The Goode Family : Season 1

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RobertB
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    Very funny. reminds me of my own family.
  2. RobertS
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    Even funnier than King of the Hill at some points... hillarious show.
  3. DanH
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Great entertainment. Relevant and familiar, yet fresh. We all know people like the Goode Family, but it's taken a long time to reach TV. You like to laugh at them and their quirks, but you're still rooting for them in the end.
  4. EvanB.
    May 30, 2009
    0
    I can't support this trash of a cartoon. My family will watch Pixar instead of watching these inappropriate jokes.
  5. JohnB
    May 28, 2009
    7
    More shrill and less character driven than previous Mike Judge animations - it's still funny, and Mike Judge gets points for both knowing his subject and knowing they need to be made fun of. While it took a while to see where a necessary foil would appear in this lopsided cast of characters (caricatures is probably more accurate) it did appear. This isn't the best we've More shrill and less character driven than previous Mike Judge animations - it's still funny, and Mike Judge gets points for both knowing his subject and knowing they need to be made fun of. While it took a while to see where a necessary foil would appear in this lopsided cast of characters (caricatures is probably more accurate) it did appear. This isn't the best we've seen from Judge, but it's good enough to be willing to wait and see if it will get any better. Expand
  6. johnw
    May 28, 2009
    10
    This is an absolutely amazing show. I would go into great detail why, but the subtleties of the show should show you how good-hearted it really is. KOTH is my favorite show, so I enjoyed this.
  7. AdamA
    May 27, 2009
    7
    All the stuff is there in the pilot, it just needs some work. It's as if every antagonist on King of the Hill got their own show, which worries me that the watcher is never meant to connect with the characters, which they could do on King of the Hill. However, now that KotH is going off the air, maybe America needs at least one Conservative comedy to cleanse the pallet.
  8. ChrisM
    May 27, 2009
    8
    Hilarious. I laughed constantly throughout this show. It was very clever.
  9. ChrisC
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I think the critics that panned it are missing the point. The show isn't attacking liberal ideas, it's attacking the superior behavior of liberals in the same vein that South Park always does. I agree with some of the criticisms. The characters aren't nearly as human as the "Hill" characters. But conservatives have been taking comedy cheap shots for so long it's about I think the critics that panned it are missing the point. The show isn't attacking liberal ideas, it's attacking the superior behavior of liberals in the same vein that South Park always does. I agree with some of the criticisms. The characters aren't nearly as human as the "Hill" characters. But conservatives have been taking comedy cheap shots for so long it's about time liberals got their fair due. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. 75
    If you passionately loved "King of the Hill," you will cautiously like The Goode Family. Tiptoe into it if necessary.
  2. The Goode Family is both smart and not very funny.
  3. The best bits of the series are those that let the characters deliver the punch lines, not become one, and there aren't quite enough to go around.