• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Goldbergs Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the 1980s, this semi-autobiographical comedy centers on young boy (Sean Giambrone as a kid, Patton Oswalt as an adult via narration) who documents his family life with a camcorder. Jeff Garlin, Wendi McLendon-Covey, and George Segal also star.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    One of the new offerings that stands out from the pack is ABC's coming-of-age series, The Goldbergs, which is fueled partly by nostalgia, partly by the great Jeff Garlin's constant yelling and partly out of some outstanding writing. A strong cast doesn't hurt, either.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    The Goldbergs is funnier because the jokes are better but also because it is more credible [than "Mom"].
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    67
    Garlin and McLendon-­Covey are believable as variations of “That ’70s Show’s” parents, and Gentile’s Jan Brady-style meltdowns are amusing. But Adam’s obsession with female breasts, encouraged by his grandfather “Pops” (George Segal), is creepy, considering the actor looks about 9.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Sep 18, 2013
    50
    The Goldbergs's ostensibly endearing premise is sadly also its biggest flaw. Goldberg's on-screen representation as prepubescent Adam (Sean Giambrone) fails to complement the voiceover narration and meaningful asides of adult Adam (Patton Oswalt) in any substantial way.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    So far so generic, and I'll decide later once my ears stop ringing.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    There are some sharp jokes here, but they get lost in the bile. The Goldbergs is like The Wonder Years infected by Married... With Children. It's a half hour of annoying people yelling at one another.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2013
    20
    The Goldbergs runs the gamut from stale to sour.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    As a kid of the 80s...was born in 74....I really appreciate this show a great deal and "get it". I love going down memory lane and this show is hysterical and fits the 80s decade to a T. I hope ABC lets it grow and stay on the air and doesn't make the enormous mistake that NBC made with Freaks and Geeks and canceling that show so fast. This has the potential to be a HUGE show. Let it grow. Expand
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    I thought I would be interested in Agents of SHIELD, and just for fun, after the first episode I stayed tuned to watch The Goldbergs. My Girlfriend and I haven't laughed so hysterically at a sitcom in years. Every episode has a silly little moral, and although I agree some of the humour is crude, you just have to take it with a grain of salt. Definitely my favourite new sitcom. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This is a great show! I laugh all the way through it, and look forward to watching each week. I love the clips at the end of each show of the real family. The casting was perfect also. Great job and I really hope it stays on for years to come. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, this is the only TV show currently on air that I look forward to each week, aside from The Walking Dead. This is so funny and wholesome (so far). Waiting until the end to see the actual footage from the producers family when he was growing up is priceless!! So funny! Barry makes the show! Collapse
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    This show is absolutely wonderful. Everyone in the family will enjoy this truly funny comedy series. The Goldbergs is already 1 of my favorite shows. This show just makes me feel good and always puts a smile on my face. Everyone is fantastic in their roles especially the mom. If you haven't checked The Goldbergs out yet your missing out on a half hour of good clean fun. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    Great cast! That really helps a premise that has been done to death. As a fan of the 80's my opinion is biased, but for a certain demographic this is a great time period for a comedic family show. It has me laughing quite a bit at stuff that surely isn't really THAT funny, but the actors are great and that makes it work. I'll keep watching. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I find this show a disgusting role model for kids. Really?? Are these the kind of values we want our children to impart - throwing food at their parents at dinner when the parents ask their daughter what's wrong, telling their grandfather off for no reason and calling him a lying idiot, and talking back to police officers. And this was all in about a 5 minute segment. I had to turn the channel. This stuff makes me sick! I am a teacher and a parent of 2 teenagers and over the past 20 years I have watched kids be influenced by garbage TV shows like this that encourage children to disrespect authority on every level. Kids who value these shows have no boundaries, thanks to you. Can't these writers entertain without role-modeling poor values?? Expand

See all 37 User Reviews