The River : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 7, 2012
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 92
  2. Negative: 23 out of 92

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 4, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has some very good dramatic performances, but without a good story they fall flat. The big novelty of this show is that the lead protagonist talks to "manifestations" of people from his present, or past, or characters from books. But the writing is lazy, and the plot is slowly dolled out and not that interesting. I had to give up after episode 3. Why?

    ** spoilers ***

    They put in very mediocre filler content that took up half the episode. In a series that only has 6 episodes? That's completely ridiculous. And the episode ended with "new evidence" from the victims apartment that should have been discovered immediately after the murder. I'm seriously supposed to believe that a cop is murdered, and the detectives didn't bother to look in her apartment for clues? Lazy writing at it's worst. There is no logic to the plot of this tale, or sense of mystery, and the only reason new clues are given is to drive the story forward. No thank you.
    Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    4
    I gatta say Im really disappointed . when i saw the trailer i thought it will be super awesome . there are not many horror-paranormal shows out there plus its in the great Amazon . the first episode was average but the whole story is not doing okay at all . sometime it seems too boring to see !
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    There are two sides of my reaction to 'The River': I feel that it has a great deal of potential, and that I enjoy the concept that it's as much of a quest of self-discovery as a search for a missing father, husband, and media figure. I think that the setting can be easily creepy, and the entire concept of a search has drive many a show for years....but that's the problem: As new as theThere are two sides of my reaction to 'The River': I feel that it has a great deal of potential, and that I enjoy the concept that it's as much of a quest of self-discovery as a search for a missing father, husband, and media figure. I think that the setting can be easily creepy, and the entire concept of a search has drive many a show for years....but that's the problem: As new as the idea seems, it's not. I can't sympathize with the characters, and I don't always care why they are searching for the good Doctor. There is no chemistry with certain characters there should be, and the 'Mystical force of the week' idea is getting old, quick. If this show wants to truly distinguish itself, it needs to take real chances and break away from the 'lost' mold. The potential is there...but I am afraid it's probably too late. Now that being said, I still watch it for the hope that it could evolve into the show it *could* be, not the show it is. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    I have mixed feelings about this show. I didnt like how this is shoot like "found footage" , its really not because there are times where characters are alone and theres really about 4 different angles that are switched through when theres only 2 camera men. Anyway, the premise of the show is that these people are searching for a guy who did this show in the wild and he mysteriouslyI have mixed feelings about this show. I didnt like how this is shoot like "found footage" , its really not because there are times where characters are alone and theres really about 4 different angles that are switched through when theres only 2 camera men. Anyway, the premise of the show is that these people are searching for a guy who did this show in the wild and he mysteriously disappeared, and they uncover that there was more to his appearance, supernatural things. The story isnt very strong at all and the episodes are very disconnected since theres a different supernatural occurrence or entity in the wild. Other than that the episodes are sometimes interesting, although i havent been keeping up. Overall, Its a very "Meh" show and i dont expect it to get very far Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    I wanted to like this one. In the first scene though, it's makers blew the realism big time. Mom enters a bar with a film crew, and within minutes (if not seconds), her son is opening his heart about how Daddy was never around. There's no hesitation whatsoever about describing their dysfunctional relationship on camera - They go for in-your-face camera and hidden camera at once, making theI wanted to like this one. In the first scene though, it's makers blew the realism big time. Mom enters a bar with a film crew, and within minutes (if not seconds), her son is opening his heart about how Daddy was never around. There's no hesitation whatsoever about describing their dysfunctional relationship on camera - They go for in-your-face camera and hidden camera at once, making the scene awkward and unrealistic. They could have approached the family tension in far subtler and effective ways. Instead the introduction felt like a soad opera and they lost me. I'm very glad that there's actually enough quality TV out there nowadays, that I don't have to suffer through a show like The River, waiting for scraps of redeeming dialogue. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    It's tough to grade the series on just a couple of episodes. As a fan of the Paranormal movies, I have to highlight a key difference between the franchises. Supernatural stuff happening in your bedroom (that sounds bad, actually), or in your house is truly scary. You want to think that you're safe within the four walls of your domicile. But when you change the setting the the Amazon -It's tough to grade the series on just a couple of episodes. As a fan of the Paranormal movies, I have to highlight a key difference between the franchises. Supernatural stuff happening in your bedroom (that sounds bad, actually), or in your house is truly scary. You want to think that you're safe within the four walls of your domicile. But when you change the setting the the Amazon - which is already teeming with wild animals, snakes, bugs, spiders, etc. - the added layer of ghosts and spirits is just not all that scary. Your guard is already up - what's worse, a piranha attack or getting moved 5 feet in my tent by my dead father's ghost? Tough to say. But I'll take the ghost. The actors are good, and I hope something comes of the story. I think it gets 2 more episodes. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    63
    There are real scares, and you'll certainly jump in your seat. On the other hand, who knows if such a dense plot will ever be sorted out?
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 13, 2012
    83
    The performances are good but constrained by the parameters of scary-story acting.
  3. 50
    It's reasonably clever and well acted and has strong atmosphere and a few good scares, and the concept--a found-footage voyage into the Amazon to locate a mysteriously MIA scientist--is catchy. But the format of the show may prove a dealbreaker for me.