• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1538 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a fan of the horror genre but was pretty impressed by this show. Well acted, well-directed, well-written but could afford to move along at a little bit faster pace. More gore than I think I've ever seen on a basic cable show too. Looking forward to upcoming episodes and hope they utilize the twists and turns in the writing that AMC shows are known for.
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    Finally, a weekly TV series that gives me my much needed zombie fix. AMC has totally knocked it out of the park with this original series. It's not just about zombies, and escaping from zombies, and the ultimate shootout in the end where one or two characters manage to live. This series is about how life changes in the zombie apocalypse. It's about the characters, and their unique perspective on life (and death), and even though the characters are so different they are truly very similar. This is an amazing show that brings real life and real characters to an otherwise quirky horror genre. Great show AMC, please just go ahead and renew the contracts and bring us seasons 3, 4, and 5. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  4. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The Walking Dead is not spoiled with Hollywood's glamorous charm. This show is a gritty, nasty zombie experience that will turn you into the said species as you watch the story unfold on your devil box.
  5. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Wonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been this excited about any TV show since Lost. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    It definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only I didn't have to wait... Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Who wouldn't want to watch 28 Days Later as a series on TV? As I waited for the show, I really hoped they would make it work, because a large dose of well-done zombies is hard to get. We have 6 episodes this season, which equates to about 3 movies. Well done.
  9. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  10. BMF
    Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Holy **** this shows great its the only show I actually plan to watch every week I hope it doesnt get cancelled prematurely like other excellent series.
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    I have never watched a Zombie movie since "Night Of The Living Dead." I visited "Sean Of The Dead" briefly and had decided that this genre is strictly for teens and those with too much free time on their hands. I'm hooked on this one though. It's a grown up survivor movie with Zombies thrown in. The script is smart, the actors are all low profile enough to share the spotlight and not detract from each other's characters, and the Director is Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption; The Green Mile.) And it has Sarah Wayne Callies a fellow alumni of mine (about 36 years apart), the cutie pie Doc of "Prison Break." What I love about this series is that it never disappoints, never lags, never forgets it's main purpose: to show movie making at it's most edgily entertaining. What I get from watching this is the same thing I got from watching "Alien" the first time: transportation to another under consciousness land of Hades. Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    AMC Originals is damn good TV and I can see this one going very far. I saw the first episode on Halloween and I had no idea it was a pilot to a new series. What a surprise! That was so cool - always been a big fan of the zombie movies. I hope that they can go the distance with such a complicated premise for a show. So far with only a few episodes they're off to an amazing start.
  13. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    A drama series based on the zombie apocalypse sound entertaining, but the dialog in 'The Walking Dead' just seems like it was written by amateurs (I caught myself rolling my eyes a lot) and the incredibly slow pace makes 90 minutes feel like forever. The direction, make-up, design, etc are all pretty good... it's the dialog, or maybe the execution of the dialog that drags this show down. I watched Episode 1 twice (on Halloween, for maximized affect) to see if maybe I was missing something, but the second go-around was more boring than the first. It's worth watching if you like zombies and there's nothing else on, but it definitely won't be on my DVR. Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I just don't get it how a show LIKE this can get 85% metascore..... The show focus too much on violence,blood, bad language and nudity... I don't care about any character. Because there are no like-able characters. Not even the protagonist. All the characters do is swearing or talking bad about women (or hitting them on 4th episode) I almost vomit when i was watching the 2nd episode , when they were taking the guts out of a zombie... DISGUSTING. And the show is not scary at all. Resident evil movies are far better than this. 0 score for me. i stopped watching after the 4th episode.. Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  16. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Absolute solid 10! If I could give it an 11 I would. This was top flight all the way, everything a zombie story should be. The effects are totally movie quality. The characters are interesting and I cared deeply for them. The sense of foreboding, the sudden fierce action sequences, EVERYTHING about this screamed "we loved making this", and it showed. GREAT first episode, if the rest of the series is this good I will be in heaven. Makes me want to dig up my old comics and reread these. if you haven't read the comics this was based on, you are missing out. Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  18. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Holy Sh** dude!!! This is fantastic. I could say more about this "TV SHOW" but i think that FrozenStar90 has already said it all, so if you can't make up your mind about watching this series PLEASE for pity sake do watch it because it will blow you away, have you glued to the couch and many more. Peace ;)
  19. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull any punches here, ie: it's as bloody and gory as any zombie flick worth noting. So if you are interested in a series that has the time to really connect you to the characters ( and by the looks of it, they plan to ), and are any kind of a zombie flick fan, this is what you've been waiting for. I for one, truly cannot wait to see more. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! You should certainly watch this show. Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    The walking dead is a series that has lots of drama, zombies, and some social commentary. It also focueses on he human spirit to a degree, highlighting the trails that many of us would face in a survival situation. It also has moments of genius (i.e. how characters solve problems in unconventional ways). However, the shows loses steam with it's long, drawn out season opener, which took far too long to establish characters and setting. It also loses steam from having too many instances of characters having long winded conversations with each other regarding nothing. It's not a good sign when you have to fast forward through the episode to get to good parts.

    Overall, this is pretty good show; albeit, it has it's drawbacks.
    Expand
  22. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    I was extremely excited about this series, as I love the comics and followed them from the very start. After Season 1 I was still optimistic even though many episodes dragged in places, acting and storywise it was lackluster in my opinion. Season 2 started off with a bang, the first episode had a nice mix of action and drama. But sadly it's gone downhill extremely fast, to the point where it's basically on the level of a bad daytime soap opera with a zombie in it sometimes. I don't know how else to describe the travesty it's become. I'm very surprised by the praise and ratings this series has gotten, but I think the excellent production values will only carry it so far. I've already decided to stop watching. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    Been playing the game and then I was hooked after first episode season one. Watched the entire first season in 24 hours. This is one of the better zombie shows, even better than 28 Days Later. It's really good!
  24. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    The Walking Dead is not bad, but sometimes it's too corny and boring. The characters are pretty bad ... But sometimes it's nice. But Prison Break is another world.
  25. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I was really expecting something cheesy. I was pleasantly surprised by this one. Hope future episodes are as good or better. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  26. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    I love this show. It dominates others.
  27. Apr 29, 2011
    5
    I'm not a fan of zombie movies, but I liked this show right away. The first episode drew me in and I almost forgave Mr. Darabont for The Mist. Over the next three episodes though, I found the dialogue and some of the acting to be awkward and uncomfortably corny. I also find it funny that mostly the zombies are restricted to the usual slow limp, yet in one episode they were able to muster up a light jog (a disappointing, "C'Mon!" moment) while pursuing the good guys. The make up is for the most part awesome, but every once in a while you see a zombie that's just a guy with a pale face (a bed-wetting fanboy no doubt). Based on all the positive reviews, I really expected/wanted this show to be awesome. Some of it is - fresh-faced and fearless. Some of it isn't - like an upright, rotting corpse. Expand
  28. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Boring. How the hell is a zombie story boring? Because they spend too much time developing characters I care nothing about. Let me come clean though. When, in the very first episode, they ripped off the plot of 28 days later, I rolled my eyes, and knew I was in for some B.S. because I didn't think 28 days later was particularly good (but it was at least monumentally better than 28 Months Later...). The more you watch it, the more you realize the amount of "homage" they pay to every single zombie flick that came before, and you wonder if their winking, or just giving the middle finger to those writers of far better material. Zombie stories aren't fine literature, ever. They evoke primal fear, not intellectual, so when you try to engage the viewer on any level higher than what their amygdala can process, you no longer have a zombie movie/show, you have a show that's trying too hard, and missing the mark terribly. Frankly I'd rather watch something like "Night of the Comet" than this snore fest. Boooooooooo! Expand
  29. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Doesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story and development of the plot. Expand
  30. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    It's not fun Zombie (Zombieland), it's more like 1968's Planet of the Apes in tone and kinda depressing. That's not a cut on the show, but a compliment. It says a lot about the world we live in.
  31. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    It's a fun show. It's got everything you want from a zombie show; sorrow, brutal violence, great characters and attachment. It's a good show. The show that everyone will talk about in 30 years besides Breaking Bad.
  32. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    All I can say is, Awesome show! Even though you can be assured the main character Rick, will probably survive, the show still puts him in situations of unbelievable doubt. This show is gritty, intense and perfectly paced. AMC is a hit pusher, with shows like "Mad Men", "Rubicon", "Breaking Bad" and now you can add, "The Walking Dead" to that list. Tell your wife and girlfriend to watch it too. They might enjoy it. Expand
  33. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I was a bit skeptical before the premiere but now I am sold. It's truly amazing how AMC continues to come up with such great series that pretty much put the big networks to shame. This series shows great promise. Watching this premiere was like watching a high production movie, but in a good way. Definitely hope it gets renewed for a second season if it hasn't yet.
  34. Nov 15, 2010
    3
    I had high hopes, but the characters are just too stupid to root for. The only time these slow moving zombies would be a threat is when you're trapped by them. So once they showed people having access to vehicles all danger has to be manufactured by dumb plot devices (imitating zombies to sneak by), or stupid character decisions (riding a freakin' horse). The only way this series would've worked would be with 28 Days Later fast moving zombies. Damn, it looked so cool in the previews. Expand
  35. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    Being a true horror fan, I have to say it's a nicely done show, given a basic cable series's budget. It has a good undead plot, with just enough drama, blood and gore to keep any horror fan pleased to come back for more. Yes, a true horror fan will be able to pretty much read most, but not all, of what is coming. I did like that very human element of what would you do if this were really happening? Could you trust everyone left? Would you feel pity &/or anger towards "the (un)dead?" I also liked the fact that it's not all just an "easy" shoot 'em up, giving the series an additional dramatic dimension. Add in some good graphics and cinematography to make it "look" believable, and voila! It seems as if this will be a continued good series that makes me salivate for watching/recording some basic cable. I'll definitely be watching it over the next 5 episodes, just to see what does truly unfold. Expand
  36. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV
    series I have seen in the last 2 years Expand
  37. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Movie quality TV. Completely agree with that review. The acting, zombies, and cinematography is great. Definitely looking forward to the rest of this great TV show.
  38. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This must be the best show of the year! The Walking Dead is based upon the brilliant comic book and isn't afraid to veer off from the original comic and change things up a bit. I like this, because it allows us to see this storyline and these characters in a different way to the comics. Directed by Frank Darabont and produced by Gale Anne Hurd, this show has some pedigree. Every week is like a mini-movie, and done exceptionley well like a movie. If there was only 1 show for me to recommend this year, let alone this decade, it's be The Walking Dead Expand
  39. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favorite zombie movie. It asks many questions about our own sanity during difficult situations, what is the right thing to do, and how far will you go to save your loved ones. It has enough story and drama and zombie-killing action to back it up as a long-running series. Expand
  40. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    "The Walking Dead" isn't a flashy no substance thrill-ride/scare-fest. It's more of a drama than anything else, which becomes apparent in the second half of the pilot episode. The story unfolds quickly, with no rhyme or reason, yet this is part of the allure of the series. That isn't to say the storyline is difficult to understand - in fact, it's blaringly simple. Zombies, called "Walkers," suddenly infiltrate the population. Is it a virus, an extra-terrestrially induced disease? Is it man's moral bankruptcy that causes this outbreak of zombification? Who knows? All in all, the show is enjoyable, but I wasn't convinced that the characters aren't cookie-cutter stereotypes prevalent in this genre. Foreseeable is that there will be good guys going bad in order to survive. The whole "buddy-steals-your-woman" when you're presumably dead is played out. It's cheap melodrama. Despite this show's shortcomings, it's a beautiful piece of work. The cinematography captures the bleak tension and frantic action with pinpoint accuracy. I'm confident that the character development will sort itself out as the series progresses. There's nothing like it on TV right now and I'll definitely be watching to completion. Expand
  41. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    Disappointing! I liked the show until it went WAY off track from the comics. I understand the show cannot and should not follow the comics exactly, but the comics are popular for a reason. Killing off some of the most crucial, interesting characters while keeping others that barely utter a sentence is just poor writing. The zombies are the only character that have any real motivation and consistently follow through with it. Talk about ruining a good thing. These writers are simply going for easy shock value making the show just as crap as the other shows soon to be canceled. Good riddance. Expand
  42. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Engrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont's influence is felt in the somewhat schlocky origin story arc and his trademark weakness for one-dimensional characterizations and shock kills - most notably in the gratuitous first scene - but this will hopefully ease up or disappear completely by season's end. At its worst it's a smartly adapted and compelling series that will let the zombie grow in ways it has and can not in film, tragically brief, and well worth! Expand
  43. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know there is only a handful of you, but you people with poor reviews just amaze me! This was a TV show about Zombies!!! Not Shakespeare or a crappy Transformers movie with non stop stupid action!! If you don't like this show, you will never like anything! This was an absolute joy to watch! I know it was only one episode, but I loved the fact that they DID build on characters and they DID make you care for them. I didn't want the dad and son to be left behind! It did make you think as to what YOU would do if you were in the same situation of blowing your own wife's head (even though she is a zombie). I really don't know if I could! The few times they did pull at the heart strings, it did work!! Even the horse part made me upset! I have never written a review for a T.V. show before. But this one was so good that I had to say something. If you like Zombie movies, give this one a try. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  44. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    AMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. This is what a zombie franchise needed. A series is better for zombie plots because you cannot cover the emotional and sub plots of people in a movie. There simply isn't enough time. AMC could certainly sell this series to a more profitable station for a ton of money but i wouldn't be surprised if they keep it on AMC and draw in more viewers. Overall: Great series, Cant wait for season 2! Expand
  45. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  46. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Great episode. If the show continues to be anything like it was tonight this will be one of the greatest adaptations ever! Also liked how AMC came out and proved that they aren't going to hold back on the show.
