User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 323

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    The critics have it right this time: "The Killing" is compelling television. Subtle and intricate without ever seeming slow, the series manages something rarely seen outside of Shakespeare: the sense of a single death having tainted an entire city, from the corridors of power to the hallways of the local high school, even the weather. Normally, I'm annoyed when the media depict Seattle as a place of hard rain, as its precipitation falls mostly as drizzle, but the torrents have a role to play in the series, not as pathetic fallacy, but as something apocalyptic, nature out of control and dangerous. As for more conventional role-playing, I can't cheer loudly enough about the casting, especially the two lead detectives. Mireille Enos and Joel Kinnaman give unusually raw, intelligent performances, demonstrating by contrast how used to bad acting we've become here in the US. Enos's senior detective, divided between longing for a gentler life and intimacy with violent death, serves as a master class in restraint, hinting at depths of understanding and compassion while maintaining the hard surface the job requires. Kinnaman's young gun is more brash, a badge-wearing bad boy emboldened by success working undercover narcotics and willing to cross ethical lines to solve cases. She's a little bit frumpy, and he's a little bit sleazy, which is brave and absolutely perfect. I'll admit, I don't see much of "Twin Peaks" here, outside the fact that the plot revolves around the body of a murdered girl in water. But "The Killing" lacks TP's quirky characters and fascination with the surreal, and its metaphysics are more "King Lear" than "The Lotus Sutra." The two series do have in common a respect for viewers' intelligence and for the artistic achievement possible in television when those involved are willing to take some real risks. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Like other AMC ventures, this is a good show so far. I am not a huge fan of crime dramas, but I am a fan of good acting, and "The Killing" has plenty of that. The show is well cast - even the newly promoted homicide detective, played by Joel Kinnaman, seemed a believable sort. I mention him in particular because he does get quite a lot of face time, and his character seems the most out of his element compared to the rest of the characters introduced thus far. The cinematography is exceptional. The scenery, superb. I was a bit irked at the perceived use of emotion inducing imagery meant to stir up feelings in the viewer. This is fine in and of itself, but I found it to be a tad gratuitous. They're really trying hard to tug at those heart strings. Also, there are several slow-panning close up shots of Sarah Linden, played by Mireille Enos, that are reminiscent of a soap opera. This device was used to show how she was analyzing the crime scene or her surroundings, but I found myself shaking my head during those brief parts. Despite those small annoyances, all-in-all this is a good show, one worth giving a shot. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    The pace is just so well done, that to some people it's "slow". These people who find this show "slow" are the same people that dislike shows like Breaking Bad. It's plot is good, and the character interaction is interesting. the season finale is excellent. I want to know who murdered Rosie Larson.
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Judging from the first two hours, this is going to be a very, very good series, and possibly one of the best on television. The acting, writing, and cinematography are all top-notch, and the story has the potential to be extremely engaging. It's going to be a slow burn, but, for me, that's part of the appeal. Oh, and bonus points for featuring what might be the most heart-wrenching moment I have ever seen in a television show. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    AMC has themselves a three-headed monster. First Mad Men, then Breaking Bad, and now The Killing. Believe the hype! Now if season 4 of Breaking Bad would just hurry up and start.
  6. May 23, 2011
    10
    While the show starts off as a Twin Peaks knock off with a lot of Mireille Enos staring off into space, it quickly begins to carve out a niche of its own. In a world where TV Crime Dramas are dominated by brash and wise cracking cops, The Killing is a breath of fresh air. It's not a show about solving a murder, but rather and show about how one girl's murder impacts a city. It won't appeal to everyone (or even most people), but for those that it does work for it is fantastic. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    A truly compelling show and I'll keep on watching. The rainy Northwest backdrop is perfect as this tale unfolds. Great acting and production values. And, as an aside, it's refreshing to see lead characters in gritty jobs who don't all look like they bounce out of bed at 4 am to spend the two hours or so necessary to putting on makeup and so forth. Characters are dressed for the part they are playing. Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    It's an excellent crime drama, bending the genre and beautifully filmed. The performances are also very good, with Billy Campbell, Mireille Enos and Joel Kinnaman delivering stellar performances. If you want to see something very different from a standard crime show, then you should see this show!
  9. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Scandinavian noir at its very best. Original and compelling the best TV since The Wire. The acting is excellent and the story twists and turns its way to its climax.
  10. May 17, 2011
    10
    This show is just amazing. It features one of the best put together cast in recent times. Most of the actors are unknown; but boy can they act! Especially the young actors (Arya and Bran for example), they do a terrific job of playing their roles.
    As the show goes on you sympathize with their characters, you feel what they are going through. The show is full of deceit, backstabbing,
    violence, outstanding dialogues, intriguing characters and much more. I would even go as far as putting this show up with the likes of The Sopranos, Boardwalk Empire, Deadwood and the Shield. It's by far one of the best shows in recent times.

