• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 670 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scott M. Gimple takes over as showrunner for the fourth season of the zombie drama.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 10, 2013
    100
    Disgusting--but in a good way.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 8, 2013
    88
    The premiere feels a bit slow coming on the heels of last season’s wild ride, but the second episode will leave you hungry for more
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Dead's latest new showrunner, Scott Gimple, carefully attends to the vast supporting cast, but the premiere doesn't skimp on the splatter or tragedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 30, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead clearly appears bigger than any of its expendable parts, and unlike those zombies, has a whole lot of life left in it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 11, 2013
    70
    The challenge with any extended zombie narrative is striking the right balance between gut-munching action and undergraduate philosophy seminar, and the first two episodes this season are pretty talky.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 11, 2013
    67
    While all of the moments when civilization retreats in the face of the apocalypse are nicely handled, the overall plot is filled with pointless mystery, simply there to obfuscate whatever the season’s real story is.
  7. Reviewed by: Gregory E. Miller
    Oct 11, 2013
    50
    The Walking Dead rewards patience and loyalty with the occasional arresting visual and edge-of-your seat intensity.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 114
  2. Negative: 30 out of 114
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    The best show on TV. Scary, dramatic, disgusting, romantic...........perfect!!!!! Don't miss it!!!!! Season 4 is gonna be amazing!!!!! Can'tThe best show on TV. Scary, dramatic, disgusting, romantic...........perfect!!!!! Don't miss it!!!!! Season 4 is gonna be amazing!!!!! Can't wait for the next episode!!! Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    This is obvious just my opinion based on the fact that i do like the series... Being a Romero Living Dead fan, this is the best Show ongoingThis is obvious just my opinion based on the fact that i do like the series... Being a Romero Living Dead fan, this is the best Show ongoing now! The best post apocalyptic scenario, the best drama!
    For those that do read the comic book since 2008 like me, know that Robert Kirkman makes us get attached to a characters and then kills it... In the TV series, some of them don't die or live the some way.
    The medium is different, so the series as a more vivid twist and putts a smile on those that by reading the comic think that they know how it will happen.
    The point is, its completely different and completely the same... And that is good!

    This is a series that looks like a movie in production. The acting isn't always brilliant, but is compelling and believable. Some low points are acceptable considering that is a ongoing series that sometimes as to fill the "meanwhiles" of the stories that matter!

    Its a complete entertaining show of emotions, that delivers what was started in the George Romero 1967 movie. The irony and sarcasm of the human relations of those living in a phobic community of some apocalyptic scenario!

    The secret of the series is the dramatization of the behavior of people in groups, with the effects of social relations and motivations interacting with and against their individual needs...
    As long the show stays true to that... I will always love it, and rated 10!
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    This season starts SLOW. Probably the slowest start of any season. However, after the introductory subplot that takes place over the firstThis season starts SLOW. Probably the slowest start of any season. However, after the introductory subplot that takes place over the first half dozen or so episodes, the story really picks up a lot. I admit the first episodes don't engage like previous seasons, the story is so much better now. If you're struggling through the beginning of the season, stick with it, it is worth it.

    Great show though, the writing and acting is spot on. In order for a survival show to work, you have to care about the survivors. Walking Dead Season 4 continues what the previous seasons expertly accomplished by making you care about and love the characters. When people die (and they do), you feel something.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rolloCómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollo o o y mi votación es de 7. Un saludo. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    I was waiting for something more from season 4. I didn't really enjoyed season 3 and all that governor storyline and now he's back again thisI was waiting for something more from season 4. I didn't really enjoyed season 3 and all that governor storyline and now he's back again this season. boring! I don't get why the ratings are so high neither, season 1 and 2 the best seasons so far: more suspense/mistery and less useless shooting around. Collapse
  6. May 3, 2014
    4
    Plodding and dull, Season 4 marks the beginning of the end for the Walking Dead. To give an example, episode 11 contains a scene where CarlPlodding and dull, Season 4 marks the beginning of the end for the Walking Dead. To give an example, episode 11 contains a scene where Carl describing his dislike of soy based products. While better shows have been cancelled, I imagine another series will be commissioned. However, if it retains the lack of quality, it shan't be worth watching Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    The Walking Dead Season 4 is the first season which does not have ANYTHING going for it, but a distant hope that maybe it might get better.The Walking Dead Season 4 is the first season which does not have ANYTHING going for it, but a distant hope that maybe it might get better. The gore isn't as good as it was; it's way too CGI and frequent and just looks like a bad video game. They've either killed off all the good characters or effectively killed off my interest in them. This show is pretty much entirely filler, and it rewards patience with nothing. I have been watching this show for 4 season (I really enjoyed season 1) and have been waiting for 2 season for it to get better, but each time it's just wasted my time. This is garbage TV disguised as a good drama. My Walking Dead journey ends here. Expand

See all 114 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.