• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 3, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
The Killing Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The mystery of Rosie Larson's murder continues, and her killer is to be revealed at the end of the season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Few television shows are as addictive as this pensive, wonderfully paced suspenser.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 28, 2012
    80
    This isn't a procedural with a neat answer at the end of each episode. But it is involving.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 30, 2012
    80
    My own enjoyment of The Killing begins and ends with the gloom so brilliantly conveyed by its pace and performances.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    75
    Notwithstanding the cat-and-mouse plotting, we watch The Killing because of the superb writing and attention to character detail in the scripts by series executive producer Veena Sud and others.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Sarah isn't easy to warm up to, and neither is The Killing, though I respect its moody insistence at depicting even the most sympathetic figures in the worst possible light.
  6. The good news is that Sunday's two-hour opener answers several key questions in relatively rapid fashion and in ways that don't seem totally unreasonable. The bad news is that it also puts Sarah back at square one, and therein lies the problem.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Mar 30, 2012
    40
    It's not nearly as highbrow and well-constructed as it needs to be, and it's far too serious and plodding to be a zippy break from reality.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This series was an easy 10. Excellent, surprising, and actually sad ending. This show has been number 3 behind Breaking Bad and Game Of Thrones. Even though the latter is on HBO, AMC is killing em right now. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I for one am looking forward to seeing Mitch come back, but I do think the Larsen family dynamic is engrossing around Stan in the mean time, he is a great menacing protective bear of a character and coping with the absence of the Mitch is mirrored in subtle, well delivered reactions from the kids Denny and Tom, and is very interesting to watch. I love what has evolved with Holder as well - Certainly pleasantly pleased so far! Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This show had us hooked from the first episode until the finale.
    It took you on many turns and twists and felt the ending was very
    satisfying. This is definitely a highly addicting TV series and truly hope they have another season because now that it's over, I feel like I definitely want to see more. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    solid adaptation of a danish show. it uses the same red herring device of a murder investigation to invesigate the community its set in. a lot of great moments and incredibly well realised tone and world, but increasingly hampered by its need to use the plot to investigate the characters.

    the idea is in line with the wire, but the device and adaptive duty, holds the whole thing back a touch.
    Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    In contrast with it's Danish origin, the US adaptation of The Killing took the decision, for better or for worse, to not reveal Rosie Larsen's killer at the end of season one and dedicate another season to the Linden's investigation.

    I like The Killing as in a similar manner to The Wire, it shows the detective process in a more painstaking light and at a more realistic speed, with the detectives sometimes at a loss for clues or leads and makes a change from solved in an episode police shows. Again similar to The Wire, it dedicates time to the characters from both the police and the suspects as well as the grieving family.

    Season two begins immediately where the first left off, as Linden pieces together clues of a possible conspiracy to frame Richmond. This has Linden questioning Holder's loyalty to the case and the two lead characters manage to avoid each other's attempts to explain the situation for the first few episodes. This became frustrating as first Linden ignores Holder and then Linden struggles to reach Holder after she clears him. There are only so many times you can watch someone choose to not answer the phone.

    Holder remains as amusing as before with his macho posturing but Linden becomes quite dislikeable during the season. Her neglect of her son as she becomes addicted to the case is abhorrent.

    A lot of screen time of the first half of the season is spent with Richmond recuperation in hospital. While I assumed that this time was being well spent, and that Richmond's involvement hadn't finished yet it was a distraction from the crime solving activities.

    The season improved greatly from Episode 8 onwards. Linden manages to save Holder, loses her badge, sends Jack away and the episode ends with her and Holder driving away from the camera in a new direction, both having found new determination.

    The final episode brought all three groups of characters together and despite the anti-climax of the first half of the episode, the second half provided a heart-breaking twist and some solid acting from Rosie's family as all was revealed, both from a justice point of view and with regards to Rosie's feelings towards her parents.

    The show has now been cancelled by AMC and I feel that having solved the Larsen case and been through so much in doing so, there is little left for the writers to work with for Linden and it would not be the same starting with a fresh investigation so all in all a good decision to let the show finish on a high.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    I'm encouraged by the 2-hour premiere episode. Sure, I was disappointed by many that we didn't figure out who the killer is in the season 1 finale, but plenty of shows have hidden the ball into season 2 - see Twin Peaks. The lead actors are phenomenal - and even though I love her, I was happy to see Michelle Forbes away from this long episode. She's a ponderous force in this series which I hope is either lifted or alleviated. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    I'm done with this show. I don't care about any of the characters anymore, I'm tired of the never-ending rain and fog that seems to inhabit Seattle (or at least "Seattle as Envisioned by Hollywood"), I can't bear to watch another weepy, mournful scene with the Larson family or an angst ridden exchange between Linden and Jack, I DON'T GIVE A **** ABOUT THE SEATTLE MAYORAL RACE (and neither does anyone else, even people who live in Seattle) and I have lost all interest in the Rosie Larson case. I don't think Rosie Larson even knows who killed Rosie Larson. Veena Sud blew it. They should have revealed the murderer at the end of season 1 and started season 2 with a fresh case. I know, I know, unveiling the mystery at the logical point of conclusion is such a tired concept, but it's what the fans wanted- and what is a show without its fans? To expect people to stick around for another long, drawn out season based around the same exact case (WHICH WASN'T THAT INTERESTING IN THE FIRST PLACE) is ludicrous. I'm throwing in the towel. Thank God for Game of Thrones. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.