    Of course this show won't appeal to everyone. If you're not into the genre then there's a chance you will not enjoy all other amazing aspects of Game of Thrones.

    A special note should go to the performances of Ned Stark (Sean Bean) and Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage). Especially the Imp :). He plays his character with so much wit and style that he even outclasses Sean Bean. He's by far the best actor in this series.
    He owns every scene he is in.

    There is however one thing that I dislike about the show and that's King Robert (Mark Addy). I'm sorry but he's the weakest link here.
    Other than that, there's not much to dislike about Game of Thrones.
    I'm always a little sad that I have to wait another week for the next episode! haha.

    oh and I like this show so much that I even went ahead and ordered the books :)
    Expand
  11. May 30, 2011
    10
    Easily the best show on TV at the moment... the characters are so well drawn and the acting and production is nothing less than masterful. I am always sad to see each episode end.
  12. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I love this show and can't get enough of it. I can't remember the last time I would watch a show and 45 minutes would literally fly by... I get so sad when it comes to an end every week because I have to wait until the next Sunday. Beautifully written and shot, there better be a second season!
  13. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    The hopelessness that is omnipresent throughout this show was shocking at first, but definitely in a good way. I hadn't seen a show like this before, and, like always, AMC delivers with another terrific drama. The Killing has the same addictive quality as Mad Men, Breaking Bad, and The Walking Dead. That being said, if you like any of the aforementioned series and love realistic crime dramas, then you will love this show. Expand
  14. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    The critics are right: this one is phenomenal. The pacing, the acting, the story, the music--all of it is top-notch. Dark, moody, intense, and truly entertaining.
  15. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I watched the entire series and could not wait for each upcoming episode. And the season finale was just the best icing on any cake. Way to finish it. I can't wait for it's return. Yes there is a lot of raining. Yes it's very dark. Yes it's not C.S.I. and it's paced very slowly. It's more like Mystic River in it's plotting. It's extremely depressing at moments. But it's emotionally thorough. It's smart too. The police work seems to me what an exhausting mysterious case would be for a dedicated detective. And I felt compassion for her trying to be a parent and be a dedicated detective. I can understand where people are not interested. It's not just quick resolutions every Night. It's an emotional roller coaster and at times gut-wrenching and challenging. It's everything I would choose over Hawaii-50, C.S.I. or any standard television. I'll be back for sure. Collapse
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Likely to be remembered, ex post facto, as one of the best TV crime dramas ever created - this show is almost cinematic in nature; a great mix of developed characters, intrigue with its narrative and supported by a high quality troupe of actors. Season 1 was simply phenomenal.
  17. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought I might get some idea of where the story is heading by watching the Danish version -- NOT! While this may be (roughly) based on the Danish show, it has been redone so that this version is its own show. And, what a show. I love the flawed characters, especially Mirelle Enos. I was disappointed in the last show of the season's ending, but I suspect that was intended even though it may (like the Dexter show when his wife is killed) turn some off. Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Just started in South Africa - only seen three episodes - great show different than the normal crime show. Slow paced but compelling, hope it contunues to be a good show.
  19. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    I love this show!!!! I read about it after the first season was almost over and saw the cast members and knew I just had to watch it. I watched all the missed episodes in marathon style since with this show there really isn't any other way. The cast is as amazing as i thought they would be and the storyline is excellently written and executed. I will say it was a tad slow going at first, but only the first episode so that the viewers could get all the information needed to continue on. I wasn't sure at first if this was going to be a mini-series or a multiple episode series and I am glad for the latter. I have to say that it is a little ridiculous all the reviews that say how depressing the show is. It's call "The Killing"! Did you think it was going to be a cheerful uplifting comedy?!?!??? It is a depressing concept, but the show is not so much about the killing, but the apprehension of the killer. It is also about how this one event impacts the lives of people who haven't even met each other. Awesome, awesome show and I am sorry to those who gave up on it, you truly missed out on an excellent season. Expand
  20. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Frustratingly compelling mystery. Like that long-winded author whose book you just can't put down. Would give it a 9.5, but it's worth rounding up. Superbly acted and very well thought out. It's Breaking Bad for the mystery lovers.
  21. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    This has so far been my all time favorite television show. I honestly think this is better than Lost and Breaking Bad, which or two of my favorite and most critically-acclaimed shows. The Killing is the most suspenseful show I have ever watched, It has produced bigger thrills not even films have given me.BEST SHOW EVER!!!
  22. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I've seen all 3 series and campaigning for the 4th. Am a Dexter/Breaking Bad sort. This show is under-estimated, and under-marketed. The Killing is possibly the most realistic cop show on TV. I've seen reviews by real life cops who claim they watch this show for that reason. This show goes beyond realism however it draws you in, with surprises after surprises, slowly and surely. It goes beyond cop show cliches of the last decade, an amazing feat to pull off. Both lead characters were well-drawn by the writer and the actors. Enos is an amazing and courageous actress as Linda, possibly the sexiest deliberately-unsexy female cop ever. Kinnaman's Holden has depth, intensity, complexity and a unique brand of humor. The overall atmosphere is somber yet with tenderness. The story is well-paced and surprisingly caring about even the dead characters. The ending for Rosie series 1 & 2 promises surprises and satisfying enough resolution. Highly recommended for the discerning ones who're sick of cop genre cliches and cheap gores. Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    The Killing has become my absolute favorite show of all time. I cannot get over its depth and precision. I'm in awe of this series and am grateful for the wonderfully talented actors who bring it to life. I just recently discovered the show a few days before the season two premiere, and I watched the first season in two days. I wish I could watch season two in this way -- waiting between episodes is aggravating to say the very least. Bravo to all who are involved in this series, and I cannot wait for more! Expand
  24. May 20, 2012
    10
    This show was pretty straightforward at first, and then had you guessing the rest of the time. The pacing was great, the acting was spot on, and the tone of the show matched the subject matter. I was glad that I could watch all of season 1 in one sitting. If I had to wait all week I would freak out. Just like Lost. I am totally looking forward to season 2.
  25. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I love this show. Everything about it. It keeps my interest, it's suspenseful, the cast is great! I'm sad to see some of my peers are unhappy about this season. I hope they come back for another season!
  26. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Great show! Atmospheric, intense, keeps you guessing, love the gloomy cinematography, reminiscent of seven/hannibal...the finale of the first storyline is heartbreaking, still shaking and i finished 3 days ago. 1/2way through season 3, just as good...missing billy campbell though!
  27. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Excellent series, beautiful filming, excellent story, very good balance between the protagonists. The performance of Peter Sarsgaard in the 3rd season is impressive.
  28. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    One of the best shows on TV, very underrated, i've rarely enjoyed a show as much as i did the first case (seasons 1 & 2), better to watch in a bundle though if you get them on DVD, the 3rd season was a new case and also great viewing, i'm very disappointed that all we are getting is a short 4th and final season, this show deserves so much more, as do the characters of Holder/Linden who are played xecellently by the two leads, it's much better than 90% of the shows on tv today Expand
  29. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Season 4 wrap was perfect. I almost gave up on Season 1, but the characters, Holder in particular, brought me back. Season 3 was so much better than first two seasons. The character of Bullet gave the series someone to care about and took the performances to another level. Season 4 gave us the ending we needed.
  30. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    The acting is great. The photography is superb; great close-ups and panorama shots. That blue-grayish tone goes really well with the storyline.

    It's a shame the show cannot continue. The two actors are great working together, too bad they were found for a mini-series of limited episodes. They could had become an excellent TV series of many seasons.
  31. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    After waiting for months to see at least one version of this European "sensation" I was treated to AMC's American version. So far it's great! I love edgy, gritty, film noir stories, and this one has it in spades. Witht the exception of Michelle Forbes most of the faces are either new or relatively "unknown." although my wife did recognize the main lead as a polygamist wife from "Big Love." This newness helps the series come off as a close copy of the original Danish series, minus the sub titles, which many Americans cannot abide. Filmed in "rainy" Vancouver to appear like "rainy" Seattle, the series slowly moves it's way giving ample time for characters to evolve, and the who dunnit to meander from potential supsect to potential suspect. Atmosphere is the meat, and dialog is the potatoes. I hope the dessert is just as good. Expand
  32. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Simply amazing! AMC has struck gold with this riveting show. My wife and watched the premier and haven't looked back since. We are both completely absorbed into the characters, setting and mystery. It would truly be a shame to miss this expertly crafted and acted show. Do yourself favor, AMC is allowing you to watch the full 3 hours of the show without commercials on their website. Take advantage, this is one not to missed! Expand
  33. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    The killing has a great plot with only minor flaws. Some acting is mad, i hate Mrs. Larson's acting but its hard to predict whats going to happen next unlike other murder mystery shows. I give it a 9 just because there are minor flaws and some bad acting
  34. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    This is as close to Twin Peaks as Mad Men is to Bewitched. Don't get me wrong I love Twin Peaks but it had it's limits. The surrealism which endeared so many was eventually it's downfall as it seemed that the writers didn't know what to do with it in the end. The Killing is about stripping a story to its bare bones. Where too many procedural's are on the nose with gory murder details, hero cop posturing and comically insane plot twists, The Killing respects it's audience by not ramming the horror of it all down your throat, devoid of the usual cops show fanfare the show is is harrowing in it's sparseness. There is some excellent acting on display, the understated portrayal of the bereaving family is powerful, their anguish is palpable without being gratuitous or overly intrusive, the investigating detectives are intriguingly intense and truly believable, especially Mireille Enos, who must be using all of four muscles in her face but is wonderfully expressive as the highly dedicated and intuitive Detective Linden. As you would expect from the makers of Mad Men the cinematography is excellent, the action is allowed unfold very naturally, close ups are used sparingly and little of the camera work feels forced or stage. Excellent use of the rain to build atmosphere which acts like a drumbeat never at the fore but always there to remind you an impending crescendo. After only three show it's easily one of the best things to watch on TV hopefully the story arc will maintain itself throughout the season Expand
  35. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Moody and atmospheric, with some pretty stellar acting, 'The Killing' has an air of melancholy about it that reminds me a lot of the video game, "Hard Rain." Has joined my list of Must-See TV.
  36. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    The Killing retains some of the atmosphere of the original Danish series which sets it apart from the other procedurals out there. Dark and chilly, and with a glyphic central character, it takes a while to draw you in but has the makings of a compelling slow burner.
  37. May 13, 2011
    9
    Good show, but Americans would cheat them self, if they don't watch a subbed version of the original......European, and Scandinavian Drama's are more rough(not more violent), but focuses far more on character development and tries to break barriers.
  38. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    @ Why_Not

    I don't think this is Plagiarism. The one element this show shares with Twin Peaks is that the events and characters revolve around the death of one young girl and the investigation to find it's killer, and that's all the two shows have in common. It may only be the second tv show in recent history to use this story mechanic but there have be many books and films that have
    revolved around the death of a young girl and the investigation to find her murderer, would you consider all of them plagiarists? No, of course not because to be plagiarists they would not only need to copy the general storyline they would also need to copy characters, and dialogue. The killing hasn't copied characters from Twin Peaks or dialogue.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I think a lot of the buzz about the show revolves around the overall presentation. The dark feeling, which some have been calling noir, certainly adds some impact to the material. Overall I like the show and I like it's pacing thus far. However I will say that the slow build up means that the audience will be expecting a big payoff at the end of the season which I hope the writers can deliver.
    Expand
  39. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sometimes things are so hard (no pun intended). Why do you - Americans- have to re-make a Danish series that was GREAT in every way? I just don't get it. Open your view on the world. Watch a Danish series in a funny language with subtitles. If it happens to be not your cup of tea ... Come to think of it: probably not enough sugar. THE KILLING IS GREAT TELEVISION. Too slow for you? Press fast forward. Too difficult: watch something else. But I pity you. FORBRYDELSEN is the name, top-notch TV is the game. Groetjes Expand
  40. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I loved The Killing. It is not good like the original Danish TV series, but it was worth-watching, gripping and excellent. The Killing is cold and dark, but in a good way.
  41. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Amazing show. acting is incredible (with a couple of exceptions). Texture, tension & suspense is internally based and yet so palpable it's uncomfortable at times (in a dramatically good way). It does have somewhat of a similar feel to Rubicon (which I was disappointed they canceled) but with more character development and personal narrative. Extremely compelling "page turner".
  42. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    AMC has been crafting beautiful original series' since 2007, and this is no exception. The quiet moments and the darkness define almost all of their dramas, but they are always in original ways. Don Draper staring at trains go by in the darkness, Walter White lighting matches and throwing them into his pool at dawn, Rick Grimes calling Morgan on the radio, and Sarah Linden's hard shell deteriorating watching Stan Larsen scream in anguish, these people know how to hire the people to do a show right. The Killing burns slow, extending every last agonizing detail to the extreme, which brings the acting to the forefront and tests the writers' abilities to capture a moment in someone you'd never be able to see in real life. This is masterful television at its best. Expand
  43. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    This isn't the kind of show for those who like fast paced crime drama's that solve their cases in a mere 45 minutes. It's a slow burning show that mirrors real life more then any crime drama before it. I would honestly say the score this show has been given is on the low end. It deserves much higher. The cast and crew behind the show do an outstanding job. The writing is terrific. The images, like for example the weather are used to great affect. The show is set in Seattle, there they happen to get a lot of precipitation but the shows directors wisely use the weather not just for realism. But to showcase the mode and/or tone of this series. The colours are also used brilliantly. Lots of dark colours. Black, blue and grey are often used. They should illustrate to at least the competent viewer that this a show that is bleak. An it tackles hard issues that can make some people uncomfortable. We see throughout the season how this one event has affected lives of so many people. An not just for example the parents but i would dare to say the entire community. The performances are of the highest quality. Especially that of the lead protagonist and the grieving mother, who is a supporting actress on the show. I would say to anyone about to watch this series you're in for superb acting and a meticulous well crafted story line with many twists and turns in it. Expand
  44. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Great show. There were times when I saw a plot twist coming from a mile away but the acting, cinematography, dialogue and overall writing is superb. I would say it is better than Sherlock in every way except the main characters' charisma but the plot is just a step behind Wallander. But if you liked either one of those shows The Killing is a must watch.
  45. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    A great first season to this sad and dark show. The characters are very interesting and so is the plot. I was okay with the case not being resolved in the first season
  46. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    solid adaptation of a danish show. it uses the same red herring device of a murder investigation to invesigate the community its set in. a lot of great moments and incredibly well realised tone and world, but increasingly hampered by its need to use the plot to investigate the characters.

