• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 8, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 4, 2013
    70
    Mostly, The Job plays like a clever throwback to TV's youth.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    While it's all meant to be aspirational, it's more desperation-al watching these professionals jump through hoops for our entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    It’s just a big billboard spotted with interesting advice tidbits and, of course, tears.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 8, 2013
    50
    You’ll be able to spot the front-runner and eventual winner probably 10 minutes into the show.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 8, 2013
    70
    As these things go, The Job is rather mild-mannered and amiable--everyone is on their best behavior, because there is no advantage in being nasty.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The real problem with the show--besides its exploitative and sad premise--is how slow it is.
  7. 75
    The Job, with Lisa Ling as host, is taped in front of a live audience, which keeps it from being too downbeat. The interviewers are honest but encouraging, and even those who are eliminated are told precisely why and given advice about other opportunities.
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Feb 7, 2013
    20
    Five contestants face a potential employer in a ridiculously tarted-up competition format that results in a job offer for one of them.
  9. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Sharp-tongued, ambitious, highly seductive--a TV series that has, it can be said, done the job.
  10. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Feb 8, 2013
    60
    There are so many twists and arbitrary rules to the competition that it can certainly be disconcerting for viewers.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    2
    Haven't we already seen this only with THE DONALD? Isn't there some other format you could give us? And no, I don't mean another SurvivorsHaven't we already seen this only with THE DONALD? Isn't there some other format you could give us? And no, I don't mean another Survivors show. You could FINALLY trash that one too. And, no more singing how much singing can we take? Really look forward to the show America's Got Talent. Full Review »