• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1537 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    Points for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they're unreal. You really sense the writers trying to tug our heart-strings -- the manipulative plotting left me cold. It's a low-grade melodrama that fails to address any substantive social issues (unlike the excellent 28 Days Later). There was definitely some excitement in the long city sequence, in a survival-horror kind of way. If the characters weren't so hollow, and the dialogue so canned, the action sequences would have some weight behind them. Walking Dead gives the impression of a totally insincere, mass-market cash-grab made to capitalize on the zombie fad. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the number of sheep who lap up this garbage with zeal. I've come to the conclusion that the writers haven't yet let us in on the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episode discussing their feelings.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v. need better writers. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    This show blows. How did they cancel Rubicon and renew this crap? Seriously. WTF. What is so exciting about Zombies? And my zombie loving friends, say there's less than 5 min of zombies in each episode anyway. Trash.
  5. Nov 15, 2010
    3
    I had high hopes, but the characters are just too stupid to root for. The only time these slow moving zombies would be a threat is when you're trapped by them. So once they showed people having access to vehicles all danger has to be manufactured by dumb plot devices (imitating zombies to sneak by), or stupid character decisions (riding a freakin' horse). The only way this series would've worked would be with 28 Days Later fast moving zombies. Damn, it looked so cool in the previews. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Cliched, unlikable, shallow Characters (yes even the main character) that you couldn't care less about. It's a dull, done to death apocalypse drama 'Days of our Lives' style, with the same old characters doing the same old thing. Yawn. Throw in a red neck or two for some spice....and you've got yourself a whole lot of cookie cutter plot devices fit for equally cookie cutter characters. Written by a Red Neck for Red Necks. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    As an avid fan of zombie fiction, this 50's frontier melodrama pinned to our zombie pop culture trend was disappointing as a contemporary zombie genre show. The characters are 2 dimensional and most of the time seem to be quite obvious mouthpieces touting simplistic ideals of communal camping for dull old-fashioned men and women, rather than be put to good use and show a variety of contemporary people. The result is that any differences in them are scant and it's hard to invest interest in any of them individually - they're just 'the group' that are tacked on to the two male leads. For example, there is very little contrast in the female characters especially - they predominately wash clothes in the background, and react the same way to everything. It's the one character pasted onto different faces. We wouldn't be at all impressed if it was the same zombie pasted across all zombies - that would be obvious - so why drop the ball with the human characters? The males have been drawn from contrasting cardboard cliches that are often thrown together in a basic formula, where side male characters are particularly inconsistent as they are tools to bounce off and make the two main hero/s look big and smart. One example is that in the introduction of Glenn, he is cautious and very responsible. He knows not to fire weapons which will attract zombies. In a reversal of character he drives the car with an alarm blaring directly back to camp purely for fun, which led nowhere in the story except to provide another moment where the 'big dude' is smart. It's not hard to imagine that the camp rules [and say, how to operate a CB radio] would be shared knowledge in the adult group, and adhered to. There is flimsy background in the group's formation in this regard, as common sense is withheld from these apparently normal people [particularly the females] in order to ensure a well of opportunities throughout the early episodes to show the big dude 'smarts'. This is old 70's style action flick writing. Hell, Glenn had quite a long trip back to camp to think about his flip in character too. There is so much fantastic zombie literature out there which can depict multiple characters and develop them simultaneously - why use this insult to humanity? The acting is well done despite the lack of depth, the cringe-worthy dialogue and inconsistencies. If only the mostly impressive zombie make-up and FX in this show could be put to something less offensive to people who have a love of the undead, but have a soul themselves. Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    Are you people on crack? Some of the worst acting I have ever seen, including one of the worst shows. Is this show a comedy? 'What would happen if Zombies took over the world, leaving nothing but white trash behind?" Seriously. W.T.F.
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    3
    The producers of this program took the dynamic, highly believable characters from the comics and transformed them into a bunch of **** whining, vanilla-flavored douche bags. It's impossible to develop any kind of emotional investment in these display-window mannequins masquerading as actors. The writing, again unlike the comics, is bland. The show's pacing is as plodding as the zombies it depicts. I would be much more willing to forgive this show for completely diverting from the comics' story line forty-five minutes into episode one and never returning if they could at least make this original story interesting and believable. No dice on both counts. Not recommended! Expand
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    I hated this show, i expected something scary or something with action but all they did was talk for 30 minutes until i turned it off. I'll stick to watching supernatural since that show actually has some action in it and not so much f***in talking. when zombies attack you dont talk for days