    the idea is in line with the wire, but the device and adaptive duty, holds the whole thing back a
    touch.

    even at its worst, its stll easily one of the best things on tv though.
    Expand
  47. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I didn't know about this series until season 3 was about to air and the show had already been cancelled once. My wife and I decided to binge watch the first season, which turned into the first two seasons because of the way the plot spread out over the two seasons.

    Without a doubt, these two seasons were some of the best TV I've watched in a long time. They were emotionally touchy and
    somewhat emotionally draining because we were able to connect with the characters. I would highly recommend these seasons to anybody.

    The third season was not as good, but was still good TV. I'm saddened that it got cancelled again.
    Expand
  48. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    No idea where the comparisons to Twin Peaks are coming from... but I thought this was a very well executed premiere. The title of the show is The Killing so I made the natural assumption that it would focus on a single murder and would take a deliberate pacing choice in revealing plot points. Ignore any baseless comparisons to Twin Peaks and take into consideration that this is a season long arc and I think you will be sucked into this atmospheric, well-acted, engrossing mystery. Expand
  49. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The more I think about this show, the more I think of flaws - but, I've rated the first two episodes with an "8", so I'm still feeling pretty positive. But in the spirit of playing, "Devil's Advocate", I'll mention some of what I didn't like. The ongoing campaign, complete with campaign staff for the City Council President, (I've already forgotten his name) - seemed like a distraction. If they spend too much time on the intrigue within his office, and his ongoing affair with Miss "why is there a blonde on every show on television" - it could be a turn-off. Also, I really don't like Billy Campbell. How can he and Bruce Campbell be related? I don't like kids on TV programs; they can become cloying, and Rosie's two little brothers were no exception. Hope they fade into the background real soon. The incessant rain also drove me a bit crazy - I just don't like rain. But the investigation into the murder of Rosie Larsen could overtake all of the annoyances. I hope this is the primary focus, and that the male replacement for the female lead detective becomes a fully fleshed out character. I liked that he discovered an extremely important bit of evidence on his own. Wasn't Mireille Enos' character supposed to be moving and getting married? Can she be sure to take her son with her? This can be another great AMC original, or it could become Rubicon. Obviously, I'm rooting for the former. Expand
  50. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    The show appears to be promising us the thrill of suspense, but its glacier like pace is making me antsy. Joel Kinnman's character Holder is by far my favorite; he brings a great level of tension to most of the scenes he's in. It will be fun to see when Mireille Enos' Sarah Linden either cold **** him or they jump each others bones. Brent Sexton and Michelle Forbes portray a couple whose long relationship feels like it still has a few embers and flames left in it, but there's also a sense that this is not the first time they've faced tragedy or hardship. Not sure if the Danish version included the political campaign element, but it seems like the weakest part of the plot -- I keep thinking the whole campaign and its staffers will turn out to be a bunch of McGuffin-ish foolishness. Expand
  51. May 27, 2011
    8
    Not a fast pace, action packed show with special effects and life changing revelations -- BUT instead it touch the viewer at a much deeper level, as a parent I felt the pain, the suffering -- helplessness and anger .... even the previous user rating said, and i quote " ... absolutely no interest in suffering through the grief of Rosie's family" .. it just proofs that even if this is not the kind of show for you -- that the director portray this deeply sad piece with excellence ... a detective story with a difference - a masterpiece :) Expand
  52. May 31, 2011
    8
    The pilot is very slow, but by the 4th episode I was hooked. The show moves like an actual crime drama rather than the "solved in a day" pace CSI has set.
  53. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    I like this show because it's different than crime shows solved in an hour and the characters are compelling. I can see why some don't like that "nothing happens", because it is slow moving, but I like the character development and the twists and turns of the plot. I have no idea why it is compared to Twin Peaks, which was a very surreal show with a dash of humor. This is gritty and real.
  54. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    This show can be frustrating. Besides that, a very well crafted series.
  55. May 6, 2011
    7
    This is good television, not great television. Personally I liked Rubicon a lot more than this AMC show.
    Filmed in Canada with a mostly Canadian cast (just like The X Files) the acting is wonderful, the pacing is appropriate to the premise but some of the investigative plotting is questionable and weak. I am suspicious of the fact that they are encouraging viewers to be interactive in
    solving the crime. Do the producers even know who did it? Or is America going to decide? Is this Dancing With the Stars for crime drama buffs? Expand
  56. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    A nice show. Great acting, great direction, but scenario.. I'll call it "a bit more show". A bit slower then it might be. Guess Law&Order can make a one episode of all this. A bit more predictible then it might be. One suspect per episode with more then enough evidence. Kids were just making movies, someone was just writing letters, someones car was occasionaly stolen.. and they take one episode per suspect? They'll have to check all Seatle population in only a few seasons.. Expand
  57. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    Like everyone keeps mentioning, the Twin Peaks influence is painfully obvious. As good as Twin Peaks was though, there were times when it annoyed me how strange for the sake of being strange without any apparent meaning it could get. I don't get that bad taste in my mouth from The Killing.

    I do wish that I could find the original series online somewhere. As often as people discount the
    AMC remake and compare it to the original, it must be pretty amazing stuff. Expand
  58. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    I stopped watching after the pilot and picked it up when season 3 started. I am glad that I did because it's a rather good show and pretty enjoyable to watch.
  59. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    The series's plot is quite good, but it is tooooooooooooo slow. Usually the other series about crime and murders, it is one case one chapter. But it is quite realistic and the actors and actresses are fantastic!
  60. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    OK so this is a good show but THEY RIPPED OFF TWIN PEAKS and especially the first episode. I really like Holder in the show but Linden just has no personality that is attractive or alluring. At least Twin Peaks had a sense of humor and didn't take itself so seriously. Also, a casino? Really? She was an escort? Why not just call the casino One Eyed Jacks for Pete's sake. PS Does every politician have to whisper everything? UGH. Give TWIN PEAKS some due credit. Expand
  61. Apr 12, 2011
    6
    This is well polished television. As is expected from AMC by now, the show is beautifully produced. The cinematography is gorgeous. The soundtrack broods and creates a terrificly foreboding atmosphere.The acting is superb, for the most part. It is edited, almost, to perfection. The script is, generally, enthralling. For the most part, almost and generally are telling signs of television show that could have been so much more. The actors have not established a workable chemistry yet. I count on this for a new TV series. However, when you bring together characters that don't integrate with each other well, with scenes that linger for far to long and dialog that is pretty much just absurd, then you get a television series that tests the nerves. Expand
  62. May 28, 2011
    6
    After watching almost the whole season, I feel a bit let down. This is a single murder case being dragged out too long. Some of the scenes were too hard to believe and they're overdoing the rain. Getting sloppy. Would have been better with fewer episodes. Harding is too much a caricature.
  63. Jun 25, 2012
    6
    Definitely a show that takes a lot of patience. The start of the series is a bit slow and it took me two tries to finally get into it. Once you have a better sense of the characters and the storyline around episode 4, you'll begin to feel more of a connection with the show, in my opinion. Definitely not a series I would recommend hands down but if you're in between series, I would say check this out. Expand
  64. Apr 10, 2011
    5
    Can't believe Tanseytoes (also can't believe that name) and I are the only ones who feel this series is remarkably derivative of David Lynch's Twin Peaks. The setting (Pacific Northwest), the elements (incessant dampness & rain) the music (ominous, florid, repetitive) and the premise (an already dead character) are Twin Peaks all over again. When does the log lady show up? The killing is a reasonably engaging series, but Lynch should be getting residuals. Expand
  65. May 4, 2011
    5
    Sorry to say i didnt find this show that great, not exactly aweful, just not my cup of tea i guess
  66. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    As a »Six feet under« and »Dexter« fan, I really liked the style of this show. Yes, it's slow, but I prefer a TV Show that focuses on the people and their emotions and problems rather than simply show cold unrealistic action.
    That being said, this show is not good. The characters aren't really believable. Every episode ends with the worst
    and cheapest kind of cliffhangers, and you have the feeling that this show will, never, ever get you somewhere.
    Really sad, since I think it had potential. The season final proved that this show is definitely no longer watch-worthy.
    Expand
  67. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    I have yet to watch the well received Danish original (it is on my 'to do list' with a number of other shows) but seeing the US version advertised on TV decided to give it a try and was initially quite impressed. The major cast members were all very good and not having the usual case per episode formula seen on countless cop procedurals made a pleasant change.

    Of course I am unable to
    make any comparisons to the Danish version but purely judged on its own merits I found that, despite a well written and intriguing opening episode, everything moved along at far too slow a pace. I have no problem with slow-burning drama, The Wire and Mad Men rank amongst my favourite shows, but The Killing provides too many obvious red herrings that the protagonists waste their and the audiences time on. Worst of all after sticking with the show for thirteen episodes we were still left guessing as to who killed Rosie Larsen until season two is available!

