• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 14, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 11 out of 19

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    6
    It's interesting that Larry David appears in episode one since the comparisons are unavoidable. I've never been a big Paul Reiser fan (I'm one of the few people who could take or leave "Mad About You"). I'm also upset that the hilarious Perfect Couples appears to have been elbowed out by this show but I like the premise of getting an inside look at the lives of comedians. I'd say itIt's interesting that Larry David appears in episode one since the comparisons are unavoidable. I've never been a big Paul Reiser fan (I'm one of the few people who could take or leave "Mad About You"). I'm also upset that the hilarious Perfect Couples appears to have been elbowed out by this show but I like the premise of getting an inside look at the lives of comedians. I'd say it deserves a second viewing. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    0
    The Paul Reiser Show is a complete and utter piece of crap. NBC should bring back the far superior Perfect Couples or maybe even Kath and Kim. Or better yet they should bring back both and get rid of Outsourced too. But whatever they do, they need to get rid of the crap that is The Paul Reiser Show.
  3. JBM
    Apr 17, 2011
    9
    The critic reviews of this are completely out of touch. The show was interesting and the characters funny and full of potential for development. The cast of "buddies" were all clearly drawn and likable and the plot twists had excellent comic delivery. Sure, Seinfeld it is not but it is far better than 80% of the freshmen comedies being put on the air right now. The Paul Reiser ShowThe critic reviews of this are completely out of touch. The show was interesting and the characters funny and full of potential for development. The cast of "buddies" were all clearly drawn and likable and the plot twists had excellent comic delivery. Sure, Seinfeld it is not but it is far better than 80% of the freshmen comedies being put on the air right now. The Paul Reiser Show should be given plenty of time to develop an audience. It deserves it. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    6
    After watching the first episode I came away feeling like this show had unprecedented potiential. It was one of the best piolts I've ever seen. Every joke was spot on and was hilariously acurate about coppying Curb Your Enthusiasm. However I wrote this review after watching the second episode which was very dissappointing compared to the first. The plot had lots of unoriginal aspects andAfter watching the first episode I came away feeling like this show had unprecedented potiential. It was one of the best piolts I've ever seen. Every joke was spot on and was hilariously acurate about coppying Curb Your Enthusiasm. However I wrote this review after watching the second episode which was very dissappointing compared to the first. The plot had lots of unoriginal aspects and while it did make me laugh at parts it just couldn't match up to that brilliant first episode. If the writting can return to form then I see this show being another great addition to NBC's Thursday night comedy lineup. If it can't I see it as nothing more than a waste of potential. Expand
  5. May 7, 2011
    3
    I watched the first episode of this show despite my roommate giving it a scathing review and I thought: "It really wasn't that bad". Then I watched episode 2. Paul Reiser is a reasonably funny guy and I found some of the things he was saying to be somewhat clever but the way the friends were turned into such caricatures, when the show is so based in "real" situations that there's actuallyI watched the first episode of this show despite my roommate giving it a scathing review and I thought: "It really wasn't that bad". Then I watched episode 2. Paul Reiser is a reasonably funny guy and I found some of the things he was saying to be somewhat clever but the way the friends were turned into such caricatures, when the show is so based in "real" situations that there's actually an opening monologue, made it virtually impossible to watch. On the strength of its pilot, I still gave it a 3/10 Expand
  6. May 2, 2011
    2
    Everything about this was awful. I don't think I even smiled at any point while watching the pilot, let alone actually laughing. Not really sure what NBC was thinking airing this or ordering the pilot to series.
  7. May 19, 2011
    1
    This show seemed to have potential in the pilot. After seeing the second episode I bailed entirely. A watered down version of Curb. Lazy writing and unoriginal plot conflicts like picking up the wrong kid from school. Perfect Couples was endlessly better.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 14, 2011
    38
    Reiser, a precise, nimble comic, doesn't have the gut-level energy to bully life into this contraption. It's stalled. [25 Apr 2011, p.46]
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 14, 2011
    30
    The episodes sent to critics relied on so many middle-aged-buddies tropes (the competitiveness, the family obligations, the sudden drop-ins) that watching was just a chore.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Apr 14, 2011
    33
    The Paul Reiser Show is stale and dated.