  11. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I just don't get it how a show LIKE this can get 85% metascore..... The show focus too much on violence,blood, bad language and nudity... I don't care about any character. Because there are no like-able characters. Not even the protagonist. All the characters do is swearing or talking bad about women (or hitting them on 4th episode) I almost vomit when i was watching the 2nd episode , when they were taking the guts out of a zombie... DISGUSTING. And the show is not scary at all. Resident evil movies are far better than this. 0 score for me. i stopped watching after the 4th episode.. Expand
  12. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    Basically a slow version of 28 Days later without the suspense. Visually the show delivers, but after an hour and a half it's a shame they couldn't develop a character I want to tune in for next week. I'm going to keep watching for now, but my expectations are pretty low.
  13. Nov 9, 2010
    4
    Just couldn't get into the show. For starters, it's not one bit scary. Gory, yes...Scary, no. I never found gore to be particularly scary. It just makes you want to barf is all. I read somewhere that the characters are somewhat hollow. I completely agree with that assessment. The only character I've cared about so far is the horse Next movie-maker that kills a horse or a dog in a movie gets a personal visit from me and a man-sized beat down in front of his family. I think the cinematography is the best part of this show. Other than that, I found this show to be disappointingly dull. Expand
  14. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Sexist, racist and equally ridiculous. The writers and producers of this drivel want us all to know that they blatantly wish we could all go back to the dark ages. Where little missy washes clothes all day in the river, if she's not doing that she's hanging them on the line or looking after the children, while the men hunt and gather with the guns. The opening scene of the two cops hating on women was just the warm up and it's down hill from there. Pity, because I really wanted to like it too. Special effects are good but they get a zero for the stink they've served up in this day and age. Shame on you. Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    AMC's The Walking Dead is an adaptation of the comic series of the same name, about a group of survivors in the zombie apocalypse. Being a giant fan of the comics, I watched the show, and I actually didn't mind it for a couple episodes. But the farther the show goes on, the more pacing problems it gets and the more obnoxious my favorite characters would become, if they even showed up at all. Tyreese and Michonne are nowhere to be seen. Instead, we're given the generic redneck Daryl and the EXTREMELY stereotyped token black character T-Dog. Seriously. His name is T-Dog.
    The second season definitely drags on, even though it barely touches on any actual plot from the comics. They spend about 8 episodes trying to find Sophia, a girl who went missing and (Spoilers) is a zombie. The sad part is Sophia is alive and well in the comics, nothing bad actually happens to her. The same is to be said with Shane's death, which was much more emotional in the comics, considering Carl is the one who actually kills human Shane to save his father's life. The choice to instead have Rick stab Shane was a waste of good material.
    The more and more I watch this show, the more and more I find myself no longer caring about the characters. They do dumb things, and someone dies. And I don't care. They aren't the characters I love anymore. They're annoying whiny people. Eventually, you'll find yourself rooting for the zombies.
    Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    I was extremely excited about this series, as I love the comics and followed them from the very start. After Season 1 I was still optimistic even though many episodes dragged in places, acting and storywise it was lackluster in my opinion. Season 2 started off with a bang, the first episode had a nice mix of action and drama. But sadly it's gone downhill extremely fast, to the point where it's basically on the level of a bad daytime soap opera with a zombie in it sometimes. I don't know how else to describe the travesty it's become. I'm very surprised by the praise and ratings this series has gotten, but I think the excellent production values will only carry it so far. I've already decided to stop watching. Expand
  17. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    Disappointing! I liked the show until it went WAY off track from the comics. I understand the show cannot and should not follow the comics exactly, but the comics are popular for a reason. Killing off some of the most crucial, interesting characters while keeping others that barely utter a sentence is just poor writing. The zombies are the only character that have any real motivation and consistently follow through with it. Talk about ruining a good thing. These writers are simply going for easy shock value making the show just as crap as the other shows soon to be canceled. Good riddance. Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    The first week we were all so excited to see the show so we sat down to watch it and at the end of the hour we were all so disappointed. the show was so slow it had felt like we had been watching for ten hours, we even gave the show a second chance so we watched the second week and by the end of the hour we had decided this was the worst show in history so by the third week we were flipping through channels and couldn't find anything to watch and we decided that we would get a good laugh by watching once again. Its slow, has bad acting and everything is so predictable Expand
  19. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    Everything just feels vanilla. It's watchable show but I've two major problems with it. One is the writing isn't good enough to tell the kind of story they are trying to tell. In so much that they are trying to tell a story about the psychological effects of the zombies on the survivors, as much as are just doing an all out zombie fest, and it doesn't work because they are going for the best of both worlds. The acting isn't good enough to support the former either, with the acception of Andrew Lincoln. On that note watching Sarah Wayne Callies three eye-face expressions is painful.

