• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 12, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Glee Project Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twelve contestants compete for a role in the upcoming season of Fox's Glee in this Oxygen reality show.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Jun 7, 2011
    91
    Joyful and insidery, the competition wholeheartedly embraces the freaks and geeks who made Glee a phenom to begin with.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 10, 2011
    80
    By shrewd editing and maybe a little luck, the contestants here almost immediately give off the same sense of camaraderie as the "Glee" cast in its warmer, more sentimental moments, like when they're in a competition and realizing that better individual efforts only enhance the whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 10, 2011
    80
    The show is also refreshingly entertaining, even when it relies on familiar cliches of the singing-competition genre.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    Very few reality shows generate real suspense and sadness at the moment of elimination, but this one does. [20 Jun 2011, p.53]
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jun 10, 2011
    70
    Oxygen's The Glee Project--designed to give an unknown performer a seven-episode arc on the Fox series--debuts amid a glut of music-related TV contests, including "The Voice," "America's Got Talent" and "Platinum Hit." Still, undeniable Gleek appeal should be enough to make the fun if formulaic show a basic-cable breakout.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 9, 2011
    70
    This is a place holder that looks a little like an infomercial. But The Glee Project, has heart, too, as it takes you behind the slick, overproduced veneer that is "Glee."
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    25
    The Glee Project feels like an exercise in ego for the folks running the show. There's a whole lot of playing to the camera going on amongst the professionals, especially from choreographer Zach Woodlee and Murphy himself.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A big sorprise, the contestans have a great voices, Lindsay, Damian, Marissa, wow, all are great, the themes are really funny, I think that this reality spin off of Glee is really funny. Collapse
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This show is amazing, and quite possibly the best reality show out there. A great diversity of contestants, songs we all know and love, and some unexpected twists. MUST WATCH. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Love this show. I like the themes, the mentors, a look at how each video segment is recorded and produced. I like Ryan Murphy and Ian Brennan as well. Plus the winners of season 1 Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    To be honest, i had high hopes of the show when i saw the pre-released MV that was Fireworks. However, the first episode fell seriously short of my expectations. I was seriously taken aback that Bryce was even allowed a position on the top 12. He could not sing well! But I pushed on, and I was really impressed with the third episode.
    So far, the show has been kicking contestants whom audiences really did not like very much. But i was conflicted during the 3rd episode, and that's what reality competition is about, getting the audience involved in the show by wondering who is going out next week. It took 3 episodes, and a fair bit of cleansing, but i finally saw the tear-jerking side of glee that i missed so much.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    I'm Gleek, but I didn't LOVE "TGP" . There were many contestants with lots of talent, but some of them were looking for fight at some time of the show. Apart from that, Ryan Murphy wasn't "clear" as a judge. After eliminating one of the most talented girls Marissa Von Bleicken, he regretted. But it was late for the girl's opportunity to be part of the Glee Cast. I had doubts, many, when he said he was sure Marissa won't win. And as Marissa was kicked off, I went doubtful. What I like about this reality show was that the contestants were completely different, which makes the show more interesting, and better in all the ways. What I hate about some shows, is that one person is supposed to win, and finally two people win. I think they have to follow the game's rules. On the other hand, I loved the first episode, in which they showed the auditions. That was great, because you can see the process of the reality. To sum up, I think it's good in some points, but not that good in others. 8 out of 10 marks Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    The characters build on each successive show. The raw talent at the top is amazing. At this point 3 or 4 of the contestants would make excellent addtions to the show. Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    I hate Glee which basically retreads the worse songs of the 80's and 90's. I therefore I hate the Glee Project by proxy. I can't wait for next season's riveting rendition of the Pina Colada song. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews