destroy your interest entirely. The fact that it also seems like they're rehashing the same kinda story telling in season 2 absolutely no innovative storytelling but it still is doing what it did best in season 1(so far) i'm holding my breath to see if they do something new... and i'm only giving it a positive rating because of the first season even though it's highly unrealistic it's one of the shows that i really enjoyed last year and i hope they get their mojo back Expand
  20. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    I'm not too sure how the second season will play out, I'm not very happy that you got too see Joe so soon, I think that they would have been better off the build the suspense and make you wonder if he is actually alive. But what I am hoping is that they are cramming all of this stuff in at the start to leave more room in the middle for a great story line! Unfortunately I don't seem to be ask hooked this time, but lets hope that it improves Expand
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    30
    Kevin Bacon is just woefully underutilized here.... None of this show feels or sounds real. Not one beat. Not the plotting or the characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Here’s the best thing about the second season premiere of The Following: Kevin Bacon finally looks like he’s having a little fun.... Bacon and Hardy are in on the joke.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2014
    20
    Sorry to say that from the evidence of the season premiere, not a lot has changed. Morbid curiosity may keep me following this bloody cat-and-mouse horror show for a while longer, but not at the risk of murdering what few brain cells I have left.