    While the first season of The Killing certainly had plenty of things going for it I can’t help but feel it would have benefited from a shorter, tighter season in order to better keep audience’s attention.
    Expand
  68. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    If you can handle 20 hours of subtitles, the original Danish version is much better. So much was changed or left out of the 13-episode American version. A lot of the plot elements that just didn't seem to fit with the story of the version aired on AMC weren't a part of the Danish original.

    Unfortunately, I couldn't find the original for rent anywhere -- just for-purchase on Amazon,
    around $100 for the series -- it's called Forbrydelsen. Expand
  69. Oct 9, 2012
    5
    Although this show does a good job of exploring grief and addiction, the tone is too consistently dark. There are no light moments, there's no humour, no character quirks, nothing to help the audience actually root for the characters. Everyone is very serious and very boring. I enjoyed some of the plot and structure, but the show doesn't have enough range.
  70. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    Painfully slow and depressing. I had high hopes for this with the recent string of great shows on AMC, but sadly came to the quick realization this isn't one of them. I have only watched 4 episodes and planned on watching more, but just couldn't continue when nothing ever happened. A whole season trying to solve one murder case. Are you kidding me? I had to delete the rest of the episodes off my DVR. Acting is decent, cinematography is average. You just don't care about the characters, especially Rosie, whom you never meet.

    I would rather give the original a chance, even if it's in subtitles. Once again this shows how out of touch most critics are with the rest of America.
    Expand
  71. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    Pales in comparison to the Danish original. The many red herrings seem contrived; the characters (with the notable exception of Joel Kinnaman's nuanced performance) are sadly two-dimensional; and the atmospherics (i.e. darkness, constant rain) are oppressive rather than mood-setting. I'm not convinced the show-runner has any idea where this is going.
  72. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    nice camera work and good acting. but compared to the original show, there are much more 'inconsistencies' and some rather weird and unbelievable story twists. it doesn't manage to build up the same atmosphere that one finds in the original show.
  73. Aug 10, 2011
    4
    This show would have had a 9 fromme, but they blew it at the end. First of all, two shows from the end they said in the trialer, "the killer will be a shocker to all." Well, I knew right then and there it was the guy running for office because he was the LEAST likely. And then when the end came, there as no end! No clear murderer. These shows needs to be a story within itself for a season and start fresh with a new story line for the next season, like Dexter.

    Don't know if I'll turn in for the second season now. I was ready to move on
    Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    I was disappointed in this show, it had mediocre acting by amc original series standards. and the pacing is painfully slow and relies on the viewer to feel bad everytime they see the irrational characters cry over something stupid they've done. and the ending to season 1... it throws out everything it was building to with a rushed and not very well thought out ending full of holes. i won't be returning for next season =( Expand
  75. Apr 22, 2011
    3
    This show didn't appeal to me. I watched the first half of the hour-and-a-half long pilot and I was bored. Some parts of it were thrilling but overall, it was simply too slow and too long to my taste. I feel like nothing happened in the 45 first minutes and I really wasn't caught up in the show. Under the pretense of realism and suspense, the show delivers boredom and depression. Don't watch it -- or if you do, you've been warned. Expand
  76. May 18, 2011
    3
    I've been watching this series from the beginning. "The Killing" just goes on and on and on .... are the detectives never going to solve this case? I have absolutely no interest in suffering through the grief of Rosie's family and the politician's story is just as dull.
    I want the story to stay with the two--interesting--detectives. Hurry up!
  77. May 14, 2012
    3
    In brief, two points:
    1)You can't judge this show by its first few episodes, which is why the scores are so drastically inflated. 2) I am simply in shock at how bad the writing is [scene by scene and in the series overall]. It's like an elephant playing piano. How did this show-runner get to adapt a series? More details:
    The writing's so bad that it's hard to gauge the talent of the
    actors, so I will reserve judgment there. However, for those of you who haven't studied the interplay of writing and acting, you may find yourself frequently inclined to blame the actors.