    The second major problem I have with this season of the show is that it's not scary. At all.

    Like I said though, it's watchable in a 'sit round having a few beers with friends' way I guess.
    Expand
  20. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    How does this get a user rate of 8.4? Cool zombies, good special effects in that respect, but but but! Clunkily written pure melodrama with one-dimensional STUPID characters that we don't care about. Look up over-acting and you'll see a picture of the crazy rednecks and the roided up dude. Why the hell are they camping up on a hill surrounded by deep forest? Anyone think of 'establishing a perimeter'? Get to work building trenches and walls, people! My daughter and I were chanting "Zombies, Zombies" for minutes on end as we endured the drawn out scenes where the zombie-like non-zombies expressed their feelings. Collapse
  21. Mar 13, 2013
    3
    I find myself willing over and over for the series to improve, but it always manages to disappoint. The pilot promises just enough to make me watch another couple of episodes, for a couple of terrific spectacle sequences in downtown Atlanta give the series an epic sense of scale. Masterful cinematography, cg, makeup, and choreography aside, however, Walking Dead is lackluster. The plot is contrived, characters often behave with complete disregard for common sense, the writing is poor, and every single female character is frustratingly weak and useless. I find myself wishing the protagonist would die- perhaps that way some genuinely captivating grit could find its way into a series that despite its physical blood and gore, is just a little bit too morally and interpersonally clean and pretty to take any real satisfying risks. Expand
  22. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    zOMG Walking Bad is a epic RAWR! zombiez and de bacon and like epic zombie bacons are like SO epic. This epic show is like SO epically in tune with my young generation's epic aesthetic legacy right meow meng. I feel so in tune with my generation because I watch this show about zombies right meow. Epic zomby apocolips is like so comin dudes. If you don't like Walking Bad than you are incompetent. If you don't think this is the best tv show of the decade you don't understand the magnitude of important uniquely intellectual epic zombiez symbolizm right meow. You will be proven wrong as time passes and people look back on this as profoundly prophetically epic and edgy. Watching Walking Bad and enjoying it is tantamount to moral and intellectual truth. Walking Bad is pure swag so don't be critical of it in any way or you will be considered an uncultured idiot. I want to watch it again right meow YOLO K thx bai Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's better than Resident Evil: Afterlife but that's not a ringing endorsement. The 2nd episode was unbelievable and inconsistent in many ways, plus you can almost predict what the next few episodes are going to "reveal" without looking at any trailers - the sheriff's sidekick and wife were bumping uglies before the apocalypse but the cop will still be clueless a while longer while wife racked with guilt. Racist bully blackmail's cop's buddy and wife into getting back at cop in exchange for keeping quiet about their affair (which bully somehow caught wind of); cop's buddy happy to play along and off cop to keep alpha male position and his woman. Noble black father and son from 1st episode show up and set things right to the gratitude of copy. Fat black guy turns out to be a jerk after all so white viewers are retrospectively more sympathetic with racist bully's beat down of him in 2nd episode while smugly dismissing any white guilt.

    1. The 2 new black characters looked too polished which my husband and I found annoying. Sista looked like she just got her hair permed, curled and edged, then make-up just ruffled it a bit before the director shouted "Action!" while brother-man just shaved his head and beard. OK, maybe his character is bald, whatever. Everyone else looked a lot more like they been in hell for several weeks, fighting for their lives. I'm here to tell you as a black woman your hair would *never* look that put together after several weeks of no chemical treatments, living out of a tent with no running water or electricity to waste on curling irons and the like. She should look more like the little boy in the first episode, for sure.
    2. The whole racial tension thing felt contrived - that whole score would have been settled long before the cop showed up, one way or another. How it was settled felt...patronizing.
    3. The shooting sequence of those scenes was also painfully obvious - first the black guy is beaten a bloody pulp on the roof and can barely walk (leaning on a wall with his cap still firmly on his head), then he's moving very quickly (san cap) in the basement with everyone else, then in the next roof scene he's back in exact same position, cap on his head, licking his wounds. I almost thought the guy in the basement was his twin or something. wtf?
    4. The white racist/bully being left on the roof with tools accidentally dropped that would help free him in the next episode or so? *groan*
    5. Finally, it was amazing how the zombies would miraculously break/leap through barriers when the plot called to up the action quotient.

    The second episode took all the wind out of this series for me. I'm shocked AMC was so quick to renew for a second season (Rubicon at least kept you guessing, at it's excruciatingly slow pace). I'll give it one more week and if doesn't improve I'm bailing.

    Though I'm rather tepid on this new series, have fun watching and I wish it luck!
    Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2010
    2
    This show sucks. The first couple episodes were okay, but it has been downhill from there. The show's attempts at character development are soo weak. And there are so many moments that bore me to tears. Like the overly long scene where husband and wife are reunited and cuddling in the tent, and the never-ending scene where one sister mourns the death of the other. Keep it moving guys. No one cares about these people. We want to see a plot, we want to see action, and we want to keep it moving. These abundant and overly long scene edits are obviously designed to take up time, save money, and make up for the lack of plot developing scenes. Boring. Great to hear that all the writers from season one have been canned, but the real problem is a lack of planning and/or no real script. I'm tuning out. Expand
  25. Dec 31, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the first program you have a man wake up in an abandoned hospital with no living people, but a few dead people walking around. He manages to make it home to find his wife and kid missing, but signs they might still be alive. There's your set-up. What do you do to keep up the excitement? I'll tell you what you don't do. You don't then show the wife and kid safe and sound at a campground outside of town.

    Then our cop hero has to move along but the only vehicle he can find is a horse. That's exciting, because a horse leaves him vulnerable to zombies and this sets up an exciting chase. Except the writers decide, "to hell with an exciting chase, let's kill the horse immediately and have the guy hole up in an impenetrable armoured tank."

    I was looking forward to this series, but the acting isn't particularly good, is undermined by bad writing and both are further hobbled by a complete lack of suspense or tension. The characters are flat, introducing their one or two traits in their first moments (I'm a racist, and violent) and rest limply there, the only attempt at earning our interest is by having them share back-in-the-day stories; the characters chew over exposition instead of having conversations and seem largely unimpressed by the massive death around them. But where the show really fails is the inability to hold any tension. There are examples of this in every episode I've watched any bit of. I'm kind of mystified by the popularity of this program. After watching the premier and bits of the next two or three shows I was out of patience for it.
    Expand
  26. Feb 14, 2011
    0
    If any body read the comics, they would be furious. At least I was. For one not all the characters were in there and some you had all wrong. The comic is bout how the characters feel, bond and act in a situation of a zombie attack. It focuses on how people can be so cruel and how far people will go to keep their loved ones alive. I don't know how they are going to pull off season 2- its going way to far from the comic story line. What i like most about the comic is that it doesn't focus much on the government in the begining (unlike the tv show). They ruined it. They should stop, sit down and read the comic before making a series of it. If they would of just followed the comic, I think it would be better in every way! Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2011
    4
    started out really promising for first few episodes, but bad choice of main character, and the timing is all out of sync, it seems too fast as portrayed, but the story drags its heels, and the characters all have way too much to say about nothing to feel realistic in that sortof situation.
  28. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A real tragedy... There isn't any redeeming value in this show. ALL and I mean all great character interaction in the book is missing. When i read the comic i felt to know all these characters, you DIDN'T want anything to happen to them. When someone died it was a gut wrenching experience. With the show there is NO character development and with frank d. No longer in the directors chair, it seems these writers want to make this show their own. That idea itself is wrong on so many levels. Rick is made out to be a bumbling idiot and don't forget his horribly evil wife that no one likes. WE ARE SUPPOSED TO CARE ABOUT THESE PEOPLE. I keep watching only to see who dies, obviously its what the masses are doing. Look at some of the positive reviews here. One person compared it to resident evil?!?? Come on... Expand
  29. May 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im shocked this tv show has such a score (still).
    Yesterday i watched season 1 completely with a friend.
    Today ive watched half of season 2, and now im really disappointed.
    The first 2 episodes were great, third was still very good, four started crumbling already because there was too much campsite talk, 5 was a catastrophe to me (whinywhinywhiny). 6 was interesting in terms of the plot. But some of the characters had already started to get on my nerves. And i mean laurie and shane, which are in my eyes quite important for the show.

    Well, season 2 really disappointed me. First episode was okay. And then during episode 2, it fell all apart. The characters, the story. It was stupid bull****. They are FORCING problems. This stupid little girl which CANT WAIT! NEVER! It has survived three days alone in a forest with zombies, thats simply unrealistic in the means of survival, and a survival horror shouldnt stress the logics of survival too hard. There are problems, and problems, and why? Because the characters seem to be TOO STUPID TO UNDERSTAND THE WORDS "DONT FIRE"!!!!
    How can this adult woman Andrea shoot a longrange shot on ONE ZOMBIE when HER FRIENDS ARE STANDING IN FRONT OF IT! No, this is not bearable. Really, the characters are TOO flawed, they are RETARDED!

