The Goldbergs : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    One of the new offerings that stands out from the pack is ABC's coming-of-age series, The Goldbergs, which is fueled partly by nostalgia, partly by the great Jeff Garlin's constant yelling and partly out of some outstanding writing. A strong cast doesn't hurt, either.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    When The Goldbergs sticks to its loud, abrasive but loving family, it's fine. It's when it switches its focus to the '80s, complete with a voice-over designed to point out every difference between that decade and our own, that it gets into trouble.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    Noisy, silly, occasionally obnoxious, sporadically funny and ultimately sweet.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    The Goldbergs is funnier because the jokes are better but also because it is more credible [than "Mom"].
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    The adult cast is superb... but it feels as if the young actor playing Adam (Sean Giambrone) might have been kidnapped from a more conventional TV family.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The show has its amusing moments, though not from an abundance of 1980s nostalgia clips (“The Karate Kid,” “Knight Rider,” “ALF,” “Different Strokes” and “Back to the Future” all whiz by on screen) and music cues. The humor comes from the characters and their relationships.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    67
    Garlin and McLendon-­Covey are believable as variations of “That ’70s Show’s” parents, and Gentile’s Jan Brady-style meltdowns are amusing. But Adam’s obsession with female breasts, encouraged by his grandfather “Pops” (George Segal), is creepy, considering the actor looks about 9.
  8. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Sep 23, 2013
    67
    The Goldbergs is far from terrible—it just needs to learn how to mix the quirky dysfunction with the heartwarming moments in the style of shows like Malcolm In The Middle or Raising Hope.
  9. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 20, 2013
    67
    The Goldbergs is amusing in fits and spurts before ending on several sweet notes--including REO Speedwagon’s “Can’t Fight This Feeling.”
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    As a kid of the 80s...was born in 74....I really appreciate this show a great deal and "get it". I love going down memory lane and this showAs a kid of the 80s...was born in 74....I really appreciate this show a great deal and "get it". I love going down memory lane and this show is hysterical and fits the 80s decade to a T. I hope ABC lets it grow and stay on the air and doesn't make the enormous mistake that NBC made with Freaks and Geeks and canceling that show so fast. This has the potential to be a HUGE show. Let it grow. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The Goldbergs is a very funny show. Most good comedies get me to laugh at least once in a show, but this show had me laughing out loud severalThe Goldbergs is a very funny show. Most good comedies get me to laugh at least once in a show, but this show had me laughing out loud several times in the first two episodes. The young kid is a real gem and I think he will have a very bright future. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    2 things make this a decent watch... Jeff Garlin of course, and the fact that this show is based on a real Goldberg family! The kid has the2 things make this a decent watch... Jeff Garlin of course, and the fact that this show is based on a real Goldberg family! The kid has the videos for proof! Just imagine you are watching family home videos of real experiences of this kids family and it makes it more enjoyable. Not the best new comedy yet, and can be a bit cheesey, but weren't the 80's comedies all cheese? Full Review »