  47. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  48. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as a zombie craving brains. Expand
  49. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach. When Rick Grimes saw the "bicycle girl" zombie, I felt his terror. It didn't look like masterful special effects, it looked like a person who had been brutalized, come back to un-life, rotted, and dried out crawling around in the sun. Rick is human, not a juggernaut of a protagonist. I don't know if Rick will ever truly feel safe but as long as Rick doesn't feel safe, I won't feel safe, and as long as everybody feels unsafe and The Waking Dead remains goal-oriented, the series won't just "shamble along." Expand
  50. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    The budget is evident. The sets and the effects are fantastic, and some of the empty city scenes are impressive. But there is a but. The acting is a bit 'daytime TV', and none of the characters develops enough for us to truly connect with them. I would have prefered less characters and more moments of silent reflection on the emptiness and violence of the place. I also agree with some comments here, the series will now be about moving from set piece (the tank, the roof, the woods) to set piece. I imagine the formula will follow something along the lines of:

    1.This place looks safe
    2. There are more zombies here than we thought
    3. Now we are trapped.
    4. We lose one or two people (minorities likely)
    5. We make it out and move on.
    6. This place looks safe.

    But it is still a really good watch. Violent and fast and everything a zombie show should be.
    Expand
  51. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also,
    the show adds to the comic rather than just playing off of the comic. The emotion behind each choice for Rick Grimes is exaggerated in his expressions, the fear and hardship endured by everyone is prevalent in their actions and the overall scene is dismal, which is indicative to a zombie story.

    The acting is good so far, zombies are really good at being zombie and humans good at being humans. As for the story, I do know what to expect but I always wonder if there will be any twists or changes. All in all, this is a great show and only adds to the amazing AMC lineup. I would highly recommend anyone who can stomach the show, to watch it. This will definitely go down as one of the best zombie stories of all time.
    Expand
  52. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Landmark television folks. Diverges just enough from the comics to keep it fresh without also bastardizing. Truly hope this finds an audience. The opening scene may have pushed some viewers away.
  53. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    Ok, I take it back. The second episode is lots better. I am glad I gave it a try. I like that there is a woman with a brain (the African American woman who worked for the zoning department.)
  54. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    All the months of waiting paid off, thank you amc got this show and not HBO. Phew and the show actually made the comic book better. The gore and violence are all in context and not just stuck in there for the shock value.
  55. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Very promising show as down of the dead the movie was several years ago
    The first episode is very impressive in term of special effects and actors playing
    Hope it will continue on the same base This is an excellent tv focussed and refreshing try on the zombie genre
  56. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    With all of the hype that this show got, I was expecting something on-par with "Breaking Bad" or "Mad Men" in terms of writing and acting. It seems like The Walking Dead has ample budget, but the show is still strangely reminiscent of the made-for-TV movies one might find on the Sci-Fi channel or the Hallmark channel. I really wanted to like this show, I love zombie movies, and The Walking Dead had great gore and makeup. But the story was sluggish and not engaging, and the dialog was totally facepalm-inducing. I honestly don't understand how this show has so many positive reviews. You might enjoy this show if you really liked Stephen King's made-for-TV adaptation of "The Stand". Expand
  57. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    Although not as fast paced as most zombie films, The Walking Dead emphasizes something more than just bloodthirsty zombies, it has real live characters. The writing gives the characters such depth and makes the viewers care about them and hope that they make it through their journey through the zombie apocalypse. It does lack a background on how the zombies came to be; such as radioactivity (Night of The Living Dead) or a virus (28 Day Later). A religious background wouldn't work as well because it may make the characters more hopeless and who wants to watch a show about emotionless people, it's like watching a show about zombies (lol). The Walking Dead is so original and well done that there will most likely be followers, but none could match up to this, unless directed by George A. Romero Expand
  58. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    Points for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they're unreal. You really sense the writers trying to tug our heart-strings -- the manipulative plotting left me cold. It's a low-grade melodrama that fails to address any substantive social issues (unlike the excellent 28 Days Later). There was definitely some excitement in the long city sequence, in a survival-horror kind of way. If the characters weren't so hollow, and the dialogue so canned, the action sequences would have some weight behind them. Walking Dead gives the impression of a totally insincere, mass-market cash-grab made to capitalize on the zombie fad. Expand
  59. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on their composition. Sure, the show started slow. However, the interactions before the disaster are extremely important to the structure of relationships between characters. This show is obviously not for the someone that's looking for a "bloody" good time. I do recommend this to someone who is looking for a realistic account to a very unrealistic scenario. Expand
  60. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! A great zombie movie made series!! Can't wait to watch it all!!! Great photography, great effects!!
    Well acted, very emotional!!
    WHAT ARE YOU WAITING TO WATCH IT!!!???
  61. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    Basically a slow version of 28 Days later without the suspense. Visually the show delivers, but after an hour and a half it's a shame they couldn't develop a character I want to tune in for next week. I'm going to keep watching for now, but my expectations are pretty low.
  62. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Being an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start the direction of the show has been great, from the great special effects to even nodding at a couple of zombie cliches. It's not scary but I don't think that's the point, it's a drama with zombies. The first episode alone is better than most zombie movies out there and I hope that the rest of the series follow.

    It's a wonderful show and I do suggest picking it up. Unless gore is not your thing, because the gore here is very high.
    Expand
  63. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Completely engrossing, movie quality series. This does nothing different, in fact, it fully embraces all the old Zombie cliches, including the old classic 'blood writing on the walls', moulding them into one fantastic show, which manages to keep you fixated on the screen.
  64. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best show on television right now. It has movie quality acting, special effects, and storyline. It's basically an epic movie that amc is showing an hour of every week.
  65. Nov 9, 2010
    4
    Just couldn't get into the show. For starters, it's not one bit scary. Gory, yes...Scary, no. I never found gore to be particularly scary. It just makes you want to barf is all. I read somewhere that the characters are somewhat hollow. I completely agree with that assessment. The only character I've cared about so far is the horse Next movie-maker that kills a horse or a dog in a movie gets a personal visit from me and a man-sized beat down in front of his family. I think the cinematography is the best part of this show. Other than that, I found this show to be disappointingly dull. Expand
  66. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    By far one of the most gripping stories told on television to date, and these days television is looking better than movies. The people, the zombies, the building all tell a story and... man, what a story. I can not stress enough how great this show is, i have no idea who these actors are but they are SO compelling and they drew me in. I cannot wait for this story hit it's stride because the substance they can use is basically infinite. Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of the comic, and I have to say that I wasn't let down in the least. In Ireland the first episode aired on a channel called FX, which screened the entire episode from start to finish in an hour (no ad breaks) and I have to say I was absolutely glued to the screen for the entire hour. The iconic scene when Rick stumbles across whats left of a wom-bie (woman zombie) really hits home how much of a world of **** / suffering Rick is in store for. Brilliant stuff - I can't recommend this enough to everyone. Must see series. Expand
  68. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's better than Resident Evil: Afterlife but that's not a ringing endorsement. The 2nd episode was unbelievable and inconsistent in many ways, plus you can almost predict what the next few episodes are going to "reveal" without looking at any trailers - the sheriff's sidekick and wife were bumping uglies before the apocalypse but the cop will still be clueless a while longer while wife racked with guilt. Racist bully blackmail's cop's buddy and wife into getting back at cop in exchange for keeping quiet about their affair (which bully somehow caught wind of); cop's buddy happy to play along and off cop to keep alpha male position and his woman. Noble black father and son from 1st episode show up and set things right to the gratitude of copy. Fat black guy turns out to be a jerk after all so white viewers are retrospectively more sympathetic with racist bully's beat down of him in 2nd episode while smugly dismissing any white guilt.

    1. The 2 new black characters looked too polished which my husband and I found annoying. Sista looked like she just got her hair permed, curled and edged, then make-up just ruffled it a bit before the director shouted "Action!" while brother-man just shaved his head and beard. OK, maybe his character is bald, whatever. Everyone else looked a lot more like they been in hell for several weeks, fighting for their lives. I'm here to tell you as a black woman your hair would *never* look that put together after several weeks of no chemical treatments, living out of a tent with no running water or electricity to waste on curling irons and the like. She should look more like the little boy in the first episode, for sure.
    2. The whole racial tension thing felt contrived - that whole score would have been settled long before the cop showed up, one way or another. How it was settled felt...patronizing.
    3. The shooting sequence of those scenes was also painfully obvious - first the black guy is beaten a bloody pulp on the roof and can barely walk (leaning on a wall with his cap still firmly on his head), then he's moving very quickly (san cap) in the basement with everyone else, then in the next roof scene he's back in exact same position, cap on his head, licking his wounds. I almost thought the guy in the basement was his twin or something. wtf?
    4. The white racist/bully being left on the roof with tools accidentally dropped that would help free him in the next episode or so? *groan*
    5. Finally, it was amazing how the zombies would miraculously break/leap through barriers when the plot called to up the action quotient.

    The second episode took all the wind out of this series for me. I'm shocked AMC was so quick to renew for a second season (Rubicon at least kept you guessing, at it's excruciatingly slow pace). I'll give it one more week and if doesn't improve I'm bailing.

    Though I'm rather tepid on this new series, have fun watching and I wish it luck!
    Expand
  69. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    First of I'm not much of a zombie apocalypse fan as the whole genre seems overdone. However, I had read a few issues of the The Walking Dead graphic novel and was fascinated, with the direction the writers took with the story. When I heard about the TV version of it, I was a bit skeptical because film almost never does a great book justice. I'm glad to say that I am absolutely wrong on this account. The show is brilliantly paced, well scripted and the visuals are dark and gritty with the cinematography just hinting that something better is going to come for our protagonist, inevitably followed by something that much more sinister. I love this show!!!! Expand
  70. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I honestly can't find anything overwhelmingly unlikable about this show. The storyline is off to a good start. The characters are likable when they need to be. The blood and violence are intense, graphic, and very well done... but they don't use it as a crutch. All in all, this is probably the best new show I've seen in the last couple of years.
  71. pps
    Nov 17, 2010
    10
    i first watched this show thinking it would be the biggest crappfest on tv, mostly because i hate those horrible, unscary zombie movies with bad acting. but i was extremely surprised about how great it was, it kept you on the edge of your seat but also was truely about the characters, which really makes the show. i almost never like shows this much but it is really great, and makes me can't wait to see the next episode becaus the show takes its time but is also fast paced. Expand
  72. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Sexist, racist and equally ridiculous. The writers and producers of this drivel want us all to know that they blatantly wish we could all go back to the dark ages. Where little missy washes clothes all day in the river, if she's not doing that she's hanging them on the line or looking after the children, while the men hunt and gather with the guns. The opening scene of the two cops hating on women was just the warm up and it's down hill from there. Pity, because I really wanted to like it too. Special effects are good but they get a zero for the stink they've served up in this day and age. Shame on you. Expand
  73. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Cliched, unlikable, shallow Characters (yes even the main character) that you couldn't care less about. It's a dull, done to death apocalypse drama 'Days of our Lives' style, with the same old characters doing the same old thing. Yawn. Throw in a red neck or two for some spice....and you've got yourself a whole lot of cookie cutter plot devices fit for equally cookie cutter characters. Written by a Red Neck for Red Necks. Expand
  74. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    As an avid fan of zombie fiction, this 50's frontier melodrama pinned to our zombie pop culture trend was disappointing as a contemporary zombie genre show. The characters are 2 dimensional and most of the time seem to be quite obvious mouthpieces touting simplistic ideals of communal camping for dull old-fashioned men and women, rather than be put to good use and show a variety of contemporary people. The result is that any differences in them are scant and it's hard to invest interest in any of them individually - they're just 'the group' that are tacked on to the two male leads. For example, there is very little contrast in the female characters especially - they predominately wash clothes in the background, and react the same way to everything. It's the one character pasted onto different faces. We wouldn't be at all impressed if it was the same zombie pasted across all zombies - that would be obvious - so why drop the ball with the human characters? The males have been drawn from contrasting cardboard cliches that are often thrown together in a basic formula, where side male characters are particularly inconsistent as they are tools to bounce off and make the two main hero/s look big and smart. One example is that in the introduction of Glenn, he is cautious and very responsible. He knows not to fire weapons which will attract zombies. In a reversal of character he drives the car with an alarm blaring directly back to camp purely for fun, which led nowhere in the story except to provide another moment where the 'big dude' is smart. It's not hard to imagine that the camp rules [and say, how to operate a CB radio] would be shared knowledge in the adult group, and adhered to. There is flimsy background in the group's formation in this regard, as common sense is withheld from these apparently normal people [particularly the females] in order to ensure a well of opportunities throughout the early episodes to show the big dude 'smarts'. This is old 70's style action flick writing. Hell, Glenn had quite a long trip back to camp to think about his flip in character too. There is so much fantastic zombie literature out there which can depict multiple characters and develop them simultaneously - why use this insult to humanity? The acting is well done despite the lack of depth, the cringe-worthy dialogue and inconsistencies. If only the mostly impressive zombie make-up and FX in this show could be put to something less offensive to people who have a love of the undead, but have a soul themselves. Expand
  75. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, but this is something that leaves me wanting more. The plot is solid, the characters are well played, and the scenes of horror are intense enough to experience the characters' despair yourself.
  76. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF? shows of the year. Expand
  77. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The cinematography is amazing, the music is amazing, the actors are good, the plot is amazing, the atmosphere is very well crafted, and the general tone of the show is very well done. Do not miss The Walking Dead.
  78. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    The first week we were all so excited to see the show so we sat down to watch it and at the end of the hour we were all so disappointed. the show was so slow it had felt like we had been watching for ten hours, we even gave the show a second chance so we watched the second week and by the end of the hour we had decided this was the worst show in history so by the third week we were flipping through channels and couldn't find anything to watch and we decided that we would get a good laugh by watching once again. Its slow, has bad acting and everything is so predictable Expand
  79. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  80. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale. Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'. Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show. Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl who always wants to shoot guns is annoying, Carl is deffo bent, t-dog is a **** the old camper man was cool, glen the Chinese guy is very likeable, daryl is legend, the farm man is good and Rick is a BOSS! Very well acted for a out of nowhere tv show.

    Lets hope it stays this good and takes best tv show from Lost or the sopranos.
    Expand
  81. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    This series started well enough but has quickly devolved into nothing but talk. Already on the 4th episode and zombies are on screen for less than 5 minutes during an "hour" long show. The suspense from the first two episodes seems completely gone now. The last two episodes have sunk into the standard TV series formula that strings you along for 40 minutes, leaving anything worth watching for the last 5 minutes of the show (the time slot is an hour long with commercials). I really wanted to like this show. Please read the other low score reviews as they really nail what this show is like. Perhaps The Walking Dead will get better with time. Heck, Fringe sort of did...sort of. Expand
  82. Jan 21, 2011
    7
    Man, that pilot is one of the best things I saw on TV last year, but then, it went downhill after that. I feel a bit conflicted because there are some things I really love about this show, the atmosphere, mood, etc. but on the other hand its filled with clichéd dialogue, contrived situations, shoddy accents and acting, so overall I feel disappointed with it. I really think that the show can only go up from here, now with a new writing staff hopefully they'll address these issue and if not, well, it did have an awesome pilot. Expand
  83. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    This show is fantastic, I became addicted to this show extremely fast and could not stop watching it. The truth of the matter is, they did so much right with the show, and few things wrong. Now, I haven't read any of the comics, but after watching this I plan too. Each of the characters in this show are unique and very much their own. Most if not all of the acting is absolutely superb, and the storyline is great too. There were 3 or 4 small things in the show that I don't think made sense, but they were always extremely small and usually did not effect any episode other than the one the flaw was in. Another gripe I had was that some of the Zombies really just looked like and acted like people with some dirt and makeup and fake cuts and bruises, but only some of them. Overall I think this was a fantastic season and I cant wait for more. Expand
  84. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This show already has an advantage over Zombie movies: Having the ability to flesh out characters. The fact that you care what happens to the cast is what makes this show great. Definitely a good show to watch if you like horror, drama, and humanity.
  85. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    "The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is really just nitpicking when it comes down to it. Expand
  86. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    It rocks my world !This is so entertaining and mindless. All you do is sit and relax and get the **** scared out of you. What could be better than that ?
  87. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    The fact zombies are part of the content is secondary. The simple fact is Walking Dead is human nature showcased, its very touching because of this. Hopefully they remain true to the spirit of the books. WD is my favorite TV show of all time... One because I hate TV and two because I love exploring human nature. WD is awesome!

    BTW: I hate you!
  88. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    "The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing but quality and well thought out shows and "TWD" is just that. Every week this show has kept me glued to the screen and it makes you really feel for the characters even though we have only known them for a short time. This show so far is a very faithful adaptation and if the episodes continue the way they have been (dark environments, great acting and relationships that you can feel for.) it is going to last for years to come. In two words; Just Awesome. Expand
  89. Dec 1, 2010
    2
    This show sucks. The first couple episodes were okay, but it has been downhill from there. The show's attempts at character development are soo weak. And there are so many moments that bore me to tears. Like the overly long scene where husband and wife are reunited and cuddling in the tent, and the never-ending scene where one sister mourns the death of the other. Keep it moving guys. No one cares about these people. We want to see a plot, we want to see action, and we want to keep it moving. These abundant and overly long scene edits are obviously designed to take up time, save money, and make up for the lack of plot developing scenes. Boring. Great to hear that all the writers from season one have been canned, but the real problem is a lack of planning and/or no real script. I'm tuning out. Expand
  90. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    AMAZING show. at first I thought it started a bit slow..a lot of talking..and would have LOVED to see the collapse of the world happen (police and military trying to deal with the dead). EVERY zombie movies lacks this. BUT this is not a zombie movie, instead a GREAT show. Enjoy this very much and theyve made some very good changes. Only show i actually watch anymore. give it a 10!
  91. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    I haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring a screen adaptation against the source material is unfair, just like Harry Potter films don't follow the books perfectly. Walking Dead is brilliant at what it does, it may be a bit deviant from the source material but that doesn't mean it cannot be appreciated for what it DOES do. Great show, I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
  92. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    amazing characters great plot and storyline daryle is a badass they should air him more. better than resident evil. will be waiting for season two to air. and whoever does the zombie makeup is a extremely talented
  93. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great new show, I've read the entire comic book series up to 79 and season one only loosely uses the comic book story. (the part where Rick and Glenn cover themselves with rotting flesh actually comes from the comic version of the srory) I read a article the other day that says that Frank Darabont fired all the writers that wrote the first season and is bringing in some new writers. I am really looking forward to season 2.
    I
    Expand
  94. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    Nothing original in the first 6 episodes, but the writing and direction surpasses most of the material it plagiarizes. Overall, The Walking Dead had a strong (albeit short) first season. Looking forward to the second season.
  95. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    This is alive and well while most of TV & movies are dead. Reality shows & overated spew like Inception & Hurtlocker. You have to grade on a curve a little rasing the score for this show. They need more zombies and action but it still is engaging and has its chilling moments, mostly it does well what Steven King does even if the story isnt the best it can grab you and have you eagerly awaiting what comes next. The rest of TV is run by the brain dead, shoot em in the head. Expand
  96. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever to grace the television, the characters are enjoyable, the story is great as is the acting, my only complaint is that the season finale while great wasn't the best episode, I absolutely can not wait for season 2.
  97. Dec 31, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the first program you have a man wake up in an abandoned hospital with no living people, but a few dead people walking around. He manages to make it home to find his wife and kid missing, but signs they might still be alive. There's your set-up. What do you do to keep up the excitement? I'll tell you what you don't do. You don't then show the wife and kid safe and sound at a campground outside of town.

    Then our cop hero has to move along but the only vehicle he can find is a horse. That's exciting, because a horse leaves him vulnerable to zombies and this sets up an exciting chase. Except the writers decide, "to hell with an exciting chase, let's kill the horse immediately and have the guy hole up in an impenetrable armoured tank."

    I was looking forward to this series, but the acting isn't particularly good, is undermined by bad writing and both are further hobbled by a complete lack of suspense or tension. The characters are flat, introducing their one or two traits in their first moments (I'm a racist, and violent) and rest limply there, the only attempt at earning our interest is by having them share back-in-the-day stories; the characters chew over exposition instead of having conversations and seem largely unimpressed by the massive death around them. But where the show really fails is the inability to hold any tension. There are examples of this in every episode I've watched any bit of. I'm kind of mystified by the popularity of this program. After watching the premier and bits of the next two or three shows I was out of patience for it.
    Expand
  98. Jan 6, 2011
    5
    First of this no where near as good as breaking bad or mad men, I really dont see why its got a golden globe nod. I enjoyed watching the first few episodes i, the parts where they were in the city were fun but the out of the city it was pretty dull. I still haven't manage to will myself to watch the finale maybe the finale will be so good it will change my mind........ I doubt it though,
  99. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The first episode blow me away! I'm addicted to this show. I think that the history line is really interesting and the characters and their stories will surprise us! And dispite some opinions i've heard, i think that the final episode ended really well! The door is open for more drama. The worst part, and i think that was not clever at all, its the one year between series.
  100. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    I always wished to see a 10 hours Zombie movie. I know that it's not going to happen, but walking dead was exactly what I was looking for. A very good serie about the theme I aways like to see. I like everything about zombies and this serie has the best of it, It´s serious and have a good story. I give it a 10
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive