• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 138

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level.
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider their opinions to be the only ones that matter so they give creative material absolutely NO wiggle room for interpretation.

    This show is NOT vampire diaries. It's a little older, more mature, and a bit edgier. While VD is about an awful main actress
    and her unbelievably complicated *or some say stupid* romantic life, this is about family. Not family in the disney sense, but in the medieval "My brother is really my worst enemy, at least until we come up against someone even more vile".

    This sets a story with believable motives (if you can believe in witches, vampires, etc, or give the writers the benefit of the doubt that within this universe they exist) and interesting characters. I love me some grey (rather than black/white) antagonists. I love the motives for moving to/staying in New Orleans. Klaus is a fantastic actor. Elijah is.... kind of a god. Rebecca is obviously the weak link in the Originals, and seems to now have moved off of VD, which is both good and bad. I hated her in VD, but her presence in the Originals has me apprehensive. Yet, even here the character's motives and dialogue are improved over the dialogue (in the same week) the character has on VD.

    Let's see where this goes, though I am a bit anxious that the Originals (and by extension VD) keep finding more and more powerful baddies, at least in the Originals the motives behind Marcelle and his Devina are clouded.
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery and action! not a cheap spin-off at all.. Not only should the vampire diaries watch out but the entire CW network! well done on a fantastic new show.
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite new show. Although the pilot was not very good, the other episodes are amazing and ground breaking. I think the acting is very good and the actors could not of done a better job.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Last night's episode solidified it for me. This is truly a heightened drama I can get behind with relatable characters in a decidedly sexy setting. Far better than I expected and continues to improve each week. I know I'm out of the demo, but I am SUCKED IN. Season Pass Purchased.
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I think "The Originals" is great for a spin-off. It has some of the best characters from its mother show. Most of the actors are great actors and are very believable. I also love the fact that the antagonists and the protagonist (who was an antagonist on the Vampire Diaries) are not 100% evil or good respectively; I believe that is more like the reality of the human nature, no one is 100% evil all time and are capable of kindness sometimes, and there is always a reason to why someone is "evil" no one is born evil; and the converse is true no one is a completely good all time; so I love the accuracy of the portrayal of the human or used to be human nature. I also love the more mature plot and themes of this show compared to its mother show. However, the show did take a couple episodes to set up an interesting plot, but the plot it started setting up seems very interesting and definitely holds your attention and makes you think. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This show, in its first season is far more exciting and tuned for a much older crowd than TVD. I imagine the only bad reviews are from little 19 year old girls who don't understand raw emotion just yet and want their little fantasy land with two handsome hunk vampires to fawn over. This show, is much deeper, you need a more mature mind to comprehend the subtleties in it. It's better than TVD, as I had to force myself to get into TVD at the start because I had run out of shows I liked to watch on Netflix. And the number one thing I missed about TVD, was Klaus, and the epic love triangles going on that now seem to be fading once again. This last season of TVD was picking up for me as Stefan lost his memory and Elena started to remember why she fell in love with him, but it's just too fluffy for me in general. I will still watch it, to see how it plays out, but the show I'm really in love with now is The Originals. I hope they keep doing what they are doing with it, because right now it just sets me on fire with the amount of chemistry that is between all the characters in it. Amazing show. Thank you for giving us who are no longer 20 anymore something to enjoy that goes along with the Vampire fad right now. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I'm not a fan of the Vampire Diaries, however, love for that show is not needed to be entertained by The Originals. It has both great acting and a story line. Although, I do find one or two characters to be annoying at times that is to be expected with any show. Overall this show is amazing and Klaus, the main character, makes the show great with his myriad of emotions. So for those seeking to watch it just because you're in LOVE with the vampire diaries its not that show. It's completely separate and different so one should not expect it to be. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    WOW!!!! Even though this show is a spin-off from the Vampire Diaries, it is a much more mature, darker and edgier show with twists and turns at every minute. In my opinion this show will surpass the Vampire Diaries as it has all the best characters from the original show. I am loving it!!!
  10. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    This Series explode for me every expectations.The first time i hear that they gonna make a Spin-Off about The Original Vampires of The Vampire Diaries i was a little bit angry.One of the biggest reason i keep seeing this Series was because i really like the Storyline with the Originals and now with they gone i wasn't sure if i would see anyone of them.But then,after some 3 episodes of The Originals i can only say that this series got potential.They got really some good characters,a very good script and a amazing plot. Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    One word I would describe the Originals AMAZING! I like Vampire Diaries, but so far prefer this show over that in a heart beat! It seems like the werewolf and vampire shows and movies are so many, but the witches add a nice twist! If anyone has not given this show a chance hang in there you wont regret it! Time to go Supernatural is starting!
  12. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Not what I expected and my rating might be a little biased, but still a great show. Nowhere near The Vampire Diaries but still great in its own way. Doesn't look like it might long anyway.
  13. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A perfect of vampires in the adult world without teen drama and plenty of action and interesting storylines.It's entertains and how!! Highly recommended!! Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Any fan of the Vampire Diaries is sure to fall in love with the spin off The Originals. The spin off holds the same dramatic angst with a competitive edge. The supernatural aspect makes the audience question reality, leaving everyone guessing until the very end.
  15. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    The Originals is not the show for viewers who don't mind hanging on to lovers triangles venture clumsily deep into an abyss of desperational insanity. What? I watched though three full seasons of vaginal disease (VD) waiting for the triangle to shape up sensibly, only for a simple minded Elena Gilbert to be scatter-brained-ed-ly torn between two guys with totally opposite mentalities and values, me expecting she would make the decision long ago and that the show move on to an more sensible theme, but oh no, what do I get? Kindergarten! At the end of season three somebody knew the VD audience ran out of patience with Elena far behind the schedule of when Stefan should have. Just to cleave to Damon while Stefan gets locked in a box and sent upstream. No, not so he can come back later and drag this look alike in it to make it square for a season or two. The little interest I had left converted grew and evolved into hatred within a second. I hate all the pointless shallow romance. 

    Caroline was good but Klaus became the hope of the whole show for me. Not his romance, but his demeanor. His anger, ego, conviction, rebelliousness, power, arrogance, sarcasm, and dark humor. On top of all he's a hybrid, the most fascinating species in the supernatural world. May Klaus rise in power and trample his enemies. May Tyler not bring turbulence to the first family but find a position that keeps him a live with hope and a future not at odds against the family with the most deserving of all respects,

    the Originals!
    Collapse
  16. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    The Originals is a phenomenal show! I really love the storyline and the cast .
    Joseph Morgan (Klaus) is Brilliant !! Congrats al the team and cast !!
    Great series, I recommended!
  17. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Never really watched vampire d found it a bit childish but started watching the originals and find it fantastic. The character of klaus is wonderful you never know what he is going to do and you always hoping he will do the right thing but are left invariably disappointed but that's what fun about the show and it also helps that most of the actors are dropdead gorgeous. Favorite show at the moment would recommend it to anyone that like that genre. Can't wait to see what happens next and would love to see klaus fall slowly in love with hayley!! Expand
  18. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    What I like about this series is that the characters are well developed and the story line amounts to one thing-- The importance of family no matter what or who your are. Of course Elijah is my favorite, and always has been. I think I continued watching the VD only because the originals were in it. After a few seasons, my interest in the VD started to ween, but I kept watching hoping that more stories would revolve around the "originals" which it did. When I heard that they were to have a show of their own I was really excited. To all the viewers that gave it a low score, give it a shot a litter longer. I find the more I watch it, the better the plots seem to be evolving towards a very interesting storyline, and the acting is great and believeable. Remember what happened to Star Trek!! The networks didnt realy give it a chance to fly, and fifty years later, we are still seeing spinoffs and reruns. Does that tell you something?? I for one am going to keep watching and following the characters because I beieve they have what it takes to have a loyal following of which I am one. Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    This show is a great twist that was necessary for TVD. More interesting, more deep in the knowing the original vampires and telling their story. This was Julie Plec's best idea after TVD.
  20. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Having been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apart from the Vampire Diaries because it's not really focused on love but rather family, loyalty, and power. These characters know who they are; they're not really as conflicted as the characters in VD but rather are struggling with past demons. This show is just enchanting, captivating, edgy, and it has its rather intense moments. The Originals is a show that shouldn't be underestimated because it has a lot of surprises and it makes you connect to the characters on a personal level. Not to mention all of the awesome actors who are not only just incredibly good looking but extremely talented. Give this show a shot. Expand
  21. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    First I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and Charles Michael Davis very sexy. I am hoping he is not taken away from the show. The last story with the witches was getting a little crazy... but thats over.. I hope the stories to come will be much more suspenseful and captivating. I haven't miss an episode yet and don't plan to! Expand
  22. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion this is much better than VD, I love their over all story line, their past the presentation of it the acting, overall everything. What I love about this is it's about loyalty and family bonds that even though they seem unfixable, cannot be even broken. Instead of some vampire love triangle. I will admit vampire diaries is more developed but I just like this series better. And how these characters relate to you, how much you care about them and how much you bond with them makes a huge different in the show.*Spoiler* How, Niklaus gave his child the wooden night he gave Rebekah seriously made me sob in my living room, he kept it all those years. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  2. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Oct 3, 2013
    60
    The premiere episode of the new series, "Always and Forever," tells pretty much the same story as the backdoor pilot, only from the point of view of Elijah (not Klaus, as before). This works on some levels but stumbles on others.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    It's "House of Cards," with a werewolf/vampire hybrid instead of a charming but ruthless Southern senator.