• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Oct 3, 2013
    60
    The premiere episode of the new series, "Always and Forever," tells pretty much the same story as the backdoor pilot, only from the point of view of Elijah (not Klaus, as before). This works on some levels but stumbles on others.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 2, 2013
    58
    A not-bad spinoff that feels older than "The Vampire Diaries" and even more convoluted.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    It's "House of Cards," with a werewolf/vampire hybrid instead of a charming but ruthless Southern senator.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 2, 2013
    50
    There are so many vampires and undeads and such on television these days that this crew is going to have a hard time getting attention, especially if the show continues to be as much of a grab bag as the pilot episode is. Some serious focusing--on specific story lines, specific characters--should be the first order of business.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    The performances are over the top and enjoyable enough.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 211
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider theirI don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider their opinions to be the only ones that matter so they give creative material absolutely NO wiggle room for interpretation.

    This show is NOT vampire diaries. It's a little older, more mature, and a bit edgier. While VD is about an awful main actress and her unbelievably complicated *or some say stupid* romantic life, this is about family. Not family in the disney sense, but in the medieval "My brother is really my worst enemy, at least until we come up against someone even more vile".

    This sets a story with believable motives (if you can believe in witches, vampires, etc, or give the writers the benefit of the doubt that within this universe they exist) and interesting characters. I love me some grey (rather than black/white) antagonists. I love the motives for moving to/staying in New Orleans. Klaus is a fantastic actor. Elijah is.... kind of a god. Rebecca is obviously the weak link in the Originals, and seems to now have moved off of VD, which is both good and bad. I hated her in VD, but her presence in the Originals has me apprehensive. Yet, even here the character's motives and dialogue are improved over the dialogue (in the same week) the character has on VD.

    Let's see where this goes, though I am a bit anxious that the Originals (and by extension VD) keep finding more and more powerful baddies, at least in the Originals the motives behind Marcelle and his Devina are clouded.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of aThis is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery andI previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery and action! not a cheap spin-off at all.. Not only should the vampire diaries watch out but the entire CW network! well done on a fantastic new show. Full Review »