• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 115
  2. Negative: 32 out of 115

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I'm a gay dad. My story isn't the one shown in this show, but so far 'The New Normal' touches on some of the issues I've wrestled with. Ok, I rated it based on emotion rather than objective production values. But to FINALLY see something on tv that reflects MY life is jaw-dropping. The simple scene of the two dads-to-be smooching in a big clothes shop only to be asked by another dadI'm a gay dad. My story isn't the one shown in this show, but so far 'The New Normal' touches on some of the issues I've wrestled with. Ok, I rated it based on emotion rather than objective production values. But to FINALLY see something on tv that reflects MY life is jaw-dropping. The simple scene of the two dads-to-be smooching in a big clothes shop only to be asked by another dad not to act like that in front of his daughter...and then to be at a loss as to what should have been the right response for something that would not have occurred if they'd been a straight couple....oh god, I know it so well. Folks, if this were a 3-dimensional representation, the American censors would not let it air. This is as much gay reality as your (the American -- I'm Australian) system will allow. Small steps, but steps nonetheless. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This is a fun show that is appealing to many audiences. The characters are bigger than life, particularly Ellen Barkin who plays a hilariously articulate bigot. My only fear is that the characters will continue to be stereotypical, and not grow with more interesting nuances. That said, there are many one liners that are quite amusing and will likely be quotable moments in the future.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    I think that this could be a nice and a "hit" show for NBC, maybe it has an stereotypical gay couple who just want a baby, but this is a realistic topic that is usually ignoring in the biggest shows on TV, also the cast is just amazing starting with the fabolous Ellen Barkin as a "bigot grandmother", Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha have a surprising and wonderful chemistry on screen,I think that this could be a nice and a "hit" show for NBC, maybe it has an stereotypical gay couple who just want a baby, but this is a realistic topic that is usually ignoring in the biggest shows on TV, also the cast is just amazing starting with the fabolous Ellen Barkin as a "bigot grandmother", Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha have a surprising and wonderful chemistry on screen, Bebe Wood and Georgia King are very good too, finally Nene Leakes could be one of the funniest actresses who could appear in this new season. I think that The New Normal could be very succesful in the near future. I'm still watching... Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. me facina esta serie, desde que una amiga me comento sobre esta me gusta. me hacen reir mucho a veces hasta melancolico pero mas que todo me enseƱan cosas sobre la vida como una verdadera familia y el verdadero amor. Collapse
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Show is progressing sweetly. Very touching moments. Hope it stays. Spotlights the plight of gay family life and the direction which our country needs to move in order to truly be "The Land of the Free." Worth the 30 minutes.
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    I loved this show; it's well meaning , and hits close to home. I think some of the jokes may not be well received by people who are easily offended, but it didn't bother me. You need this kind of show to cheer you up, and I would happily recommend it to anyone.
  7. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Please tell me what the people that gave this show 0 enjoys please. If Modern Family is your measuring stick then you have these shows mistaken. Modern Family is just as filled with stereotypes as New Normal. Modern Family does not deal with real characters either, Gloria? Manny? Hayley? Some of those characters have the depth of a kiddie pool. New Normal has character depth and yes isPlease tell me what the people that gave this show 0 enjoys please. If Modern Family is your measuring stick then you have these shows mistaken. Modern Family is just as filled with stereotypes as New Normal. Modern Family does not deal with real characters either, Gloria? Manny? Hayley? Some of those characters have the depth of a kiddie pool. New Normal has character depth and yes is stereotypical because American audiences do not want to see real Gay people on screen. If this show was a Queer As Folk style show it would not be watched by middle class conservatives. But with the Ellen Barkins grandma character those normally anti-gay viewers can now have a voice. @antena why does her harshness worry you? That harshness is how out gay people are treated daily. Me and my partner love this show, and yes we see the stereotypes, but the stereotypes take the edge of real issues, making it consumable to the masses. Will & Grace was probably the worst Gay comedy thing ever, no real character progression, no real issues covered but with New Normal Ryan Murphy is doing what no one else is doing and that is mass-marketing gay life. I love this show, and if Cam and Mitch are the only Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This show is great. I believe in its message of acceptance, and the hope that it offers for equality. Bebe Woods is a great talent, and the show provides for some important deconstruction of the world's prejudices. May we all learn from it.
  9. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Wonderful show for anyone who isnt homophobic! This show is modern and applies to how families are becoming with the new "relationship standard". Nene Leeks adds a great addition with her quick wit along with Ellen Barkin who is wonderful and FUNNY! I look forward to this show as it is better then most other "family comedies" on Primetime.
  10. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    I'm amazed to see so many negative reviews by users. Yes, there are stereotypes in this show, what show doesn't have them. Stereotypical gays, straight dads, producers, womanizers, we find them in all comedies, that's what makes comedies work. Have you heard of Archie Bunker? This show is funny, sometimes poignant, but the important thing is it makes us look at our beliefs and our coreI'm amazed to see so many negative reviews by users. Yes, there are stereotypes in this show, what show doesn't have them. Stereotypical gays, straight dads, producers, womanizers, we find them in all comedies, that's what makes comedies work. Have you heard of Archie Bunker? This show is funny, sometimes poignant, but the important thing is it makes us look at our beliefs and our core values. The young daughter is a scream and her take on "Grey Gardens" almost made me pee my pants. Yes one dad is a raging gay (at times) one is still dealing with his "gayness". but the important thing is it is about family, and all those different, eccentric, damaged family members that we all have. To me it is funny, refreshing and a joy to watch. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 14, 2012
    30
    The problem is--as is ever the case in sitcoms with no future, and this is one of them--vapid writing and characters drawn according to formula.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 12, 2012
    88
    [A] witty-but-poignant look at what it means to be a modern family.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2012
    80
    A little bit screechy, a little bit preachy, NBC's The New Normal is nonetheless the best comedy of the season--a season short on innovative comedies.