• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
The Vampire Diaries Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Stefan falls deeper in with Klaus and the Original Family, Damon and Elena grow closer.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Brilliant writing, brilliant plot, brilliant, convincing characters. The show had a good foundation in season one, and rewarded all thoseBrilliant writing, brilliant plot, brilliant, convincing characters. The show had a good foundation in season one, and rewarded all those people who didn't immediately dismiss it as "teenage vampire angst romance fiction crap". The show is much more. It's not something that deals with deep complex issues in life, but critics of this show need to relax and give it a break. Television can sometimes be about just kicking back and being taken on a ride, and this show does that marvelously. Not everything needs to be "Sophie's Choice" to be good. Lots of jaw dropping moments and adrenaline pumping goodness, anyone who watches it is in for a ride. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    I am really LOVING this show! So far I have watched all the seasons and they are ALL very entertaining and it is FULL with action! I reallyI am really LOVING this show! So far I have watched all the seasons and they are ALL very entertaining and it is FULL with action! I really hope they put on another season! Expand
  3. May 10, 2012
    10
    The show seemed good at first until i actually got the chance to see it. over all vampire diaries seems very superficial. writers are prettyThe show seemed good at first until i actually got the chance to see it. over all vampire diaries seems very superficial. writers are pretty much struggling to keep things interesting that's why they keep introducing new characters. not the best i have seen but still overall better then all the other vampire stories out there. Collapse
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The introduction of the original vampires is an interesting plot to have introduced. It paid off, the whole season worked well and was full ofThe introduction of the original vampires is an interesting plot to have introduced. It paid off, the whole season worked well and was full of exciting twists and turns. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    I am a huge fan of this show and this season is the best .i just love where the story is going . its one of the very few shows that have theI am a huge fan of this show and this season is the best .i just love where the story is going . its one of the very few shows that have the coolest was to show how things done . after 5 episode i cant wait to see what happens in the end . Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    This season you see a side of Stephan i would of loved to see leave a lot quicker. That and the new brutal vampire original Nicklaus and hisThis season you see a side of Stephan i would of loved to see leave a lot quicker. That and the new brutal vampire original Nicklaus and his vampire family. This show still follows suspense and surprises or on every corner. I True love this series. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    5
    The writers definitely keep this show interesting by introducing new characters with well-developed side stories. The strength of this seriesThe writers definitely keep this show interesting by introducing new characters with well-developed side stories. The strength of this series really lies in the supporting cast. If they had continued to focus solely on the Elena/Stefan Damon triangle, it would have gotten very boring, but introducing the Originals was a stroke of genius, and keeping other strong characters around like Tyler, Bonnie, Caroline and Alaric, definitely contributes to the success of the show. Unfortunately, in a series that's so good at character development, they fail miserably with every single minority that they cast. I'm actually a lot less bothered by shows that have no diversity than shows like Vampire Diaries that consistently introduce minority characters for the sole purpose of killing them off or "serving" other characters (e.g. Bonnie). I don't often harp on these things, but it's so striking in the Vampire Diaries, that it's a bit of a turnoff. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.