The Lottery : Season 1

  • Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 20, 2014
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 21, 2014
    83
    If The Lottery can keep up the promise of its premiere, it will punch a winning ticket.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 21, 2014
    80
    Creator Timothy Sexton has woven this story with a master’s touch, making us care about the characters even as we fear for their lives. Or, for that matter, all our lives.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Jul 21, 2014
    75
    The pilot is a little uneven. There’s a villain (played by Martin Donovan) within the government, but his agenda is extremely unclear, and the story of the recovering alcoholic dad seems to have little connection to the lottery. Still, the premise is intriguing--a “what if” kind of science fiction story that makes you think.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 17, 2014
    75
    The Lottery, with otherwise sage setup and promising performances, merits its own shot at something great.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 21, 2014
    70
    The action is active, the suspense tense, the actors game. It seems a little silly at times, but meet it halfway and the hour passes painlessly.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 18, 2014
    70
    The premise sets it apart, the premiere promises a lot of plot wrinkles and a fast pace, and the acting (with a few exceptions) is decent.
  7. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jul 18, 2014
    70
    Its pilot was a solid start, although, despite the intriguing premise, the episode also raised a greater number of questions--more about logic than the show's mythology--than it answered.
  8. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jul 21, 2014
    60
    The premise is actually more promising than the one in HBO's The Leftovers, in which a portion of Earth's population just vanishes. But The Lottery is not as well-cast or -produced as that other 10-episode series.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2014
    60
    Ultimately, there’s more ambition in the concept than ingenuity in the execution.
  10. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jul 14, 2014
    58
    It's a brazenly cloned Children of Men, raised dull. [18 Jul 2014, p.61]
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2014
    50
    When The Lottery conjectures about the scary cultural tilt that a lack of fertility could cause around the world, it’s at its best.... Unfortunately, the makers of “The Lottery,” led by writer-producer Timothy J. Sexton, who was one of the five screenwriters on the similarly themed 2006 movie “Children of Men,” are more concerned with a far more formulaic suspense story line.
  12. Reviewed by: Genevieve Valentine
    Jul 18, 2014
    50
    Overall, the pilot stalls with the usual introductions, setup, and by-the-numbers twists. There’s a dogged sense of purpose behind it that could, if thoughtfully explored, become a low-budget thriller for a network that’s taking some steps into a brave new world, but there’s an awful lot hanging on that “thoughtfully.”
  13. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 18, 2014
    30
    Whatever potential The Lottery has to look at the connection between fertility and power, or the timely issues of women’s reproductive autonomy--or a simple dramatic fight over the future of the species--is wasted with flat characters and flimsy political intrigue that plays like a duller version of Scandal.
  14. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jul 18, 2014
    25
    It’s a pretty lame ending to a fairly odious premise.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Sep 23, 2014
    3
    When i first saw the preview of The Lottery, i was dying to watch it. I do understand that embryo will "change" the world but COME ON!!!!!When i first saw the preview of The Lottery, i was dying to watch it. I do understand that embryo will "change" the world but COME ON!!!!! WHERE IS THE SUSPENSE!!?? why whenever i watch an episode i'm not eager to watch the next one.
    This is Boring show.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    the pace on this show reminds me one of those z movies... it's kind of bad that it turns to be sooooo god damn good... and i dont know if itthe pace on this show reminds me one of those z movies... it's kind of bad that it turns to be sooooo god damn good... and i dont know if it was supposed to be like that, maybe its Marley Shelton since her character in Planet Terror... this is a slightly upgrade version of the doctor she played in robert rodriguez grindhouse part... i can only say i'm addicted... Full Review »
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    I really want to like this tv show and again another good idea with bad execution. The most important things in the whole country but getI really want to like this tv show and again another good idea with bad execution. The most important things in the whole country but get deleted which doesn't make sense. Too many holes. Full Review »