    I had hopes to have a new good tv show. I abandoned TV for years now, because there is nothing which caught my eye. Well, this is a genre i like, so i gave it a try and the cinematography is good, still. But all these stupid actions from the characters which unnecessarily worsen their situation, this whole stupid relationship between shane and laurie and rick, thats BS!

    I hope they can convince with the second half of the season, but these 6 episodes have shown a certain degree of obvious reduction of costs for the bad of quality and the good of profit. I hate it, and i wont ever watch it on tv again, unless they improve, because im not supporting such behaviour towards the customer, who trusted them because of the first episodes, and now his hope for better quality is what they build, that the customer will watch it in hope of improvement, but nothing will ever improve, im pretty sure.
    Expand
  30. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    If you've seen movies such as Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days/Weeks later, Land of the Dead or even the Resident Evil series you'll find nothing new here. On top of that you've got boring characters doing stupid things and zombies that appear to have script adjusted speed. Many times characters say don't do X and then the next minute do X with predictable results.
    In short this is a series with
    zombies, written by zombies for zombies. Give it a miss, things get worse in series 2. [3/10] Expand
  31. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Boring. How the hell is a zombie story boring? Because they spend too much time developing characters I care nothing about. Let me come clean though. When, in the very first episode, they ripped off the plot of 28 days later, I rolled my eyes, and knew I was in for some B.S. because I didn't think 28 days later was particularly good (but it was at least monumentally better than 28 Months Later...). The more you watch it, the more you realize the amount of "homage" they pay to every single zombie flick that came before, and you wonder if their winking, or just giving the middle finger to those writers of far better material. Zombie stories aren't fine literature, ever. They evoke primal fear, not intellectual, so when you try to engage the viewer on any level higher than what their amygdala can process, you no longer have a zombie movie/show, you have a show that's trying too hard, and missing the mark terribly. Frankly I'd rather watch something like "Night of the Comet" than this snore fest. Boooooooooo! Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    Ok, I take it back. The second episode is lots better. I am glad I gave it a try. I like that there is a woman with a brain (the African American woman who worked for the zoning department.)
  33. Apr 26, 2011
    4
    The first episode was incredible. Tense, emotional, scary. From there, the series went downhill, and quick. The characters from the comic have been needlessly streamlined in the transition to television, losing much of the subtlety that made the comic so damn good. And with one half-exception, the new characters are just one-note cliches. The action is too slow-moving, without character development to pick up the dramatic slack. Still, the production values are great, with the zombies being particularly well done. I'm hoping that the second season, with a new writing staff, will remedy the problems I had with the first. In any case, I liked what they tried to do well enough that I'm willing to give season 2 a shot. Expand
  34. Mar 26, 2012
    1
    I accidently gave a 10 review whilst ranting about it, here's a 1 to level it up. Series 1 good, Series 2, bloody awful. In the mould of prison break. The Americans can knock out some really good stuff, then they see the $$$ signs and grind out absolute tripe until the ratings drop and they bin it.

