The Sound of Music Live!

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 5, 2013
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Carrie Underwood gave a strong and passionate vocal performance (10), but the speaking parts and overall acting was lacking (6). I'll settle on an 8 for the overall. The supporting cast was perfect.
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    My close friend showed me the original and I wasn't so enthusiastic but at the end I changed my perspective and thought it was great. Plus I couldn't get the tunes out of my head. This I thought was going to be a train wreck because it was payed by a TV station. But I was wrong. Aside from some funky looking sets and some aspects forgotten from the original, it was definitely a greatMy close friend showed me the original and I wasn't so enthusiastic but at the end I changed my perspective and thought it was great. Plus I couldn't get the tunes out of my head. This I thought was going to be a train wreck because it was payed by a TV station. But I was wrong. Aside from some funky looking sets and some aspects forgotten from the original, it was definitely a great remake. I loved the songs and thought they did a pretty good job. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    The production was flawless. Carrie Underwood and the cast did an amazing job. She singed with passion, her voice is simply incredible, and she acted good.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Great singing throughout. Kudos to Carrie Underwood for her first acting try. She was, however, best when singing. Her supporting cast were much more experienced actors and it, unfortunately, showed. The annoying hiss throughout became more and more noticeable as the show went on. All in all NBC deserves credit for doing a live musical for the first time in 50 years. I look forward toGreat singing throughout. Kudos to Carrie Underwood for her first acting try. She was, however, best when singing. Her supporting cast were much more experienced actors and it, unfortunately, showed. The annoying hiss throughout became more and more noticeable as the show went on. All in all NBC deserves credit for doing a live musical for the first time in 50 years. I look forward to seeing more since the TV ratings showed very high numbers. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Kudos to Carrie and the cast for a stellar job with the Broadway version of this amazing story. Carrie's singing was phenominal, and she did a decent job on the acting for her first major acting role. So tired of the hate and bashing she is getting so unfairly. She sang in the same key as Julie Andrews- and she did it live and flawlessly. Instead of giving Carrie and cast credit for goingKudos to Carrie and the cast for a stellar job with the Broadway version of this amazing story. Carrie's singing was phenominal, and she did a decent job on the acting for her first major acting role. So tired of the hate and bashing she is getting so unfairly. She sang in the same key as Julie Andrews- and she did it live and flawlessly. Instead of giving Carrie and cast credit for going live-- they are bashed unfairly by rabid Julie Andrews fans and ignorant haters who think this is a remake of the movie- which it was not. Julie Andrews approved this and loves Carrie- so it is a shame her fans cannot be as classy as she is. Second- Julie admitted that they all lip synced and had a hundred re-shoots to make the movie perfect. Carrie had to do this LIVE- with one take. No re-dos. So under that pressure- and with no acting experience- she did amazing! Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I just watched this version of the sound of music with my kids the other night. I never saw the original, or at least not all of it anyways. I think that Carrie Underwood did an extremely good job in her portrayal of Maria. That said, I know what people are thinking, she's no Julie Andrews, no! of course she's not, no one is. However, Carrie puts her own personal flair into the songsI just watched this version of the sound of music with my kids the other night. I never saw the original, or at least not all of it anyways. I think that Carrie Underwood did an extremely good job in her portrayal of Maria. That said, I know what people are thinking, she's no Julie Andrews, no! of course she's not, no one is. However, Carrie puts her own personal flair into the songs and makes you feel a part of the struggle of the story, she brings out the emotion, the feeling and the depth of this wonderful yet timeless classic in her own unique way. I for one am looking forward to watching it again. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Dec 9, 2013
    50
    Carrie Underwood isn’t an actor and Stephen Moyer isn’t a singer and together they lacked chemistry as Maria and Captain Von Trapp..... The highpoint of the evening was Audra McDonald’s rendition of “Climb Ev’ry Mountain,” and Laura Benanti as the Baroness lit up the screen.
  2. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    It wasn’t a singalong or a sacrilege or a slavish, shameless remake. It was a live performance of a legendary musical that felt muted and a little sad.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    An ambitious--yet disappointingly stiff--staging of the original musical.