The Office : Season 8

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
The Office Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 7, 2011
    63
    James Spader, as the cryptic new CEO, is better. Everything he says sounds like a parable intended for stupid children. That's how to manage Dunder Mifflin. [15 Nov 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Dec 7, 2011
    38
    The show's been just barely treading water.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The office has been a bit of a disappoint this season. Carrel certainly provided the glue to hold the show together but I am surprised thatThe office has been a bit of a disappoint this season. Carrel certainly provided the glue to hold the show together but I am surprised that the cast of strong characters has not kept up the comic delights from other seasons. Has there been a change in the writer's stable? This seems to be an obvious answer. The show just is not funny this year, often resorting to the overly bawdy and slapstick for laughs. Looks like it may be the last season. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Writers always step it up. Cast is always stellar. And the new lead Andy Bernard (Ed Helms) works like a charm. The Office can still stand upWriters always step it up. Cast is always stellar. And the new lead Andy Bernard (Ed Helms) works like a charm. The Office can still stand up to any comedy on TV and say " f u c k you" Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This season has a lot to live up to without their main protagonist Michael Scott. The new CEO Robert California (James Spader) seems to be aThis season has a lot to live up to without their main protagonist Michael Scott. The new CEO Robert California (James Spader) seems to be a good fit, with his interesting personality. The loss of Steve Carell hit the show pretty hard, but I believe James Spader gives the show some potential. This season may not be the best, but these tweaks should make the show just as entertaining over time. Overall, not that bad of a season, and James Spader gives the show some potential down the road. One thing stands clear, Steve Carell and his character Michael, will be missed. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    As I continue to get closer to the end of this sitcom I find it is increasingly losing steam in it's 8th season. Whether or not it is directlyAs I continue to get closer to the end of this sitcom I find it is increasingly losing steam in it's 8th season. Whether or not it is directly related to the absence of Carell's Michael I cannot say, but I found this to be the weakest of all the seasons I've watched so far. It's still enjoyable and watchable but there aren't as many laughs.

    Outside of the fantastic Florida episodes the show seems to just soldier on showing viewers exactly what they expect from the show. Even the inclusion of new characters doesn't add anything really different to the mix. In a sense it is like working in an actual office. Eventually everything just sort of falls into a pattern. It's still a good sitcom, but it fails to really wow like the previous seasons have.
    Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    7
    I am a huge fan of the office, i have watched the first 4 seasons over and over, but while it is still a funny show, it seems to be dying aI am a huge fan of the office, i have watched the first 4 seasons over and over, but while it is still a funny show, it seems to be dying a bit. Its very funny at times but then at others its a little dull. I don't like Andy as the manager at all. I was hoping for somebody new to come in. Its just not as funny without Steve Carrel. I still find it a funny and enjoyable show, its just not as good as it used to be. I find myself watching reruns of the good ol' days of the office after every new episode just to remind me how good it was. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2016
    5
    My Rating: (8.8/10.0)

    I don't really know why everyone trashed this season of "The Office" to be honest. Yes, it wasn't as great as the
    My Rating: (8.8/10.0)

    I don't really know why everyone trashed this season of "The Office" to be honest. Yes, it wasn't as great as the first 7 seasons, but for what they we're up against (Losing Steve Carell), I thought they did a great job. If you have season the first 7 seasons, then I definitely think Season 8 is a no-brainer.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    2
    When getting into the 5th episode of season 8, I knew they should have ended the show after Carrel left. But know watching the ninth season,When getting into the 5th episode of season 8, I knew they should have ended the show after Carrel left. But know watching the ninth season, the series has improved read my review on their page. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.