• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 121
  2. Negative: 17 out of 121

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JBM
    Oct 9, 2012
    2
    Before this show aired, the critics told us it will be the best show of the season. Not even close. It flops on many levels. It fails to give us a central sense of place or a rounded out ensamble. It was all about mindy and how sad and desperate she is. To be a success, a show has to have more than one central character that you want to come back and get to know more. This show did none of that. I disliked the men in her life and the girls around Mindy were all nodescript models. The two walk on celebrities are clearly not going to be around to keep this show afloat. Above all, it was hard to like the character of Mindy. I am going to have to force myself to watch more episodes in hopes they reboot it. But the worst sin this show committed was that it simply was not funny. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    2
    What a nightmare. I have to admit first up that Mindy Kaling is my least favourite character from The Office, so it was always going to be a struggle enjoying this show. That being said, it's positively awful....cheesy tripe that will probably appeal to a demographic far, far removed from my own.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    1
    terrible. I tried really hard to watch this show, and I wanted to like it. there is literally nothing to like. not a single thing. Not one single redeeming aspect at all.
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    This show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status in their second season that is if Mindy can get over herself. Take a clue from New Girl, make Mindy less involved with the show, it'll do wonders for your ratings.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 25, 2012
    70
    In all, it's a polished pilot, but one that will have to ground its characters better to work as a series.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Kaling makes for an unconventional sitcom heroine, to put it mildly.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Think Gray's Anatomy with unpretty people; then think of something else to watch.