    I've found this show to be an interesting study in what a series can get wrong at the same time that it gets several things right. [Its strong points are cinematography, design and editing; and the fact that it's based on a Danish series with an interesting premise: an in-depth examination of a murder case]

    Many user reviews cite "slow and depressing" as a problem with this show, but I disagree. I think that a show like this, if written well, would not bother people with its heavy themes and in-depth examination of a case.
    Expand
  78. Apr 18, 2011
    2
    I really wanted to like this. I watched the first 4 episodes and in the end it just came across as one piece of depressing, badly acted , TV detective series. I am sure there must be some mystery to the whole thing but i could not fathom having to endure any more damp depressive dialogue. Awful, Awful, Awful.
  79. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    Apparently I missed the critics Koolaid party. I am a Twin Peaks fan, but this series first show borders on "a waste of time" or "horrendous first date" - the next episode will determine if it is permanently removed from my DVR list. It could have (and should have) been condensed to 45 minutes simply by deleting the "gazing into the mist" scenes. It feels like "Fargo" yearning to be "Twin Peaks" with a subplot from "Homicide/Life on the Streets" without benefit of Richard Belzer. I could not wait for the show to end - Somehow I don't think that counts that as a plus! Expand
  80. May 30, 2011
    1
    What a shame. The first two episodes were great, and then the show took an olympic nosedive. Nothing. Ever. Happens. "The Killing"? More like, "The Grieving" or "The Raining." The show is an hour long. In that hour, we get 40 minutes of Rosie's family mourning their daughter's death (who we never meet, by the way, so why should we even care about her?) 15 minutes of the mayor storyline (more on that later) and 5 minutes of actual, you know, mystery solving. And throughout this time, it never stops raining. According to "The Killing's" writer's, Seattle has only one type of weather: gloomy and wet. The Killing should have been 5 episodes long, not thirteen, since it's painfully obvious that they're using the grieving and mayoral aspects as filler. In what little time we spend with the detectives, they make little to no progress. I'm starting to suspect that even the writers don't know who killed Rosie, so they distract us with shots of the Larsen family staring out into space or having dinner in silence, or with the mayoral race. Fun fact: NO ONE CARES ABOUT MAYORAL RACES. In this show, they treat it like a presidential election. Excuse me, this show is called "The Killing," not "The Campaigning." I'm only giving this a 1 because of Linden's partner, the narc. He's the only good part of the show. Expand
  81. Jun 20, 2011
    1
    I have "stuck with it" the entire season. Like watching wet paint dry sloooowwwwly !! The final episode last night convinced me that I will not be a returning viewer next season. Too slow, too long, boring, depressing ... even "real life" doesn't move this slow. This series doesn't even approach Twin Peaks. Boring, Boring, Boring ... I gave it a score of 1 because there weren't any lower choices (-12)!! Expand
  82. Jul 27, 2011
    1
    "The Killing" is proof positive that critics need to analyze the entirety of a season, or do follow-ups to their first impressions, before declaring something good or bad. Like them, I would have given this show a 9 or 10, had I only, again like them, seen the first couple episodes and were writing this review in April. Fortunately, I have the benefit of time and watching the full season and can accurately compare this show to going around a roundabout for 13 weeks and not taking off down ANY of the roads leading out of it. Shoddy detective work, shoddy story telling and that godawful last episode really hammer home how poor a series this is. They strung the audience along on the moodiness of Seattle and stellar cast, in an elaborate cover-up of second-rate story construction. AMC prematurely greenlighted this for Season 2. Good riddance. It should go the way of "Rubicon" -- another series of slow build, small payoff. Expand
  83. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    I gave this show 0 (zero) cos it's plagiarism of Twin Peaks.

    Ok my taste is bad, but so as this show is. I'm not offended by those who say it's great show and that i have no taste since this i don't like, cos they have no arguments, just empty words :You are a looser, Troll or whatever. Plus this Laura Palmer is ugly. I don't know why here is so many posts defending this show, i guess
    they are paid by producers or company AMC that show this series. This already exist in China and their name is "50 cents commentators". Clearly this is plagiarism and it's not debatable, it's fact that any one that sees TP know what this is, so you who defend this TV show you need to defend for couple months more cos it has only one season. Till sponsors and ADs need mass viewers and show us their products that we "desperately" need to buy. Well i wouldn't buy anything that advertise on this show.

    This show is lame, without excitement, good music or any acting. It will be ended soon, don't worry. It's too stupid even for America's TV. I watched 3 episodes and i'm not amused not for a second. I have do admit, second season of TP is lame and pointless too. But 1st season is what will last forever, and of course OST.

    Long live Angelo Badalamenti and David Lynch
    Expand
  84. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    How funny to see the Critics give this the highest score this season, one of the worst shows out there. Thank God I stopped watching after episode 2 and didn't have to bare witness to the turd they but out as their final episode. I feel sorry for the people that watched them all this year.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Sharply contrasting with the florid Borgias is AMC's emotionally spare and atmospherically dank series The Killing.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Apr 5, 2011
    80
    In the suspenseful early hours of The Killing, Rosie's family goes about its bereavement in muted tones, and a subplot about a mayoral candidate drawn into the crime's eccentric orbit flashes with potential, and, primarily, our expectations for cop shows are teased, gratified, and artfully upended.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Apr 4, 2011
    90
    The Killing is also the least prepossessing, an eerily quiet, yet compelling and complex, tale of the way the murder of a teenager affects the lives of many people.