• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Michael J. Fox Show Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In his first regular sitcom role since Spin City, Michael J. Fox plays a TV news anchor who returns to work after a five-year retirement following a Parkinson's diagnosis. Betsy Brandt (Breaking Bad), Wendell Pierce (The Wire), and Katie Finneran (Wonderfalls) also star.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2013
    100
    [The Crazy Ones and The Michael J. Fox Show] have great, always likable stars heading up solid ensemble casts in well-written and mostly plausible shows. Who could ask for anything more?
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 18, 2013
    75
    Mike Henry is as funny, emotionally open and inspiring as his alter ego.... The pilot feels more like a promise of intention than proof of concept. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.144]
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    The ingredients are there; they just need more seasoning.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 25, 2013
    67
    The Michael J. Fox Show shows signs of deteriorating into a too sitcom-y enterprise with occasional flashes of smart writing and situations.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The Michael J. Fox Show, which marks his welcome return to a regular network series, isn’t an instant classic. But it does a lot of things right.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 26, 2013
    50
    The three episodes NBC screened, especially the two past the pilot, aren’t bad, really; they’re studiously un-bad to the point of blandness. The supporting characters are thin types.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    33
    It wants to be funny, it wants to be urbane, it wants to be human and it wants to nail every line. Where it fails miserably is in premise and character.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love MJF, but I am iffy about this show. It still manages to deliver a chuckle from me, though.

    I am hopeful this show will be
    renewed and continue to flesh out some characters they have developed. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    Micheal J fox's show and watching his episodes everyday . his ( fake) family is amazing. and the reason why i watch this show is Micheal J Fox is a amazing guy .
    Grade A+
    Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    My wife and I loved this show! There were many "laugh out loud" moments, and it was great to see Michael J. Fox back on television and doing something with his life! I hope this show goes on for a long time. Well done Michael! Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I think it's a pretty solid show overall. May not be funny but it's the kind of sitcom that you can just sit down and enjoy. Michael J. Fox is fantastic and the rest of the cast is like-able as well. I'd happily keep watching the rest of the season. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    This is one of those projects that should have never made it past early development stages. Its just plain awful. The odd setups to make him seem that he is actively doing things to lessen the tremors is kind of distracting. The obligatory mentions of Parkinsons on intervals is needless. The "kids" are actors in their 30's. Casting alone destroys any chance this might have. Weak one liners, family members that don't feel like a family. Poor writing. Painful to watch outdoor one camera scenes. This show is awkward, forced, and unfunny. Its almost like a Saturday Night Live commercial. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2013
    1
    I am a big fan of Michael J. Fox and have enjoyed watching him since his days of Family Ties right up to his appearances on the Good Wife. I was really hoping that his new show would be a good one. I was sadly disappointed. I watched two episode. The first one was dreadful, but I thought I'd give the second episode a chance. No good. The writing and the casting is deplorable. It is beyond amateurish. I don't even see any glimmers of hope unless they fire the majority of the writers and cast. Too bad. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2013
    0
    don't like the liberal message they are trying to get across will not watch show i like Michael j fox i don't like the message that they throw in the show. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews