• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    The show cannily plays to teen hopes and dreams--the school, for example, is on the edge of a gorgeous beach (the kids at “90210” never had it this lush)--but there’s story for the adults as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Sarah Caldwell
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    If it sticks with the quiet, string cheese moments, it could end up being an understated--but provocative--must watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 31, 2013
    75
    Somehow the premiere hour fills in all this background without getting lost and--more importantly--with sincerity and sensitivity. [10 Jun 2013, p.50]
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    At least one aspect of Stef's relationship with her ex (Danny Nucci) seems unlikely, and Lena works at the most beautifully sited school in America, which all the kids happen to attend. But there's heart here, and a message about not throwing away children that belongs on a network that puts "Family" in its title.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    The pilot episode of The Fosters is pretty entertaining and well-plotted.
  6. Reviewed by: Maysa Hattab
    Jun 3, 2013
    50
    The Fosters needs more than good intentions and tentative, sanitised handling of its subject to survive once a same-sex couple central to a US drama passes unnoticed.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    A good ABC Family show is like a good beach read: great plot, great character, compelling without being too heavy. Its newest show certainly fits the bill.
  8. 75
    Intelligent enough for adults, accessible enough for younger viewers and entertaining enough for both, it's a great show for parents and kids to watch together, and will give them plenty to talk about.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    On the basis of the pilot, the show does a slightly better than average job of turning off-the-shelf ingredients into something diverting and occasionally moving.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Earnest but rarely saccharine.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 31, 2013
    50
    Polo and Saum are good actresses, but they appear pretty well hamstrung in their initial scenes together, as Stef and Lena banter about not taking in more stray kids, prompting Stef to quip, "We are not 'The Brady Bunch.'" Take away a few elements, though, and they sort of are.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The "0" ratings are clearly written by haters who have an agenda; some of these people admit that they have not watched the show, so they are not qualified to comment on its merits.

    At a time when there are so few dramas on TV of any sort, The Fosters is a happy surprise. I have found the scenes between the parents and the teen-aged kids well acted and realistic, and the couple's dialogue and reactions very believable. I'm not sure how we even found it since we don't really watch ABC Family, but we are now DVR'ing the series and watch it as soon as it shows up on our list. Give it try.

    I'm giving it a 10 in part to counteract the bogus "reviews," but I would have given it a high 8s, low 9s anyway. We're really enjoying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    There are thousand of people watching the reviews, promos, and sneak peaks for this series. The Fosters is a show where there is love, family, and drama. I and many others think it is an amazing tv show and is wonderful for all ages to watch. There are some haters, but if abc family cancels this shows many will be upset and heart broken. This is a show I depend on. All of the actors have the perfect role and because of The Fosters viewers are starting to like Mondays. Please give the show a chance and don't upset the viewers who are obsessed and addicted to the show. I'm in love with the new tv series The Fosters! Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This show keeps on surprising me week by week. I just finished the fourth episode and I honestly think episode 4 was one of the best episodes ever witnessed on tv. I watch about 22 shows. (desperate housewives, friends, revenge, game of thrones, 2 broke girls, how I met your mother, revolution, mistresses, 90210, the fosters, pretty little liars, the lying game, the mindy project, awkward, twisted, arrow, the x factor usa, the vampire diaries, the middle, once upon a time, lost girl, and finally community.) as you can see, I watch a lot of episodes and for its first season and only it's fourth episode, that was one of the most spectacular most heart touching and most intense episode yet on tv. Loved every half second of it. It's gonna make u scream out I WANT MORE! *after this comment ur gonna think im gonna give it a 10 but if you usually read my reviews you'd know I still haven't found this 10 rated show yet* This might be it though. Full Review »