• Network: Oxygen
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 12, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Jun 7, 2011
    91
    Joyful and insidery, the competition wholeheartedly embraces the freaks and geeks who made Glee a phenom to begin with.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 10, 2011
    80
    The show is also refreshingly entertaining, even when it relies on familiar cliches of the singing-competition genre.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 10, 2011
    80
    By shrewd editing and maybe a little luck, the contestants here almost immediately give off the same sense of camaraderie as the "Glee" cast in its warmer, more sentimental moments, like when they're in a competition and realizing that better individual efforts only enhance the whole.
  4. Reviewed by: David Knowles
    Jun 9, 2011
    80
    Oxygen's entertaining new spinoff reflects well on the blockbuster franchise and illuminates the pressures faced by talented kids on the brink of showbiz success.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 10, 2011
    75
    The premise--and it's a good one--is a singing contest "American Idol"-style, for young singers to compete for the grand prize of a recurring role in a seven-episode arc of "Glee." And it's not some fake promo for the show with people who really have nothing to do with the show.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    Very few reality shows generate real suspense and sadness at the moment of elimination, but this one does. [20 Jun 2011, p.53]
  7. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jun 10, 2011
    70
    Oxygen's The Glee Project--designed to give an unknown performer a seven-episode arc on the Fox series--debuts amid a glut of music-related TV contests, including "The Voice," "America's Got Talent" and "Platinum Hit." Still, undeniable Gleek appeal should be enough to make the fun if formulaic show a basic-cable breakout.
  8. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 9, 2011
    70
    This is a place holder that looks a little like an infomercial. But The Glee Project, has heart, too, as it takes you behind the slick, overproduced veneer that is "Glee."
  9. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 13, 2011
    67
    Gleeks will engage; hard to imagine who else will.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 9, 2011
    67
    This admittedly over-produced series has one of the toughest elimination rituals to watch: Each of the three finalists walks to check out a callback list to discover if they are still wanted.
  11. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    25
    The Glee Project feels like an exercise in ego for the folks running the show. There's a whole lot of playing to the camera going on amongst the professionals, especially from choreographer Zach Woodlee and Murphy himself.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A big sorprise, the contestans have a great voices, Lindsay, Damian, Marissa, wow, all are great, the themes are really funny, I think that this reality spin off of Glee is really funny. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    I hate Glee which basically retreads the worse songs of the 80's and 90's. I therefore I hate the Glee Project by proxy. I can't wait for next season's riveting rendition of the Pina Colada song. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    I'm Gleek, but I didn't LOVE "TGP" . There were many contestants with lots of talent, but some of them were looking for fight at some time of the show. Apart from that, Ryan Murphy wasn't "clear" as a judge. After eliminating one of the most talented girls Marissa Von Bleicken, he regretted. But it was late for the girl's opportunity to be part of the Glee Cast. I had doubts, many, when he said he was sure Marissa won't win. And as Marissa was kicked off, I went doubtful. What I like about this reality show was that the contestants were completely different, which makes the show more interesting, and better in all the ways. What I hate about some shows, is that one person is supposed to win, and finally two people win. I think they have to follow the game's rules. On the other hand, I loved the first episode, in which they showed the auditions. That was great, because you can see the process of the reality. To sum up, I think it's good in some points, but not that good in others. 8 out of 10 marks Full Review »