    The wire structure had integrity, but not many do.
  35. May 7, 2012
    2
    Another post Apocalyptic series. Nothing original or creative in this series. I still watch the series due to its story but its just another one next to the others. If you watched Resident Evil before, then this is like the TV series of it. The Walking Dead is a decent show but the hype is ridiculous.
  36. Mar 26, 2013
    1
    I watched the pilot, and I loved it. It had suspense and it felt post apocalyptic and you think "What the hell went on here!?" When you see burnt out cars, rotting corpses and ruined helicopters.
    Next episode It went from Fringe standards all the way down to Falling Skies standard. The writing & acting is just terrible, I felt like I was watching some low budget slasher film. And the
    visuals and production values of the entire show look terrible and rushed, like I said, B class. The CDC explosion looked like it was done by Asylum (seriously? can't use practical effects?) and the blood splatter mostly consist of crappy, cartoonish green screened blood. A lot of potential has been missed with this completely crap fest, seriously don't understand how it has gotten universal acclaim with both critics & users. Expand
  37. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has fallen far from where it started. the first season was well done, actually creating tension within the group led by Rick with zombies! Now the show has devolved into "Days of our Lives" zombie edition with nothing but walking, talking, and petty drama issues that are basically, "he did it, no he did it, no she did it." It's upsetting to see the zombies have taken a complete backseat to these kind of dilemmas. When watching an episode you have a 10% a zombie will pose an actual threat. Otherwise back to the petty squabbles of humanity. I would understand if they had the drama like the first season with Merle and T-Dog but keep the zombies as the forefront of the problem. The stupid governor and his village has carried on with absolutely nothing happening in each episode for far too long. The writers even managed to make me hate basically all the characters except for Daryl and Merle (and he died when they were finally giving him some back story). I'm sorry but I was glad when Lori died (she always screwed something up and never watched Carl), I hate Carl (he is the reason Dale died), Hershel is pretty cool (he's just Santa without a foot), Rick doesn't really seem to know what's going on anymore, Michonne has potential but I started to dislike her after that dumb picture/cat scene she had with Carl. In the previously mentioned cat/picture scene I was hopeful they were bringing Morgan (that was his name right?) back from the first season because I really liked his character. He's just coocoo for cocopoofs though because his son died (it is a tragedy but I didn't like where they left him personally). They should stick to a "zombie" show that actually has zombies and not people just at each other with nothing ever happening in any of the episodes. Waste of time. Expand
  38. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    The setting of the show is amazing the world is coming to an end and humanity is on the verge of returning to the Stone Age and becoming an agrarian economy. Zombies are decimating the world population I mean what was not to like!
    What surprised me was how the writers of the show managed to achieve the feat of making every character so unlikeable and pedestrian and as a consequence the
    series boring. The show fails remarkably in creating a dystopia. The post-apocalyptic vision the show captures is so mundane it was a struggle for me to sit through the six episodes of Season 1. The only good bits were the terrific visual effects.
    I’m going to fast forward to Season 3 and set up a scene for you A car is zipping across what is a deserted highway, brown leaves strewn on the road, you can tell the place has seen its share of carnage. One of the occupants of the car is our Hero, Rick Grimes. As the car races across the Road a solitary young man carrying a huge backpack appears and at first frantically urges the car to stop then begs and pleads with them to take pity on him and help him. There isn’t even a discussion by the occupants whether they should stop or not they just keep going. On the way back they cross the same patch of the Road. You can see there’s fresh blood on the gravel guts sprayed across the tarmac. There’s a dead body on the road it’s the same guy who wanted to be rescued desperately. The car crosses the Dead body or what’s left of it and as if as an afterthought the driver brings the car to a halt few metres ahead and pauses, then puts the car in reverse it comes to a stop next to the back pack. Somebody picks it up and they’r on their way again. Not a word is exchanged during all this. After all what is there to be said, characters are past debating the morality of such actions self-preservation now precedes everything and even 10 year old boys do horrible things not out of malice but out of necessity. And it’s not just Zombies that Humanity has to contend with it’s the danger they pose each other too, fighting over what are now quickly depleting resources. It’s moments like these that are flat our brilliant and for once you do believe the apocalypse is upon our planet. The problem is scenes such are these aren’t too frequent and that I believe is what’s now keeping it from becoming a cinematic achievement, but the show has improved considerably since early days and I believe now finally it’s hands down the best series ever created against the backdrop of a post-apocalyptic earth. Random thought would have been great to see someone adapt ‘World War Z’ into a TV series I know it is not going to happen. The movie Trilogy will be great 6- 8 hours of entertainment nonetheless, delivered over a course of three years.
    I felt nothing for the characters in ‘The Walking Dead’ even mid-way through season 2 and stopped watching after the 5th episode. But I’m glad I gave it another chance last week (couldn’t sleep, decided I’d watch one more episode and perhaps see why the US of A was so fixated on how amazing it really was, I ended up watching right through to the end of Season 3). It gets better during the latter half of the second season and the third season is when the show finally sets out to become what is should have been in the first place a chilling tale of survival on a doomed planet (YES, I took the trouble to think real hard and come up with the most hackneyed cliché to describe it). Like me, if you hated the show early on even though you were a fan of the genre and wanted to like the show, I’d recommend you give it another shot and stay with it a while you will not be disappointed unless you don’t like Zombie genre all together, if that is the case then I doubt you’ll find any merit at all in this tale.
    I can’t wait to see where they’ll be taking it come Season 4 because NO, I don’t read comic books so I don’t know what the story has in store for us.
    Expand
  39. Jul 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That series sucks. Why? The story is so artificial and cliche.

    - First at episode 2, just when they are passing the walkers starts rain. Just when cant rain. You watch 20 episodies, and never rain!
    - At episode 4, the fight with the others is without reason, is stupid. At same episode the final is so dramatic too. The walkers are more slow than my grandmother, then the girls stop and waits to be bitten. She dont defend her self, and start scream after bite.

    - Mille cut of his hand to escape? Oh my god, that was so original! I doubt that a saw can cut off a hand but cant cut the link of the handcuff.

    - Most episodes have much pointless drama, like a soap opera. Is note a action series, is a drama novel.

    - The car stolen, the sport one. Is that true, just go there and steal? The gas is ok? The batteries too?

    To me, after play last of us, stories like that is pointless and artificial. Like i said, is a dramatic novel for ladies, a soap.
    Expand
  40. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    Not as much of a let-down as a show like Dexter sinceThe Walking Dead is more of a steady uniform malaise that has no heights to fall from. It's a sugary rush that leaves you empty though you'll probably notice a lingering dissatisfaction from watching the series long after you're done. There are no real characters, no cohesive viewpoints, no real theme–all empty calories. If you're in for great special effects and cheap thrills and don't want to wrestle with big ideas or emotional weight stemming from what great characters and great writing in a series can bring you, then you will be rewarded by watching this series. Expand
  41. LMW
    Jun 10, 2012
    4
    Boring, plainly stupid and bleak TV series. Actors playing arouse nothing but gapes. Their so called "problems" are meaningless - how can they care about fishing when their world is overrun by zombies? Moreover, they do not know what the word respect means - when Dr. Edwin Jenner helps them to escape their sealed fate, how did most of characters pay him back? That is right, by accusing him in not providing a safe heaven for them. Can you believe that? I can't. And I couldn't for the whole first season. No emotions, no empathy, no drama. Did someone die? Who cares. And, by the way, why the heck all actors have clean and shiny hair even after a big fight or long trip? That looks really strange in a grim, bloody and "realistic" movie. Expand
  42. Oct 31, 2013
    3
    It's plain and simple. Very boring. Some horrible acting and terrible subplots really hurt the show. It's also nothing like the comic, which are honestly far superior. It gets 3 points for having good special effects.
  43. Oct 13, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. there is no logic in the series, the characters are stupid, just irritate their illogical behavior. There is no common sense, the actions of the survivors contradicting themselves. 1 of only 10 in the first series of the first season. Expand
  44. Oct 9, 2013
    3
    Post Apocalyptic Zombies in a Television series. It's original, and what's not to like? Well, for starters, how about, the characters. Yes, the characters. The cast of the Walking Dead is so SO unlikable that after somehow managing to struggle through the first season before I gave up on it, I was rooting for the zombies. Women like this show because of Daryl, who is a good looking actor, but a horrible character, which I guess doesn't matter. At this point, I believe the reason the Walking Dead has becoming so popular among TV watchers is for the following few reasons, 1. Other people you know watch it and you want to talk about it with them, 2. It's not afraid to kill off cast members (thank god), 3. It has Zombies, and 4. It has zombies. I challenge you to tell me, in more than 5 words what about The Walking Dead is actually deserving of positive reviews. Lets talk about the "action" element of the show. How does one kill an enemy that doesn't posses the brain power to fight back? Well... you shoot it, or you chop it's head off while it stands there. Very static. How do zombies kill you? They outnumber you. Again, static. What zombie films have that make them good, the walking dead does not. By the end of the first season, we have no idea where they came from, and the entire show is just watching unlikable characters survive and piss each other off, including the audience. 3 Stars. Barely. Expand
  45. Oct 15, 2013
    2
    I try really hard to like this show, since it has always gotten such good reviews and it's actually so popular, another reason for me trying is because I've always liked zombies, so this is a first. I find it to be one the worst tv shows I've watched, the plot is dull, the acting isn't the best and I definitely believe this show is highly overrated. It has gotten to the point of annoyance. I hate it. Expand
  46. Feb 17, 2014
    2
    When I see "critically acclaimed" and then see 3 seasons of emptiness with zombies, I have to wonder, who are this critics...

    The Walking Dead is probably one of the worst series I managed to keep watching, why? Because it has zombies and everyone likes a survivalist zombie story, so I keep watching it hoping that it will improve, but then I saw the first episode of season 4, and
    nothing changed.

    Characters:
    They don't look like people, they look like zombies, they are that empty, the best characters are those who fall into the cliche category, because at least they are something.

    Nonsense:
    The amount of nonsense is just staggering. The decisions of the group are so stupid and ridiculous it makes me facepalm constantly. An example, character X goes on a supply run which is expected to last a day, character Y for absolutely no reason decides that after 1 hour, 1 hour!!! that someone should go see if character X is alright, OMG! The problem is that this nonsense is prevalent through all the seasons.

    Learning Curve:
    The characters have no learning curve, they are just as stupid as they were in the very first episode, they keep doing the most ridiculous mistakes over and over again.

    More nonsense:
    The world is almost empty of survivors, yet, they can't find a damn good car, they keep using 70's cars instead of, I don't know... maybe some bad ass HUMV? Maybe a truck? Anything that isn't the worst possible choice please?

    And more nonsense:
    Yes let's use old bolt action rifles, because in the USA, one of the most armed countries in the world, there's no better solutions, national guard is gone, everything is gone, but there's no good weapons, the cookie monster took them away and ate them. In all fairness this improved in the last season.

    Zombies:
    The slowest and dumbest zombies ever made, its just amazing how the characters over-complicate everything. And then there's the magic zombies who all of a sudden show up from nowhere.

    And even more nonsense:
    You have an entire forest, where there's a small pack of zombies moving through. You are "cloaked" from them, they can't smell you and they are going the same route as you are. Apparently there's two choices, you go through any other forest path, or you go into the middle of the horde and go with them. What would you chose? Be in the middle of a horde of flesh eating monsters or not? The characters in this series seem to think that being in the center of the horde is the most viable and sane choice.

    This series really took a new step into the realm of silliness, there's no story, no characters, no learning, no evolution, no horror, no fear, no empathy, absolutely no realism at all. There's very little to like, acting is ok, scenarios are fine, and that's pretty much it.
    Expand
  47. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    How the Walking Dead got an 84 is baffling to me. The show is bland and dumb. You dont give a flying **** about any of the characters. And the plot line is just stupid. I think people like this show just because it has zombies in it. I've asked many people what they like about this show, and I have not heard one that was not "Cuz it's badass," or "Zombies man, totally rad." The first season was ok, but after that they stopped developing a plot. The past three seasons have just been the group finding a new place to stay for the season (i.e. the farm, the prison), gaining and loosing characters, and then finally have a big confrontation at the end of the season (i.e. the war, the raid on the farm). I could go on for hours about all of the dumb stuff in this show, but you get the point. Just go watch Breaking Bad, or something else Expand
  48. Mar 11, 2014
    1
    A very bad one, extremely slow history, you will see 1 or 2 things happen in every episode i give it a point because the production, the rest is garbage.
  49. Apr 2, 2014
    2
    This is the show I wanted so bad to love. I watched the entire first season waiting for things to get interesting. Then I was told that it gets better and to keep watching. So I watched Season 2. Now I'm being told Season 3 is "even better!" No thanks. The acting is terrible, the writing wooden, and the plot bumbles from one big reveal to another, each trying harder than the last to shock me into caring. But I don't.

    If you're looking for shocking moments that actually matter, try Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad. If you want horror, try Hannibal or early seasons of Supernatural. If you want zombies, just watch Night of the Living Dead or Dawn of the Dead. Don't want this.
    Expand
  50. Apr 11, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having a few horrifyingly disturbing zombie scenes sprinkled through the show is enough to satisfy some people, but not me. I have absolutely no sympathy with any of the characters. Each and every one of them is exactly what you would expect from an apocalypse show. There are no interesting situations. It's simply "Oh, no! Walkers are coming now!" and then "Oh, no! MORE walkers!" That gets boring fast. I'm no the kind of person who shrieks with excitement every time I see a jump-scare. Jump-scares are simple and boring.

    Why am I supposed to care about any of them? They've given me nothing to care about! We don't know anything about them, other than they're scared of zombies. They need to go further into their past to interest me. The plot is very simple and easily explained. I could explain the entire episode in a few seconds because it's that simple. It's like this, "Oh, the stupid little girl ran into the woods because she was being chased by a walker. And now they spent the next three episodes looking for her." COME ON! That's boring! Sometimes NOTHING happens in five or so episodes.

    They have lots of random unfortunate accidents, like the little boy getting shot. And the reason those accidents are boring is that you KNOW that the kid's going to survive. I mean, come on! There is no possible way they could kill a kid in the show. No way. It's a simple shocker to get unintelligent people to go "OH, NO! NOT LI'L BILLY!"

    Furthermore, the plot is not directed toward one goal. It's so depressing because the survivors have nothing to live for other than for the sake of living. They need to have some main goal they're working toward. Not just "Well, I sure hope we don't die tomorrow!"

    Apocalyptic shows are so easy to make "interesting." Just throw a few zombies in and people say "THIS SHOW IS SO INTENSE!" No, it's not. A good show will make you think "I have no idea what I would do in this situation." A good show puts YOU in the shoes of the characters.

    Also the acting is pretty bad. Not horrible, but pretty bad. Don't confuse a sad character with a character with depth. Being somber doesn't make you deep. It means you're sad. Period.

    But I will say they did a good job with the zombies. They're pretty cool, and it is entertaining to watch people get eaten by zombies, but that alone is not enough to make a show worthwhile.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive