The Ricky Gervais Show : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 19, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 14, 2011
    60
    The show's only visual, literally, is cartoon animation of Gervais, Merchant and Pilkington talking. That's a bold gamble because if the words aren't grabbing the viewer, there's nothing else to hold the fort until the words get good again....So as with radio, you ignore the lulls and focus on the keepers.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 14, 2011
    60
    I'm still not sold on watching the show. I still think I might prefer to listen to the podcasts instead. The animation adds some humor but probably not enough to justify adding this series to my already overbooked TV viewing schedule.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 14, 2011
    60
    The chats are amusing, quirky and strangely obsessed with monkeys (which, granted, is always a funny topic), but the illustrations tend to overemphasize the throwaway moments, draining them of spontaneity and often of their original humor.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2011
    60
    Animation would seem to be an ideal vehicle for this, but there's only so much it can do--in part because there's no adhesive to the episodes. The three guys sit and bullshit for 20-some-odd minutes--at times entertainingly--until the program simply ends.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Murray
    Jan 14, 2011
    50
    To reduce talents as large as Gervais and Merchant to caricatures seems absurd. The vitality and enthusiasm that passes between them, and the unfettered joy implicit in that, demands a human face, and without that, HBO is missing the point, creating a show that's easy to listen to, but actually hard to watch.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 14, 2011
    42
    Pilkington's musings are sometimes amusing and always pointless, but the animation almost totally nullifies the first and intensifies the second.
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 14, 2011
    40
    Alas, HBO has come up with a dull, unimaginative interpretation of the podcast, essentially giving us animated versions of the three men sitting in a sound booth talking into microphones.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    Very, very funny. Karl Pilkington is an idiot. See through skin, SERIOUSLY!!! You know what, he may be the funniest, but without Ricky GervaisVery, very funny. Karl Pilkington is an idiot. See through skin, SERIOUSLY!!! You know what, he may be the funniest, but without Ricky Gervais & Stephen Merchant setting up the jokes then he wouldn't be funny at all. But luckily, it is a hilarious show! 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    Those of you that listened to the podcasts on-line will quickly realise that much of the material in this first series is repeated but when itThose of you that listened to the podcasts on-line will quickly realise that much of the material in this first series is repeated but when it is as funny as this who really cares?

    The only thing added by the TV show are the animations to go along with Karl Pilkington's crazy stories and ideas but these really do add the entertainment often making it even more funny. If you've never listened to Karl Pilkington you are really missing out and I would definitely recommend you pick up this animated comedy gem.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    This is great, very funny the animation does really add a lot to the podcasts and even tho i have listened to the podcasts i had no problemThis is great, very funny the animation does really add a lot to the podcasts and even tho i have listened to the podcasts i had no problem watching this in parts the animation made it even funnier. Full Review »